Publications, studies and links

Resources for children

South Africa Development Indicators


Campaigns and conference resources


South African Early Childhood Development Awards

The South African Early Childhood Development Awards (SAECD Awards) have been in existence since 2003.

The Awards aim to:

  • Recognise excellence in the ECD sector.
  • Recognise innovations in ECD training methods and practice.
  • Recognise best practice.
  • Encourage the pursuit of excellence in the sector of ECD.

The awards are championed by the National Development Agency in partnership with the South African Congress for Early Childhood Development, ABSA, Department of Basic Education (DBE) and Social Development (DSD) and UNICEF. The Awards take place on an annual basis, provincially and nationally, to recognize best practice and outstanding participation in ECD through the following six categories:

  • Best ECD Centre of the Year
  • Best ECD Practitioner of the Year
  • Best ECD Trainer of the Year
  • Best Publication of the Year
  • Best ECD Training and Intervention Programme
  • Best ECD Programme that supports babies and young children with disabilities

Enter Now!

Opening Date: 18 August 2014 and the deadline for submission is 30 September 2014, 14h00. (No extensions will be granted).

National Award winners stand the chance to receive monetary awards of scholarships.

Download applications here [PDF]:





Make a donation


 Email this article

unite for children