La situation des enfants dans le monde 2004

VIH/SIDA et enseignement

Barnet, E., K. De Koning, and V. Francis, ‘Health and HIV/AIDS Education in Primary and Secondary Schools in Africa and Asia’, Education Research no. 14, Overseas Development Administration, London, 1995.
Ce livre examine les politiques et pratiques courantes en matière de santé et d’éducation quant au sida dans les écoles primaires et secondaires en Afrique et en Asie. Il fournit le contexte en matière de santé et d’éducation pour chaque région, souligne les priorités attachées au VIH/sida, présente le contenu des cursus scolaires, les méthodes d’enseignement, la préparation des enseignants et les préoccupations des jeunes à propos de la pandémie.
[Site extérieur]

Carr-Hill, Roy and J.K. Kataboro and A. Katahoire, ‘HIV/AIDS and Education’, Education and International Development, Institute of Education, University of Dar-es-Salaam, 2000.
Ce rapport examine l’incidence dévastatrice du VIH/sida sur les systèmes éducatifs, notamment en ce qui concerne la demande pour, l’offre et la gestion d’un enseignement de qualité. Il décrit le rôle de l’enseignement en tant qu’instrument de prévention et énonce des stratégies destinées aux ministères et aux organisations non gouvernementales ou basées sur la communauté, afin d’atténuer les effets de la pandémie. En présentant des études de cas de sept pays d’Afrique subsaharienne, il explore des interventions réussies en matière d’enseignement. Le rapport fournit également des statistiques.
[Word]

Coombe, Carol and M. Kelly, « L’Éducation, véhicule de lutte contre le SIDA », 'UNESCO Perspectives', vol. 31, no. 3, 2001, pp. 435-45.
Cet exposé examine la réaction au VIH/sida et son atténuation grâce aux cursus scolaires. Il examine les besoins des apprenants vulnérables, la perte d’enseignants et la participation de la communauté. Il laisse entendre que les écoles ne seront pas en mesure de lutter efficacement contre la pandémie tant que les systèmes éducatifs n’assureront pas leur propre stabilité.
[Site extérieur]

Gillespie, Amaya, et al., ‘Focusing Resources on Effective School Health: A FRESH start to enhancing HIV/AIDS prevention’.
Cet article met l’accent sur une réaction multisectorielle au VIH/sida qui a été intégrée à un projet conjoint de l’unicef, de l’unesco, de l’oms et de la Banque mondiale – le programme Concentrer les ressources pour une santé scolaire efficace. Il recommande un cadre de stratégies rentables : eau potable et assainissement, politiques scolaires liées à la santé, éducation sanitaire fondée sur l’acquisition d’aptitudes et services de santé et de nutrition axés sur l’école. Cette description détaillée est fournie en tant que modèle pour des interventions basées sur l’école en vue d’une meilleure santé et de la prévention du VIH/sida.
[Word]

Gregson, S., H. Waddell, and S. Chandiwana, ‘School Education and HIV-1 Control in Sub-Saharan Africa: From discord to harmony?’, 'Journal of International Development', vol. 13, 2001, pp. 467-85.
Les auteurs font valoir que les pays développés et les populations de l’Afrique subsaharienne ont un taux plus élevé d’infection par le VIH, ce qui contredit la théorie selon laquelle le VIH est une maladie liée à la pauvreté et à l’ignorance. L’étude examine les preuves et les raisons possibles de ce phénomène en se concentrant sur le lien entre l’éducation et la propagation du VIH aux niveaux macro-économique et micro-économique. Les chercheurs concluent que les populations plus éduquées sont au départ davantage vulnérables au VIH mais sont mieux équipées pour préparer des ripostes efficaces.
[Word]

