苏丹

现场日记:在苏丹,久久期盼踏上返回南苏丹的归途

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Khanna
孩子们在一艘准备从科斯提(Kosti) 小站出发的驳船上,等待起航。这艘船将沿尼罗河航行到达南苏丹。

By Priyanka Khanna

南苏丹独立 6 个月后,仍有数以千计的南苏丹人滞留在苏丹,盼望踏上返回南部家乡的旅程。据联合国估计,大约有 70 万南苏丹人目前滞留在苏丹,迫切希望在 4 月份截止期前离开苏丹。记者朴雅卡.坎纳在苏丹一个主要的出发站 - 科斯提小站报道这些南苏丹家庭的情况。

苏丹科斯提,2012年2月1日 —— 抱在手上的这个破旧的玩具娃娃,是18 岁莎碧娜.萨尔萨最好的朋友杰奎琳在离开时留下的。

萨尔萨、杰奎琳和她们的家人于2011年 月来到科斯提,等待返回新家园 —— 南苏丹。12 月时,杰奎琳终于搭上了一艘驶往南苏丹首都朱巴的驳船,尽管这艘船拥挤不堪。

萨尔萨说:“我多么希望杰奎琳可以和我在一起。但是现在她走了,我不知道她在哪里,也不知道我什么时候可以走。”

萨尔萨只是数以千计的南苏丹人中的一个 ——约9000至14000人 —— 正在这个主要的出发小站,忍受煎熬。这个港口只能容纳2000人,目前所有的设施都大大超过了负荷。

人群以极其缓慢的速度移动,在这里及其他出发点,数以千计的人困于这样的窘境。

前途未卜

在南苏丹独立6个月后,大约有70万南苏丹人还滞留在苏丹。根据喀土穆设定的截止期限,很多人将失去或者有可能失去苏丹国籍,这些人需要在2012年4月8日前取得南苏丹国籍。他们别无选择,必须返回南部取得适当的证明文件。南苏丹人如果希望继续在苏丹生活,就必须要取得南苏丹国籍和在苏丹合法的居住身份。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Khanna
18 岁的莎碧娜.萨尔萨坐在尼罗河畔。她是无数拥挤在苏丹科斯提的小站、经历漫长等待的南部人之一。

他们中的一些人在证明自己应该获得苏丹国籍或者南苏丹国籍时,遇到很多困难。无法提供适当证明文件的人,在居住国没有合法的身份,可能无法得到保护、无法享受服务并有可能受到处罚。

联合国机构正在呼吁两国政府间建立流程,使得南苏丹人可以更容易地取得南苏丹公民身份,以及在苏丹生活和工作的许可。

同时,非政府组织和联合国机构 —— 包括国际移民组织 (IOM)、联合国难民署 (UNHCR)、世界粮食计划署 (WFP) 和联合国儿童基金会 —— 正在积极利用有限的资源满足旅客的需求。

严重短缺

在科斯提的人正在面临重重困难,很多新生儿起的名字是“米娜”或者“拓布”,米娜的含义是港口,而拓布的含义则是劳累 —— 这些都反映了他们的困境。

“这里急缺水、食品、毛毯、医疗卫生… …在这里的等待耗尽了家里的所有积蓄。”社区负责人斯蒂芬.巴蒂迪 (Stephan Badidi) 说。

小孩子们忍受的要更多。没有正规的学校,孩子们无法得到教育并且很多人染病。2 岁的多纳.西蒙 (Dona Simon) 八月份病倒了,目前正在联合国儿童基金会支持的营养中心接受治疗。
那些能够在国际移民组织所支持的驳船上找到一席之地的人,会松一口气。

“我知道开始一段新生活不会一帆风顺,但是我满怀希望。”40 岁的母亲瑞格纳.奥卡格说,她是驳船上的一位安全志愿者。她说:“我会像这里的营地小组小组一样,建立一些妇女小组。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Khanna
孩子们在由联合国儿童基金会支持、设立在苏丹科斯提的儿童友好中心中尽情地歌唱、舞蹈。

当然,她也面临一些棘手的事情。旅程超过3周,驳船上挤满了超过2000人。

在最近一次航行中,有两名儿童丧生,联合国儿童基金会支持的非政府组织已经开始治理驳船的安全,卫生条件和饮用水的安全。对于最脆弱的人员,将通过航班飞往朱巴以避免在旅程中发生危险。12 岁的维多利亚.帕特里斯被确诊为疟疾和伤寒,在出发前,被从驳船运送的名单中划去。

片刻的轻松

大家的沮丧情绪显而易见,尤其在最近南苏丹种族冲突相关报道之后。

由联合国儿童基金会支持,社区成员们建立的儿童友好中学提供了一个短暂放松的场所。这里为孩子们提供了一个玩耍、绘画、歌唱和学习的安全环境。

30岁的哈南.约翰说:“我把自己的孩子带到这里,而且也让我周围邻居的孩子们都来到这里。”

这里可以给予在科斯提的人以希望!

