菲律宾

菲律宾:童工离开街头,重返校园

UNICEF Photo
© Pangarap Foundation/2010
由于菲律宾马尼拉一个非政府组织“潘佳拉普基金会(Pangarap Foundation)”的支持,前童工阿西.尼诺.奥托尼奥现在就读于一所海洋科技大学的本科二年级。

美国纽约,2010年6月30日–19岁的阿西.尼诺.奥托尼奥现在就读于菲律宾一所大学的二年级,他选了有关海洋学的课程,希望以后可以成为一名轮船工作人员并慢慢晋升。但约在15年前,当阿西还是个小孩的时候,他得同时做两份工作来支付自己的学费,当时他的未来一片迷茫。

 点击此处收听音频

阿西三岁时爸爸就过世了,五岁时他开始在当地的港口做洗船工。每天起的很早,在上学之前做完工作,但每天仍然坚持上课。

然而到8岁的时候,阿西就没有很多时间来完成他的家庭作业了,因为他傍晚时还要打一份工,常常到晚上10点或午夜才能休息。每天所挣的6到10美元都要用来付学费,但长时间的工作让他几乎没有时间参与其它活动。

阿西回忆说:“那时候我没有时间来学习。”

在街上工作

菲律宾约一半的人口每天的生活费不足两美元,约四分之一的人口生活在国际贫困线(每天1.25美元)的标准以下。落后的经济迫使很多儿童去工作来挣钱养家,而儿童常常处于危险、受虐待或剥削的境地。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Philiipines/2010
昂贵的学费和家庭生活的贫困让很多菲律宾儿童不得不辍学到本国或其他发展中国家打工挣钱。

阿西是在菲律宾马尼拉大街上兜售香烟、糖果和花的儿童之一。他说,如果没有这份工作,妈妈就负担不起他的小学学费。

阿西的很多老师很同情他,因此尽管他没有花很多时间在学习上,老师们也破例让他进入高年级。

为年轻人提供服务

据估计,在菲律宾城市和乡村地区,大约有400万年龄在5到17岁之间的童工。很多街上的年轻小贩为了帮忙养家而被迫辍学,而且这些街头儿童经常沦落为罪犯,染上毒瘾或者送去坐牢。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Philippines/2004/Alquinto
在菲律宾城市和乡村地区,大约400万5到17岁的儿童已经开始工作。

阿西12岁的时候,遇见了非政府组织“潘佳拉普基金会”(Pangarap Foundation)的一名教育工作者,他的工作是帮助年轻人远离街头。该基金会为阿西和其他前街头儿童提供了食物、住所、衣物和医疗服务,并教授他们学习和生活技能。

现在,阿西是“潘佳拉普基金会”合唱团、戏剧社和舞蹈团的一名成员,他充分认识到了自己的权利和义务。当他完成学业之后,未来的一切都将是美好的:去轮船上工作,拿到丰厚的工资,养活自己和家人。

废除学费

对于那些依然辍学的童工来说,“废除学费计划”给他们带来了希望。该计划的发起响应了为家长减轻负担而消除学费的全球运动。

联合国儿童基金会高级教育顾问迪娜.克莱赛蒂(Dina Craissati)认为废除学费能够帮助发展中国家到2015年实现普及小学教育的千年发展目标,她说:“学费的废除是实现为所有儿童普及小学教育的千年发展目标的基础。”


 

 

音频(英文)

2010年6月15日:联合国儿童基金会广播媒体采访一名菲律宾前童工阿西.尼诺.奥托尼奥有关他上小学时做两份工作的情况。
 音频 试听

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

A child labourer leaves the streets behind and succeeds in school in the Philippines

UNICEF Image
© Pangarap Foundation/2010
Thanks to intervention and support from the Pangarap Foundation, an NGO in Manila, the Philippines, former child labourer Arcy Nino Ortonio is now in his second year for a Bachelor of Science in Marine Technology.

NEW YORK, USA, 30 June 2010 – Arcy Nino Ortonio, now 19, is in his second year of college in the Philippines, taking courses in maritime studies so that he can work on a ship as a deck officer and move up the ranks. But less than 15 years ago, when Arcy was just a young child, he worked two jobs to help pay his grade-school fees and his future was uncertain.

AUDIO: Listen now

Arcy’s father died when the boy was three years old. At the age of five, Arcy started working in the local harbour, cleaning boats. He got up early, worked before school every day and still managed to attend his classes.

By the age of eight, however, Arcy didn’t have much time to complete on his homework because he was working another job in the evenings, often staying until 10 p.m. or midnight. The $6 to $10 dollars he earned each day went toward his school fees. But working so many hours left little room for other activities.

“I had no time to study my lessons,” Arcy recalled.

Work on the streets

Almost half the population of the Philippines lives on less than $2 a day, with around a quarter of the country under the international poverty line of $1.25 a day. This economic reality has contributed to a high number of children being pushed to work to help support their families – sometimes in dangerous or potentially abusive or exploitative situations.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Philiipines/2010
The combination of school fees and household poverty keeps many children out of school and working in the Philippines and other developing countries.

Arcy is one of many Filipino children who sell cigarettes, candy and flowers on the streets of Manila. Without the job, he said, his mother would not have been able to afford the school fees needed to send him to primary school.

Many of his teachers felt sorry for him, so they passed him to the next level regardless of the time he was able to devote to his coursework.

Services for young people

In both urban and rural areas of the Philippines, an estimated 4 million children between the ages of 5 and 17 work. Many young street vendors help support their families and cannot continue with their own education. What’s more, street children often end up as criminals, addicted to drugs or in jail.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Philippines/2004/Alquinto
In both urban and rural areas of the Philippines, about 4 million children between the ages of 5 and 17 now work.

When Arcy turned 12, he met a street educator from the Pangarap Foundation, a non-governmental organization that works to help get young people off the streets. The foundation provides Arcy and other former street children with food, shelter, clothing, medical care, education and life skills.

Today, Arcy is now an active member of the Pangarap Foundation’s choir, drama and dance groups. He’s now aware of his rights and responsibilities in the world. Once he finishes his studies, he will have the opportunity for a bright future working aboard a ship, earning a good salary and supporting himself and his family.

School fee abolition

For other child labourers who are still out of school, there is hope in the School Fee Abolition Initiative, launched as part of the global movement to remove cost barriers that can make it difficult for parents to send their children to school.

“The abolition of school fees is an important stepping-stone to achieve the Millennium Development Goal of universal primary education for all children,” said UNICEF Senior Education Advisor Dina Craissati – one of the many advocates who believe school-fee abolition can help developing countries reach the MDG target of universal access to primary education by 2015.


 

 

Audio

15 June 2010: UNICEF Radio talks to former Filipino child labourer Arcy Nino Ontonio about working two jobs while he was in primary school.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search