秘鲁

为秘鲁亚马逊地区的原住民儿童进行出生登记

一位登记人员正在为其所在社区的200名新生儿进行登记

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
秘鲁亚马逊地区圣玛丽亚库拉莱社区登记过后的原住民儿童。

联合国儿童基金会和联合国大家庭共同庆祝“世界原住民日”,下面是一个相关的故事。

秘鲁卡纳姆帕,2010年8月9日 – 35岁的福尔明.泰斯塔.桑切克是秘鲁亚马逊地区卡纳姆帕原住民社区的一名公务员。他从2000年起开始参加工作,说他为自己的工作而感到很自豪,最让他骄傲的是他为自己所在阿瓦匀原住民社区的200名新生儿进行了出生登记。

桑切克先生说:“如果没有我们这样的工作,那么这些孩子将不能进行出生登记,因为地方政府无法到达我们的社区,而我们也很难到市里为新生儿进行出生登记。我们付不起去市区的油钱。”

“另一方面,我的工作是让儿童进行登记,使他们成为合法公民,从而能够接受教育,并能获得医疗服务。”

社会排斥

在过去,不完善的登记制度造成了对原住民的社会排斥机制。城市和乡镇都早已建立了公民登记中心,但是偏远地区出生登记制度的贯彻仍十分困难。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
秘鲁亚马逊地区,35岁的登记人员福尔明.泰斯塔.桑切克正在协助为新生儿进行出生登记。

秘鲁5岁以下的儿童中有7%没有进行过出生登记,有些地区的未登记率甚至更高。

世界银行表示,秘鲁有很大一部分未登记的儿童居住在亚马逊森林里的原住民社区,且他们不说西班牙语。秘鲁2700多万人口中,有约400万原住民,其中有45000名均来自阿瓦匀社区。

为了让人们更多地了解拉丁美洲的原住民,联合国儿童基金会制定了该地区原住民社区的社会语言地图。这本地图册也帮助读者认识到该地区的民族、文化以及语言的多样性,这些同时也是政策和项目制定者在解决原住民面临的不平等问题时所要考虑的因素。

为儿童进行出生登记

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
秘鲁圣玛丽亚库拉莱社区,一位原住民公务员正在进行新生儿出生登记工作。

原住民社区还面临着另一种前源的排斥:民事登记处不允许登记原住民的名字。过去,大部分原住民的名字都是根据那些曾经占据原住民领地的伐木者、石油工程师和渔民的名字而起的。

然而在2002年,秘鲁政府同意派遣原住民公务员到北部亚马逊森林的一些社区(包括阿瓦匀社区),为儿童进行登记,并尊重原住民的名字和传统。桑切克先生就是其中一名公务员。

自2007年开始,联合国儿童基金会就同地方政府和秘鲁洛雷托大区(西班牙语首字母缩略为ORPIO)的原住民社区组织合作在该地区创建了民事登记网,向未登记人口率达26%的最偏远地区提供服务。

该国各区和地方登记处都在开展培训公务员的工作,在原住民民事登记的框架内收集材料,进一步监测工作进展。

回归传统姓名

桑切克先生不仅为自己所在社区的儿童进行登记,同时也协助在其他地方建立原住民登记中心。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
秘鲁亚马逊地区圣玛丽亚库拉莱社区的孩子们。

桑切克先生说他的老师曾让他用母语培训其他几名公务员,他说:“我学得很快,我的很多同学不能完全理解老师上课所讲的内容,所以用阿瓦匀语来解释比较复杂的部分能让他们更容易掌握。”

最后一节培训课上,在国家登记处和联合国儿童基金会的协助下,桑切克先生和他的同学学习了进一步促进出生登记程序标准化和优化的方式,他们还讨论了有关名字误写以及尊重传统姓名的重要性等问题。

桑切克先生说:“在以前,我们不能为孩子起原住民传统的名字,比如我的孩子的名字中就混杂了西班牙语,我很后悔。现在我非常支持原住民姓名的登记制度,我的侄女就登记了原住民的名字。她的名字叫努格库伊,这是个带有原住民文化的名字,是跟随一位给社区带来食物和雨水的原住民而起的。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Peru

Birth registration for indigenous children in Peru's Amazonian region

A civil registrar documents 200 births in his community

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
Indigenous children in the community of Santa Maria de Curaray in Peru’s Amazonian zone, after being registered.

