巴基斯坦

儿童大会让巴基斯坦斯瓦特地区受危机影响青少年有发表意见的权利

桑丹纳.奥朗泽布.杜拉尼报道

巴基斯坦斯瓦特地区,2011年2月2日 – 最近在巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省斯瓦特地区召开了儿童大会,七年级的学生——13岁的马拉莱.尤萨夫扎(Malalai Yousafzai)自信满满地主持了一次会议。马拉莱说,大会与会者“发表了他们对于儿童权利实现问题的担忧,并就这些问题提出了解决方案。”

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者爱德华多.居里报道巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省斯瓦特地区为受危机影响的儿童召开儿童大会的各项活动。 在Realplayer中播放

她还说:“女孩的表现很积极,我们强调了有关儿童的重要问题,尤其是促进斯瓦特地区的女童教育。”

斯瓦特山谷地区是2009年暴动和随后的军事行动的中心地区,导致大规模民众流离失所,联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童大会为该地区的青少年提供了契机。该地区同样也遭到2010年洪水的重创,遭到了大规模破坏。

“力量和信心”

来自斯瓦特地区康巴尔县16岁的沙哈布.可汗(Shahab Khan)是克帕尔科尔示范学校和孤儿院九年级的学生,也是儿童大会的积极参与者。他说:“通过这个平台,像我一样的青少年知晓了我们的权利,并获得力量和信心为未来定下积极的奋斗目标。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Jameel
巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省斯瓦特地区,13岁的马拉莱.尤萨夫扎正在主持由联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童大会的会议。

2009年初,沙哈布亲眼目睹了父亲萨法拉兹.可汗(一名警官)被杀害的惨状,回归正常生活对他来说实属不易。

他回忆道:“我情感上很受打击,来到克帕尔科尔学校对我帮助很大。我接受了心理咨询,并参加了很多活动,如儿童大会等,这些让我慢慢强大起来。现在我对未来抱有很大的憧憬。”

受危机影响的儿童

克帕尔科尔基金会是一个非政府组织,也是联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴,为斯瓦特地区受危机影响的儿童提供援助。去年在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,该基金会建立了儿童大会,该地区各个学校选拔出的65名年轻学生是大会成员。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Jameel
在巴基斯坦斯瓦特地区举行的儿童大会的会议中,八年级学生斯玛. 阿齐兹提出在学校要禁止体罚的建议。

克帕尔科尔基金会创立者穆罕默德.阿里(Muhammad Ali)说:“这些机会对于为斯瓦特地区的儿童创造和平稳定的环境发挥了重要作用。这个地区的儿童目睹了种种床上,甚至父母双亲的死亡。目前我们有200多名男孤儿,他们的父母在冲突中丧命,需要特别照顾和支持。”

通过这次儿童大会,阿里先生说:“孩子们发表了自己的担忧,并在成人和其他利益相关者面前提出了解决方案。”

儿童保护中心

巴基斯坦西北部地区2009年和2010年发生的多种复杂紧急事件使该地区的儿童面临多种威胁——包括与家庭分离、性别暴力、童婚、性剥削和贩卖等。为帮助他们应对冲突和洪灾后的各种情况,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴建立了儿童保护中心,为儿童提供基本教育、娱乐和社会心理支持服务。

通过这些中心和儿童大会的活动,联合国儿童基金会儿童保护官员法曼.阿里(Farman Ali)说:“我们正在促进创造保护性的安全环境,确保该地区弱势儿童的权利不受侵犯。”


 

 

青年之声

儿童权利公约

回到正轨

搜索

Pakistan

Child Assembly ensures a voice for youth affected by crises in Swat, Pakistan

By Shandana Aurangzeb Durrani

SWAT DISTRICT, Pakistan, 2 February 2011 – Seventh-grade student Malalai Yousafzai, 13, confidently chaired a session of the Child Assembly held recently in the Swat District of Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province. Participants in the assembly “voice their concerns about child-rights issues and present practical solutions to address these concerns,” Malalai explained.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Eduardo Cure reports on the activities of the Child Assembly for children affected by emergencies in the Swat District of Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“Girl members play an active role,” she added. “We have highlighted important issues concerning children, especially promoting girls’ education in Swat.”

The UNICEF-supported Child Assembly provides a unique opportunity for young people in the Swat Valley, which was the epicentre of insurgency and ensuing military operations that resulted in massive displacement in 2009. The same region bore the brunt of Pakistan’s 2010 monsoon floods, causing massive destruction.

‘Strength and confidence’

Shahab Khan, 16, whose family hails from the Swat town of Qambar, is a ninth-grade student at Khpal Kor Model School and Orphanage and an active member of the Child Assembly. “Through this platform, children like me have learnt about our rights and have been given the strength and confidence to set up positive goals for our future,” he said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Jameel
Malalai Yousafzai, 13, chairs a session of the UNICEF-supported Child Assembly in the Swat District of Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province.

Returning to a normal life has not been easy for Shahab, who witnessed the brutal murder of his father, Sarfaraz Khan, a police officer, in early 2009.

“I was emotionally very disturbed,” he recalled. “Coming to Khpal Kor has helped me a lot. I have been given psychological counselling and have been involved in different activities, such as the Child Assembly, which have made me a stronger person. Now I am looking forward towards a bright future.”

Children affected by conflict

The Khpal Kor Foundation, a non-governmental organization and UNICEF partner, aids children affected by years of conflict in Swat. Last year, with assistance from UNICEF, the foundation established the Child Assembly, which is composed of 65 young members selected from various schools around the district.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Jameel
Eighth-grade student Seema Aziz presents a resolution banning corporal punishment in schools during a session of the Child Assembly in Swat District, Pakistan.

“Such opportunities are playing a crucial role in building peace and a protective environment for children of Swat,” explained the founder of the Khpal Kor Foundation, Muhammad Ali. “Children in this region have witnessed severe trauma, even brutal deaths of their parents. Presently, we have over 200 orphan boys who have lost their parents during conflict and need special care and support.”

Through the Child Assembly, Mr. Ali said, “children are presenting their concerns and providing solutions in front of their adult counterparts and other stakeholders.”

Child Protection Centres

Multiple complex emergencies in north-western Pakistan during 2009 and 2010 have exposed children here to major risks – including separation from their families, gender-based violence, child marriages, sexual exploitation and trafficking. To help them cope in the aftermath of conflict and floods, UNICEF and its partners have established Child Protection Centres providing children with basic education, recreation and psycho-social support.

Through these centres and the Child Assembly activities, said UNICEF Child Protection Officer Farman Ali, “we are promoting a protective and safe environment to ensure that rights of vulnerable children of this area are not violated.”


 

 

Voices of Youth

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search