La situation des enfants dans le monde 2004

Éducation primaire

Ahmed, Manzoor et al., 'Primary Education for All': Learning from the BRAC experience, Projet ABEL: Advancing Basic Education and Literacy, Washington, D.C., 1993.
Cette étude de cas examine l’éducation primaire au Bangladesh et décrit les principes, la structure et les objectifs du programme d’enseignement primaire non traditionnel qui a été mis en oeuvre par le Comité bangladais pour le développement rural (BRAC). Le programme du BRAC dispense une éducation aux groupes les plus désavantagés du pays. L’étude évalue les forces et les faiblesses du programme, en vue de le reproduire dans d’autres pays désireux d’explorer l’enseignement primaire non traditionnel, notamment pour les filles.

Bruns, Barbara, Alain Mingat and Ramahtra Rakotomalala, 'Achieving Universal Primary Education by 2015: A Chance for every child', Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 2003.
Ce livre évalue les probabilités de parvenir à une éducation primaire pour tous d’ici à 2015, date fixée pour les objectifs de développement pour le Millénaire. Il examine les progrès réalisés jusqu’à présent par les pays à cet égard et évalue les réformes politiques et les promesses de financement nécessaires au progrès. Le livre offre des tableaux statistiques sur les indicateurs en matière d’éducation et les ressources financières.

Chowdhury, Kowsar P., 'Literacy and Primary Education', World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1996.
Cet article souligne le rôle clef d’une éducation primaire pour tous dans la lutte contre l’illettrisme dans le monde en développement. Il examine les données relatives à l’illettrisme par rapport à des variables comme le sexe, le groupe d’âge et les populations urbaines/rurales. Il propose des mesures pour surmonter l’illettrisme au niveau du primaire et fait des recommandations destinées aux gouvernements et aux donateurs. Il présente également des arguments relatifs à une formation dans le domaine de l’alphabétisation des adultes.

Colclough, Christopher, with Keith M. Lewin, 'Educating All the Children: Strategies for primary schooling in the South', Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1993.
Ce livre réaffirme le rôle essentiel d’une scolarisation de qualité au niveau du primaire en vue du développement national. Il analyse les raisons de la faible inscription scolaire persistante dans les pays en développement et propose des stratégies orientées vers l’avenir pour inverser cette tendance. Les auteurs utilisent des études de cas de diverses régions pour illustrer à la fois les bienfaits et les risques d’une réforme de l’éducation. Ils préconisent des politiques destinées à ouvrir l’accès à la scolarisation et énumèrent les mesures requises, tant dans le Nord que dans le Sud.

Department for International Development, 'The Challenge of Universal Primary Education: Strategies for achieving the international development targets', DFID, London, 2001.
Cette publication est divisée en six sections, chacune axée sur une dimension particulière de l’éducation primaire pour tous. Elle souligne que l’éducation de base pour tous est le principal engagement de l’Éducation pour tous. Elle évoque également la notion d’éducation en tant que droit de la personne, les conséquences d’une approche basée sur les droits de la personne pour les filles, les engagements pris par les gouvernements et la communauté internationale aux fins de garantir une éducation primaire pour tous, les leçons tirées et les meilleures pratiques en vue de programmes futurs.
[PDF]

Floro, Maria and Joyce M. Wolf, 'The Economic and Social Impacts of Girls’ Primary Education in Developing Countries', Academy for Educational Development, Advancing Basic Education and Literacy Project, USAID, 1990.
Cette publication examine l’accumulation de preuves indiquant combien l’éducation primaire des filles dans le monde est importante pour la prospérité individuelle et nationale. L’article examine le lien entre l’éducation des filles et la productivité économique qu’elle entraîne par la suite, ainsi que l’influence sur la famille, la communauté, la croissance nationale et le développement. Cet article est souvent cité dans d’autres publications sur la nécessité d’éduquer les filles.

Lockheed, Marlaine and Adriaan M. Verspoor, 'Improving Primary Education in Developing Countries', Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 1993.
Ce livre fait valoir que les systèmes d’éducation primaire dans le monde en développement n’ont pas réussi à aider les élèves à acquérir les compétences requises pour ce qui est d’apprendre à lire et à compter en vue de soutenir la concurrence au sein de la main-d’œuvre moderne. En examinant la documentation et les expériences des donateurs, les auteurs donnent un aperçu des systèmes d’éducation primaire dans le monde en développement et font valoir que les enfants traditionnellement sous-représentés  – filles, pauvres et membres des communautés rurales – doivent avoir davantage d’accès à l’éducation et être encouragés à s’inscrire à l’école.

Mehrotra, Santosh and Jan Vandemoortele,'Cost and Financing of Primary Education: Options for reform in sub-Saharan Africa', UNICEF, New York, 1997.
Cette publication constate que l’Afrique subsaharienne a été la seule région au monde à accuser une baisse des taux bruts d’inscription à l’école primaire dans les années 1980 et n’a connu qu’une légère amélioration dans les années 1990. Les auteurs évaluent les coûts considérables nécessaires à la réalisation d’une éducation de base pour tous en Afrique subsaharienne et plaident en faveur de réformes qui amélioreront le rapport coût-efficacité. Des méthodes visant à obtenir une meilleure rentabilité et une diversification des financements sont examinées.

