美利坚合众国

儿童性剥削在美国:不仅仅是发展中国家的问题

UNICEF Photo
© Courtesy of ‘Very Young Girls’
美国每年有大约30万儿童和青少年成为国内人口贩卖和商业性剥削的受害者。

伊丽莎白.基姆报道

第三届反对针对儿童的性剥削世界大会将于2008年11月25日至28日在巴西举办,旨在促进国际合作以在制止性剥削方面采取更加有效的行动。以下是相关系列报道之一。

2008年11月20日,美国纽约 – 针对儿童的性剥削一直以来都被认为是发展中国家的痼疾,因为那里的旅游业和贫困使得性剥削成为一种能够获利的交易。但是根据宾夕法尼亚大学所做的一项调查,在美国每年至少有30万儿童和青少年沦为卖淫者,其中大约2200名生活在纽约市。

女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS)是纽约州唯一一家服务于国内被拐女童和遭受商业性剥削女童的非营利组织。

位于纽约哈林的这家中心是一个安全的避风港;那些逃离了性剥削虐待生活的年轻女孩可以在这里寻找到庇护、安慰和权力。

从“长远来看”

自从该中心于1998年建成以来,大约250 名年轻女孩来到中心的门口。所有人都受到了热情的欢迎,鼓励她们离开色情行业的“那种生活”。大多数人成功地做到了。有些人又回到了街头,因为无法摆脱那一开始让她们屈服于剥削的依赖关系。

“你必须要从长远来看。孩子们可能要经历几次这样的周期,” 女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS)的主任雷切尔.劳埃德(Rachel Lloyd)说。她自己就是“那种生活”的幸存者。

“有时你要练习离开。平均来说,女孩要尝试五到七次才能离开 – 这就好像对待家庭暴力一样。”她补充说道。

在参与过女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS)项目的年轻女孩中,有将近四分之三成功地结束了受虐待的生活。

虐待的周期

为了供养嗜酒的母亲,劳埃德13岁就辍学了。她坠入了充满毒品和性剥削的生活。她曾经三次试图自杀。但即使是在英国,在社会工作者、律师和精神病医生所搭建的密网之下,劳埃德“依旧继续在一个注定会沉沦的体制的裂缝中滑落”。17岁的时候,等待着她的命运是在德国卖淫。

阻止这种沉沦堕落正是女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS)的宗旨。

与一些性旅游泛滥的国家不同,在美国,儿童卖淫往往是由家庭问题引起的。“超过70%(的商业性剥削的受害者)曾经进入过儿童福利系统——这意味着家里有事情发生 ,不管是虐待,还是被忽视,或者酗酒,”劳埃德女士说,“如果家庭在某个方面出了问题,受苦的是儿童。”

从受害者到倡导者

另外一个虐待的幸存者多米尼克(Dominique)向人们讲述了她的家庭 :“我家里的人经常吵架,发生的家庭暴力你都无法相信。”她回忆起在她逃跑之后,刚跑到一个街区以外,一个皮条客就开车跟了上来。

UNICEF Photo
© Courtesy of ‘Very Young Girls’
女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS)的创始人雷切尔.劳埃德(Rachel Lloyd)荣获2006年锐步人权奖。

“(他说)‘我可以帮助你。我可以像你的父亲一样对你好,我可以做一个你能爱的人。我们就像一家人。’”多米尼克回答说:“一家人?好吧!一家人?那好,我跟你上车。”

多米尼克完成了女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS)项目,现在成为了一名倡导者。她现在在GEMS有固定工作职位,还有她自己的公寓、一个爱她的丈夫和一个健康的女儿。

“非常年轻的女孩们”

多米尼克的故事被拍成了一部电影《非常年轻的女孩们》。这部纪录片主要讲述一名年轻的女孩在人生旅途的关键时刻找到了女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS),从而从卖淫转为帮助他人的故事。参与女童教育和辅导服务的人中有一半是被法庭或缓刑监督官强制要求参加的,而另一半是通过宣传和朋友介绍自愿加入的。

该影片强调了纠正刑事司法法规的重要性,以使淫媒活动的最年幼的受害者不至于困在这一系统中。

电影中其中一幕非常令人震惊的画面是,一位14岁的女孩被一个皮条客绑架了五天还遭受了强奸,后来她从这个虐待她的皮条客那里获救,但是律师却说她被指控犯有卖淫罪而不能被假释。令人高兴的是,法官最终说“应该给她们一次机会来证明她们有能力做到她们需要做的事情”而释放了这个女孩,让她回到母亲身边并把她交托给女童教育和辅导服务。

女童教育和辅导服务(GEMS)的创始人劳埃德女士是这部片长90分钟的纪录片的制片人之一。该片正在美国、加拿大和英国的电影节上轮流上映。劳埃德女士说她希望这部影片可以提高人们的意识,让大家认识到性剥削这一严重问题就发生在“自家的后院”。


 

 

视频(英文)

纪录片《非常年轻的女孩们》。该影片讲述在纽约接受女童教育和辅导服务帮助的女孩的故事;该片将于12月11日在美国Showtime电视台播出。
 播放  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

At a glance: United States of America

Child sexual exploitation in the USA: Not just a problem for developing nations

UNICEF Image
© Courtesy of ‘Very Young Girls’
An estimated 300,000 children and adolescents are the victims of domestic trafficking and commercial sexual exploitation in the United States every year.

