乌干达

联合国儿童基金会支持乌干达为抗击对妇女和儿童的暴力所作的承诺

托马斯.尼博报道

乌干达穆纽纽,2010年12月10日 – “今天我们要开始三天的行程,为乌干达社会构建共同的设想,让妇女和儿童不再面临恐惧,而是有尊严地生活,并充分发挥她们的潜力。”

视频:研讨会的形式是让与会者们聚集一堂,讲述他们希望在将来看到的情况。 在Realplayer中播放

联合国儿童基金会驻乌干达儿童保护部门在乌干达穆纽纽举行了“有关抗击对妇女和儿童暴力的前景探寻研讨会”,该部门负责人西尔维亚.帕斯蒂(Silvia Pasti)在会上作了这些致词。研讨会让五十多名青少年、决策者、传统和宗教领导人、学者、民间团体成员及其他代表聚集一堂,共同探讨减少对乌干达儿童的暴力问题。

她还说:“这次会议由乌干达性别部和联合国儿童基金会共同组织,但我今天不仅仅是作为联合国儿童基金会的成员,更重要的是作为一名妇女在这里说话。我相信我们在场的大多数人,不论年龄、性别和肤色的差异,都曾直接遭受过——或者至少目睹过暴力行为。”

未来的希望

研讨会的形式是让与会者们讲述他们希望在未来看到的情况。他们深入讨论各种问题,寻找共同的立场,为具体的行动计划打下基础。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video/2010
在乌干达穆纽纽参加“有关抗击对妇女和儿童暴力的前景探寻研讨会”的与会者。

乌干达性别、劳动和社会发展部人员詹姆斯.卡博格扎(James Kaboggoza)说:“在对抗这一阻碍社会发展的问题时,我们并没有表现出应有的警觉性。我相信如果我们共同努力,一定能大大有助于减轻问题的危害,并为妇女和儿童创造有利的发展环境,让家庭能够更好地为国家的发展作贡献。”

提高意识

青少年也是与会的利益相关者,24岁的阿卜杜勒.贾里瓦格就是其中一位,他现在在街上用歌声讲述他过去的生活。他目前住在建立在坎帕拉的街头儿童中心,帮助其他儿童摆脱街头流浪的生活。

他唱道:“现在要说说生活了,让我们来说说街头的生活,他们真的在挣扎,在哭泣,他们没有希望,没有未来,让我们携起手来,团结一致。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video/2010
研讨会的形式是让与会者们聚集一堂,讲述他们希望在将来看到的情况。

其中一位与会青少年——14岁的伊丽莎白.基卡沃特谈到弱势儿童和他们的困境:“街头儿童,即使是那些在街路廊道的儿童,每天每夜都在哭泣。”

联合国儿童基金会致力于该事业

联合国儿童基金会工作人员西尔维亚.帕斯蒂在会议结束时提出了她的想法:“所有的问题和解决办法都是源于我们自己,我们之前所计划的行动还未付诸实践…我们不能让这里的妇女和儿童失望,我们代表联合国儿童基金会郑重承诺,要进一步开展行动,使美好的设想成为现实。”


 

 

搜索

Uganda

UNICEF supports Uganda's committment to fight violence against women and children

By Thomas Nybo

MUNYONYO, Uganda, 10 December 2010 - "Today we are starting a three-day journey for creating a shared vision about a Ugandan society in which women and children live with no fear, in dignity and to their full potential."

VIDEO: UNICEF's Thomas Nybo reports on Uganda's efforts to fight violence against women and children.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

These words spoken by Silvia Pasti Chief of Child Protection for UNICEF Uganda, opened a conference held in Munyonyo, Uganda, called "The Future Search Workshop on Violence Against Children and Women". It brought together about fifty young people, policy makers, traditional and religious leaders, academics, civil society members, and other representatives, all working together to reduce violence in Uganda.

"The workshop is organized jointly by the ministry of gender and UNICEF," she continued. "But I'm here to speak to you not necessarily as a UNICEF staff member but as a woman. I'm sure that many of you in this room, regardless of your age, sex, color of your skin, have experienced directly – or at least witnessed – a form of violence in your life."

Hope for the future

The workshop followed a format that brought people together to tell stories about what they hope to see in the future. They delved into the issues in search of common ground, to build the foundation for concrete action plans.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video/2010
Participant at a workshop called "The Future Search Workshop on Violence Against Children and Women" in Munyonyo, Uganda.

"We are not as vigilant as we should be in combatting this malaise, which is eating up our society," said James Kaboggoza, who works with Uganda's Ministry of Gender, Labor and Social Development. " I believe if we tackled this together, we could go a long way in reducing the problem and creating an environment for our women and children to blossom and make our families progressive and better able to contribute to the development of this country."

Raising youth awareness

Among the stakeholders present were young people, including Abdul Galiwango, 24, who is now singing about his former life on the streets. Currently living at a center for street children in Kampala, he is working to help others make the transition off the streets.

"This is time to speak about life," he sang. "Let us speak about life on the streets. They really struggle, they're really crying. No hope, no future for them. Let's get together, united as one."

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video/2010
The workshop followed a format that brought people together to tell stories about what they hope to see in the future.

One of the young people present, Elizabeth Kicarwot, 14, talked about vulnerable children and their plight: "Street children, even children that are in street corridors, they are there crying every day and night."

UNICEF committed to the cause

UNICEF's Silvia Pasti offered her closing thoughts at the end of the conference: "All the things we've identified as problems and as solutions, are coming from all of us. We are owning what we said we would do...We cannot fail the women and the children that are here. We commit, as UNICEF, to really keep this alive, to make it happen."


 

 

New enhanced search