Hargreaves, James R. And Judith R. Glynn, ‘Educational Attainment and HIV Infection in Developing Countries: A systematic review’, 'Tropical Medicine & International Health', vol. 7, no. 6, 2002, p. 489-498.
Cet article examine systématiquement la documentation relative au VIH/sida et évalue le lien entre le degré d’instruction et les taux d’infection par le VIH dans les pays en développement. Il constate qu’un degré élevé d’instruction est associé à un plus grand risque d’infection par le VIH en Afrique, mais ce modèle est contredit lorsqu’on étudie le schéma des nouvelles infections par le VIH en Thaïlande, où l’éducation contribue à prévenir l’infection.
[Site extérieur]

Harris, Abigail and Jane G. Schubert, ‘Defining “Quality” in the Midst of HIV/AIDS: Ripple Effects in the Classroom. IEQ Project.’ American Institutes for Research, 2001.
Cette publication évoque les moyens permettant de combler le fossé entre le nombre d’enfants qui ont accès à l’école et la qualité de l’enseignement. Elle présente les résultats de deux sondages (février 1999 et octobre 2000) concernant l’incidence du VIH/sida sur l’éducation au Malawi tant pour les enseignants que pour les élèves et examine les effets du décès de parents proches ou éloignés sur la fréquentation et l’apprentissage scolaires.
[Word]

Hepburn, Amy E., ‘Primary Education in Eastern and Southern Africa: Increasing access for orphans and vulnerable children in AIDS-affected areas’, Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy, Duke University, 2001.
Ceci est une analyse des initiatives nationales et communautaires prises en vue d’ouvrir l’accès à l’enseignement de base pour les enfants orphelins ou rendus vulnérables par le VIH/sida dans les régions d’Afrique orientale et australe. Elle intègre les leçons tirées d’interventions réussies en matière d’inscription scolaire.

Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/sida et l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, Le point sur l’épidémie du sida, ONUSIDA/OMS, Genève, décembre 2002.
Ceci est un aperçu mondial de la pandémie du VIH/sida, y compris de son ampleur dans chaque région. Ce rapport consacre une attention particulière à la division entre les pays à revenus élevés et le monde en développement, au lien entre VIH/sida et crises humanitaires et au lien entre crise alimentaire en Afrique australe et VIH/sida dans les zones de conflit armé. Il donne des estimations du nombre d’adultes et d’enfants dans le monde atteints par le VIH en 2002, ainsi que des nouvelles infections et décès imputés au sida parmi les adultes et les enfants.
[Site extérieur]

Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/sida et Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture, 'Education and Communication’, ONUSIDA/UNESCO, Paris, 2001.
Cette publication accroît la sensibilisation du public au sida dans la communauté et examine les mythes à propos de la maladie. Elle intègre les activités de groupe et les messages efficaces qui doivent être utilisés dans les campagnes d’éducation en matière de santé publique.

Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/sida, VIH/sida et éducation : une approche stratégique, ONUSIDA, Genève, 2002.
Ce document présente les priorités en vue d’une augmentation proportionnelle de la réaction à la pandémie du VIH de la part des écoles et des systèmes éducatifs, et préconise une action urgente en vue d’atténuer l’incidence du VIH/sida. Il propose des stratégies d’application et de suivi de tous les Plans d’action nationale en vue de l’Éducation pour tous, en veillant à obtenir une collaboration intersectorielle et interinstitutionnelle, à appuyer les enseignants, à préparer du matériel d’apprentissage de qualité sur le VIH/sida, à promouvoir la préparation à la vie active et l’éducation par les pairs et à encourager des pratiques favorables à la parité des sexes et à la fréquentation scolaire.
[PDF]

Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/sida, 'Rapport sur l’épidémie mondiale du VIH/sida', ONUSIDA, Genève, juin 2000.
Ce rapport d’ensemble  sur la pandémie du VIH comprend des estimations internationales et régionales sur les taux d’infection par le VIH et les décès imputés au sida. Il donne un aperçu de la manière dont le VIH se propage dans différentes régions du monde et évoque l’effet démographique, social et économique du VIH/sida, les facteurs qui rendent les gens vulnérables à l’infection par le VIH, la prévention, les conseils, les stratégies de dépistage, les méthodes de soins et d’appui et les traits communs des ripostes nationales efficaces.

