La situation des enfants dans le monde 2004

Questions particulières relatives à l’éducation des filles

Gordon, D., et al., 'The Distribution of Child Poverty in the Developing World: Report to UNICEF', Centre for International Poverty Research, University of Bristol, Bristol, 2003.
Recourant à un large éventail d’indicateurs du développement humain, ce rapport mesure l’ampleur et la gravité de la pauvreté des enfants dans le monde en développement. Le rapport définit la pauvreté absolue comme le fait d’être privé d’au moins deux des droits fondamentaux de la personne, à savoir un abri, la nourriture, l’eau, l’assainissement, la santé, l’information et l’éducation. Les conclusions sont présentées à partir d’un sondage qui a porté sur environ 1,2 million d’enfants dans 46 pays. Les auteurs évaluent les taux de pauvreté des enfants par région, selon le milieu urbain ou rural ou selon l’appartenance sexuelle.

Herz, Barbara et al.,' Laisser les filles s’instruire : des solutions prometteuses au niveau du cycle primaire et secondaire', Banque mondiale, Washington, 1991.
Ce document examine les rendements économiques et sociaux considérables de l’investissement dans l’éducation des femmes. Il examine la rentabilité de certaines mesures destinées à améliorer la fréquentation scolaire des filles. Le document soulève les préoccupations des responsables en présentant à la fois les gains tirés de l’éducation des filles et les contraintes qui les empêchent de s’inscrire à l’école. Les auteurs évaluent les réformes stratégiques et plaident en faveur de ces dernières et notamment de projets impliquant la Banque mondiale.

O’Gara, Chloe, et al., 'More, But Not Yet Better: An evaluation of USAID’s programs and policies to improve girls’ education', USAID Program and Operations Assessment Report no. 25, June 1999.
Ce rapport s’appuie sur des recherches effectuées dans huit pays ainsi que sur un examen détaillé de l’ensemble de la documentation existante pour évaluer des stratégies durables destinées à améliorer l’accès des filles à un enseignement de qualité et à veiller à ce qu’elles achèvent leurs études. Il fournit des preuves de la discrimination sexuelle qui continue d’affliger les systèmes éducatifs dans le monde en développement, et examine la manière dont les garçons sont affectés de manière constructive par les efforts visant à améliorer l’éducation des filles.

Rugh, Andrea, 'Multisectoral Approaches in Advancing Girls’ Education: Lessons learned in five SAGE countries', Academy for Educational Development, Washington, D.C., 2002.
Grâce à des études de cas et à des évaluations tirées de l’expérience sur le terrain, le rapport décrit la démarche multisectorielle du projet « Stratégies pour l’avancement de l’éducation des filles » de l’Agency for International Development des États-Unis. Le rapport est axé sur l’appel de l’Agence à la participation des secteurs non traditionnels tels que les entreprises, les médias et les communautés religieuses, dans un effort destiné à faire avancer l’éducation des filles, ainsi que sur sa décision d’utiliser le financement pour mobiliser les partenaires sectoriels plutôt que pour exécuter des projets spécifiques.

Tietjen, Karen, 'Multisectoral Support of Basic and Girls’ Education', Academy for Educational Development, Washington, D.C., 2000.
Cette étude donne une vue d’ensemble des moyens utilisés par les entreprises, les secteurs religieux et les médias pour appuyer l’éducation des filles dans les pays en développement durant les années 1990. L’étude évalue les liens historiques de chaque secteur avec l’éducation des filles et offre des exemples de partenariats multisectoriels et publics/privés fructueux. Elle conclut qu’alors que les trois secteurs ont contribué de manière importante à l’éducation de base, ces efforts doivent compléter plutôt que supplanter l’enseignement public.
[PDF]

Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, 'Accelerating Action in Girls’ Education', UNICEF, New York, 2003.
Cette publication est un condensé de la réflexion motivant l’appui de l’unicef à l’éducation des filles. Elle expose la stratégie de l’organisation dans 25 pays choisis en vue d’accélérer les progrès destinés à réaliser l’objectif de la parité des sexes dans l’éducation primaire et secondaire d’ici à 2005.

Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, Defining Quality in Education, UNICEF, New York, 2000.
Ce document de travail élargit la définition de la notion d’enseignement de « qualité » et souligne que l’éducation est un système complexe qui s’inscrit dans un contexte politique, social et économique. Les auteurs relèvent l’importance d’apprenants en bonne santé et de cadres d’apprentissage sain, de cursus scolaires pertinents et polyvalents, d’un enseignement axé sur l’enfant et de résultats illustrant un savoir, des compétences et des attitudes. La sensibilisation aux disparités entre les sexes est l’élément clef d’un enseignement de qualité.
[PDF]

Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, 'Quality Education For All: From a girl’s point of view', UNICEF, New York, 2002.
Cette brochure résume les questions pertinentes à l’éducation des filles, y compris les processus d’apprentissage appuyant ou entravant les résultats des filles, les façons dont les cursus scolaires peuvent les inclure ou les exclure et les divers cadres d’apprentissage propices à leur épanouissement. Le texte regorge d’anecdotes racontées par les filles à propos de leur vie et du rôle que l’éducation y joue. La brochure examine également les avantages de l’éducation des filles pour les individus, les familles et les sociétés.
[PDF]

