La situation des enfants dans le monde 2004

Éducation et travail des enfants

Akabayashi, Hideo and Psacharopoulos, George, ‘The Trade-off between Child Labour and Human Capital Formation: A Tanzanian case study’, in 'Journal of Development Studies', vol. 35, no. 5, 1999, pp. 120-140.
Recourant à des données provenant d’un sondage datant de 1993 en République-Unie de Tanzanie, la recherche examine les liens entre le travail des enfants et le développement du capital humain. Elle constate que facteurs contribuant à l’augmentation des heures de travail des enfants diminuent également les heures d’étude dont ils bénéficient et que les heures de travail ont une corrélation négative avec la capacité d’étudier.

Assaad, Ragui, Deborah Levison and Nadia Zibani, ‘The Effect of Child Work on School Enrollment in Egypt’, Rapport présenté à l’Atelier sur l’analyse de la pauvreté et les facteurs déterminants, dans la région Afrique du Nord et Moyen-Orient, Sanaa, 2001.
Cette publication décrit la relation entre le travail et la fréquentation scolaire en Égypte. Elle s’interroge pour savoir dans quelle mesure le travail réduit la fréquentation scolaire ainsi que sur la façon dont la définition du travail affecte la compréhension qu’a chacun des implications sexospécifiques. Elle constate que le travail a un effet disproportionné sur les filles – que ce soit au niveau de la main-d’oeuvre ou au foyer – et  est plus à même de les empêcher de s’inscrire à l’école ou de fréquenter cette dernière.
[PDF]

Binder, Melissa and David Scrogin, ‘Labour Force Participation and Household Work of Urban Schoolchildren in Mexico: Characteristics and consequences’, 'Economic Development and Cultural Change', vol. 48, no. 1, 1999, pp. 123-154.
Cet article décrit en détail les expériences professionnelles de plus de 300 enfants et de leurs parents à l’ouest du Mexique. Il comprend des entrevues avec des enfants, une évaluation des liens entre les heures passées à travailler et le temps de loisir des enfants, et l’effet négatif sur les résultats scolaires.

Bourdillon, M.F.C., ‘Child Labour and Education: A study from southeastern Zimbabwe’, in 'Journal of Social Development', vol. 15, no. 2, 2000, pp. 5-33.
Cette étude examine le contexte culturel d’écoles gérées par des entreprises privées au Zimbabwe – Apprendre et gagner – dans les propriétés de thé, les conditions de travail et leurs effets tant positifs que négatifs sur les élèves qui travaillent. Elle établit que les conditions de travail sont difficiles et que la discipline peut être sévère mais que les écoles gérées par des entreprises privées procurent également des bienfaits, comme l’accès à des cliniques de santé, certains loisirs et des jours de congé.

Canagarajah, Sudharshan and Helena Skyt Nielsen, 'Child Labor and Schooling in Africa: A comparative study', Social Protection Paper no. 9916, Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., 1999.
Ce rapport analyse les éléments déterminant le travail des enfants en Côte d’Ivoire, au Ghana et en Zambie dans le cadre de la fréquentation scolaire. Il constate que les frais de transport ont le plus grand effet sur le travail des enfants et la fréquentation scolaire. La pauvreté et la composition des foyers ont également une influence. Les auteurs recommandent des mesures spécifiques pour accroître la participation à l’éducation.
[PDF]

Deb, Partha and Furio Rosati, 'Determinants of Child Labor and School Attendance: The role of household unobservables', Department of Economics, Hunter College, New York, December 2002.
Cette analyse de modèles économétriques établit une distinction entre les traits visibles et invisibles des ménages déterminant le travail des enfants, la fréquentation scolaire et l’inactivité. Elle conclut que les ménages qui tendent davantage à envoyer leurs enfants à l’école sont plus pauvres et ont des parents moins éduqués.