Kelly, M. J., 'The Encounter between HIV/AIDS and Education', UNESCO Bureau sous-régional pour l’Afrique australe, Harare, 2000.
Se servant de la Zambie en tant qu’étude de cas, le rapport examine l’impact du VIH/sida sur l’éducation et la possibilité que celle-ci atténue la propagation de la maladie en Afrique orientale et australe. Il constate que l’enseignement doit jouer un rôle clef pour instaurer des conditions propices à la baisse du taux d’infection par le VIH/sida telles que la réduction de la pauvreté, l’autonomisation personnelle et la parité des sexes.
[PDF]

Tallis, Vicci, 'Gender and HIV/AIDS: Overview Report', Institute of Development Studies, Brighton, UK, September 2002.
Ce rapport examine de façon détaillée une approche fondée sur les droits à la crise du VIH/sida ainsi que des méthodes tenant compte des disparités entre les sexes pour lutter contre les stéréotypes et permettre l’intégration des questions de parité des sexes dans les ripostes multisectorielles.
[PDF]

Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance et Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/sida, 'Les orphelins du sida : réponses de la ligne de front en Afrique de l’Est et en Afrique australe', New York et Washington, D.C., 1999.
Ceci est un examen de l’effet du VIH en Afrique subsaharienne accordant une attention particulière aux enfants rendus orphelins par la maladie. Il évalue l’ampleur du problème et recommande une action stratégique mondiale.
[Site extérieur]

Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, 'Girls, HIV/AIDS, and Education'.
Ce site Web identifie les groupes les plus à même d’être infectés par le VIH, se concentre sur les différences régionales et entre les sexes et examine la façon dont cela affecte l’éducation. Il recommande des ripostes comme le fait d’assurer l’accès des filles à un enseignement de base gratuit et obligatoire, de fournir une eau portable et un assainissement convenable, de favoriser l’éducation au VIH/sida en se fondant sur l’acquisition de compétences, d’encourager les écoles à dispenser un enseignement technique, de lutter contre la violence et les sévices sexuels et de réduire la discrimination à l’encontre des filles dans la salle de classe.
[Page Internet]

Programme de développement des Nations Unies, ‘Gender focused responses to HIV/AIDS’, 2003.
Ceci est une analyse des ripostes au VIH/sida tenant compte des disparités entre les sexes et se concentrant sur les besoins spécifiques des femmes du Swaziland infectées par le virus. Elle plaide en faveur d’un partage des responsabilités en matière de prévention et de soins et aborde les relations de pouvoir hommes/femmes.
[Site extérieur]

Agency for International Development des États-Unis, Bureau Afrique, Bureau du développement durable, 'Africa Bureau Brief', no. 2, Washington, D.C., 2002.
Cette brochure évalue l’effet du VIH/sida sur les systèmes éducatifs en Afrique et offre un aperçu des stratégies de l’Agency for International Development des États-Unis. Elle comprend des annexes sur les activités appuyées actuellement par les missions de l’Agence en Afrique et par l’Équipe chargée de l’éducation du Bureau Afrique, ainsi que les indices utilisés pour surveiller les activités dans les activités communes.
[PDF]

Agency for International Development des États-Unis, Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/sida et le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance, 'Children on the Brink 2002: A joint report on orphan estimates and program strategies', tvt Associates/T
Cette publication rend compte des enfants rendus orphelins par le VIH/sida et fournit des statistiques sur 88 pays, une analyse des tendances qui se dégagent de ces statistiques ainsi que les stratégies et principes destinés à aider les enfants rendus orphelins par la maladie.
[PDF]

Vandemoortele, J. And E. Delamonica, ‘The “Education Vaccine” against HIV/AIDS’, 'Current Issues in Comparative Education', vol. 3, no. 1, Teachers College, Columbia University, 1 December 2000.
Cet article établit une corrélation entre les taux d’infection par le VIH et le niveau d’éducation.  Il affirme que le profil social de l’épidémie du sida change et laisse entendre que la maladie établit une discrimination à l’encontre des pauvres et des illettrés. Il souligne l’urgence de parvenir à une éducation primaire universelle et de doter les pauvres de capacités de base pour qu’ils se protégent de l’infection par le VIH.
[Site extérieur]

