Gros plan : Des terrains de jeux qui favorisent l’inclusion

Par Sruthi Atmakur

En jouant, les enfants apprennent : ils développent leurs capacités physiques, explorent le monde qui les entoure et se frayent un chemin dans la complexité des interactions sociales. Le jeu contribue au développement physique, cognitif, émotionnel et social des enfants et le fait de se livrer au jeu est un droit accordé à tous les enfants en vertu de l’article 31 de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant. 

Les enfants handicapés, à qui le jeu apporte autant qu’aux autres enfants sur le plan du développement, bénéficient du droit à l’égalité d’accès au jeu, garanti par la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées. Pourtant, l’application de ce droit est souvent contrariée par des obstacles physiques et par l’exclusion sociale. Très souvent, les espaces et structures de jeu destinés aux enfants ne sont pas accessibles aux enfants handicapés. Il en résulte un manque d’interactions entre les enfants handicapés et les enfants valides, ce qui ne fait que renforcer les obstacles comportementaux et contribuer au rejet des personnes handicapées aux marges de la société.

Afin que les enfants handicapés bénéficient d’une véritable égalité d’accès au jeu, la création d’espaces de jeux accessibles doit s’appuyer sur les principes de conception universelle, qui encouragent vivement les concepteurs d’équipements et d’installations à tenir compte de toute la diversité des capacités physiques et psychologiques humaines, pour garantir à tous un usage équitable et éviter d’avoir recours à des adaptations supplémentaires, souvent coûteuses. Garants de l’accessibilité physique et permettant de répondre à la diversité des besoins et des préférences des enfants, les terrains de jeux accessibles sont également conçus de façon à encourager l’inclusion, dans la mesure où ils proposent des espaces et des activités qui facilitent les interactions entre des enfants disposant de capacités différentes, ainsi qu’avec leurs familles et leurs communautés.

Même si tous les espaces de jeux doivent intégrer des équipements qui mobilisent les capacités physiques et cognitives des enfants disposant d’aptitudes diverses, l’accès à l’espace et aux équipements et leur utilisation ne doivent pas être source de fatigue pour l’enfant. Les concepteurs de terrains de jeux accessibles ont donc prévu des allées larges et régulières et des rampes permettant aux enfants en fauteuil roulant ou utilisant une assistance technique de se déplacer librement et en toute sécurité, des barres d’appui, des bords rembourrés et des sols en caoutchouc (comme celui installé au Bradley’s Fun for All Playground à Pleasant Garden en Caroline du Nord, aux États-Unis), qui aident les enfants à se déplacer et minimisent les risques de blessures en cas de perte d’équilibre ou de chute.

Les concepteurs d’équipements de jeux accessibles proposent également de nombreuses solutions ingénieuses et peu coûteuses qui permettent aux enfants, quelles que soient leurs capacités, d’utiliser les équipements et de s’amuser. Le Coles Park, situé à Bangalore (Inde) et géré par Kilikili, organisation regroupant des parents d’enfants handicapés, est doté d’une « balançoire familiale » qui permet aux enfants de se balancer avec les personnes qui s’occupent d’eux ou avec leurs pairs, de cerceaux multiniveaux pour que les enfants puissent jouer selon leur âge et leurs capacités, ou encore d’un bac à sable surélevé qui permet aux enfants en fauteuil de jouer avec leurs pairs, contrairement à ceux installés au sol. Les enfants souffrant de déficiences sensorielles peuvent bénéficier d’équipements et de fonctionnalités qui font appel à toute une variété de sens, tels que des jardins odorants ou des surfaces aux textures diverses et amusantes à toucher. Le Gayatri Devi Park géré par Kilikili à Bangalore est équipé d’une rampe qui émet des sons lorsque les enfants sautent, courent ou marchent sur sa surface : cette expérience particulièrement enrichissante pour les enfants déficients visuels est également très agréable pour tous les autres enfants.