De Souza e Silva, Jailson and André Urani, ‘Children in Drug Trafficking: A rapid assessment’, 'Investigating the Worst Forms of Child Labor', no. 20, Brésil, Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme internationale pour l’abolition du travail des
Ce rapport examine le trafic de drogue auquel participent les enfants dans les favelas, zones à faibles revenus de Rio de Janeiro. Puisant ses informations dans des procès-verbaux d’audience, l’étude constate que les enfants impliqués dans le trafic de drogue appartiennent aux familles les plus pauvres, ont de faibles niveaux d’éducation et participent au trafic pour acquérir autorité et prestige. Le rapport examine la documentation relative au travail des enfants et au trafic de drogue, les profils quantitatifs et qualitatifs des enfants participant au trafic de drogue et fait des recommandations en matière de politiques.
[PDF]

Ennew, Judith, ed., 'Learning or Labouring? A compilation of key texts on child work and basic education', Centre de recherché Innocenti de l’unicef, Florence, 1995.
Cette publication rassemble 80 courts exposés sur la synergie entre le travail des enfants et l’enseignement de base et couvre la notion d’enfance, les enfants dans le marché du travail, l’exploitation de l’enfant, l’histoire de l’enseignement, les programmes d’enseignement obligatoire, les programmes efficaces pour les enfants qui vivent ou travaillent dans la rue ainsi que des démarches expérimentales pour lutter contre le travail des enfants.

Haspels, Nelien et al., ' Action against Child Labour: Strategies in education -- country experiences in the mobilization of teachers, educators and their organizations in combating child labour', Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme internat
Cette étude rassemble et synthétise des recherches d’Afrique, d’Asie et d’Amérique latine. Elle analyse le lieu, la manière et la raison pour laquelle les initiatives en matière d’éducation ont réussi à lutter contre le travail des enfants aux niveaux national et local. Elle fournit des stratégies spécifiques destinées aux employeurs, aux syndicats et aux groupes communautaires pour mettre fin au travail d’exploitation. Les nombreuses études de cas présentées illustrent les interventions qui ont été fructueuses. Elle fournit des directives en matière de législations et de normes et démontre des manières de collecter et d’utiliser les données dans la lutte destinée à abolir le travail des enfants.

Haspels, Nelien and Busakorn Suriyasarn, 'Promotion of Gender Equality in Action against Child Labour and Trafficking': A practical guide for organizations, Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme international pour l’abolition du travail des en
Cette publication propose des stratégies de lutte contre le travail des enfants, se rapportant tant aux filles qu’aux garçons. Elle préconise une plus grande participation des parents à l’éducation des enfants, notamment des filles. Elle définit les principaux termes, y compris l’appartenance sexuelle, les droits de la personne, le travail et le trafic des enfants, et elle analyse les disparités entre les sexes dans le domaine du travail de l’enfant. Elle fournit des outils pour encourager l’égalité des sexes dans les campagnes lancées contre l’exploitation du travail des enfants.
[PDF]

Heady, Christopher,' What is the Effect of Child Labour on Learning Achievement? Evidence from Ghana', Document de travail N°. 79, Centre de recherche Innocenti de l’unicef, Florence, 2000.
Cette étude examine le lien entre l’activité économique de l’enfant et les résultats de l’apprentissage au Ghana, en utilisant des examens de lecture et de mathématiques pour mesurer les résultats scolaires ainsi qu’un sondage portant sur les foyers pour mesurer l’activité de travail. Elle conclut que le travail des enfants a un effet néfaste considérable sur les résultats scolaires de l’enfant.
[PDF]

Ilahi, Nadeem, 'Children’s Work and Schooling: Does gender matter? Evidence from the Peru LSMS', Banque mondiale, Washington, D.C., décembre 2001.
Cette enquête examine les éléments déterminant la répartition du temps des filles et des garçons entre la scolarisation, les travaux domestiques et les activités génératrices de revenus. Elle décrit en détail les conclusions économétriques indiquant que des changements dans le bien-être du foyer affectent les filles de manière disproportionnée. L’étude maintient que la création de crèches et de filets de sécurité destinés à protéger les revenus familiaux peuvent permettre aux filles de poursuivre leur scolarisation.
[PDF]

Bureau international du travail, ' Un avenir sans travail des enfants – Rapport global en vertu du suivi de la Déclaration de l’oit relative aux principes et droits fondamentaux au travail', Bureau international du travail, Genève, 2002.
Cette étude identifie le contexte mondial du travail des enfants, l’ampleur du problème, diverses formes de travail des enfants ainsi que les causes et les facteurs exacerbant le problème. Elle préconise les réactions que la communauté internationale doit adopter face à ce problème.
[Site extérieur]

