索马里

在索马里,由联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童友好中心为无家可归的儿童提供援助

伊娃.吉列姆报道

索马里摩加迪沙,2011 年 11 月 9 日 —— 对于成千上万名无家可归的索马里儿童来说,日常生活充斥着恐惧与不安。冲突还在继续,人们接二连三地逃离自己的家园,社区也随之破裂。即使他们能活着逃到摩加迪沙,日子也不会有太大改观 —— 因为每天他们都将面临寻找食物和避难所的挑战。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员伊娃.吉列姆 (Eva Gilliam) 报道为索马里无家可归儿童的提供儿童友好中心。 在Realplayer中播放
而对于儿童来说,这种经历可能会造成心灵创伤。他们为了安全而逃离自己的家园,却发现远离了自己熟悉的一切,来到了异常拥挤的难民营。

“他们在逃亡的路上已经遇到了很多困难。”阿哈穆德说。他与联合国儿童基金会的非政府组织合作伙伴Cesvi 合作,在索马里首都的一个儿童友好中心工作。“我们先采访那些儿童,看看他们都遇到了哪些困难,再进行登记,如有必要,我们会给他们推荐其他健康服务。”

阿哈穆德工作的儿童友好中心位于摩加迪沙一片布满弹痕的高墙之间的白色帐篷中。这里为200多名儿童提供了安全的空间。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
索马里摩加迪沙,一个无家可归的小女孩在儿童友好中心。

在这里,儿童们能得到基本的食物援助、迫切需要的饮用水以及卫生服务。教育也是日常项目中的重要组成部分,所有儿童都能上基本的读写和计算课程。除此之外,孩子们还可以玩耍。

被重创击倒

“因为孩子们聚到了一起,这便成了社会心理援助,”联合国儿童基金会身份证明追踪以及家庭重聚顾问布朗.坎杨 (Brown Kanyangi) 说,。“只要和其他孩子在一起,就能够帮助他们释放压力。”

每个儿童友好中心都有来自联合国儿童基金会非政府组织合作伙伴的协助者为儿童提供援助。一些合作伙伴还有社会工作人员,帮助识别哪些儿童需要帮助和保护,并为他们提供恰当的服务。

难民营的大多数儿童都随父母一起来,但是有一些儿童不幸地和父母分开了,留下他们独自照料自己、或者被迫依赖于早已经负担过重的社区成员。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
这个白色的小帐篷被用作容纳200个孩子的儿童友好中心。

“许多和父母走散的儿童被带到了社区,”索马里儿童基金会儿童保护专员宾度.亚伯拉罕说,“随着人们在这个危难时刻逃离自己的家园,通常的社区构架也四分五裂,不然或许还能为他们提供些帮助。因此,一些儿童被这些重创击倒了。

家庭重聚

摩加迪沙最近的一次联合国儿童基金会培训中,合作伙伴们学习了如何识别并登记走散的、无人陪伴的儿童,以期让他们与家人团聚,同时提供社会心理帮助。

通过与来自 10 个非政府组织合作伙伴的近 20 人的商议,得出了一个从文化角度以及逻辑角度都恰当的方法,用于信息收集、管理、传播,并确保所收集信息的安全性。在此次训练中建立的系统将用于记录走散的无人陪伴儿童的案例,尤其强调信息安全,以此保证登记儿童的安全。

“通过此次培训我们学到了很多。”参加了联合国儿童基金会培训的阿哈穆德先生说,“我们学会了如何登记那些和父母走失的孩子,以及如何去寻找孩子的父母,使家庭重聚。”

迄今为止,联合国儿童基金会合作伙伴在索马里经营超过 350 个儿童友好中心,已经为约 3 万 2 千名儿童提供了各种资源与帮助。

对于这些儿童来说,为他们提供儿童友好中心,意味着即使要忍饥挨饿,饱受冲突战乱的影响,他们仍然是需要被保护的孩子。


 

 

搜索

Somalia

UNICEF Child Friendly Spaces provide support to displaced children in Somalia

By Eva Gilliam

MOGADISHU, Somalia, 9 November 2011 - For hundreds of thousands of displaced Somali children, daily life is a mixture of fear and insecurity. Communities break apart, as one by one families leave their villages to flee ongoing conflict. If they survive the journey to Mogadishu, life is not much easier, as they are faced with the daily challenge of finding food and shelter.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Eva Gilliam reports on child-friendly spaces for displaced children in Somalia.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

For children, this experience can be traumatizing. Having fled their homes in search of safety, they find themselves in overcrowded camps, away from all they know.

“They have faced a lot of problems on the way while fleeing,” said Omar Ahmed, who works with UNICEF partner NGO Cesvi at what is called a Child Friendly Space in the Somali Capital. “So first we interview the children to see what problems they might have had, then we register them, and if it looks like they need it, we refer them to other health services.”

The Child Friendly Space where Mr. Ahmed works is located in a cluster of small white tents that are nestled between Mogadishu’s bullet ridden walls. Together, they provide a safe space for over 200 children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A displaced girl at a child-friendly space in Mogadishu, Somalia.

Here the children receive basic food support through on-sight snacks and desperately needed water and sanitation services. Education is a big part of the daily programme as well, and essential literacy and numeracy classes are available to all children. But more than that, these children get to play.

Falling through the cracks

“It’s psychosocial support, because children can come together,” explained Brown Kanyangi, an Identification, Tracing and Reunification (IDTR) consultant for UNICEF. “Just the act of being together with other children can relieve stress.”

Each Child Friendly Space has facilitators from UNICEF’s NGO partners who work with the children. Several of the partners also have social workers to help identify and refer children in need of care and protection to the appropriate services.

While most children arrive in the displaced camps with their families, some are tragically separated from their parents and are either left to fend for themselves or forced to rely on already overburdened community members.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A small white tent which serves as a Child Friendly Space to 200 children.

“Many children separated from their parents have been taken into the community,” said Bindu Abraham, Child Protection specialist with UNICEF Somalia, “With the movement of people, fleeing their homes in this emergency, the usual community structure that would otherwise support them is also displaced - so some children fall through the cracks.”

Reuniting families

On a recent UNICEF training in Mogadishu, partners learned to identify and register separated and unaccompanied children, with the aim of reuniting them with their families, as well as provide psychosocial support.

Through a consultative process with approximately 20 individuals from 10 NGO partners, a culturally and contextually appropriate approach was developed for information collection, management, dissemination and ensuring security of data collected. The system set up during this training will now be used to document cases of separate and unaccompanied children, with an emphasis on protection of information and security – so that those children registered are not at risk.

“We learned a lot in this training,” said Mr. Ahmed who attended the UNICEF training. “We learned how to register children who are lost from their parents, and also how to do outreach to find the parents to reunite the family.”

To date, nearly 32,000 children are enjoying the resources and activities in over 350 of UNICEF’s partner run Child Friendly Spaces throughout Somalia.

For these youngsters, access to a Child Friendly Space means they still get to be kids, even when surrounded by the ravages of hunger, conflict and chaos.


 

 

New enhanced search