Les bacs à sable, les plans d’eau, les labyrinthes, les terrains de basket-ball et les jardins permettent aux enfants de jouer ensemble. Pour autant, les enfants qui ne se sentent pas à l’aise en groupe ou n’aiment pas les bruits intenses (par exemple, certains enfants souffrant d’autisme), ou qui préfèrent interagir avec leur environnement de façon solitaire, peuvent s’installer dans des cabanes pour jouer seuls, sans être totalement coupés du contexte social plus large.

Les espaces de jeux accessibles contribuent à promouvoir l’intégration sociale des enfants handicapés, en accueillant des activités et des programmes qui rassemblent les enfants handicapés et les enfants valides et mobilisent leurs familles et les membres de la communauté qui les entoure. Les parcs Kilikili proposent par exemple régulièrement des « journées famille », tandis que le Parc de l’Amitié situé à Ra’anana en Israël organise des activités ludiques structurées certains jours de la semaine et propose des programmes et des ateliers de sensibilisation de la communauté aux problématiques auxquelles sont confrontées les personnes handicapées et des activités de promotion d’une société plus solidaire.

Le développement d’espaces de jeux plus accessibles découle du constat que les enfants handicapés vivant dans une communauté donnée n’ont pas suffisamment d’endroits pour jouer. Pour initier ce processus, des membres actifs des communautés concernées ont mis en place des associations à but non lucratif, telles que Shane’s Inspiration et Unlimited Play aux États-Unis, toutes deux fondées par des parents d’enfants handicapés. Ces associations se sont ensuite efforcées de décrocher des financements et de collaborer avec d’autres groupes communautaires et les agences gouvernementales concernées afin que leur projet devienne réalité. La création d’un espace de jeux accessible nécessite une collaboration entre plusieurs parties prenantes : architectes, paysagistes, urbanistes, collectivités locales, chercheurs universitaires, professionnels de la santé de l’enfant, spécialistes de l’horticulture, éducateurs et groupes de parents. Les porteurs de projet doivent également consulter des enfants présentant des capacités diverses, dans la mesure où la conception doit refléter leurs besoins et leurs désirs : en effet, le succès d’un espace de jeux accessible dépend en définitive de son utilisation effective par les enfants de la communauté concernée.

Les projets de création d’espaces de jeux accessibles à tous les enfants sont confrontés à deux types d’enjeux : réunir les ressources nécessaires à la conception, la construction, l’accueil et l’entretien de l’espace de jeux et lutter contre les comportements discriminatoires ou méprisants à l’encontre des enfants handicapés. En repensant l’accessibilité non plus en termes d’adaptation à des besoins spécifiques, mais plutôt de conception destinée, dès le départ, à répondre aux besoins des personnes dans toute leur diversité, la conception universelle a démontré qu’il était possible de répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées sans surcoût. Toutefois, dans de nombreux cas, ces projets souffrent d’une sensibilisation insuffisante aux problèmes des enfants handicapés et à leurs besoins et, de façon plus générale, à l’importance du jeu pour l’ensemble des enfants, qu’ils souffrent ou non de handicap.

Le jeu accessible à tous bénéficie à tous les enfants, quelles que soient leurs capacités : il permet aux enfants de mieux comprendre le monde et de façon plus nuancée, de prendre conscience des différences entre les personnes, de reconnaître leurs similitudes, d’être tolérant vis-à-vis de la diversité et d’accepter le point de vue d’autrui. En donnant aux enfants handicapés et valides la possibilité de jouer ensemble, les espaces de jeux accessibles peuvent devenir de joyeux incubateurs d’une société plus solidaire, dans laquelle les enfants handicapés sont en mesure de participer sur un pied d’égalité et de bénéficier des mêmes chances de s’épanouir.

Infographie: Des Terrains de Jeu de Conception Universelle

Bibliographie

Cooper, D.M., « Exercise, Stress, and Inflammation in the Growing Child: From the bench to the playground », Current Opinion in Pediatrics, vol. 16, n° 3, 2004, pp. 286–292 ; et Frost, J.L., P.S. Brown, J.A. Sutterby et C.D. Thornton. « The Developmental Benefits of Playgrounds », Association for Childhood Education International, Olney, Maryland, 2004.