Bureau international du travail, 'Remplacer le travail des enfants par l’éducation', Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme international pour l’abolition du travail des enfants, Genève, 2003.
Ce rapport évoque l’expérience du Programme international pour l’abolition du travail dans le recours à la formation de compétences techniques et d’éducation non traditionnelle pour lutter contre le travail des enfants. Il explore le lien entre le travail des enfants et l’éducation et met en relief des exemples de bonnes pratiques du monde entier.

Bureau international du travail, 'IPEC Action against Child Labour 2000-2001: Progress and future priorities', Organisation international du travail, Programme international pour l’abolition du travail des enfants, Genève, 2002.
Ce document résume la démarche du Programme international pour l’abolition du travail des enfants en vue de mettre fin au travail d’exploitation des enfants, les réalisations obtenues jusqu’à présent, les temps forts thématiques, les questions d’organisation et de gestion, et identifie les défis à relever.
[PDF]

Larsen, Peter B. , 'Indigenous and Tribal Children: Assessing child labour and education challenges', Document de travail, Travail des enfants et éducation, Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme international pour l’abolition du travail des en
Cette étude analyse les formes communes d’exclusion sociale des enfants autochtones et tribaux, comme la discrimination et la marginalisation culturelle et plaide en faveur d’une démarche axée sur les droits en vue de dispenser une éducation pour tous. Elle évalue les projets et les politiques et fait des recommandations en vue d’une action, notamment la prestation d’un enseignement de qualité pour mettre fin au travail d’exploitation des enfants.
[PDF]

Lavinas, Lena, 'The Appeal of Minimum Income Programmes in Latin America', Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme focal sur la sécurité socioéconomique, Genève, 2001.
Ce rapport souligne les bienfaits des schémas de revenus minimums qui ont été appliqués en Amérique latine dans les années 1990 et leur rôle dans l’abolition du travail des enfants, en consacrant une attention particulière au programme de subventions Bolsa Escola aux écoles, adopté au Brésil. L’auteur plaide en faveur de l’intégration de programmes de revenus minimums en tant que moyen de fournir un filet de sécurité qui garantira une sécurité de base pour tous.
[PDF]

Maitra, Pushkar and Ranjan Ray, 'The Joint Estimation of Child Participation in Schooling and Employment: Comparative evidence from three continents', June 2000.
Cette analyse comparative du travail et de la scolarisation des enfants examine simultanément les données relatives à la fréquentation scolaire et au travail des enfants au Ghana, au Pakistan et au Pérou. Les conclusions indiquent dans l’ensemble que la pauvreté des ménages décourage un enfant de poursuivre ses études, mais les résultats présentent des différences remarquables en fonction des pays et des sexes (le lien mène vers un document de synthèse de 2000. Une version actualisée apparaît dans Oxford Development Studies, vol. 30, no. 1, 2002.)
[PDF]

Majumdar, Manabi, ‘Child Labour as a Human Security Problem: Evidence from India’, in 'Oxford Development Studies', vol. 29, no. 3, 2001, pp. 279-304.
Cet article examine le problème du travail des enfants à partir de la perspective de la sécurité humaine et du développement. Il conclut que le travail des enfants devrait être examiné à la lumière des insuffisances des politiques publiques et des institutions sociales. Il recommande que les stratégies destinées à lutter contre le travail des enfants soient intégrées aux réformes politiques.

Matz, Peter, 'Costs and Benefits of Education to Replace Child Labour', Working Paper, Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme international pour l’abolition du travail des enfants, Genève, 2003.
Cette étude est une analyse nette des coûts et bienfaits associés à l’éducation universelle primaire et secondaire. Elle conclut que les bienfaits d’une éducation universelle dispensée jusqu'à l’âge minimum du travail dépassent de loin les coûts, au moins de trois fois.
[PDF]

Post, David, 'Children’s Work, Schooling and Welfare in Latin America', Westview Press, Boulder, Colorado, 2001.
Cette étude comparative sur les enfants en âge d’aller à l’école entre 12 et 17 ans au Chili, au Mexique et au Pérou examine les pratiques en cours depuis les 20 dernières années pour identifier les facteurs favorables ou défavorables à la fréquentation scolaire. Parmi les sujets évoqués : les cadres politiques existants, les ressources familiales, la pauvreté régionale et les disparités entre les sexes.