Banque mondiale, « Éducation et VIH/sida: un espoir », Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 2002.
Ceci est une vue d’ensemble de la pandémie du VIH/sida, de son bilan dans le monde en développement, de l’effet du sida sur le secteur de l’éducation et du rôle du mouvement de l’Éducation pour tous pour lutter contre la maladie. Il évoque les éléments prometteurs dans les ripostes des pays et propose une stratégie d’action avec des objectifs définis, des résultats ciblés, un élargissement de la base de connaissances, un inventaire identifiant les actions appropriées et des ressources suffisantes de financement. Il définit le rôle de la Banque mondiale face à la crise.
[Site extérieur]

Organisation mondiale de la santé, ‘Integrating Gender into HIV/AIDS Programmes’, Organisation mondiale de la santé, Genève, 2003.
Cette publication examine le rôle de l’appartenance sexuelle dans la pandémie du VIH/sida et met les dirigeants et les communautés au défi d’intégrer les considérations liées aux disparités entre les sexes dans les politiques et les programmes du VIH/sida. Elle fournit des exemples de programmes qui ont réussi à intégrer avec succès les initiatives sensibles aux disparités entre les sexes et constate que l’efficacité des programmes et politiques liés au VIH/sida augmente considérablement quand les disparités entre les sexes, les préoccupations liées à ces dernières et les besoins tant des hommes que des femmes sont pris en compte, réduisant ainsi l’écart entre les hommes et les femmes.
[PDF]



 

 

English   Español  

New enhanced search

The State of the World's Children 2004

Education and HIV/AIDS

Barnet, E., K. de Koning, and V. Francis, ‘Health and HIV/AIDS Education in Primary and Secondary Schools in Africa and Asia’, Education Research no. 14, Overseas Development Administration, London, 1995.
This book explores the current policies and practices for health and AIDS education in primary and secondary schools in Africa and Asia, provides a health and educational context for each region, emphasizes the priority attached to HIV/AIDS, presents curriculum content, teaching methods, teacher preparation, and the concerns of young people about the pandemic.
[External Web page]

Carr-Hill, Roy and J.K. Kataboro and A. Katahoire, ‘HIV/AIDS and Education’, Education and International Development, Institute of Education, University of Dar-es-Salaam, 2000.
This paper examines the devastating impact of HIV/AIDS on education systems, particularly in relation to the demand for, and supply, management and quality of education. It describes education’s role as an instrument of prevention and lays out strategies for Ministers, non-governmental and community-based organizations to mitigate the effects of the pandemic. Through case studies from seven countries in sub-Saharan Africa, successful educational interventions are explored. The paper also includes statistics.
[Word]

Coombe, Carol and M. Kelly, ‘Education as a Vehicle for Combating HIV/AIDS’, UNESCO Prospects vol. 31, no. 3, 2001, pp. 435-45.
This essay looks at the response to and the mitigation of HIV/AIDS through curriculum and examines the needs of vulnerable learners, teacher loss and community involvement. It proposes that schools cannot effectively combat the pandemic until education systems ensure their own stability.
[External Web page]

Gillespie, Amaya, et al., ‘Focusing Resources on Effective School Health: A FRESH start to enhancing HIV/AIDS prevention’.
This article outlines a multisectoral response to HIV/AIDS as encompassed in a joint project among UNICEF, UNESCO, WHO and World Bank – the Focus Resources on Effective School Health programme. It recommends a framework of cost-effective strategies: safe water and sanitation, health-related school policies, skills-based health education, school-based health and nutrition services. This detailed description is provided as a model for school-based interventions for better health and HIV/AIDS prevention.
[Word]