Casey, Theresa, Inclusive Play: Practical strategies for working with children aged 3 to 8, Paul Chapman, Londres, 2005.

Center for Universal Design, « Universal Design Principles », <www.ncsu.edu/www/ncsu/design/sod5/cud/about_ud/udprinciples.htm>, site consulté le 15 mai 2012.

Kilikili, « Who We Are », <www.kilikili.org/who_we_are.html>, site consulté le 12 avril 2013.

Sahlin, Erik, « Friendship Park: A playground for children with disabilities », Israël, <http://nocamels.com/2012/02/friendship-park-a-playground-for-children-with-disabilities>, site consulté le 13 mars 2012.

Shane’s Inspiration, Californie, <www.shanesinspiration.org>, site consulté le 13 mars 2012.

Unlimited Play, Missouri, <www.unlimitedplay.org>, site consulté le 13 mars 2012.

Sur les modalités d’utilisation des terrains de jeux par les enfants handicapés et la façon dont ils appréhendent le jeu, voir : Prellwitz, M. et L. Skär, « Usability of Playgrounds for Children with Different Abilities », Occupational Therapy International, vol. 14, n° 3, 2007, pp. 144–155; et Casey, T. et N. Coates, « Out to Play: A consultation with children with disabilities, parents and carers on outdoor play areas in Edinburgh », The Yard, Édimbourg, 2004.

x Faire un don
Merci de confirmer votre pays et nous vous redirigerons vers la page de don approppriée
Localisation:

Focus: Playgrounds of inclusion

By Sruthi Atmakur

When children play, they are learning – developing the capacities of their bodies, exploring the material world around them and navigating the complexities of social interaction. Play contributes to children’s physical, cognitive, emotional and social development, and participation in play is enshrined as a right of all children in article 31 of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. 

For children with disabilities – who reap developmental benefits from play just as much as other children, and whose right to equal access to participation in play is guaranteed by the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities – the fulfilment of the right to play is often thwarted as a result of both physical barriers and social exclusion. Most often, the spaces and structures set up for children’s play are not accessible to children with disabilities. The resulting lack of interaction between children with and without disabilities, in turn, reinforces the attitudinal barriers that relegate persons with disabilities to society’s margins.

To make equal access to participation in play for children with disabilities a reality, inclusive play spaces draw upon the principles of universal design, which prompt designers of equipment and facilities to take into account the wide range of human physical and psychological abilities, so as to ensure equitable use by all people and obviate the need for additional, often costly, adaptations. In addition to ensuring physical accessibility and catering to children’s diverse needs and preferences, inclusive playgrounds are also designed to foster social inclusion by providing spaces and activities that create opportunities for interaction between children of varying abilities as well as their families and communities.

While all play spaces should include equipment that physically and cognitively challenges children with a range of abilities, access to the space and equipment usage should not itself cause any child fatigue. Designers of inclusive playgrounds have therefore provided wide, smooth pathways and ramps to allow children using wheelchairs and other assistive devices to manoeuvre freely and safely; grab bars, padded edges and rubber floors like the one at Bradley’s Fun for All Playground in Pleasant Garden, North Carolina, United States, help children move about and minimize their risk of hurting themselves if they lose their balance or fall.

Designers of inclusive play equipment have come up with a variety of ingenious and cost-effective solutions to make the equipment usable and enjoyable for children with varying abilities. At Coles Park in Bangalore, India – which is run by Kilikili, an organization formed by parents of children with disabilities – a ‘family swing’ permits children to swing together with their caregivers or peers, multilevel hoops allow for games between children of different ages and abilities, while a raised sandpit makes it possible – as a sunken one would not – for children in wheelchairs to play alongside their peers. Children with sensory impairments can benefit from equipment and features that engage a variety of senses, such as fragrant gardens or variously textured surfaces that are fun to touch. Kilikili’s Gayatri Devi Park in Bangalore includes a ramp that makes sounds as children hop, run or step on its surface; while this is particularly enriching for children with visual impairments, it can be enjoyed by all children.

