Press release

Women in the world's least developed countries are 300 times more likely to die in childbirth or from pregnancy-related complications than women in developed countries, according to UNICEF's latest State of the World's Children report, released here today.

Read the press release >>

Country examples

The main points of The State of the World's Children 2009 report summarized for journalists.

Read the country examples >>

Fast facts

The main economic and social indicators from The State of the World's Children 2009 report compiled by region for ease of reference.



Read the key facts >>

Video News Package

SOWC: Investing in a Continuum of Care for Mothers

Video News Package

© UNICEF video

UNICEF has produced video packages on initiatives to improve child and maternal health across the world. Stories come from Afghanistan, Haiti, Kyrgyzstan, Niger and Senegal.

To order video packages, click here >>

Please click here to see more video news packages available from UNICEF >>

Video interviews

Peter SalamaInterviews with UNICEF experts on maternal and newborn health.





Watch interviews >>

Photographs

Download the cover photograph and opening chapter photographs as high-resolution JPG files.

Download photographs >>

Contact UNICEF Media

Shanta Bloemen
UNICEF
South Africa
(+27 0) 11 517 1617
Mobile (+27 0) 79 495 5938
sbloemen@unicef.org

Brian Hansford
UNICEF Media
Mobile (+1 917) 605 1699
bhansford@unicef.org

Veronique Taveau,
UNICEF Media
Geneva
(+41 22) 909 5716
vtaveau@unicef.org

Yvonne Duncan
UNICEF
South Africa
(+27 0) 12 354 8201
Mobile (+27 0) 82 561 3970
yduncan@unicef.org

Christian Moen
UNICEF Media
New York
(+1 212) 326 7516
cmoen@unicef.org

Kate Donovan
UNICEF Media
New York
(+1 212) 326 7452
kdonovan@unicef.org


Visit the UNICEF Press Centre >>