巴基斯坦

在水灾过后的巴基斯坦,“儿童博览会”给儿童带来欢乐,同时促进儿童权利和健康

爱丽丝.克莱门茨(Alice Clements)和阿特夫.巴特(Atif Butt)报道

巴基斯坦巴丁县,2012年4月27日——在受水灾影响最为严重的信德省的一些地区,联合国儿童基金会支持举办了一系列儿童博览会活动,数以千计的受灾儿童和家庭学到了新的生活技能和很多缓解灾后压力的办法。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者安嘉.巴伦(Anja Baron)报道为受水灾影响的巴基斯坦儿童提供创新教育和娱乐服务的“儿童博览会”。  在Realplayer中播放

 

信德省已经连续两年遭受自然灾害,数百万人的生活受到影响。迁移以及失去家园、教育和家庭生计,使受灾儿童面临极大的身体和心理压力。根据最近的政府数据显示,受2011年8月和9月雨季水灾的影响,920万人受灾;而此前一些灾区仍未从2010年的特大洪水中恢复过来。

水灾导致资源紧张,阻碍了帮助受灾妇女和儿童重建生活的努力。

为儿童创新

联合国儿童基金会以新的方式深入社区,通过与当地的非政府组织合作,开展为期一天的“儿童博览会”活动,提供娱乐、支持和教育,旨在吸引儿童和其照料者参与其中,从而为其提供娱乐和教育。

儿童博览会把传统的游乐场项目、游戏、木偶剧、音乐、娱乐项目与社区信息、教育活动和提高认识等融为一体,主题包括卫生、洗手和女童教育的重要性等。博览会还通过无威胁性方式来解决传统的敏感问题,如虐待和基于性别的暴力等。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在巴基斯坦巴丁县的儿童博览会上,孩子们正在跳舞。

目前共举办了20场儿童博览会,7万多名灾民从中受益,其中大多数是妇女和儿童。最近在巴丁县举行的儿童博览会吸引了近2000人。

“到这里来,我们很开心,”一位名叫安拉.巴哈伊(Allah Bachai)的妇女参加了在巴丁县举行的博览会,她说道,“孩子们也很高兴,找到了许多乐趣。我们感谢联合国儿童基金会举办了今天这次活动,这给我们的孩子带来了欢乐。”

综合服务

联合国儿童基金会开展了新型创新综合应急项目——保护学习和社区的应急服务(PLaCES),此次举行的儿童博览会活动就是其组成部分。

保护学习和社区应急服务提供各种协调服务,如在临时学习中心、儿童友好空间和妇女友好中心提供的服务,以及与其他紧急服务提供组织合作,提供健康、营养、供水、环境卫生和个人卫生方面的服务。所有这些服务相辅相成。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在巴基斯坦巴丁县的儿童博览会上,孩子们在玩玩具。

联合国儿童基金会通过建立550多所保护学习和社区应急服务中心来提供这些综合性保护服务。以2010年水灾的经验教训为基础,这些中心的建设目标是为水灾导致的流离失所的儿童和妇女提供综合保护、社会心理支持、教育、娱乐、转诊和援助。自2011年9月以来,保护学习和社区应急服务已惠及了约20万名儿童和超过7.5万名妇女。儿童博览会是保护学习和社区应急服务中心深入社区提供服务的一项举措。

“紧急情况会给家庭,尤其是儿童带来巨大压力,”联合国儿童基金会驻巴基斯坦儿童保护事务主任斯马兰达.波帕(Smaranda Popa)说,“保护儿童免受伤害的正常系统变弱或完全消失时,社区面临的危险就会上升,恢复的能力会被削弱,从而无法为美好、健康的未来进行规划。通过保护学习和社区应急服务及儿童博览会等项目,我们能以安全、有吸引力、有意义、甚至有趣的方式,为社区提供帮助。”

援助最脆弱群体

巴丁县位于信德省的印度河附近,是2011年受水灾影响最为严重的地区之一。仅在这一地区,受灾人口就超过了一百万,加之巨额财产和生计损失,使得原本贫穷的生活更加难以为继。 

联合国儿童基金会与其合作伙伴共同努力,满足最为迫切的需要,包括食物、供水、卫生、健康和教育等。同时,联合国儿童基金会敏锐地意识到儿童,尤其是处于青春期的女孩,在紧急情况下最为脆弱。另外,在迁移过程中,巴丁县儿童面临与家人失散的危险,受心理健康压力的影响,甚至性暴力、虐待和剥削风险。