Features such as sandpits, water tables, mazes, basketball courts and gardens provide a context for children to play together. Meanwhile, children who may become overwhelmed in a large group or dislike loud noises – for instance, some children with autism – as well as those who simply prefer to engage with their environment in solitude, can retreat to shelters to play by themselves, without being cut off from the larger social setting.

Inclusive play spaces further the mission of promoting social inclusion of children with disabilities by hosting activities and programmes that bring together children with and without disabilities and also involve their families and members of the surrounding community. Kilikili’s parks, for example, periodically hold a ‘Family Day’, while Friendship Park in Ra’anana, Israel, organizes structured play activities on specific days of the week, and also offers social programmes and workshops to raise community awareness of issues affecting persons with disabilities and promoting a more inclusive society.

The impetus for inclusive play spaces arises out of the recognition that children with disabilities in a given community lack places to play. To start the process, active community members establish not-for-profit organizations – such as United States-based Shane’s Inspiration and Unlimited Play, both of which were founded by parents of children with disabilities. These organizations then work to secure funding and collaborate with other community groups and the appropriate government agencies to realize the project. The creation of an inclusive play space requires collaboration among a variety of stakeholders, including architects, landscape designers, urban planners, local government, academic researchers, child health-care professionals, horticultural specialists, educators and parent groups. Organizers should also consult children of varying abilities, as the design must reflect their needs and desires – for the success of an inclusive play space ultimately depends on its use by children in the surrounding community.

Efforts to establish play spaces that accommodate all children face two main challenges: mustering the resources to design, build, staff and maintain the playground, and contending with discriminatory and dismissive attitudes towards children with disabilities. By reconceiving accessibility in terms not of making adaptations for special needs, but rather building to cater to the broad spectrum of human needs from the beginning, universal design has shown that accommodating persons with disabilities need not entail additional costs. In many cases, however, these projects are hindered by a lack of awareness of children with disabilities and their needs and, more generally, of the importance of play for all children, with and without disabilities.

Inclusive play benefits all children, regardless of ability: It helps them develop a true and nuanced understanding of the world, to appreciate the differences between people and recognize the similarities that underlie them, to be tolerant of diversity and to accept others’ perspectives. By giving children with and without disabilities a chance to play together, inclusive play spaces can serve as joyful incubators of a more inclusive society, in which children with disabilities can participate equally and enjoy equal opportunities to flourish.

Infographic: Universal Design in the Playground


Cooper, D.M., ‘Exercise, Stress, and Inflammation in the Growing Child: From the bench to the playground’, Current Opinion in Pediatrics, vol. 16, no. 3, 2004, pp. 286–292.; and Frost, J.L., P.S. Brown,, J.A. Sutterby and C.D. Thornton. ‘The Developmental Benefits of Playgrounds’, Association for Childhood Education International, Olney, Md, 2004.

Casey, Theresa, Inclusive Play: Practical strategies for working with children aged 3 to 8, Paul Chapman, London, 2005.

Center for Universal Design, ‘Universal Design Principles’, <>, accessed 15 May 2012.

Kilikili, ‘Who We Are’, <>, accessed 12 April 2013.

Sahlin, Erik, ‘Friendship Park: A playground for children with disabilities’, Israel, <>, accessed 13 March 2012.

Shane’s Inspiration, California, <>, accessed 13 March 2012.

Unlimited Play, Missouri, <>, accessed 13 March 2012.

Regarding the ways in which children with disabilities use playgrounds and experience play, see: Prellwitz, M. and L. Skär, ‘Usability of Playgrounds for Children with Different Abilities’, Occupational Therapy International, vol. 14, no. 3, 2007, pp. 144–155; and Casey, T. and N. Coates, ‘Out to Play: A consultation with children with disabilities, parents and carers on outdoor play areas in Edinburgh’, The Yard, Edinburgh, 2004.

x Donate Now
Please confirm your country and we will take you to the right donation page: