菲律宾

抗击菲律宾色情交易对儿童的性剥削

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Philippines/2008
儿童权利宣传员参议员马德利果与执法人员一起在马尼拉郊区的购物中心里查抄儿童色情作品。

罗伯.麦克布赖德报道

第三届反对针对儿童的性剥削世界大会将于2008年11月25日至28日在巴西举办,旨在促进国际合作以在制止性剥削方面采取更加有效的行动。以下是相关系列报道之一。

菲律宾马尼拉及宿务岛,2008年11月17日 – 在马尼拉马卡蒂的购物中心,对儿童色情作品的查抄行动正在进行。儿童权利宣传员,参议员马德利果(M.A. Madrigal)正在搜查数千张盗版光盘。

很快她就找到了她想要找的东西。

“看起来她好像是四岁,而这个看起来是一个八岁的孩子和这个四岁的孩子发生性行为,”马德利果女士看着光盘说,“现在儿童已经被当作性玩具——那些儿童被当作性商品使用。他们年龄越小就越好卖。”

立法禁止儿童色情

色情标题在整个菲律宾随处可见——该国缺乏禁止儿童色情的法律。

马德利果女士和其他团体及执法机构强烈要求通过立法解决这个问题。这一举动获得了联合国儿童基金会的支持,该组织正与其在菲律宾的合作伙伴共同努力保护儿童不受色情交易的伤害。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Philippines/2008
位于菲律宾中部宿务岛的一所学校正在开展一个新颖的项目,告知青少年有关色情交易的危险。

在这些合作伙伴中,一个叫做“分享儿童运动(Share a Child Movement)”的非政府组织为贫穷及脆弱的儿童提供受教育的机会,以帮助他们摆脱贫困和剥削。

“我们要让这个真正帮助儿童的年轻人的组织意识到对儿童施加的各种形式的虐待和暴力,” “分享儿童运动”的创办人和执行主任妮娜.瓦伦佐纳律师说。

与同伴分享经验

位于菲律宾中部宿务岛的一所学校正开展一个新颖的项目:告知青少年有关色情交易的危险。

儿童权利倡导者玛丽安.安嘎纳(Marianne Angana)解释说:“在大人面前,儿童有时会不好意思分享他们的经历,但是让儿童来主持讨论会,交流起来会更轻松。”

该项目旨在将任何一种形式的儿童性剥削,如制作儿童色情作品,定为非法行为并帮助为菲律宾的所有儿童创建更安全的环境。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗伯.麦克布赖德就菲律宾的色情交易进行的报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

Combating child sexual exploitation in the Philippines pornography trade

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Philippines/2008
Child rights campaigner Senator M.A. Madrigal takes part in a child pornography raid by law enforcement officers at a shopping mall in a Manila suburb.

By Rob McBride

The World Congress III against the Sexual Exploitation of Children, set for 25-28 November 2008 in Brazil, aims to promote international cooperation for more effective action on sexual exploitation. Here is one in a series of related stories.

MANILA and CEBU, Philippines, 17 November 2008 – At a shopping mall in Makati, Manila, a raid targeting child pornography begins. Sifting through some of the thousands of pirated DVDs is child rights campaigner Senator M.A. Madrigal.

It is not long before she finds what she’s looking for.

“Well it looks like she’s four years old, and this looks like an eight-year-old child and the four-year-old child having sex,” Ms. Madrigal says, looking at the DVDs. “It is happening that children are being used as sex toys – those children are being used as sex commodities. The younger they are, the more saleable they are.”

Legislating against child pornography
Pornographic titles are widely available throughout the Philippines – a country that lacks a law aimed specifically at preventing child pornography.

Along with other groups and law enforcement agencies, Ms. Madrigal is pushing for legislation that would tackle the problem. The move is supported by UNICEF, which is also working with partners around the country to protect children from the pornography trade.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Philippines/2008
At a school in Cebu, in the central Philippines, an innovative project teaches adolescents about the dangers they face from the pornography trade.

One of those partners, a non-governmental organization known as the Share a Child Movement, provides poor and vulnerable children with educational opportunities to help them escape poverty and exploitation.

“We have this young people’s organization, which is really helping all children become aware of the risks of all forms of abuse and violence against children,” says Share A Child’s founder and Executive Director, attorney Nina Valenzona.

Peer educators share experiences
At schools in Cebu, in the central Philippines, an innovative peer-education project teaches adolescents about the dangers they face.

“With adults, sometimes the children would be shy and wouldn’t share their experiences, but with children leading the sessions, it becomes easier to communicate,” explains child rights advocate Marianne Angana.

Ultimately, these projects aim to make forms of child sexual exploitation such as pornography illegal – and to help create a safer environment for all children in the Philippines.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on the child pornography trade in the Philippines.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search