Today UNICEF and the UN family celebrate the International Day of the World’s Indigenous People. Here is a related story.

CANAMPA, Peru, 9 August 2010 – Fermin Tetsa Sanchick, 35, has worked as a civil registrar in the indigenous community of Canampa, in Peru’s Amazonas region, since 2000. He says that he is proud of his work, and that his greatest accomplishment is registering the births of 200 children among the Awajún indigenous group – his own community.

“If my job did not exist, these children would have never been registered,” said Mr. Sanchick, “since the regional government cannot come into our communities and we have a hard time going all the way to the municipality to register our newborn children. We cannot afford to pay the gas to make it to the cities. 

“On the other hand, my job helps register children, and they become citizens of the country who can register for school and have access to national health services.”

Social exclusion

In the past, the lack of registration of indigenous populations has worked as a mechanism of social exclusion. Civil registration centres were created in towns and cities, and birth registration has been difficult in more remote areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
Civil registrar Fermin Testa Sanchick, 35, assists with birth registration in Peru’s Amazonian zone.

Seven per cent of children up to five years of age are unregistered in Peru, and in some regions non-registration is much higher.

According to the World Bank, a large percentage of undocumented children live in the indigenous communities of the Amazon forest and do not speak Spanish. Of Peru’s population of over 27 million people, about 4 million are indigenous and some 45,000 are from the Awajún community.

In order to raise understanding about Latin America’s indigenous peoples, UNICEF has launched a socio-linguistic map of indigenous communities in the region. The atlas allows readers to view the ethnic, cultural and linguistic diversity of the region – essential factors to be considered by policy- and programme-makers who hope to tackle inequalities faced by indigenous groups.

Registering children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
An indigenous civil servant registers children in the community of Santa Maria de Curaray, Peru.

Indigenous communities have also made strides against another former source of exclusion: the rejection of indigenous names by the civil registry. The majority of the names used by indigenous people in the past were based on the names of loggers, petroleum engineers and fishermen who frequently exploited indigenous territories.

In 2002, however, the government agreed to designate indigenous civil servants in several communities in the northern Amazon forest – including the Awajún – to register children with the goal of respecting indigenous names and traditions. Mr. Sanchick is one of these registrars.

Since 2007, UNICEF has worked with the regional government and the organization of indigenous communities in Peru’s Loreto region (known by its Spanish acronym, ORPIO) to create a network of civil registries for indigenous people in the most remote parts of the region, where the proportion of unregistered people is an estimated 26 per cent.

The national registry offices at both the regional and local levels have been closely involved in training civil servants, obtaining materials and monitoring activities within the framework of indigenous civil registration.

Return to traditional names

Mr. Sanchick not only registers children in his community but also aids in the creation of other indigenous registration centres.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Perú/2010/Feuk
Boys and girls in the community of Santa Maria de Curaray in Peru’s Amazonian zone.

“I learn fast,” said Mr. Sanchick, explaining that his professors had asked him to train several other civil servants in his native tongue. “Many of my classmates did not understand everything that the professor explained in class, and sometimes it was better to repeat the more complicated parts in Awajún.”

At the last training session, in conjunction with the national registry and UNICEF, Mr. Sanchick and his classmates learned ways to standardize and improve the birth registration process. They also discussed the problems of misspelled names and the importance of respecting traditional names.

“Historically, we were unable to give our children traditional indigenous names,” said Mr. Sanchick. “For example, my kids have names mixed with Spanish, something that I regret very much. Now I support the registry of indigenous names, which I did with my niece. Her name is Nugkui, which is a cultural name based on an indigenous entity who brings food and rain to the community.”


 

 

New enhanced search