美利坚合众国

“仁心厚泽”摄影展展现过去150年中聚焦儿童的摄影作品

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ1983-0001/Isaac
1983年,巴基斯坦,孩子们分享教科书。

艾伦.图尔米报道

“拍摄儿童的照片,是我们时代最普遍、最圣洁、有时甚至是最有争议的图片……它们可以简单而深刻、能够重申老生常谈的问题、也可以激发人们的想象力、开拓视野。”– 瑞.玛丽特(Ray Merritt),“仁心厚泽”讲解员。

西棕榈滩,美国,2012年1月30日 —— “仁心厚泽”,一场优美典雅、兼容并蓄、令人回味的摄影展在弗罗里达西棕榈滩的棕榈海岸摄影中心开幕,共展出摄影作品200幅,且伴有雕塑、文学摘录点缀其间。这是一次展现过去150年中聚焦儿童摄影作品的热烈回顾。

该展览由纽约的摄影作品收藏家、作家及著名律师——瑞.玛丽特讲解,“仁心厚泽”也是他在2007年出版的一本书的书名。该展览延续了那本书的历史感,使用了许多相同的照片。但是,展览提供了另一种呈现形式,吸引了许多重要的纽约摄影作品收藏家,如瑞.玛丽特本人、乔伊.拜欧、亨瑞.布尔、乔伊.科恩、彼得.麦克奎尔和霍华德.格林伯格。

“别人经常问我,是什么神奇的力量吸引我们去拍摄儿童,”玛丽特在他为展览写的介绍中说,“对我来说,最好的词语是:仁心。”

UNICEF Photo
© Dorothea Lange, courtesy the Cohen Family Collection
“移民母亲”, 美国, 1936。

著名摄影师的作品

“仁心”这一概念的深刻和微妙之处在展品中生动体现。展览从洛夫.吉卜森1978年的黑白作品“宝贝的脸庞”开始,包括了许多罕见的、小幅的、维多利亚时代拍摄的、以儿童为主题的作品。摄影师包括路易斯.卡罗尔、茱莉亚.玛格丽特.卡梅隆及约翰.托马斯等。而当代作品——常常是大幅彩色图像——由托马斯.司徒斯和乔伊斯.特纳森拍摄,与黑白作品交相辉映。

大约半数的展品来自美国,摄影师有尤金.史密斯、萨利.曼、海伦.莱维特、罗伯特.弗兰克和许多其他著名摄影师,各个年龄的儿童和生存环境(富庶或贫困)都在作品中涉及。

展览也包括了一些摄影历史上最重要的纪实摄影作品,如路易斯.海因和朵洛西亚.蓝吉趁。展出作品中最有名的照片之一,是海因在1936年拍摄的“移民母亲”,照片刻画了大萧条时期的一位贫困母亲和她的孩子们。这可能是美国最著名的单幅作品。

因生动刻画了惨淡经济中一贫如洗的人们,该照片曾被广泛传播,帮助公众意识到农村贫困的现实,以调动全国资源,将灾难的程度降至最低。

UNICEF Photo
© Martin Munkácsi, courtesy Howard Greenberg
“利比里亚的儿童”1930年

拍摄其他国家的摄影作品同样震慑人心,尤其是在记录历史中的儿童时。另一张著名的照片,是马丁.芒卡西拍摄的1930年的利比里亚男孩 —— 照片从背后捕捉到了他们冲向海边游泳的时刻,让人想到了童年的欢乐时光。这是《仁心厚泽》一书的封面。

冲突中的儿童

乔治.罗杰拍摄的一张照片反映了儿童面临的严酷环境。1945年拍摄的这张照片,刻画了一个德国男孩——跟之前利比里亚男孩的年龄一般大。他正走过刚解放不久的纳粹集中营贝尔根.贝尔森,身旁是成片的尸体。男孩扭头避开了视线中一排排的尸体,努力从他正在经历的恐怖中解脱。这张图片有力地显示了目击惨剧的儿童所受到的巨大心理创伤。

“仁心厚泽”也展出了一部分联合国儿童基金会图片收藏中的照片,包括资深联合国摄影师约翰.伊塞克在1983年拍摄的分享教科书的巴基斯坦女孩,及麦克.坎博在2005年拍摄的、苏丹达尔富尔的婴儿费萨尔。费萨尔的母亲在该地区的动乱之后被暴徒强奸而生下了他。这样的暴力侵袭今天依然存在。

“直抒己见”

“孩子们没有偏见,他们不知成见为何物,他们能够直抒己见,不会掩饰自己的感情。”玛丽特说,“他们的骄傲没有浮华成分,对缺陷也很宽容。在苦难中的儿童常常展示了这种仁心厚泽的品质——那是一种去适应、容忍和谅解的能力。”

UNICEF Photo
© George Rodger, courtesy the Carol and Ray Merritt Collection
1945,“贝尔根.贝尔森”,德国

“仁心厚泽”探寻了童年生活的各个方面。展览和摄影集都体现了瑞.玛丽特对儿童和摄影的热爱,这种热情促成了他和联合国儿童基金会美国基金的合作 —— 他曾为其政府执行委员会工作数年。他在美国各大重要博物馆——如惠特尼美术馆、古根汉姆博物馆等担任摄影董事的经历也对他的创作有所启发。

作为持续五天的摄影节“Fotofusion”的一部分,“仁心厚泽”展览在西棕榈海滩开幕,同时进行的还有各种研讨会和工作坊——该摄影节已经走过了十七个年头。展览将在摄影中心持续至3月17日,之后会移至美国各大博物馆展出。