Rammohan, Anu, ‘Interaction of Child Labour and Schooling in Developing Countries: A theoretical perspective’, in 'Journal of Economic Development', vol. 25, no. 2, décembre 2000.
L’étude examine l’investissement dans le capital humain dans les foyers en milieu rural dans les pays en développement où le travail des enfants est courant. L’auteur rapporte qu’une augmentation du salaire des enfants, y compris des frais de scolarité, entraîne une baisse de l’investissement dans l’éducation et une augmentation des taux de fécondité. Mais si une baisse ou une hausse des frais de scolarité n’affecte pas les décisions en matière de fécondité, elle n’en affecte pas moins le temps consacré à l’école par rapport au travail.

Ravallion, Martin and Quentin Wodon, ‘Does Child Labour Displace Schooling? Evidence on behavioural responses to an enrollment subsidy’, in 'Economic Journal', vol. 110, 2000, pp. 158-175.
Ce rapport examine les effets au Bangladesh des subventions liées aux inscriptions scolaires sur le travail et sur la scolarisation des enfants. Les auteurs constatent un lien solide entre les subsides et la fréquentation scolaire, mais l’effet sur le travail des enfants est plus faible pour les filles que pour les garçons.
[Site extérieur]

Rosati, Furio and Mariacristina Rossi, 'Children’s Working Hours, School Enrolment, and Human Capital Accumulation: Evidence from Pakistan and Nicaragua', Série Comprendre le travail des enfants, Centre de recherche Innocenti de l’unicef, Florence, 2001.
Ce rapport examine les éléments déterminant la fréquentation scolaire et les heures que les enfants consacrent au travail au Nicaragua et au Pakistan. En recourant à un modèle théorique, les auteurs analysent les effets du travail sur les résultats scolaires des enfants. Sur la base de leurs conclusions, ils évoquent les implications des politiques telles qu’elles se rapportent au travail et à la scolarisation des enfants.
[PDF]

Salazar, Maria Cristina and W. Alarcón Glasinovich, eds., 'Child work and Education: Five case studies from Latin America', Ashgate Publishing, Aldershot/UNICEF, Florence, 1998.
Cette recherche explore le lien entre le travail des enfants, les cursus scolaires et les préférences des familles au Brésil, en Colombie, en Équateur, au Guatemala et au Pérou. Les auteurs concluent que la préférence pour le travail plutôt que pour l’école découle en partie d’une dévalorisation de la scolarisation et que l’amélioration de la qualité de l’école contribuera à une diminution du travail de l’enfant.

Schiefelbein, Ernesto, 'School-related Economic Incentives in Latin America: Reducing Drop-out and Repetition and Combating Child Labour', Document hors série Innocenti, Série sur les droits de l’enfant n°. 12, Centre de recherche Innocenti de l’unicef, F
Cette recherche examine les niveaux de réussite scolaire en Amérique latine et identifie des stratégies destinées à améliorer la qualité et la pertinence des systèmes éducatifs. L’auteur accorde une attention particulière aux initiatives qui aident les enfants à s’inscrire à l’école et à achever leur cycle d’études.

Tomasevski, Katarina,' A Human Rights Approach to the Elimination of Child Labour through Free and Compulsory Education', Document de travail, Organisation internationale du Travail, Programme international pour l’abolition du travail des enfants, Genève
L’auteur présente une démarche axée sur les droits de la personne pour l’abolition du travail des enfants et examine les modèles existants liant le droit à l’éducation à l’interdiction du travail des enfants. Ce rapport souligne le consensus international quant à l’importance de l’éducation pour éliminer la pauvreté et plaide en faveur d’une scolarisation gratuite et obligatoire.