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture, 'The Challenge of Achieving Gender Parity in Basic Education: A statistical review, 1990-1998', UNESCO, Paris, 2002.
Ce rapport compare les expériences des filles et des garçons dans l’enseignement primaire et secondaire dans les pays en développement en analysant les taux d’alphabétisation et les données sur l’accès et la participation à l’école. Il relève que la qualité du personnel enseignant est particulièrement importante pour le succès scolaire des filles. Il examine par conséquent de près les ratios d’enseignantes femmes dans les écoles et d’enseignants qui ont reçu une formation pédagogique. Le gros du rapport consiste en tableaux statistiques organisés par pays et en indices relatifs à l’éducation.
[PDF]

Équipe de travail interinstitutions des Nations Unies sur le sport au service du développement et de la paix, 'Le sport au service du développement et de la paix : vers la réalisation des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement', 2003.
Ce rapport analyse la contribution éventuelle du sport à un développement sain de l’enfant et à la réalisation des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement. Il évoque les moyens dont la participation au sport peut contribuer à améliorer les aptitudes des filles à diriger et à renforcer leur confiance à l’école.



 

 

English   Español  

New enhanced search

The State of the World's Children 2004

Special issues in girls' education

Gordon, D., et al., 'The Distribution of Child Poverty in the Developing World: Report to UNICEF', Centre for International Poverty Research, University of Bristol, Bristol, 2003.
Using a wide range of human development indicators, this report measures the extent and depth of child poverty in the developing world. The report defines absolute poverty as the deprivation of two or more basic human rights, including shelter, food, water, sanitation, health, information and education. Findings are presented from a survey that encompassed nearly 1.2 million children in 46 countries. The authors evaluate levels of child poverty by region, urban/rural location, and gender.

Herz, Barbara et al., 'Letting Girls Learn: Promising approaches in primary and secondary education', World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1991.
This paper explores the substantial economic and social returns on investment in women’s education. It examines the cost-effectiveness of special measures designed to improve girls’ attendance. The paper addresses policy makers’ concerns by presenting both the gains accrued from girls’ education and the constraints that keep them from enrolling. The authors evaluate and advocate for strategic reforms, particularly for projects involving the World Bank.

O’Gara, Chloe, et al., 'More, But Not Yet Better: An evaluation of USAID’s programs and policies to improve girls’ education', USAID Program and Operations Assessment Report no. 25, June 1999.
This report draws on research in eight countries and details of a comprehensive literature review to evaluate sustainable strategies for improving girls’ access to, and completion of, quality education. It carefully documents the gender discrimination that continues to plague educational systems in the developing world, and investigates ways in which boys are positively affected by efforts to improve girls’ education.

Rugh, Andrea, 'Multisectoral Approaches in Advancing Girls’ Education: Lessons learned in five SAGE countries', Academy for Educational Development, Washington, D.C., 2002.
Through case studies and evaluations of field experience, this report describes the multisectoral approach of the Strategies for Advancing Girls’ Education (SAGE) project of the United States Agency for International Development. The report focuses on the a
Agency’s call to involve non-traditional sectors, such as business, media, and religious communities, in efforts to advance girls’ education and its decision to use funding for the mobilization of sectoral partners rather than for the implementation of specific projects.

Tietjen, Karen, 'Multisectoral Support of Basic and Girls’ Education', Academy for Educational Development, Washington, D.C., 2000.
This study provides an overview of the ways in which business, religious and media sectors supported girls’ education in developing countries during the 1990s. The study assesses the historical relationship of each sector with girls’ education and offers examples of successful multisectoral and public-private partnerships. It concludes that while all three sectors have made significant contributions to basic education, these efforts must supplement rather than supplant public education.
[PDF]

United Nations Children’s Fund, 'Accelerating Action in Girls’ Education', UNICEF, New York, 2003.
This publication summarizes the thinking behind UNICEF’s support for girls’ education and outlines its strategy in 25 selected countries for accelerating progress towards meeting the goal of gender parity in primary and secondary education by 2005.

United Nations Children’s Fund, 'Defining Quality in Education', UNICEF, New York, 2000.
This working paper broadens the definition of ‘quality’ education and underscores education as a complex system that is embedded in a political, social and economic context. The authors explore the importance of healthy learners and learning environments, relevant and comprehensive curricula, child-centred teaching and outcomes that encompass knowledge, skills and attitudes. Gender sensitivity is included as a key element of quality education.
[PDF]

United Nations Children’s Fund, 'Quality Education For All: From a girl’s point of view', UNICEF, New York, 2002.
This booklet provides a brief summary of issues germane to girls’ education, including learning processes that support or undermine girls’ achievement, ways in which curricula can include or exclude girls and types of learning environments that enable girls to thrive. Peppered throughout the text are anecdotes from girls about their lives and the role education plays in them. The booklet also reviews the benefit of girls’ education to individuals, families and societies.
[PDF]

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, 'The Challenge of Achieving Gender Parity in Basic Education: A statistical review', 1990-1998, UNESCO, Paris, 2002.
This report compares girls’ and boys’ experiences of primary and secondary education in developing countries through analyses of literacy rates and data on school access and participation. It notes that the quality of teaching staff is particularly important to girls’ success in school. Therefore it takes a close look at ratios of female teachers in schools and teachers who have received pedagogical training. The bulk of the report consists of statistical tables organized by country and educational indicator.
[PDF]

United Nations Inter-Agency Task Force on Sport for Development and Peace, 'Sport as a Tool for Development and Peace: Towards achieving the United Nations Millennium Development Goals', 2003.
This report analyzes the potential contribution of sport to healthy child development and to the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals. It includes a discussion of the ways in which participation in sport can help enhance girls’ leadership skills and their confidence in school.



 

 

Español   Français

New enhanced search