Rugh, Andrea, Starting Now: 'Strategies for Helping Girls Complete Primary', SAGE Technical Report no. 1, Academy for Educational Development, Washington, D.C., 2000.
Cette étude fait valoir qu’un investissement fructueux dans l’éducation primaire des filles doit intégrer la qualité à l’accès. La façon la plus rentable d’ouvrir l’accès est d’améliorer la qualité des programmes. L’article analyse les influences culturelles et sociales sur les attitudes relatives à l’éducation des filles, évalue les initiatives qui encouragent la participation des filles et présente des stratégies et des modèles prometteurs, avec des études de cas d’Égypte, du Honduras, du Mali et du Pakistan.
[PDF]

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture, 'Occasions Perdues : quand l’école faillit à sa mission – le redoublement et l’abandon dans L’enseignement primaire', Éducation pour tous, Situation et tendances 1998, UNESCO, Pari
Cette publication explore l’efficacité de l’école primaire par rapport aux objectifs de l’Éducation pour tous. Elle fournit des données relatives aux tendances au redoublement et à l’abandon, décrit les manières dont les mauvais résultats scolaires et les faibles taux d’achèvement du cycle d’études primaires affectent défavorablement le développement social et national et envisage des moyens de rendre les écoles plus efficaces.
[PDF]



 

 

English   Español  

New enhanced search

The State of the World's Children 2004

Primary education

Ahmed, Manzoor et al., 'Primary Education for All: Learning from the BRAC experience', Project ABEL: Advancing Basic Education and Literacy, Washington, D.C., 1993.
This case study examines primary education in Bangladesh and describes the principles, structure and goals of the non-formal primary education programme implemented by the Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee (BRAC). The BRAC programme provides education for the most disadvantaged groups in the country. The study assesses the strengths and weaknesses of the programme with an eye to replicating it in other countries willing to explore non-formal primary education, especially for girls.

Bruns, Barbara, Alain Mingat and Ramahtra Rakotomalala, 'Achieving Universal Primary Education by 2015: A Chance for every child', World Bank, Washington, D.C., 2003.
This book assesses the likelihood of achieving universal primary school completion by 2015, the target date for the Millennium Development Goals. It investigates how far countries have come thus far in meeting this goal and evaluates the policy reforms and funding commitments necessary to spur progress. Statistical tables on educational indicators and financial resources are included.

Chowdhury, Kowsar P., 'Literacy and Primary Education', World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1996.
This paper underscores universal primary education’s key role in eradicating illiteracy in the developing world. The paper examines data on literacy against such variables as gender, age group, and urban/rural populations, suggests measures to overcome illiteracy at the primary level and recommends actions for governments and donor agencies. A discussion of adult literacy training is also included.

Colclough, Christopher, with Keith M. Lewin, 'Educating All the Children: Strategies for primary schooling in the South', Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1993.
This book reiterates the critical role of quality primary schooling for achieving national development. It analyses reasons for continuing underenrolment in developing countries and proposes forward-looking strategies to reverse this trend. Using case studies from diverse regions to illustrate both the benefits and the risks of educational reform, the authors champion policies for increasing access to schooling and outline the steps required of both North and South.

Department for International Development, 'The Challenge of Universal Primary Education: Strategies for achieving the international development targets', DFID, London, 2001.
This publication is divided into six sections, each focusing on a particular dimension of universal primary education. It emphasizes that universal primary education is the central commitment of Education For All. It further discusses the concept of education as a human right, the implications of a human rights-based approach for girls, obligations of governments and the international community to secure universal primary education, and lessons learned and best practices for future programming.
[PDF]

Floro, Maria and Joyce M. Wolf, 'The Economic and Social Impacts of Girls’ Primary Education in Developing Countries', Academy for Educational Development, Advancing Basic Education and Literacy Project, USAID, 1990.
This publication explores the accumulated evidence of the importance of girls’ primary education worldwide on individual and national prosperity. The paper investigates the link between educating girls and their later economic productivity and influence on the family, community and national growth and development. This paper is often cited in other publications on the necessity of girls’ education.

Lockheed, Marlaine and Adriaan M. Verspoor, 'Improving Primary Education in Developing Countries', World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1993.
This book argues that primary education systems in the developing world have failed to help students acquire the necessary literacy and numeracy skills to compete in the modern labour force. Through a review of the literature and donors’ experiences, the authors provide a glimpse into primary education systems in the developing world and argue that the children who have been traditionally underrepresented – girls, the poor and those from rural communities – must have greater access to education and be encouraged to enrol.

Mehrotra, Santosh and Jan Vandemoortele, 'Cost and Financing of Primary Education: Options for reform in sub-Saharan Africa', UNICEF, New York, 1997.
This publication notes that sub-Saharan Africa was the only region in the world to suffer a decline in gross primary school enrolment ratios in the 1980s, and that the 1990s saw only slight improvement. The authors assess the substantial costs of achieving universal primary education in sub-Saharan Africa and advocate for reforms that will improve cost-effectiveness. Methods of obtaining better value for money and diversifying financing are reviewed.

Rugh, Andrea, 'Starting Now: Strategies for Helping Girls Complete Primary', SAGE Technical Report no. 1, Academy for Educational Development, Washington, D.C., 2000.
This study argues that successful investment in girls’ primary education must integrate access with quality. The most cost-effective way to expand access is to improve programme quality. The paper analyses cultural and social influences on attitudes to girls’ education, evaluates initiatives that encourage girls’ participation, and presents promising strategies and models. Case studies from Egypt, Honduras, Mali and Pakistan are included.
[PDF]

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, 'Wasted Opportunities: When schools fail – repetition and drop-out in primary schools', Education for All, Strategies and Trends 1998, UNESCO, Paris, 1998.
This publication explores primary school efficiency as it relates to the Education For All goals. It provides data on trends in repetition and dropout, describes the ways in which low learning achievement and poor school completion rates adversely affect social and national development, and considers ways to make schools more efficient.
[PDF]



 

 

Español   Français

New enhanced search