Agence générale comptable des États-Unis, 'Child Labor in Agriculture: Changes needed to better protect health and educational opportunities', Section de la santé, de l’éducation et des services humains, États Unis, Agence générale comptable, Washington,
Ce rapport recommande des stratégies en vue d’accroître les possibilités dans le domaine de l’éducation des enfants travaillant dans l’agriculture de manière itinérante et saisonnière, y compris les travailleurs clandestins, et propose des moyens d’améliorer la surveillance de la part du Ministère du travail des États-Unis.
[PDF]



 

 

English   Español  

New enhanced search

The State of the World's Children 2004

Education and child labour

Akabayashi, Hideo and Psacharopoulos, George, ‘The Trade-off between Child Labour and Human Capital Formation: A Tanzanian case study’, in 'Journal of Development Studies', vol. 35, no. 5, 1999, pp. 120-140.
Using time-log data from a 1993 survey in the United Republic of Tanzania, the research investigates the relationship between child work and human capital development. It found that factors that increase children’s working hours also decrease their hours of study and that hours of work are negatively correlated with studying ability.

Assaad, Ragui, Deborah Levison and Nadia Zibani, ‘The Effect of Child Work on School Enrollment in Egypt’, Report presented at Workshop on the Analysis of Poverty and its Determinants in the MENA Region, Sanaa, 2001.
This publication describes the relationship between work and school attendance in Egypt. It asks, ‘To what extent does work reduce school attendance?’ and ‘How does the definition of work affect one’s understanding of its gender implications?’  The answers to both: Work has a disproportionate affect on girls – whether in the labour force or in the household – and is more likely to keep them from enrolling in or attending school.
[PDF]

Binder, Melissa and David Scrogin, ‘Labour Force Participation and Household Work of Urban Schoolchildren in Mexico: Characteristics and consequences’, 'Economic Development and Cultural Change', vol. 48, no. 1, 1999, pp. 123-154.
This article details the work experiences of over 300 children and their parents in western Mexico. It includes interviews with children, an evaluation of the relationship between hours spent in the labour force and children’s leisure time, and its negative effects on academic performance.

Bourdillon, M.F.C., ‘Child Labour and Education: A study from southeastern Zimbabwe’, in 'Journal of Social Development', vol. 15, no. 2, 2000, pp. 5-33.
This study examines the cultural context in Zimbabwe of company-run schools – Earn and Learn – on tea estates, working conditions and positive and negative implications for student labourers. It determines that working conditions are difficult and discipline can be harsh but company-run schools also provide benefits, such as access to estate health clinics, some recreation and leave time.

Canagarajah, Sudharshan and Helena Skyt Nielsen, 'Child Labor and Schooling in Africa: A comparative study', Social Protection Paper no. 9916, World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1999.
This paper analyses the determinants of child labour in Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana and Zambia in relationship to school attendance. It finds transportation costs to have the greatest effect on child labour and school attendance. Poverty and household composition are also an influence. The authors recommend specific measures to increase participation in education.
[PDF]

Deb, Partha and Furio Rosati, 'Determinants of Child Labor and School Attendance: The role of household unobservables', Department of Economics, Hunter College, New York, December 2002.
This analysis of econometric models distinguishes between observed and unobserved household characteristics as determinants of child labour, school attendance and idleness. It concludes that households with a high propensity to send their children to school are poorer and have less educated parents.
[PDF]

De Souza e Silva, Jailson and André Urani, ‘Children in Drug Trafficking: A rapid assessment’, 'Investigating the Worst Forms of Child Labor', no. 20, Brazil, International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, G
This paper looks at child drug trafficking in the favelas, the low-income areas of Rio de Janeiro. Gleaning information from court records, the study finds that children engaged in drug trafficking are from the poorest families, have low levels of schooling and participate in trafficking to gain power and prestige. The paper includes a review of the literature on child labour and drug trafficking, quantitative and qualitative profiles of children involved in drug trafficking and policy recommendations.
[PDF]

Ennew, Judith, ed., 'Learning or Labouring? A compilation of key texts on child work and basic education', UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre, Florence, 1995.
This is a collection of 80 short essays on the interaction between child work and basic education. Topics include the concept of childhood, children in the labour market, child exploitation, the history of education, compulsory education programmes, effective programmes for children living or working on the street and experimental approaches to combat the problem of child labour.

