La situation des enfants dans le monde 2004

Développement économique

Barro, Robert J., ‘Economic Growth in a Cross Section of Countries’, in 'Quarterly Journal of Economics', vol. 106, n° 2, MIT Press, mai 1991.
Ce document explique les liens positifs entre le taux de croissance du produit intérieur brut réel par habitant de 1960 à 1985 et les taux d’inscription à l’école en 1960 ainsi que la relation négative jusqu’à 1960 du produit intérieur brut réel par habitant. Cela illustre le fait que le développement humain accroît souvent le développement économique, comme l’indique la relation entre le capital humain, les taux de fécondité, l’investissement public et les indices de la stabilité politique.

Beneria, Lourdes and Savitri Bisnath, eds., 'Gender and Development: Theoretical, empirical, and practical approaches', vols. I and II, Edward Elgar Publishing, London, 2001.
Il s’agit d’une série de textes sur l’identité sexuelle et le développement, mettant l’accent sur l’analyse économique. Parmi les sujets évoqués, citons les approches conceptuelles et méthodologiques, les façons de comptabiliser le travail des femmes sur le plan statistique, les problèmes liés à la famille, les soins prodigués au foyer, la pauvreté, l’emploi, les marchés du travail, les politiques d’ajustement structurel et le changement social.

Çağatay, Nilüfer, ‘Engendering Macroeconomics and Macroeconomic Policies’, Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement, Document de travail SEPED N° 6, New York, octobre 1998.
Ce document évalue la politique macroéconomique par rapport à l’identité sexuelle, reconnaissant que trop souvent on suppose que les théories et les pratiques macroéconomiques sont neutres quant à l’identité sexuelle, alors qu’en fait leurs effets sont faussés en raison de préjugés sexistes. Les modèles macroéconomiques n’ont pas réussi à reconnaître le travail non rémunéré des femmes ou le rôle marqué par une différentiation selon le sexe dans le comportement économique. L’auteur fait valoir que l’incapacité de reconnaître les inégalités entre les sexes au niveau microéconomique a des conséquences macroéconomiques. Le document conclut en fournissant des exemples d’efforts destinés à lier l’identité sexuelle à la macroéconomie.
[PDF]

Datt, Gaurav and Martin Ravallion, ‘Is India’s Economic Crisis Leaving the Poor Behind?’, 'Journal of Economic Perspectives', vol. 16, no. 3, American Economic Association, 2002.
Cette recherche étudie la pauvreté en Inde et conclut que les résultats médiocres sur le plan de l’enseignement ont été coûteux pour les pauvres dans ce pays, les privant de la capacité à participer aux perspectives de croissance économique. Elle constate que les politiques de développement humain et d’allègement de la pauvreté sont synergiques et elle fait valoir que les gouvernements doivent associer le développement des ressources humaines à des politiques favorables à la croissance économique afin de pouvoir lutter efficacement contre la pauvreté.

Dollar, David and Roberta Gatti, ‘Gender Inequality, Income and Growth: Are good times good for women?’, Série n°1 des documents de travail sur la parité entre les sexes et le développement, Groupe de recherche sur le développement, Banque mondiale, Washi
Cet article fait valoir que les pays paient un lourd tribut en n’investissant pas dans l’éducation et la santé des femmes. En examinant les données de pays, les auteurs constatent que les nations qui sous-investissent dans l’éducation des filles connaissent une croissance plus lente, que le sous-investissement dans les filles est souvent attribué à des coutumes religieuses ou sociales et que les échecs du marché sont susceptibles d’aboutir à l’incapacité d’investir dans les filles. Il conclut qu’il faut davantage d’études pour déterminer les liens entre les revenus, le développement des marchés de capitaux et l’égalité des sexes.

Easterly, William, ‘The Lost Decades: Developing countries’ stagnation in spite of policy reform 1980-1998’, Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., février 2001.
Cet article analyse la stagnation économique des pays pauvres durant la période 1980-1998 et laisse entendre que la hausse des taux d’intérêt, l’alourdissement du fardeau de la dette, le ralentissement de la croissance dans les pays industrialisés et les demandes en fonction de compétences techniques ont contribué à la stagnation économique des pays en développement.

