La situation des enfants dans le monde 2004

Praxis

BRAC, éducation, site Web du BRAC
Ce site Web décrit les modèles éducatifs utilisés par le Programme éducatif du BRAC (anciennement le Comité pour le progrès rural au Bangladesh). Il décrit en détail les ripostes novatrices du BRAC au vu de la nécessité d’avoir des possibilités élargies pour un enseignement de base continu pour les enfants et adultes laissés pour compte. Il fournit un modèle pour ces initiatives en se concentrant sur des thèmes précis comme une programmation souple, une démarche participative axée sur l’apprenant et le fait de mettre l’accent sur les besoins des filles ainsi que sur ceux des minorités ethniques.
[Site extérieur]

Brown, Janet, 'Evaluation Report of the Better Parenting Project: National Multi-Sectoral Collaboration on Behalf of Young Children', UNICEF Jordanie, 2000.
Ce rapport évalue le projet consistant à améliorer les compétences parentales en Jordanie, lancé par l’UNICEF et des partenaires locaux en 1996 pour fournir un appui aux parents des enfants de moins de six ans. L’amélioration des compétences parentales se concentre en particulier sur la santé, la nutrition et le développement social et affectif. Le rapport présente des informations sur les difficultés rencontrées par les familles en Jordanie qui sont pauvres, au chômage, ont un emploi minimal ou un faible niveau d’éducation. Il fournit des détails sur les méthodes du projet visant à encourager les soins à la petite enfance.
[Word]

Chesterfield, Ray and Fernando E. Rubio, 'Incentives for the Participation of Guatemalan Indigenous Girls in Primary Education: Final evaluation of the Eduque a la Niňa Pilot Project', Academy for Educational Development, Guatemala, 1997
Cette présentation décrit les diverses interventions au Guatemala destinées à aider les filles à s’inscrire à l’école et à poursuivre leur scolarisation. Elle décrit chaque stratégie utilisée et évalue leur succès en mesurant la fréquentation, la participation, l’achèvement des études et la rentabilité. Fondées sur des données provenant de 36 communautés participant à ce projet, le document conclut qu’un programme de bourses scolaires est la meilleure incitation pour convaincre les parents de poursuivre la scolarisation de leurs filles.
[PDF]

Gomez, Joel, Leonel Valdivia and Virginia Lambert, Creative Associates International, 'Evaluation of the Falconbridge Foundation School Sponsorship Program: Basic Education and Policy Support (BEPS) Activity', Agency for International Development des État
Ce rapport évalue le Programme consistant à parrainer les écoles en République dominicaine en vue de reproduire l’initiative aux plans national et international. Le rapport examine les racines du projet dans la communauté locale et son succès dans la création de solides partenariats publics/privés. Il décrit les composantes spécifiques du projet et présente les résultats scolaires.

Organisation internationale du travail, Programme international pour l’élimination du travail des enfants, ‘Facts on how IPEC works with teachers’, Organisation internationale du Travail, Genève, March 2003.
Cette fiche d’information fournit un instantané des programmes qui encouragent l’éducation et qui diminuent le travail des enfants. Elle décrit les programmes mis en œuvre par des enseignants au Kenya, au Pérou et aux Philippines et aborde brièvement les principaux résultats et stratégies.
[PDF]

Literacy Exchange: World Resources on Literacy, Kosovo, Literacy Exchange website
Ce site Web est consacré au programme Windows on Life ou Fenêtres sur la vie, qui renforce les aptitudes à lire et à compter des filles et des femmes au Kosovo. Ce programme offre des outils en vue d’une autonomisation grâce à des thèmes comme la santé, les droits de la personne, la petite enfance, le travail et l’économie. Le site comprend des descriptions détaillées du cursus scolaire Windows on Life, les projets de leçons et le processus d’évaluation. Des liens sont disponibles vers des pages de manuels scolaires.
[Site extérieur]