“仁心厚泽” 一书的英文版和意大利版已经售出4000多本——在小天鹅基金会的网站上可以购买此书,收入所得收益将被捐赠给联合国儿童基金会。

艾伦.图尔米是联合国儿童基金会高级图片编辑,她也是《仁心厚泽》一书的顾问。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: United States of America

'Full of Grace' photography exhibition celebrates children

© UNICEF/NYHQ1983-0001/Isaac
'Girls share textbooks to study', Pakistan, 1983

By Ellen Tolmie

“Photographic images of children are the most common, the most sacred and at times the most controversial images of our times … They can be both banal and profound; they can narrow perceptions by reinforcing clichés or broaden perspectives by kindling the imagination.” – Ray Merritt, curator of ‘Full of Grace’

WEST PALM BEACH, USA, 30 January 2012 – ‘Full of Grace’, a graceful, eclectic and evocative exhibition of more than 200 photographs, accompanied by sculptures and literary quotations, opened on 26 January at the Palm Beach Photographic Center in West Palm Beach, Florida. It is an exuberant celebration of the representation of children in photography over the past 150 years.

Curated by New York’s Ray Merritt, a photography collector, author and editor, and a distinguished lawyer, ‘Full of Grace’ revisits the themes Merritt explored in his book of the same name, published in 2007. The exhibition retains the book’s historical reach and includes many of the same images. But it also offers a more serendipitous presentation, drawing on major New York photography collectors and dealers including Merritt himself, Joe Baio, Henry Buhl, Joe Cohen, Peter McGill and Howard Greenberg.

“I have often been asked to describe that one radiant quality that draws us to photographs of children,” Merritt writes in his introduction to the show. “For this curator, it is best captured by the word ‘grace’.”

© Dorothea Lange, courtesy the Cohen Family Collection
'Migrant mother', USA, 1936

Photography’s luminaries

The depth and nuance of this concept of grace is on vivid display, starting with the stark black-and-white 1978 ‘Baby’s face’ image by Ralph Gibson that opens the show. It includes many rarely seen, usually small-scale, images of children made in photography’s earliest days by Victorian masters including Lewis Carroll, Julia Margaret Cameron and John Thomson. These are complemented by contemporary works, often large scale and in blazing colour, by photographers including Thomas Struth and Joyce Tenneson.

Roughly half the photographs in the exhibition come from the United States, works by W. Eugene Smith, Sally Mann, Helen Levitt, Robert Frank and many other luminaries, spanning all the ages of childhood as well as children’s diverse circumstances, including both scarcity and affluence.

This exhibit also includes some of photography’s most important social documentarians, such as Lewis Hine and Dorothea Lange. One of the most iconic of the images presented is Lange’s 1936 ‘Migrant Mother’, a portrait of a destitute woman with some of her children during the Great Depression. This is perhaps America’s most famous single photograph.

An elegiac rendering of the plight of the dispossessed during this time, the image was widely published and hugely popular, helping to mobilize public opinion behind a national response to alleviate the worst effects of rural poverty.

© Martin Munkácsi, courtesy Howard Greenberg
'Boys in Liberia', c.1930

Photographs from the rest of the world are equally arresting, particularly in tracing the history of photographic representation of children. Another iconic image is Martin Munkácsi’s 1930 photograph of Liberian boys, seen from behind, running into the sea to swim: an ode to the physical joys of childhood. This image is on the cover of the book ‘Full of Grace’.

Children in conflict

A representation of the terrible circumstances children face is a photograph by George Rodger. It shows another boy, about the same age as the Liberians, in Germany in 1945. He is walking past rows of corpses in Bergen-Belsen, the recently liberated Nazi extermination camp. The boy is looking away from the rows, seemingly pushing his face away from the horror he is witnessing. As an image, it is a graphically powerful depiction of the psychological assault on children caused by witnessing atrocities.

‘Full of Grace’ also includes several images from UNICEF’s photography collection. These include veteran UN photographer John Isaac’s 1983 photograph of Pakistani girls sharing their school books, and Michael Kamber’s 2005 photograph of a baby, Faisal, in Darfur, Sudan. Faisal was born after his mother was raped during a violent attack on the region’s civilians; such attacks continue today. 

‘Brutally honest’

“Children lack bias, they know no prejudice, they are brutally honest and incapable of hiding their emotions,” Merritt comments. “They exhibit pride without vanity and are inclusive to a fault. Challenged children and those in danger often exhibit other aspects of grace – the ability to adapt, to endure and to forgive.”

© George Rodger, courtesy the Carol and Ray Merritt Collection
'Bergen-Belsen', Germany, 1945

‘Full of Grace’ explores all these aspects of childhood, and many more. Both the exhibition and the book draw on Ray Merritt’s abiding interests in both children and photography. The impulse to marry these interests was, in part, the result of his association with the U.S. Fund for UNICEF, where he served for several years on the Executive Committee of its governing board. It was also inspired by his many years as a photography trustee at major American museums, including The Whitney Museum of American Art, the Guggenheim and the International Center of Photography. 

‘Full of Grace’, the exhibition, opened in West Palm Beach in conjunction with Fotofusion, a five-day photography festival of seminars and workshops that is now in its seventeenth year. The show will stay at the Photographic Center there through March 17, after which it will travel to other American museums.

‘Full of Grace’, the book, has sold more than 4,000 copies in its English and Italian editions – and can be purchased online at the Cygnet Foundation. Net proceeds from its sale are donated to UNICEF.

Ellen Tolmie is UNICEF’s Senior Photography Editor. She was an advisor to the Full of Grace book project.




New enhanced search