斯里兰卡

联合国儿童基金会驻斯里兰卡办事处向因严重暴力冲突而流离失所的儿童及家庭伸出援手

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/Weiss/2007
女学生放学回到玛瓦第莱浦避难所,那里收容着斯里兰卡东部流离失所的人们。 这些人因2006年政府军与泰米尔之虎叛军的战斗而背井离乡。

布鲁.柴维尼报道

美国纽约2007年5月16日 -在解决斯里兰卡持续不断的暴力事件对儿童心理所造成的影响问题上,联合国儿童基金会扮演着越来越重要的角色。

在斯里兰卡的东部和北部,政府军和泰米尔伊拉姆猛虎解放组织之间不断升级的冲突造成了严重的人道主义后果。 战争阻碍联合国儿童基金会及其它救援组织进入该地区。

冲突影响了总共三百万人的生活,其中50万人背井离乡。  他们中的大多数人已经流离失所一年多。

联合国儿童基金会驻斯里兰卡现场协调主任娜塔莎.帕蒂森负责七个现场办公室的工作,而其中的六个位于受冲突影响严重的地区。  她报告,在最近的18个月中已经有四千民众和军人丧生。

因灾害和冲突而流离失所

帕蒂森女士在电话访问中说,联合国儿童基金会一直致力于救助流离失所的人们。 现场工作人员严阵以待,他们从应对2004年海啸的工作中获得了一定的经验,那场灾难造成沿海社区的数千名斯里兰卡人无家可归。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/Weiss/2007
因暴力冲突而流离失所的斯潭.拉姆林亥姆和他十岁的女儿达努诗卡,最近刚刚来到斯里兰卡东部的玛瓦第莱浦庇护所。

帕蒂森女士说:“我们一定不能忘记,这些人中,有些因上次海啸而流离失所,然后又设法回到了家乡 。当看到房屋、学校和卫生中心被重新建起的时候,他们心中充满了希望。然而,冲突不断升级,他们不得不再次背井离乡。”

尽管联合国儿童基金会尽了最大努力,暴力冲突对儿童及其家庭的影响还是巨大的 - 营养不良的儿童越来越多,无法接受教育,缺乏足够的供水和卫生设施,以及儿童兵被招募进反政府组织等。帕蒂森女士说暴力对儿童心理造成的影响也不容低估。

她说:“记得几周前我与一位避难所的母亲谈话,问她是否想回家,她说:‘我们很高兴能离开那个炮火不断的地方。 昼夜不断的连环轰炸震天动地。能住在这样安全的避难所里我们觉得很放心。’”
帕蒂森女士说:“很多人失去了希望。”

给孩子们一种正常生活

联合国儿童基金会正在支持一系列缓和冲突对儿童心理影响的活动。帕蒂森女士说:“我们让漫画家和青少年与这些儿童一起工作,教导他们对地雷的认识,但同时也排演戏剧和做游戏。 他们想让这些小孩子有一种正常生活的感觉,这是很重要的。”

斯里兰卡的局势面临诸多挑战,多方参与的冲突越来越军事化。 但是,联合国儿童基金会利用实地参与的巨大优势,支助儿童及其家庭,为他们提供具体的服务。

帕蒂森女士说:“在我们所访问过的有孩子的家庭中,我们问那些孩子:你们对未来的希望是什么? 该国其它地区的孩子们都回答说想成为一名火车司机或一名医生。 但是受冲突影响地区的孩子们不说他们想成为什么,而是说他们想拥有什么 - 和平。 他们都说他们希望轰炸停止,他们想要和平。”


 

 

音频(英文)

2007年5月16日:
联合国儿童基金会驻斯里兰卡现场协调主任娜塔莎.帕蒂森讲述那里的冲突以及其对儿童和家庭的影响。

音频 试听

联合国儿童基金会广播

搜索

Sri Lanka

UNICEF Sri Lanka reaches out to children and families displaced by escalating conflict

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/Weiss/2007
Schoolgirls return from school to the Mavadivrampu camp for displaced people in eastern Sri Lanka. Their families were displaced in 2006 by fighting between government forces and Tamil Tiger rebels.

By Blue Chevigny

NEW YORK, USA, 16 May 2007 – UNICEF is playing an increasing role in addressing the psychosocial needs of children affected by ongoing violence in Sri Lanka.

In northern and eastern Sri Lanka, the escalating conflict between government forces and the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam, or Tamil Tigers, is having grave humanitarian consequences. The fighting has impeded access for UNICEF and other aid organizations working in the region.

A total of 3 million people are affected by the conflict, including over 500,000 who have fled their homes. More than half that number have been displaced for over a year.

UNICEF’s Chief of Field Coordination in Sri Lanka, Natascha Paddison, oversees seven field offices, six of which are deep in the conflict-affected areas. She reports 4,000 civilian and military deaths in the last 18 months.

Displaced by disaster and conflict

In a telephone interview, Ms. Paddison said UNICEF has been working actively to reach displaced people. Field workers are at the ready, prepared in part by the experience they gained coping with the tsunami of December 2004, which displaced thousands of Sri Lankans from coastal communities.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/Weiss/2007
Sithan Ramlingham and his daughter Danushika, 10, newly arrived in the Mavadivrampu camp in eastern Sri Lanka after being displaced by violence.

“We mustn’t forget,” remarked Ms. Paddison, “some of these [families] were first displaced by the tsunami and then managed to go back to their homes – had hopes as homes and schools and health centres were being rebuilt again. And then as the conflict escalated, they had to flee again.”

Despite UNICEF’s best efforts, the impact of the violence on children and families is enormous, with malnutrition rates rising, a lack of access to education and adequate water and sanitation facilities, and recruitment of child soldiers into rebel factions. The psychological effects cannot be underestimated, Ms. Paddison noted.

“I remember a couple of weeks ago, talking with a mother in one of the camps,” she said. “I asked her if she would like to go back to her home, and she said, ‘We are so glad to be out of the area where shelling is constant. It was day and night that we had this multi-barreled shelling that makes the ground tremble. And we’re just so relieved to be here in the safety of this camp.’

“So, a lot of people have lost hope,” Ms. Paddison lamented.

A sense of normalcy for children

UNICEF is supporting a range of activities to alleviate the conflict’s psychosocial impact on children. “We’ve got animators and young people working together with these children and teaching them about mine awareness, but also doing theatre and just play activities,” said Ms. Paddison. “They’re just trying to get a sense of normalcy to the youngsters, which is very important.”

The situation in Sri Lanka poses many challenges, as multiple players enter the conflict and it become increasingly militarized. But UNICEF uses its large field presence to support children and families, and provide them with concrete services.

“In all families we have talked to, with all children,” said Ms. Paddison, “we ask them: What is your hope for the future? In the other parts of the country, they all say they want to be a train driver [or] ‘I want to be a doctor’. But in the conflict-affected areas, they don’t say what they want to be, but what they want to have – which is peace. They all say they want the shelling to stop. They want peace.”


 

 

Audio

15 May 2007:
UNICEF’s Chief of Field Coordination in Sri Lanka, Natascha Paddison, talks about the conflict there and its impact on children and families.
AUDIO listen

UNICEF radio

New enhanced search