数据和监测

“第四轮多指标类集调查” 团队收集不丹和苏里南的重要数据

“第四轮多指标类集调查”继续开展

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/WCARO
与会人员参加由联合国儿童基金会西非和中非区域办事处组织的“第四轮多指标类集调查”研讨会,支持该地区的数据收集工作。观看视频。

美国纽约,2010年9月23日 – 第四轮多指标类集调查(MICS4)的数据收集工作目前在40个国家中的很多国家开展得如火如荼,而且有越来越多的国家要加入MICS4。

联合国儿童基金会于20世纪90年代开始了多指标类集调查,旨在帮助各国在一系列指标上提供合理可靠、具有国际可比性的数据,包括医疗、教育、儿童保护和艾滋病及艾滋病毒预防等,多指标类集调查已成为世界上最大的有关妇女和儿童的统计信息资源之一。到目前为止,已在近100个国家进行了200多项调查。

联合国儿童基金会统计与监测部门主管、政策与实践部门副主任泰萨.沃德洛(Tessa Wardlaw)说,从全球来看,多指标类集调查“从一个监测世界首脑会议有关儿童目标的进展状况的相对简单的工具发展成为监测千年发展目标的实现进程以及其它有助于改善全世界妇女儿童生活的重大国际承诺的最重要数据资源之一”。

调查工作正在进行

参与多指标类集调查的国家可以利用联合国儿童基金会多指标类集调查团队开发的工具来满足本国数据调查的需要。这些工具包括一系列调查问卷和一些专题报告单元模板。第四轮多指标类集调查又在先前的主题中增加了新的单元,如生活满意度、吸烟饮酒、大众传媒普及、信息和交流技术的使用以及产后健康检查等。这些单元由联合国儿童基金会同其他机构及技术专家紧密合作共同完成。

第四轮多指标类集调查的25项调查实地工作已经开始,或计划于近期开始。由于资金不断增多,管理得到强化,数据收集手段得以改进,各国和地方政府加强了技术支援,所收集的数据质量大大提高。早期的身高和体重测量如今清晰地显示了进步的迹象,数据收集完成后很快就能加以利用,这比以往的多指标类集调查效率要高。

克服一切困难收集数据

多指标类集调查通过与全国具有代表性的样本家庭进行面对面的采访来收集数据。随着实地调查的消息渐渐为人所知,数据收集工作也日益复杂。

不丹首次开展多指标类集调查,调查人员要冒着冰雹和大雪来到坐落于海拔3800米上的偏远乡村拉亚。联合国儿童基金会当地多指标类集调查协调人员说:“大家对调查结果期望很高。”不丹加入多指标类集调查的一个重要原因是调查将有助于为儿童创造“健康而快乐的环境”。

中非共和国经历了数年的战火冲突,国家千疮百孔,大部分基础设施遭到破坏,基础服务被切断,倾盆大雨让调查团队寸步难行。经过十年的国内动荡以及影响到邻国的冲突余波,在中非共和国内很难得到可靠的数据。数据收集工作在北部地区尤为困难,因为很多人因强盗和叛乱袭击而流离失所。然而实地工作人员已经认识到并克服了一些困难;中非共和国正在开展连续第三年的多指标类集调查。

专业的团队

苏里南还面临着巨大的社会和地理差异。然而,最近的调查报告显示,第四轮多指标类集调查团队对待工作积极乐观。在一次评估实地工作进展的常规考察中,联合国儿童基金会驻拉丁美洲和加勒比海地区监测专家、区域多指标类集调查协调人员指出:“他们在和接受采访者交流时表现得非常专业。团队内部沟通得很好,大家在需要进行人体测量时会向队友打电话寻求帮助和设备,这使调查工作进展得很顺利。苏里南的第四轮多指标类集调查在本月末将覆盖9000户家庭,深入到22000多名妇女和儿童。

2009年至2011年开展的第四轮多指标类集调查结果将很快为一些国家所利用,如刚果民主共和国、朝鲜民主主义人民共和国等。而另一方面,阿根廷最近首次加入多指标类集调查,从而监测该国“为儿童和青少年的行动计划”目标的实现进程,并收集影响儿童的不平等现象的有关信息。

帮助均衡地实现千年发展目标

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克最近表示,“数据有力地表明,在全球努力实现千年发展目标的进程中,我们忽略了数百万最贫穷、处于社会边缘的弱势儿童,这些儿童正面临着长期的困难。”多指标类集调查恰好让我们把目光转向他们。有关千年发展目标的20多个指标的有关信息将通过第四轮多指标类集调查收集,多指标类集调查提供国家范围内的数据,涵盖了各种地理、社会、人口特征。

如需了解更多信息,请观看介绍多指标类集调查起源的两部短片“这是多指标类集调查”和“多指标类集调查过程”,其中描述了数据的收集过程,强调了各国政府发挥的重要作用,并突出了联合国儿童基金会提供的支持。收看短片请点击这里。查看参加第四轮多指标类集调查的国家列表,请点击这里


 

 

搜索

Statistics and Monitoring

‘MICS4’ now gathering critical data, from Bhutan to Suriname

Fourth Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey continues roll-out

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/WCARO
Participants gather at a Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey workshop organized by UNICEF's Regional Office for West and Central Africa to support data-gathering in the region.