Marcuello, Mabel, 'Opening Doors for Rural Girls’ Education: Punkukunata Kichaspa Project', Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, 2001.
Ce document examine la démarche du projet Punkukunata Kichaspa, une initiative de 1999 qui aborde l’exclusion des filles en milieu rural au Pérou sur le plan éducatif. Le document décrit les circonstances qui ont mené à la création du projet, et résume les interventions mises en œuvre par le Punkukunata Kichaspa en mettant en particulier l’accent sur les moyens de faire participer les familles et les communautés.
[PDF]

Pandey, Raghaw Sharan, 'Going to Scale with Education Reform: India’s District Primary Education Program, 1995-99', Série de publications sur la réforme de et la gestion de l’enseignement, vol. 1, no. 4, Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 2000.
Ce document examine le Programme d’éducation primaire du District, lancé en 1994, qui touche aujourd'hui 55 pour cent des élèves des écoles primaires en Inde. Le document donne un aperçu de la conception du projet et examine les raisons de son succès. Sept aspects spécifiques du projet sont mis en relief en tant qu’exemples de bonnes pratiques.
[PDF]

Tostan: Women’s Health and Human Rights, Education, Site Web Tostan
Ce site Web décrit le programme d’enseignement de base Tostan au Sénégal. Il évoque le recours par le projet à un programme éducatif non traditionnel qui puise dans les langues locales et traditions culturelles pour toucher les femmes en milieu rural qui ont été privées de scolarisation. Des liens sont fournis pour des descriptions détaillées des modules, des résultats, de l’historique et de la méthodologie.
[Site extérieur]

Département pour le développement international du Royaume-Uni, ‘The Lok Jumbish Programme (1992-2004): Education as a tool for promoting gender empowerment and equity’, DFID, website
Ce document décrit les stratégies adoptées par le programme d’éducation Lok Jumbish en Inde pour parvenir à une éducation universelle dans une région où la pauvreté et l’exclusion sociale entravent les inscriptions scolaires. Le projet mobilise les communautés locales pour qu’elles revitalisent les systèmes d’éducation primaire et lancent des initiatives d’écoles non traditionnelles. Le document présente les 10 composantes de la stratégie de Lok Jumbish pour encourager la parité des sexes dans les écoles. Il résume les résultats du programme obtenus jusqu'à l’heure présente.
[Site extérieur]

Zarchin, Jill, Tin Mar Aung and Jackie Jenkins, 'Skills-based health education and Life Skills - The Myanmar Experience', UNICEF Myanmar, juillet 2001
Ce document explore le programme de vie saine basée sur l’acquisition de compétences et le programme d’éducation pour la prévention du VIH/sida au Myanmar. Le programme est axé sur des questions pertinentes pour les jeunes, y compris la prévention du VIH, l’hygiène, la consommation de drogue et une préparation générale à la vie. Avec un taux de croissance exponentiel d’infection par le VIH, le Myanmar a fait de ce programme un modèle national pour une éducation destinée à prévenir le VIH. Le document contient des informations pour la formation des enseignants, des plans de leçons et des méthodes pour améliorer les liens entre les écoles et les communautés locales.
[PDF]



 

 

English   Español  

New enhanced search

The State of the World's Children 2004

Praxis

BRAC, Education, BRAC website
This website describes the educational models implemented by BRAC (formerly the Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee) Education Programme. It details BRAC’s innovative responses to the need for expanded basic and continuing education opportunities for disenfranchised children and adults. It provides a blueprint for its initiatives by focusing on specific themes such as flexible scheduling, a learner-centred, participatory approach and emphasis on the needs of girls and members of ethnic minority groups.
[External Web page]

Brown, Janet, 'Evaluation Report of the Better Parenting Project: National Multi-Sectoral Collaboration on Behalf of Young Children', UNICEF Jordan, 2000
This report evaluates the Better Parenting Project in Jordan, initiated by UNICEF and local partners in 1996 to provide support to parents of children under the age of six. Better Parenting particularly focuses on health, nutrition and social-emotional development. The report offers information on the challenges facing families in Jordan who are poor, have minimal or no employment and low educational levels, and provides details of the project’s methods for promoting early childhood care.
[PDF]