Easterly, William, 'The Elusive Quest for Growth: Economists’ adventures and misadventures in the tropics', MIT Press, Cambridge and London, 2001.
Ce livre critique les politiques et les interventions économiques ainsi que leur incapacité à entraîner une croissance économique pour les pauvres. L’auteur fait valoir qu’il ne s’agit pas là d’un échec de l’économie mais de l’incapacité de lier cette dernière à une application pratique : la nécessité de fournir des incitations aux individus. L’auteur présente de nouvelles démarches au développement.

Forbes, Kristin J., ‘A Reassessment of the Relationship between Inequality and Growth’, in 'The American Economic Review', vol. 90, no. 4, American Economic Association, 2000, pp. 869-887.
Cette réimpression d’une dissertation de doctorat examine les liens entre l’inégalité des revenus et la croissance économique et évalue les théories et méthodologies antérieures en examinant la corrélation entre l’inégalité des revenus et l’échec du développement économique.

Jayarajah, Carl, William Branson and Binayak Sen, 'The Social Dimensions of Adjustment: World Bank experience', 1980-1993, Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 1996.
Cette évaluation des opérations d’ajustement appuyées par la Banque mondiale en 1980-1993 examine les liens entre l’ajustement et la réduction de la pauvreté. Elle fournit un aperçu de politiques macroéconomiques fructueuses, examine les tendances en matière de dépenses sociales et publiques et fait des recommandations en vue de futures politiques de prêt de la Banque mondiale.

Klasen, Stephan, ‘Does Gender Inequality Reduce Growth and Development? Evidence from cross-country regressions’, Série n°7 des documents de travail sur la parité entre les sexes genre et le développement, Groupe de recherche sur le développement, Banque
Cet article appuie l’égalité des sexes dans les domaines de l’éducation et de l’emploi en tant qu’outil efficace de croissance et de développement économique. Il analyse les taux de croissance en Asie de l’Est et du Sud, en Afrique subsaharienne et au Moyen-Orient et détermine que les différences dans les taux de croissance entre ces régions proviennent de l’inégalité des sexes sur le plan de l’éducation. Il montre également que l’inégalité des sexes entrave les progrès en vue de la réduction des taux de fécondité et de mortalité infantile.

King, Elizabeth M. And Andrew D. Mason,' Engendering Development: Through gender equality in rights, resources, and voice', Banque mondiale et Oxford University Press, Washington, D.C., 2001.
Ce rapport identifie les disparités entre les sexes dans le domaine de l’éducation comme étant le principal facteur contribuant à une mauvaise croissance économique. Il souligne les implications économiques liées aux disparités entre les sexes pour les pays en développement et en transition, et il fournit des stratégies et des recommandations en vue d’encourager l’égalité des sexes et le développement humain.

Mehrotra, Santosh and Richard Jolly, eds., 'Development with a Human Face: Experiences in social achievement and economic growth', Oxford University Press, Oxford, 1997.
Ce livre décrit 10 pays qui ont dépassé toutes les prévisions en matière de croissance et de développement. Les auteurs examinent l’hypothèse selon laquelle le fait d’investir dans les services humains a entraîné la croissance économique de ces pays. Ils mettent en exergue les leçons tirées de ces pays ainsi que leur implication pour les théories et les politiques de développement.

Meier, Gerald M. And Joseph E. Stiglitz, eds., 'Frontiers of Development Economics: The future in perspective', Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 2000.
Ceci est un recueil de textes écrits par 35 économistes du développement. Ils critiquent la théorie du développement, évaluent les difficultés futures et s’interrogent sur  le bien-fondé de l’économie du développement en tant que domaine séparé de l’économie appliquée. Ce livre de référence examine en détail les mesures à prendre en vue d’un développement et d’un allègement de la pauvreté à l’avenir.

Murphy, Josette, 'Mainstreaming Gender in World Bank Lending: An update', Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 1997.
Ceci est le suivi d’une étude antérieure de la Banque mondiale sur les femmes, le développement, et les considérations liées aux disparités entre les sexes dans les politiques et les prêts de la Banque mondiale. Le constat est que les taux de réussite des projets qui intégraient des objectifs liés à l’élimination des disparités entre les sexes étaient plus élevés que ceux des projets qui n’en intégraient pas. Il examine également la fréquence des projets comprenant des démarches liées à l’égalité entre les sexes et présente des recommandations en vue de programmes futurs.