为此,联合国儿童基金会设计并推出了保护学习和社区应急服务的概念。在社区实施的情况表明,儿童博览会特别受欢迎,一次博览会就吸引了多达5000名儿童和成年人参与。

今天,帮助受水灾影响地区的努力仍在继续,儿童博览会成功地吸引了广大社区,并在支持社区中发挥核心作用。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

In post-flood Pakistan, 'Children's Fairs' entertain while promoting child rights and health

By Alice Clements and Atif Butt

BADIN DISTRICT, Pakistan, 27 April 2012 – Thousands of flood-affected children and families have learned new life skills and enjoyed a much-needed reprieve from the stresses of post-flood life at a series of UNICEF-supported Children’s Fairs taking place in some of the worst flood-affected districts of Sindh province.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Anja Baron reports on 'Children's Fairs' that are offering innovative education and recreation services for children in post-flood Pakistan.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The Sindh has suffered from two years of consecutive natural disasters that disrupted the lives of millions. The displacement and the loss of homes, educations and household livelihoods have placed children under extreme physical and psychosocial stress. According to recent government figures, the monsoon floods of August and September 2011 affected 9.2 million people; some affected districts were still struggling to recover from the devastating floods of 2010.

The disasters have strained resources and hampered efforts to help flood-affected children and women rebuild their lives.

Innovation for children

UNICEF has been reaching out to communities in new ways, providing recreation, support and education through ‘Children’s Fairs’, day-long events run in partnership with local NGOs that are designed to attract, engage, entertain and educate children and their caregivers.

Children’s Fairs mix traditional fairground rides, games, puppet shows, music and entertainment with community information, educational activities and awareness-raising about topics including sanitation, hand-washing and the importance of education for girls. The fairs also offer a non-threatening way to address traditionally sensitive issues such as abuse and gender-based violence.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Children dance during a Children's Fair in Badin District, Pakistan.

In total, 20 Children’s Fairs have been held, reaching more than 70,000 flood-affected people, mainly children and women. A recent Children’s Fair held in Badin district attracted nearly 2,000 people.

“We came here and have enjoyed ourselves,” said Allah Bachai, a woman attending the Badin fair. “Even the children are very happy and have had a lot of fun. We are grateful to UNICEF for organizing this event today that has brought joy to our children.”

Integrated services

The Children’s Fairs are part of a holistic approach linked to UNICEF’s innovative new integrated emergency facility, Protective Learning and Community Emergency Services (PLaCES).

PLaCES offer a variety of coordinated services, such as those offered at temporary learning centers, child-friendly spaces and women-friendly centers, as well as integration with other emergency service providers in health, nutrition, water, sanitation and hygiene. All of these services are mutually reinforcing.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Children play with toys at a Children's Fair in Badin District, Pakistan.

UNICEF established more than 550 PLaCES to provide these integrated protective services. The centres build on lessons learned from the 2010 floods and the need to provide integrated protection, psychosocial support, education, recreation, referrals and assistance to flood-displaced children and women. PLaCES have reached almost 200,000 children and more than 75,000 women since September 2011. The Children’s Fairs reach out to communities being served by PLaCES.
 
“Emergencies place huge stress on families and children, in particular,” said UNICEF Pakistan, Chief of Child Protection Smaranda Popa. “The normal systems that protect children from harm are weakened or disappear altogether, increasing risk and compromising the ability of communities to recover and plan for a stronger, healthier future. With the PLaCES and Children’s Fair initiatives, we are reaching out to communities in ways that are safe, engaging, meaningful and even fun.”

Reaching the most vulnerable

Badin District, situated near the end of the Indus River in Sindh, was one of the districts worst-affected by the 2011 floods. More than a million people were affected in this district alone as a result of the floods, and countless more lost possessions and livelihoods, worsening their already entrenched poverty.

UNICEF worked with partners to meet immediate needs, including food, water, sanitation, health and education. At the same time, UNICEF was acutely aware that children in general, and adolescent girls in particular, are the most vulnerable during emergencies. Among other threats, the children of Badin were at risk of being separated from their families during displacement, they were threatened by mental health stresses, and they were at risk of sexual violence, abuse and exploitation.

In response, UNICEF designed and rolled out the PLaCES concept. The Children’s Fairs have proven especially popular with communities, with up to 5,000 girls, boys, men and women attending a single fair. 

Today, efforts to assist flood-affected districts continue, with the Children’s Fairs playing a central role in engaging and supporting communities.


 

 

New enhanced search