Chesterfield, Ray and Fernando E. Rubio, 'Incentives for the Participation of Guatemalan Indigenous Girls in Primary Education: Final evaluation of the Eduque a la Niňa Pilot Project', Academy for Educational Development, Guatemala, 1997
This paper outlines various interventions in Guatemala designed to help girls enrol and stay in school. It describes the strategies employed by each initiative and evaluates their success by measuring attendance, participation, completion and cost-effectiveness. Based on data from the 36 communities involved in this project, the paper concludes that a scholarship programme was the most effective incentive to help parents keep their daughters in school.
[PDF]

Gomez, Joel, Leonel Valdivia and Virginia Lambert, Creative Associates International, 'Evaluation of the Falconbridge Foundation School Sponsorship Program: Basic Education and Policy Support (BEPS) Activity', United States Agency for International Develo
This report evaluates the School Sponsorship Program in the Dominican Republic with an eye to replicating the initiative both nationally and internationally. The report discusses the project’s roots in the local community and its success in building solid public/private partnerships. It describes the specific components of the project and presents results in student achievement.
[PDF]

International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, ‘Facts on how IPEC works with teachers’, International Labour Organization, Geneva, March 2003
This fact sheet provides a snapshot of programmes that promote education and reduce child labour. It describes programmes implemented by teachers in Kenya, Peru and the Philippines, briefly addressing principal strategies and results.
[PDF]

Literacy Exchange: World Resources on Literacy, Kosovo, Literacy Exchange website
This website is devoted to the Windows on Life programme, which provides literacy and numeracy training for girls and women in Kosovo. This programme offers the tools for self-sufficiency through such topics as health, human rights, early childhood, work and the economy. The site includes detailed descriptions of the Windows on Life curriculum, lesson plans and the evaluation process. Links are available to textbook pages.
[External Web page]

Marcuello, Mabel, 'Opening Doors for Rural Girls’ Education: Punkukunata Kichaspa Project', United Nations Children’s Fund, 2001
This paper examines the approach of the Punkukunata Kichaspa project, a 1999 initiative addressing the educational exclusion of rural girls in Peru. The document describes the circumstances that led to the creation of the project and summarizes the interventions implemented by Punkukunata Kichaspa and its particular emphasis on ways to involve families and communities.

Pandey, Raghaw Sharan, 'Going to Scale with Education Reform: India’s District Primary Education Program, 1995-99', Education Reform and Management Publication Series, vol. 1, no. 4, World Bank, Washington, D.C., 2000
This paper examines the District Primary Education Program, which was launched in 1994 and today reaches 55 per cent of India’s primary school students. The paper presents an overview of the project’s design and explores the reasons behind its success. Seven specific aspects of the project are highlighted as examples of good practice.
[PDF]

Tostan: Women’s Health and Human Rights, Education, Tostan website
This website describes the Tostan Basic Education Program in Senegal. It discusses the project’s use of a non-formal, participatory education programme that draws on local languages and cultural traditions to reach rural women who have been deprived of schooling. Links are provided to in-depth descriptions of its modules, achievements, background and methodology.
[External Web page]

United Kingdom Department for International Development, ‘The Lok Jumbish Programme (1992-2004): Education as a tool for promoting gender empowerment and equity’, DFID, website
This document describes strategies adopted by the Lok Jumbish Education Programme in India to help achieve universal education in an area where poverty and social exclusion limit school enrolment. The project mobilizes local communities to revitalize primary school systems and to establish non-formal schooling initiatives. The document presents the 10 components of Lok Jumbish’s strategy to promote gender equity in schools. It briefly summarizes the programme’s results to date.

Zarchin, Jill, Tin Mar Aung and Jackie Jenkins, 'Skills-based health education and Life Skills - The Myanmar Experience', UNICEF Myanmar, July 2001
This document explores Myanmar’s Skills-based Healthy Living and HIV/AIDS Prevention Education programme. The programme focuses on issues relevant to young people, including HIV prevention, hygiene, drug abuse and overall life skills. With an exponential growth rate in HIV infection, Myanmar has made this programme a national model for HIV prevention education. This paper includes information on teacher training, lesson plans and methods for enhancing the relationship between schools and local communities.
[PDF]



 

 

Español   Français

New enhanced search