Organisation de coopération et développement économiques, Direction de la coopération pour le développement, 'Rapport 2002 sur la coopération pour le développement', Paris, 2002.
Ce rapport décrit les contributions de la Direction de la coopération pour le développement (CAD) à l’aide internationale, ainsi que les thèmes et les résultats du Forum des partenaires au développement organisé par la CAD en 2002, les questions découlant de la Conférence de Monterrey (Conférence internationale sur le financement du développement) en 2002, et les politiques liées à l’aide publique au développement et aux activités de renforcement des capacités. Il contient des recommandations en matière de politiques et des annexes statistiques sur l’aide internationale et autre instruments du développement.

Sen, Amartya, 'Commodities and Capabilities', Oxford University Press, Oxford, 1999.
Cette monographie jette les bases de l’« économie de bien-être » – évaluation de la politique économique en fonction du bien-être d’une communauté. Elle plaide en faveur d’un nouveau modèle axé sur l’aptitude de la personne à fonctionner. Elle comprend des annexes sur des comparaisons internationales et les préjugés contre les femmes dans l’économie indienne. Amartya Sen a été le récipiendaire du prix Nobel en 1998.

Sen, Amartya, 'Development as Freedom', Anchor Books/Doubleday, 2000.
L’auteur fait valoir que la liberté est tant l’objectif ultime que la voie du développement. La liberté est le moyen le plus efficace de lutter contre la pauvreté, d’ouvrir le dialogue et d’acquérir des libertés civiles et politiques qui, d’après lui, sont les conditions préalables au développement durable. L’auteur encourage l’investissement dans les services sociaux en tant qu’outil essentiel du développement et s’élève contre le détournement d’argent servant à satisfaire les besoins de l’homme au profit d’opérations militaires.

Summers, Lawrence H., ‘Investing in All the People: Educating women in developing countries’, Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 1994.
Cette publication affirme que tout investissement dans l’éducation des femmes est un outil rentable sur le plan du développement. Elle maintient que l’éducation des femmes réduit la pollution de l’environnement ainsi que les taux de fécondité et de mortalité féminine et prévient la propagation du VIH/sida. L’auteur énumère les obstacles culturels persistants à la scolarisation des filles et met en relief les programmes qui ont réussi avec succès à démanteler les barrières à l’éducation des filles.

Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement, 'Rapport du PNUD sur la pauvreté 2000 : vaincre la pauvreté humaine', PNUD, New York, 2000.
Ce livre présente le plan du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement en vue de surmonter la pauvreté. Il examine les engagements internationaux souscrits en vue de réduire la pauvreté ainsi que les plans nationaux de lutte contre la pauvreté. Il propose des réformes dans le domaine de la gouvernance et fait des recommandations en vue d’une affectation des ressources.
[Site extérieur]

Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement, 'Rapport du PNUD sur la pauvreté 1998: vaincre la pauvreté humaine', PNUD, New York, 1998.
Ce rapport évalue les progrès de la lutte contre la pauvreté depuis le Sommet mondial pour le développement social de 1995. Il intègre les résultats de l’enquête du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement portant sur les efforts des gouvernements visant à honorer les engagements souscrits au Sommet. Il préconise les mesures à prendre pour progresser sur le plan de la lutte contre la pauvreté en mettant particulièrement l’accent sur les solutions multisectorielles.

Visvanathan, N. Et al, 'The Women, Gender and Development Reader', Zed Books, London, 1997.
Ce livre est une collection d’articles rédigés par les penseurs les plus influents dans le domaine des femmes et du développement. Il examine la théorie féministe, les femmes et l’économie des ménages, les femmes au sein de l’économie mondiale, la situation des femmes en période de transformation sociale et les mouvements des femmes dans le monde en développement. Il réaffirme l’importance des femmes dans le développement économique et humain.



 

 

English   Español  

New enhanced search

The State of the World's Children 2004

Education, gender and economic development

Barro, Robert J., ‘Economic Growth in a Cross Section of Countries’, in 'Quarterly Journal of Economics', vol. 106, no. 2, MIT Press, May 1991.
This document chronicles the positive relationship between the 1960-1985 real per capita gross domestic product growth rate and the 1960 school-enrolment rates and the negative relation to 1960 level of real per capita gross domestic product. This illustrates that human development often enhances economic development as shown by the relationship among human capital, fertility rates, public investment and measures of political stability.