莎碧娜最新报名成为了儿童友好中心的志愿人员,负责照料孩子们以确保不发生意外。她说:“只要一起努力,什么困难都能够克服!”


 

 

搜索

Sudan

Field diary: In Sudan, a long wait for the journey home to South Sudan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Khanna
Children wait on a barge preparing to depart from the Kosti Way Station. It will travel on the Nile River to South Sudan.

By Priyanka Khanna

More than six months after the secession of South Sudan, thousands of South Sudanese are still trying to make the journey southward. The United Nations estimates that nearly 700,000 people of South Sudanese origin remain in Sudan, anxious to leave before the April deadline. Priyanka Khanna travelled to Kosti Way Station, the main departure point, to report on the situation for families heading south.

KOSTI, Sudan, 1 February 2012 – A raggedy doll is all that 18-year-old Sabina Saisa has left to remind her of her best friend, Jacqueline.

Sabina, Jacqueline and their families had arrived at Kosti Way Station in June 2011 to start the journey to their new homeland – South Sudan. Jacqueline left in late December aboard an overcrowded Nile River barge travelling to Juba, the capital of South Sudan.

“I was hoping Jacqueline and I would stay together. But now she is gone, and I have no idea where, and I don’t know when I will be able to go,” said Sabina.

Sabina is one of thousands of southerners – estimates range from 9,000 to 14,000 – enduring a long and uncomfortable wait around the crowded way station, the main departure point. The port is meant to accommodate only 2,000 people, and all its facilities are greatly overstretched.

Yet movement of people has been excruciatingly slow, here and at other departure points, where thousands more are stranded.

Uncertain future

Six months after South Sudan’s independence, nearly 700,000 people of South Sudanese origin remain in Sudan. Because of recent legislation, many have lost or may lose their Sudanese nationality, and must acquire South Sudanese nationality by 8 April 2012, a deadline set by Khartoum. They have little choice but to travel south to obtain proper documentation. Southerners wishing to maintain their livelihoods in Sudan must acquire both South Sudanese nationality and proper residency status in Sudan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Khanna
Sabina Saisa, 18, sits by the Nile River. She is one of thousands of southerners enduring a long wait at the crowded way station in Kosti, Sudan.

Some may have difficulty proving their entitlement to either nationality. But those without proper documentation risk having uncertain legal status in their country of residence, potential loss of access to protections and services, or other possible penalties.

UN agencies are advocating that governments of both countries establish procedures to make it easier for southerners to acquire South Sudanese citizenship and permission to live and work in Sudan.

Meanwhile, non-government organizations and UN agencies – including the International Organization for Migration (IOM), United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR), World Food Programme (WFP) and UNICEF – are working with limited resources to meet travellers’ needs.

Acute shortages

Conditions weigh heavily on those at Kosti, where newborn babies have named ‘Meena’, meaning port, and ‘Toub’, meaning tired – reflections of their families’ hardship.
“There are acute shortages of water, food, blankets, sanitation and so on. We are using up our savings waiting here,” said community leader Stephan Badidi.

Young children have suffered more than most. With no provision for schools, children are missing out on education, and many have fallen ill. Two-year-old Dona Simon fell sick in August and is now being treated at a UNICEF-supported nutrition centre.

Among those who find a place on the IOM-supported barges, there is visible relief.

“I know it won’t be easy to start a new life but I am hopeful,” said Ragena Okage, a 40-year-old mother and a security volunteer on the barge. “I will form women’s groups just like the ones in the camps here,” she said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Khanna
Children sing and dance at a UNICEF-supported child-friendly space in Kosti, Sudan.

Still, she has her work cut out for her. The journey takes approximately three weeks, and barges have been packed with over 2,000 people.

After two children died during a recent voyage, UNICEF-supported NGOs began delivering orientations on barge safety, hygiene and water safety. And the most vulnerable are being flown to Juba, avoiding the dangerous journey; 12-year-old Victoria Patrice, diagnosed with both malaria and typhoid, was removed from a barge moments before it sailed.

Temporary relief

Travellers’ frustration is palpable, especially following recent reports of ethnic clashes in South Sudan.

But a child-friendly space, established by community members with UNICEF support, offers temporary relief. The space provides a safe place for children to play, draw, sing, dance and learn.

“I bring my son here and make sure every child in my neighbourhood comes here,” said Hanan John, 30.

This community spirit is giving the people in Kosti hope.

Sabina is the latest to volunteer at the child-friendly space, helping children cope with the uncertainty ahead. “Together,” she said, “we shall overcome.”


 

 

New enhanced search