斯里兰卡

儿童陷入斯里兰卡的冲突之中

UNICEF Photo
一名男孩和他的父亲在斯里兰卡北部的一个营地。该地区遭袭时,小男孩跳进地堡摔伤了胳膊。

詹姆斯.艾德报道

斯里兰卡瓦尼,2009年2月23日 – 在炸弹降落到地面之前,沈纳普(Sennappu)只有一瞬间、一秒钟、一次心跳的时间用自己的身体挡住她18个月大的女儿。她本能的反应挽救了女儿的性命,但是她自己当场被炸死了。

斯里兰卡的冲突局势日益紧张,伤亡的平民数量也在上升。联合国儿童基金会一贯呼吁斯里兰卡政府和LTTE(叛军泰米尔伊拉姆猛虎解放组织)给保护平民绝对的优先权。但是像沈纳普这样的母亲们仍然不断地死去,儿童们也是一样。

点击此处收听录音

儿童的死伤主要是由炮弹碎片、枪弹伤、烧伤和骨折所致。一些儿童被从战斗地区解救出来并送到了医院, 而医院也已人满为患,并急需麻醉剂和必要的药物。

“恐惧充斥着童年”

在上周的声明中,联合国儿童基金会说斯里兰卡北部地区瓦尼受暴力影响儿童的数目如此之高很令人担忧。

联合国儿童基金会驻斯里兰卡代表菲利普.杜阿梅勒先生(Philippe Duamelle)说:“过去一周中,数百名儿童在战斗中受伤并被解救出来。儿童因在战争中丧生,受伤,被征召入伍,流离失所,与家人分开,日常需求无法获得满足而成为了受害者。恐惧,而不是希望,充斥着他们的童年。”

联合国儿童基金会正反复重申着该组织所作的号召,呼吁政府和LTTE保护儿童不受战争之苦并允许他们转移到安全的地方以获得适当的援助。

霍姆斯谈平民伤亡

上周末,该号召受到负责人道主义事务的联合国副秘书长约翰.霍姆斯(John Holmes)的支持。

在对斯里兰卡为期三周的访问结束的时候,霍姆斯先生敦促作战方确保数万名平民的安全,这些平民目前还被困在北部战斗激烈的地方。

他说:“我们需要保证平民百姓能够尽快地逃离他们身处的境地,也就是极端危险的战区。政府和泰米尔伊拉姆猛虎解放组织要不遗余力的避免平民伤亡。这就是我们要传达的信息。”

为3.5万人提供援助

幸运的是,一些平民找到了安全。联合国儿童基金会正在响应3.5万人的需求。这些人设法离开了瓦尼,现在正在远离冲突的地方接受人道主义援助。

联合国儿童基金会对这些儿童及其家人的紧急援助包括数万个个人卫生设备、安全用水、厕所和洗澡设施、营养剂和教学资料。

与此同时,联合国儿童基金会正为治疗受伤儿童的医院提供物资。该组织还提供心理支持,并为与家人分开的无人陪伴的儿童提供身份证明。

呼吁紧急援助

联合国儿童基金会现在资助的很多儿童在过去的12个月中因逃离战火而多次流离失所。

母亲帕斯卡兰(Paskaran)女士说自从去年1月以来她的家人九次被迫放弃他们的家园和避难所。她回忆到:“战斗越来越近,越来越多的人丧生。我的孩子们亲眼看到他们的朋友死去。他们整天整夜呆在地堡里。他们吓呆了。但是我们现在已经从那里逃出来了。”

他们离开了那里,但是目前还有数万平民留在瓦尼,包括大量的儿童。他们被困在交火之中,遭受食物、药品和安全用水的短缺。很多儿童已经一年没有上学了。

作为2009年联合国人道主义联合呼吁的一部分,联合国儿童基金会正呼吁1500万美元的紧急援助,用于为陷入斯里兰卡冲突中的儿童提供水和卫生设施、营养、教育和保护。


 

 

音频(英文)

2009年2月20日:联合国儿童基金会驻斯里兰卡办事处新闻主管詹姆士.埃尔德探讨北部地区瓦尼陷入冲突中的儿童的状况。
 音频 播放

搜索

Sri Lanka

Children trapped in Sri Lanka’s conflict

UNICEF Image
A boy with his father at a camp in northern Sri Lanka. The child broke his arm as he leapt into a bunker when the area came under attack.

