体育促进发展

联合国的体育运动发展史

2000年联合国千年首脑会议及2002年关于儿童问题特别会议上,世界各国领导人认识到了体育运动的影响力及其自身的价值观念。2002年7月,时任联合国秘书长安南召集了联合国体育促进发展与和平机构间工作队,在联合国系统内审查涉及体育的相关活动。该机构间工作队由时任联合国儿童基金会执行主任卡罗尔.贝拉米(Carol Bellamy )和阿道夫.奥吉(Adolf Ogi)共同负责,阿道夫.奥吉是前瑞士总统,其在2001年成为联合国秘书长的第一位“体育促进发展与和平”特别顾问。

该高级别专责小组,聚集了具不同经验层次的10个联合国组织,包括劳工组织、开发计划署、教科文组织、环境规划署、难民署、联合国儿童基金会、联合国毒品和犯罪问题办事处、联合国志愿人员、联合国艾滋病规划署和世界卫生组织,并通过体育活动来开展工作。秘书处专责小组,属非政府的“运动机会组织”,由奥运金牌选手Johann Koss创立负责,其于1994年被任命为联合国儿童基金会的亲善大使。

2003年,专责小组发布了题为《体育促进发展与和平:朝着千年发展目标前进》的报告,并总结道,体育活动从游戏和运动到有组织的竞技体育比赛,是推动千年发展目标实现的一种强有力且高效的方式。

2003年底,联合国大会通过了一项决议,将体育作为促进健康、教育、发展与和平的一种手段。并宣布2005年为体育运动国际年,指出“联合国正在将体育世界的活动转化为促进和平与帮助推进实现千年发展目标的努力”。
 
联合国儿童基金会在2004年出版的“体育、娱乐和游戏”刊物中阐明了其体育运动观。该刊物记录了联合国儿童基金会是如何将体育、娱乐和游戏的影响和潜力纳入国家方案、伙伴关系发展中,并将女童和男童引入体育领域和操场的;以及如何动员各国政府制定全面的战略,确保每个儿童享有游戏的权利得到重视。


 

 

搜索

 
UNICEF - GOALS FOR GIRLS!

Sport for development

History of Sport and the UN

World leaders recognized the power of sport and its values at the 2000 UN Millennium Summit and at the 2002 Special Session on Children. In July 2002, then United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan convened an Inter-Agency Task Force on Sport for Development and Peace to review activities involving sport within the United Nations system. The Task Force was co-chaired by then UNICEF Executive Director Carol Bellamy and Adolf Ogi, the former president of Switzerland who in 2001 had become the first Special Adviser to the UN Secretary-General on Sport for Development and Peace.

This high-profile task force brought together 10 UN organizations with varying levels of experience using sport in their work, including the ILO, UNDP, UNESCO, UNEP, UNHCR, UNICEF, UN Office on Drugs and Crime, UN Volunteers,  UNAIDS and the World Heath Organization. The Secretariat of the task force was the non-governmental organization Right to Play, founded and headed by Olympic medalist Johann Koss, who in 1994 had been named a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador.

In 2003, the Task Force produced “Sport for Development and Peace: Towards achieving the Millennium Development Goals,” which concluded that sport – from play and physical activity to organized and competitive sport – is a powerful and cost-effective way to advance the Millennium Development Goals.

At the end of 2003, the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution on the role of sport as a means to promote health, education, development and peace. It proclaimed 2005 as the International Year for Sport and Physical Education, stating that “the United Nations is turning to the world of sport for help in the work for peace and the effort to achieve the Millennium Development Goals.”
 
UNICEF laid out its argument for sport in the 2004 publication, “Sport, Recreation and Play.” This publication documented how UNICEF was incorporating the power and potential of sport, recreation and play into country programmes, developing partnerships to get girls and boys onto sports fields and playgrounds, and mobilizing governments to develop comprehensive strategies to ensure that the right of every child to play is recognized.


 

 

New enhanced search