Gregson, S., H. Waddell, and S. Chandiwana, ‘School Education and HIV-1 Control in Sub-Saharan Africa: From discord to harmony?’, Journal of International Development, vol. 13, 2001, pp. 467-85.
The authors contend that developed countries and sub-populations in sub-Saharan Africa have a higher prevalence of HIV, contradicting the theory of HIV as a disease of poverty and ignorance. The study considers evidence and possible reasons for this phenomenon by focusing on the relationship between education and the spread of HIV at the macro and micro levels. The researchers conclude that more educated populations are initially more vulnerable to HIV but are better equipped to mount effective responses.
[Word]

Hargreaves, James R. and Judith R. Glynn, ‘Educational Attainment and HIV Infection in Developing Countries: A systematic review’, Tropical Medicine & International Health, vol. 7, no. 6, 2002, p. 489-498.
This article presents a systematic review of the HIV/AIDS literature and an assessment of the relationship between educational status and HIV infection rates in developing countries. It finds that higher educational attainment is associated with a greater risk of HIV infection in Africa, but that the paradigm is contradicted when the pattern of new HIV infections in Thailand are studied, where education helps prevent the infection.
[External Web page]

Harris, Abigail and Jane G. Schubert, ‘Defining “Quality” in the Midst of HIV/AIDS: Ripple Effects in the Classroom. IEQ Project.’ American Institutes for Research, 2001.
This publication suggests ways to narrow the gap between the quantity of children accessing school and the quality of learning. It presents findings from two surveys (February 1999 and October 2000) regarding the impact of HIV/AIDS on education in Malawi for both teachers and students and examines the effects of parental or extended family death on student attendance and learning.
[Word]

Hepburn, Amy E., ‘Primary Education in Eastern and Southern Africa: Increasing access for orphans and vulnerable children in AIDS-affected areas’, Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy, Duke University, 2001.
This is an analysis of national and community initiatives to increase primary education access for children orphaned or made vulnerable by HIV/AIDS in the eastern and southern Africa regions. It includes lessons learned from successful enrolment interventions.
[PDF]

Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS and World Health Organization, 'AIDS Epidemic Update', UNAIDS/WHO, Geneva, December 2002.
This is a global overview of the HIV/AIDS pandemic including its scale in each region. Attention is given to the division between high-income countries and the developing world, the relationship between HIV/AIDS and humanitarian crises, including southern Africa’s food crisis and HIV/AIDS in areas of armed conflict. It includes global 2002 estimates of adults and children living with HIV, new infections, and adult and child deaths due to AIDS.
[External Web page]

Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS and United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, 'Education and Communication’, UNAIDS/UNESCO, Paris, 2001.
This publication raises public awareness about AIDS in the community and examines myths about the disease. It includes group activities and effective messages to be used in public health education campaigns.

Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, HIV/AIDS & Education: A strategic approach, UNAIDS, Geneva, 2002.
This document presents priorities for a scaled-up response to the HIV/AIDS pandemic by schools and education systems, calling for urgent action to mitigate the impact of HIV/AIDS. It suggests such strategies as implementing and monitoring the National Education For All Plans of Action, ensuring cross-sectoral and inter-agency collaboration, supporting teachers, preparing high-quality learning materials on HIV/AIDS, promoting life skills and peer education, and promoting practices that favour gender equity and school attendance.
[PDF]

Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, 'Report on the Global HIV/AIDS Epidemic', UNAIDS, Geneva, June 2000.
This comprehensive report on the HIV/AIDS pandemic includes global and regional estimates of HIV infection rates and deaths due to AIDS and provides an overview of how HIV spreads in different parts of the world, the demographic, social and economic impact of HIV/AIDS, factors that make people vulnerable to HIV infection, prevention, counselling and testing strategies, care and support methods, and common features of effective national responses.