By James Elder

VANNI, Sri Lanka, 23 February 2009 – Sennappu had a split second, a moment, literally a heartbeat to throw her body around her 18-month-old daughter before the bomb landed. Her reactions were enough time to save the life of her baby girl. Sennappu was killed instantly.

As Sri Lanka’s conflict has grown in intensity, so too has the number of civilians injured and killed. UNICEF has consistently called upon the Government of Sri Lanka and the LTTE (the rebel group known as the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam) to give absolute priority to the protection of civilians. And yet mothers like Sennappu continue to die, as do children.

AUDIO: Listen now

The main causes of death and injury to children have been shrapnel and bullet wounds, burns and fractures. Some have been evacuated and taken to hospitals out of the war zone, which are overflowing and desperately short of anaesthetic and essential medicines.

‘Fear defines their childhood’

In a statement last week, UNICEF said it was extremely alarmed at the high number of children affected by the violence in the northern area of Sri Lanka known as the Vanni.

“Hundreds of children have been injured in the fighting and evacuated in the past week,” said UNICEF Representative in Sri Lanka Philippe Duamelle. “Children are victims of this conflict by being killed, injured, recruited, displaced, separated and denied their every day needs due to the fighting. Instead of hope, fear defines their childhood.”

UNICEF was reiterating the call it has made time and again – to the government and the LTTE – to give children every protection from the fighting and allow them to move to areas where they are safe and can receive appropriate assistance.

Holmes on civilian casualties

That call was reinforced this past weekend by UN Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs John Holmes.

At the end of a three-day mission to Sri Lanka, Mr. Holmes urged that combatants ensure the safety of tens of thousands of civilians who remain trapped within areas of heavy fighting in the north.

“We need to ensure that the civilian population can escape as soon as possible from the position they find themselves in, which is extremely dangerous,” he said. “Every effort should be made by the government and the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam to avoid civilian casualties. That is the message.”

Assistance provided to 35,000

Thankfully, some civilians have found safety. UNICEF is responding to the needs of 35,000 people who have been able to leave the Vanni and are now receiving humanitarian assistance away from the conflict.

UNICEF’s emergency support for these children and their families includes tens of thousands of hygiene kits, emergency health kits, safe water, latrines and bathing facilities, nutritional supplies and educational kits for all children.

At the same time, UNICEF is supplying hospitals that are treating the wounded children. It is also providing crucial psychosocial support, as well as identification of unaccompanied children who have been separated from their families.

Appeal for emergency support

Many of the children who UNICEF is now supporting have been displaced multiple times as they fled the fighting over the past 12 months.

One mother, Ms. Paskaran, said her family members had been forced to abandon their homes and shelters nine times since January of last year. “The fighting got closer and closer, and more and more people were dying,” she recalled. “My children saw their friends killed. They spent days and nights in bunkers. They were petrified. But we are out of there now.”

They are out, but today tens of thousands of civilians remain in the Vanni, including a large number of children. They are caught in the crossfire, experiencing serious shortages of food, medicine and safe water. Many children have not been to school in almost a year.

As a part of the UN Consolidated Humanitarian Appeal for 2009, UNICEF is appealing for US$15 million for a broad range of emergency support in water and sanitation, nutrition, education and protection for children trapped in Sri Lanka’s conflict.

 


 

 

Audio

20 Februry 2009:
UNICEF Sri Lanka Chief of Communication James Elder discusses the situation of children trapped by conflict in the northern area known as the Vanni.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search