Beneria, Lourdes and Savitri Bisnath, eds., 'Gender and Development: Theoretical, empirical, and practical approaches', vols. I and II, Edward Elgar Publishing, London, 2001.
This is a series of essays on gender and development, with emphasis on economic analysis. Topics include conceptual and methodological approaches, statistical accounting of women’s work, issues related to the family, the household and ‘caring labour’, poverty, employment and labour markets, structural adjustment policies and social change.

Çağatay, Nilüfer, ‘Engendering Macroeconomics and Macroeconomic Policies’, United Nations Development Programme, SEPED Working Paper no. 6, New York, October 1998.
This document assesses macroeconomic policy in relationship to gender, recognizing that too often macroeconomic theories and practices are presumed to be gender-neutral when in fact their effects are gender-biased. Macroeconomic models failed to recognize women’s unpaid work or the gendered role of economic behaviour. The author argues that a failure to recognize gender inequities on the micro and mesa levels have macroeconomic implications. The paper concludes with examples of efforts to connect gender and macroeconomics.

Datt, Gaurav and Martin Ravallion, ‘Is India’s Economic Crisis Leaving the Poor Behind?’, Journal of Economic Perspectives, vol. 16, no. 3, American Economic Association, 2002.
This research studies poverty in India and concludes that low education attainment has been costly to India’s poor, depriving them of the capacity to participate in economic growth opportunities. It finds that human development and poverty-reduction policies are synergistic and states that governments must combine human resource development with policies favourable to economic growth to effectively fight poverty.

Dollar, David and Roberta Gatti, ‘Gender Inequality, Income and Growth: Are good times good for women?’, Gender and Development Working Paper Series no. 1, Development Research Group, World Bank, Washington, D.C., May 1999.
This paper contends that countries pay a huge price when they fail to invest in women’s education and health. In reviewing country data, the authors find that nations that underinvest in girls’ education grow more slowly, that underinvestment in girls is often attributable to religious or social customs and that market failures may result in a failure to invest in girls. It concludes that further study is needed to determine the relationship between income, capital market development and gender equality.

Easterly, William, ‘The Lost Decades: Developing countries’ stagnation in spite of policy reform 1980-1998’, World Bank, Washington, D.C., February 2001.
This paper analyses the economic stagnation of poor countries during the period 1980-1998 and suggests that increased interest rates, increased debt burdens, the slowdown of growth in industrialized nations, and skill-based technical demands contributed to developing nations’ economic stagnation.

Easterly, William, 'The Elusive Quest for Growth: Economists’ adventures and misadventures in the tropics', MIT Press, Cambridge and London, 2001.
This book critiques economic policies and interventions and their failure to produce economic growth for the poor. The author contends that this has not been a failure of economics but rather a failure to combine economics with practical application – people’s need for incentives. Alternative approaches to development are presented.

Forbes, Kristin J., ‘A Reassessment of the Relationship between Inequality and Growth’, in 'The American Economic Review', vol. 90, no. 4, American Economic Association, 2000, pp. 869-887.
This reprint of a doctoral dissertation looks at the relationship between income inequality and economic growth, and assesses previous theories and methodologies that evaluated the correlation between income inequality and failed economic development.

Jayarajah, Carl, William Branson and Binayak Sen, 'The Social Dimensions of Adjustment: World Bank experience', 1980-1993, World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1996.
This evaluation of adjustment operations supported by the World Bank in 1980-1993 looks at the relationship between adjustment and poverty reduction. It presents an overview of successful macroeconomic policies, trends in social and public spending, and recommendations for future World Bank lending policies.

Klasen, Stephan, ‘Does Gender Inequality Reduce Growth and Development? Evidence from cross-country regressions’, Gender and Development Working Paper Series no. 7, Development Research Group, World Bank, Washington, D.C., November 1999.
This paper supports gender equality in education and employment as an effective tool for economic growth and development. It analyses the growth rates in East Asia, South Asia, sub-Saharan Africa and the Middle East and determines that the differences in growth rates among these regions result from gender inequality in education. It further shows that gender inequality hinders progress towards reducing fertility rates and child mortality.