Haspels, Nelien et al., 'Action against Child Labour: Strategies in education -- country experiences in the mobilization of teachers, educators and their organizations in combating child labour', International Labour Organization, International Programme
This study compiles and synthesizes research from Africa, Asia and Latin America. It analyses where, how and why educational initiatives have been successful in combating child labour at local and national levels and provides specific strategies for employers, unions and community groups to end exploitative work. Case studies are peppered throughout to illustrate successful interventions. It provides guidelines for legislation and standards and demonstrates ways of collecting and using data in the fight to end child labour.

Haspels, Nelien and Busakorn Suriyasarn, 'Promotion of Gender Equality in Action against Child Labour and Trafficking: A practical guide for organizations', International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, Ban
This publication provides strategies for combating child labour as it pertains to both girls and boys. It pushes for more parental involvement in educating children, particularly daughters. It defines key terms, including gender, human rights, child labour and trafficking, and analyses gender differentials in child labour. It provides tools for promoting gender equality in campaigns against exploitative work.
[PDF]

Heady, Christopher, 'What is the Effect of Child Labour on Learning Achievement? Evidence from Ghana', Working Paper no. 79, UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre, Florence, 2000.
This study examines the relationship between children’s economic activity and learning achievement in Ghana, using reading and mathematics tests to measure school achievement and a household survey to measure labour activity. It concludes that child labour has a significant adverse effect on a child’s learning achievement.
[PDF]

Ilahi, Nadeem, 'Children’s Work and Schooling: Does gender matter? Evidence from the Peru LSMS', World Bank, Washington, D.C., December 2001.
This investigation examines the determinants of boys’ and girls’ time allocations to schooling, housework and income-generating activities and details the econometric findings that indicated changes in household welfare affect girls disproportionately. The study states that safety nets to protect family income and the provision of child care can help keep girls in school.
[PDF]

International Labour Office, 'A Future without Child Labour – Global report under the follow-up to the ILO Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work', International Labour Office, Geneva, 2002.
This study identifies the global context for child labour, the scale of the problem, various forms of child labour and causes and exacerbating factors. It recommends responses required of the international community to combat the problem.
[External Web page]

International Labour Office, 'Combating Child Labour through Education', International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, Geneva, 2003.
This paper reviews the International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour’s experience of using vocational skills training and formal and non-formal education to combat child labour. It explores the link between child labour and education and highlights good practices from around the world.

International Labour Office, 'IPEC Action against Child Labour 2000-2001: Progress and future priorities', International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, Geneva, 2002.
This document summarizes the International Programme to Eliminate Child Labour’s approach to ending exploitative work for children and achievements to date, thematic highlights and organizational and management issues and outlines the challenges ahead.
[PDF]

Larsen, Peter B. , 'Indigenous and Tribal Children: Assessing child labour and education challenges', Child Labour and Education Working Paper, International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, Geneva, 2003.
This study analyses common forms of social exclusion of indigenous and tribal children, such as discrimination and cultural marginalization, and argues for a rights-based approach to ensure education for all. It evaluates projects and policies and makes recommendations for action, especially providing quality education to combat exploitative child labour.
[PDF]

Lavinas, Lena, 'The Appeal of Minimum Income Programmes in Latin America', International Labour Organization, InFocus Programme on Socio-Economic Security, Geneva, 2001.
This paper outlines the benefits of the minimum income schemes implemented in Latin America in the 1990s and their role in helping to eliminate child labour, with particular attention paid to the Bolsa Escola school grant programme adopted in Brazil. The author argues for inclusion of minimum income programmes as a way of providing a social safety net that will ensure basic security for all.
[PDF]

Maitra, Pushkar and Ranjan Ray, 'The Joint Estimation of Child Participation in Schooling and Employment: Comparative evidence from three continents', June 2000.
This is a comparative analysis of child labour and child schooling, simultaneously looking at the data on school attendance and children working from Ghana, Pakistan and Peru. Overall findings indicate that household poverty discourages a child from high achievement, but results differ markedly by country and by gender. (The link goes to a discussion paper from 2000. An updated version appears in Oxford Development Studies, vol. 30, no. 1, 2002.)
[PDF]

Majumdar, Manabi, ‘Child Labour as a Human Security Problem: Evidence from India’, in 'Oxford Development Studies', vol. 29, no. 3, 2001, pp. 279-304.
This article explores the problem of child labour from the perspective of human security and development. It concludes that child labour should be investigated in relationship to deficiencies in public policy and social institutions and recommends that strategies for combating child labour be integrated into political and policy reforms.