Kelly, M. J., 'The Encounter between HIV/AIDS and Education', UNESCO
Using Zambia as a case study, the report examines the effect of HIV/AIDS on education and the potential of education to mitigate the spread of the disease in Eastern and Southern Africa. It finds that education has a key role in establishing conditions that lower the prevalence of HIV infection, such as poverty reduction, personal empowerment and gender equity.
[PDF]

Tallis, Vicci, 'Gender and HIV/AIDS: Overview Report', Institute of Development Studies, Brighton, UK, September 2002.
This report details a rights-based approach to the HIV/AIDS crisis and explores gender-sensitive approaches to combat stereotypes and allow for gender issues to be mainstreamed into multisectoral responses.
[PDF]

United Nations Children’s Fund and Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, 'Children Orphaned by AIDS: Front-line responses from Eastern and Southern Africa', New York and Washington, D.C., 1999.
This is an examination of the impact of HIV/AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa with a special emphasis on children who have been orphaned by the disease. It assesses the scale of the problem and recommends strategic global action.
[External Web page]

United Nations Children’s Fund, 'Girls, HIV/AIDS, and Education'.
This website identifies groups most at risk of HIV infection, focusing on gender and regional differentials, and how that effects education. It recommends responses such as ensuring girls' access to free, compulsory primary education, providing safe water and adequate sanitation, promoting skills-based HIV/AIDS education, encouraging schools to provide vocational education, fighting violence and sexual abuse, and reducing discrimination against girls in the classroom.
[Web page]

United Nations Development Programme, ‘Gender focused responses to HIV/AIDS’, 2003.
This is an analysis of gender-focused responses to HIV/AIDS with an emphasis on the specific needs of women in Swaziland who are infected by the virus. It advocates for the promotion of shared responsibilities for prevention and care, and addresses power relations between women and men.

United States Agency for International Development, Bureau for Africa, Office of Sustainable Development, 'Africa Bureau Brief', no. 2, Washington, D.C., 2002.
This booklet assesses the impact of HIV/AIDS on education systems in Africa and includes an overview of the United States Agency for International Development’s strategies. It provides appendices of activities currently supported by the agency’s Africa missions and the agency’s Bureau for Africa’s Education Team as well as the indicators used to monitor progress in common activities.
[PDF]

United States Agency for International Development, Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, and United Nations Children’s Fund, 'Children on the Brink 2002: A joint report on orphan estimates and program strategies', TvT Associates/The Synergy Project
This publication reports on children orphaned by HIV/AIDS and provides statistics from 88 countries, an analysis of trends found in those statistics, and strategies and principles for helping children orphaned by the disease.
[PDF]

Vandemoortele, J. and E. Delamonica, ‘The “Education Vaccine” against HIV/AIDS’, 'Current Issues in Comparative Education', vol. 3, no. 1, Teachers College, Columbia University, 1 December 2000.
This article establishes a correlation between HIV infection and education levels. It states that the social profile of the AIDS epidemic is changing and suggests that the disease is discriminating against the illiterate and the poor. It underscores the urgency for achieving universal primary education and equipping the poor with basic capabilities to protect themselves from HIV infection.
[PDF]

World Bank, ‘Education and HIV/AIDS: A window of hope’, World Bank, Washington, D.C., 2002.
This is an overview of the HIV/AIDS pandemic – its toll in the developing world, the impact of AIDS on the education sector and the role of the Education For All movement in combating the disease.  It includes promising developments in country responses and a discussion of a strategy for action – defined objectives, targeted outcomes, expanded knowledge base, a stocktaking process that identifies appropriate actions, and adequate resources for financing. It identifies the World Bank's role in addressing the crisis.
[External Web page]

World Health Organization, ‘Integrating Gender into HIV/AIDS Programmes’, World Health Organization, Geneva, 2003.
This publication examines gender’s role in the HIV/AIDS pandemic and challenges leaders and communities to integrate gender considerations into HIV/AIDS policies and programmes. It gives examples of programmes that have successfully integrated gender-specific initiatives and finds that the effectiveness of HIV/AIDS programmes and policies is greatly enhanced when gender differences are acknowledged, gender-specific concerns and needs of both women and men are addressed, and gender inequalities are reduced.
[PDF]



 

 

Español   Français

New enhanced search