By Elizabeth Kiem

The World Congress III against the Sexual Exploitation of Children, set for 25-28 November 2008 in Brazil, aims to promote international cooperation for more effective action on sexual exploitation. Here is one in a series of related stories.

NEW YORK, USA, 20 November 2008 – Child sexual exploitation has long been a known evil in developing countries where the combination of tourism and poverty make for a lucrative business. But at least 300,000 children and adolescents are prostituted every year in the United States, according to a 2001 University of Pennsylvania study. According to another study, more than 2,200 of them are in New York City.

Girls Education and Mentoring Services (GEMS) is the only non-profit organization in New York State serving domestically trafficked and commercially exploited girls.

The Harlem-based centre is a safe haven; a place where young women exiting abusive relationships of sexual exploitation can find shelter, comfort and empowerment.

Taking ‘the long view’
Some 250 young women have passed through the centre’s doors since its founding in 1998. All of them have been welcomed and encouraged to leave ‘the life’ of the sex industry. Most manage to do just that. Some return to the street, unable to break the bonds of dependency that made them ripe for exploitation in the first place.

“You have to take the long view. Kids have to go through the cycle a few times,” says GEMS Director Rachel Lloyd, a survivor of ‘the life’.

“Sometimes you have to practice leaving. On average, girls are going to go through anywhere from five to seven attempts to leave – just like in a relationship of domestic violence,” she adds.

Nearly three-quarters of the young women who have gone through the GEMS programme have successfully terminated their abusive relationships.

Cycle of abuse
Lloyd was just 13 when she dropped out of school to support an alcoholic mother. She slipped into a life of drugs and sexual abuse. She tried three times to kill herself. But even in the United Kingdom, with its network of social workers, lawyers and psychiatrists, Lloyd “continued to slip through the cracks of a system that would eventually give up.” Prostitution in Germany was what awaited her at age 17.

Preventing that slide is what GEMS is all about.

Unlike in countries where sex tourism is endemic, child prostitution in the United States is often the product of family dysfunction. “Over 70 per cent [of victims of commercial sexual exploitation] have been in child welfare system at some point. Which indicates that something is going on in the home, whether its abuse or neglect or alcoholism,” says Ms. Lloyd. “Somewhere along the line the family got fractured and the child is the one to suffer.”

From victim to advocate
Another survivor of abuse, Dominique, says about her family: “We fought a lot in my house. Domestic violence like you wouldn’t believe.” When she ran away, she recalls, she hadn’t gone more than a block before a pimp pulled up next to her.

UNICEF Image
© Courtesy of ‘Very Young Girls’
Rachel Lloyd, founder of Girls Educational and Mentoring Services, receives the Reebok Human Rights Award in 2006.

“[He said] ‘I can really help you. I can really be like your father and a person you can love all in one. Like family.’” Dominique’s response? “Family? OK! Family? Alright – I’m getting in the car!”

Dominique completed the GEMS programme and is now an advocate herself, with a staff position at GEMS, an apartment of her own, a loving husband and a healthy daughter.

‘Very Young Girls’
Dominique’s story is told in the film ‘Very Young Girls’. The documentary features young women who find GEMS at a crucial point on their journey from prostitution to empowerment. About half of GEMS participants are mandated by the courts or probation officers to attend; the other 50 per cent come willingly through outreach or word-of-mouth.

The film emphasizes the importance of righting the criminal justice code so that the youngest victims of sex trafficking are not trapped in the system.

In one of the film’s most shocking scenes, an attorney argues that a 14-year old girl rescued from an abusive pimp who had kidnapped her for five days and subjected her to rape, be denied parole and charged with prostitution. Happily, the judge, citing the need for “a chance to prove they can do what they need to do,” releases the girl to her mother and refers her to GEMS.

The 90-minute documentary, co-produced by Ms. Lloyd, the GEMS founder, is currently making its way around the film festival circuit in the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Ms. Lloyd says she hopes it will raise awareness of the serious problem of commercial sexual exploitation “in our own backyard.”

 


 

 

Video

Watch an excerpt from the film ‘Very Young Girls’ about the women reached by Girls Education and Mentoring Services in New York; the full documentary will be shown 11 December on Showtime in the US.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Related link

GEMS website: ‘Very Young Girls’
(external link, opens in a new window)

New enhanced search