Matz, Peter, 'Costs and Benefits of Education to Replace Child Labour', Working Paper, International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, Geneva, 2003.
This study looks at the net economic analysis of costs and benefits associated with universal primary and secondary education. It concludes that the benefits of universal education up to the minimum age of work would far outweigh the respective costs – as much as three times.
[PDF]

Post, David, 'Children’s Work, Schooling and Welfare in Latin America', Westview Press, Boulder, Colorado, 2001.
This is a comparative study of schoolchildren between the ages of 12 and 17 in Chile, Mexico and Peru. It looks at practices over the previous 20 years to identify what helps or hurts children’s school attendance. Topics include the prevailing political and policy environments, family resources and regional poverty and gender differences. 

Rammohan, Anu, ‘Interaction of Child Labour and Schooling in Developing Countries: A theoretical perspective’, in 'Journal of Economic Development', vol. 25, no. 2, December 2000.
The study examines human capital investment in rural households of developing countries where child labour is prevalent. The author reports that an increase in child wages, including opportunity costs of schooling, leads to lower education investments and higher fertility rates. However, a decrease or increase in school costs does not affect fertility decisions, only the time allotted to school versus labour.
[PDF]

Ravallion, Martin and Quentin Wodon, ‘Does Child Labour Displace Schooling? Evidence on behavioural responses to an enrollment subsidy’, in 'Economic Journal', vol. 110, 2000, pp. 158-175.
This report examines the effects of enrolment subsidies offered in Bangladesh on child labour and schooling. The authors find a strong link between the subsidy and school attendance, but its impact on child labour is smaller for girls than for boys.
[External Web page]

Rosati, Furio and Mariacristina Rossi, 'Children’s Working Hours, School Enrolment, and Human Capital Accumulation: Evidence from Pakistan and Nicaragua', Understanding Children’s Work Series, UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre, Florence, 2001.
This report examines determinants of school attendance and hours worked by children in Nicaragua and Pakistan. Using a theoretical model, the authors analyse the effects of work on children’s school achievements. Based on their findings, they discuss policy implications as they relate to child labour and schooling.
[PDF]

Salazar, Maria Cristina and W. Alarcón Glasinovich, eds., 'Child work and Education: Five case studies from Latin America', Ashgate Publishing, Aldershot/UNICEF, Florence, 1998.
This research explores the relationship of child work, school curricula and family preferences in Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala and Peru. The authors conclude that the preference for work over school derives in part from an underestimation of the value of schooling and that improving school quality will help combat child labour.

Schiefelbein, Ernesto, 'School-related Economic Incentives in Latin America: Reducing Drop-out and Repetition and Combating Child Labour', Innocenti Occasional Papers, Child Rights Series no. 12, UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre, Florence, 1997.
This research examines educational achievement levels in Latin America and identifies strategies to improve the quality and relevance of education systems. The author pays particular attention to initiatives that help working children enrol in and complete school.

Tomasevski, Katarina, 'A Human Rights Approach to the Elimination of Child Labour through Free and Compulsory Education', Working Paper, International Labour Organization, International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour, Geneva, 2003.
The author presents a human rights approach to the elimination of child labour and examines existing models linking the right to education with the prohibition of child labour. This report underscores the global consensus of the importance of education in poverty eradication and advocates for free, compulsory schooling.

United States General Accounting Office, 'Child Labor in Agriculture: Changes needed to better protect health and educational opportunities', Health, Education, and Human Services Division, United States General Accounting Office, Washington, D.C., 1998.
This report recommends strategies to increase educational possibilities for migrant and seasonal child workers in agriculture, including illegal workers, and suggests ways to improve oversight by the United States Department of Labor.
[PDF]



 

 

Español   Français

New enhanced search