Press release

Eliminating gender discrimination and empowering women will have a profound and positive impact on the survival and well-being of children, according to a new UNICEF report issued on UNICEF’s 60th anniversary.

Read more >>

Key messages

The main points of The State of the World's Children 2007 report summarized for journalists.

Go now >>

Equality in the houshold

Women are often closed out of crucial household decisions, which can have a devastating impact on child health and nutrition.

Read more >>

Equality in employment

Ensuring that women and men have equal opportunities to generate and manage income is an important step towards realizing women’s rights, which will lead to a greater likelihood that children’s rights will be fulfilled.

Read more >>

Equality in politics and government

Women’s involvement in politics – whether local or national – can help advance legislation that is more focused on women, children and families.

Read more >>

Gender discrimination across the life cycle

Women face discrimination through various stages of their life.

read more >>

Fast facts

The main economic and social indicators from The State of the World's Children 2007 report compiled by region for ease of reference.

Go now >>

Video News Package

Video News Package

Broadcast-quality video available for use by news journalists and current affairs broadcasters.

Go now >>

Audio interviews

Experts talk to UNICEF about why gender equality is important to women, children and communities.

Go now >>

Photographs

Download the cover photograph and opening chapter photographs as high resolution JPG files.

Go now >>

Contact UNICEF Media

UNICEF Media
New York
media@unicef.org

Jehane Sedky-Lavandero
UNICEF Media
New York
(+1 212) 326-7261
jsedky@unicef.org

Karen Dukess
UNICEF Media
New York
(+1 212) 303-7910
kdukess@unicef.org

Angela Hawke
UNICEF Media
New York
(+1 212) 326-7269
ahawke@unicef.org

Jessica Malter
UNICEF Media
New York
(+1 212) 326-7412
jmalter@unicef.org

Gina Dafalia
UNICEF Media, London (+ 44) 207 312 7695
Mobile
(+ 44) 7958 058 106
ginad@unicef.org.uk

Wivina Belmonte
UNICEF Media, Geneva
(+1 41-22) 909-5712
wbelmonte@unicef.org

Visit the UNICEF Press Centre >>