King, Elizabeth M. and Andrew D. Mason, 'Engendering Development: Through gender equality in rights, resources, and voice', World Bank and Oxford University Press, Washington, D.C., 2001.
This report identifies gender disparity in education as the principal contributor to poor economic growth.  In underscores gender-related economic implications for developing and transitional countries and provides strategies and recommendations for promoting gender equality and human development.

Mehrotra, Santosh and Richard Jolly, eds., 'Development with a Human Face: Experiences in social achievement and economic growth', Oxford University Press, Oxford, 1997.
This book profiles 10 countries that out-achieved their projected developmental growth. The authors theorize that investing in human services led to the countries’ economic growth and highlight the lessons learned from these countries and their implication for development theory and policy.

Meier, Gerald M. and Joseph E. Stiglitz, eds., 'Frontiers of Development Economics: The future in perspective', World Bank, Washington, D.C., 2000.
This is a compilation of essays from 35 development economists. They critique development theory, assess future challenges and discuss the validity of development economics as a field separate from applied economics. This reference book details what is needed for future development and poverty reduction.

Murphy, Josette, 'Mainstreaming Gender in World Bank Lending: An update', World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1997.
This is a follow-up to the World Bank’s earlier study on women and development and gender considerations in the World Bank’s policies and lending. It finds that the success rates of projects that included gender goals were higher than those that did not. It further reviews the prevalence of projects with gender-related actions and makes recommendations for future programming.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Development Assistance Committee, 'Development Co-operation Report 2002', Paris, 2002.
This report describes the contributions of the Development Assistance Committee to international aid, themes and outcomes of the 2002 DAC Development Partnership Forum, issues arising from the Monterrey Conference (International Conference on Financing Development) in 2002, and policies related to official development assistance and capacity building activities. It includes policy recommendations, and statistical annexes on international aid and other development instruments.

Sen, Amartya, 'Commodities and Capabilities', Oxford University Press, Oxford, 1999.
This monograph lays out the foundations of ‘welfare economics’ – evaluating economic policy as it relates to the well-being of a community. It advocates for a new model that focuses on a person’s ability to function. It includes appendices on international comparisons and gender bias in the Indian economy. Amartya Sen was a Nobel Prize in economics recipient in 1998.

Sen, Amartya, 'Development as Freedom', Anchor Books/Doubleday, 2000.
The author argues that freedom is both the ultimate goal of development and the path to development. Freedom is the most effective means to fight poverty, open dialogue, and gain civil freedoms and political liberties, which he believes are prerequisites for sustainable development. The author promotes investment in social services as an essential tool for development and rails against money being diverted from human needs for military operations.

Summers, Lawrence H., ‘Investing in All the People: Educating women in developing countries’, World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1994.
This publication states that investment in women’s education is one of the most cost-effective tools for development. It asserts that educating women reduces environmental pollution, fertility rates and female mortality rates, and prevents the spread of HIV/AIDS. The author outlines the entrenched cultural obstacles that bar girls from the classroom and highlights programmes that have successfully overcome barriers to girls’ education.

United Nations Development Programme, 'UNDP Poverty Report 2000: Overcoming human poverty', UNDP, New York, 2000.
This book presents the United Nations Development Programme’s blueprint for overcoming poverty. It examines the international commitments to poverty reduction and national anti-poverty plans, suggests reforms in governance and makes recommendations for resource allocation.
[External Web page]

United Nations Development Programme, 'UNDP Poverty Report 1998: Overcoming human poverty', UNDP, New York, 1998.
This report evaluates the progress in fighting poverty since the 1995 World Summit for Social Development. It includes the results of the United Nations Development Programme survey of governments’ efforts in honouring their commitments made at the Summit. It spells out what must be done to make inroads in the fight to eliminate poverty with a particular emphasis on multisectoral solutions.

Visvanathan, N. et al, 'The Women, Gender and Development Reader', Zed Books, London, 1997.
This book is a compilation of articles from leading thinkers on women and development. It looks at feminist theory, women and the household economy, women in the global economy, women’s situation in circumstances of social transformation, and women’s movements in the developing world.  It reiterates the importance of women in economic and human development.



 

 

Español   Français

New enhanced search