NEW YORK, USA, 23 September 2010 – Data-gathering for the fourth round of Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS) is currently in high gear in many of the 40 countries, and more, participating in MICS4.

Developed by UNICEF in the 1990s to help countries produce statistically sound, internationally comparable data across a range of indicators – including health, education, child protection and HIV/AIDS – MICS has come to generate one of the world’s largest sources of statistical information on children and women. To date, more than 200 surveys have been implemented in nearly 100 countries.

Globally, the MICS surveys “evolved from being a relatively simple tool for monitoring progress toward the World Summit for Children goals and targets to becoming one of the most important sources of data for tracking progress toward the Millennium Development Goals – as well as other major international commitments for improving the lives of women and children worldwide," explained UNICEF’s Chief of Statistics and Monitoring and Associate Director of the Division of Policy and Practice, Tessa Wardlaw.

Field work under way

Countries participating in MICS can customize the instruments developed by UNICEF’s MICS team to fit their own data needs. These instruments range from a series of questionnaires and several thematic modules to report cover templates. Under MICS4, new modules have been added on themes ranging from life satisfaction, tobacco and alcohol use and access to mass media, to use of information and communication technologies and post-natal health checks. These modules were prepared by UNICEF in close collaboration with other agencies and technical experts.

Field work has already started, or is scheduled to start soon, in about 25 of the MICS4 surveys. Thanks to increased funding, renewed emphasis on governance, improved approaches to the way data are collected and strengthened technical assistance at the national and regional levels, the quality of the data sets has been enhanced. Early height and weight measurements now show clear signs of improvement, and results are to become available sooner after completion of data collection than in previous MICS rounds.

Collecting data against all odds

MICS data are collected during face-to-face interviews in nationally representative samples of households. As news from the field starts trickling in, it is clear that gathering data on the ground can often be a complex exercise.

In Bhutan, which is conducting a MICS for the first time, surveyors had to hike through hailstorms and snowfall to reach the remote village of Laya, located at a staggering 3,800 metres above sea level. “The expectation from the survey is high,” explained UNICEF’s local MICS Coordinator. A key reason for Bhutan to join MICS was that it would contribute to a “healthy and happy environment” for its children.

In the Central African Republic (CAR), after years of conflict that have taken a heavy toll – destroying most of the infrastructure and cutting access to basic services – observations on the ground spoke of torrential downpours making the survey teams’ journey treacherous. Reliable data is hard to come by in CAR following a decade of civil unrest and fallout from conflicts affecting its neighbours. Data collection was particularly difficult in parts of the north, where large numbers of the population have been displaced by bandit and rebel attacks. Yet field workers have witnessed and worked through some of these difficulties in the past; CAR is now implementing its third consecutive MICS.

Teams show professionalism

Suriname also faces great social and geographic disparities. However, recent notes from the field indicate that the MICS4 teams are upbeat and happy to work. During a regular field visit aimed at assessing how the work advances on the ground, UNICEF’s Regional Monitoring Specialist and Regional MICS Coordinator in Latin America and the Caribbean observed: “They show a great deal of professionalism in dealing with respondents. Teams communicate well, call each other in the field on mobile phones to ask for help and equipment for the anthropometry, and make field work smoother and faster.” The Suriname MICS4 will cover 9,000 households, reaching over 22,000 women and children by the end of this month.

Results from MICS4 surveys carried out during the 2009-2011 timeframe will soon become available in a few countries, such as the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea. Argentina, on the other hand, has just recently confirmed its first-ever participation into MICS as a way to monitor the goals established in the country’s Action Plan for Children and Adolescents, and to gain information about disparities affecting its children.

Helping to achieve the MDGs with equity

As UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake recently declared, “compelling data suggest that in the global push to achieve the MDGs, we are leaving behind millions of the world’s most disadvantaged, vulnerable and marginalized children: the children who are facing the longest odds.” MICS is well positioned to shed the light on these children. Information on more than 20 of the MDG indicators will be collected through MICS4 alone. MICS provides data at the national level which can be disaggregated by various geographic, social and demographic characteristics.

To learn more, watch ‘This is MICS’ and ‘The MICS Process’, two short films that explore the origins of MICS that describe how data are collected, highlight the critical role played by national governments and address the type of support UNICEF provides. The films are available here. The list of MICS4 confirmed countries can be found here.


 

 

New enhanced search