巴基斯坦

联合国儿童基金会就巴基斯坦西北部洪灾后残留地雷带来的威胁采取应对措施

洪水带来了冲突地区的残留地雷

桑丹纳.奥朗泽布.杜拉尼报道

巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省,2010年11月9日——特大洪水已给四岁的塔雅布及其家人带来了无法想象的伤痛。他的父亲穆罕默德.阿斯拉姆,是巴基斯坦西北部开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省,萨德拉谢里夫这个偏远小村庄里的一名普通农民。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员普里亚卡.普拉蒂报道巴基斯坦西北部未爆弹药和地雷造成的危险。 在Realplayer中播放

八月初,当洪水在村里退去后,阿斯拉姆先生回到田间,查看自己种植的农作物遭到的损失。“我看到了这个东西卡在庄稼里,出于好奇便将它带回了家,”他回忆道。“我一点都没有想到,我将灾难带给了家人。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
四岁的塔雅布,是杀伤人员地雷的受害者,他与姐姐萨迪亚及父母,穆罕默德.阿斯拉姆和纳西姆.比比一起在亚拉克,萨德拉谢里夫村的家中。

阿斯拉姆先生误将一枚杀伤人员地雷带回了家中。他的儿子和女儿在玩耍地雷时,地雷发生了爆炸,他们被严重炸伤。“我想和它玩,但它伤了我,”塔雅布说,由于伤势严重,他的脚已被截肢。

“他经常哭闹。人已瘦了很多,而且性格也变得急躁,”塔雅布的母亲纳西姆.比比说道。“他现在完全要靠人照顾,不管到哪儿都要抱着。”

潜在的威胁

退去的洪水翻开了地皮,露出地面的未爆弹药和地雷对巴基斯坦造成了潜在威胁。在该国联邦直辖部落地区之一,曾发生过冲突的南瓦济里斯坦,洪水已从邻国的山上将未爆弹药冲到了开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省内。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
谢巴拉.比比,在和平与可持续发展组织(SPADO)从事社会动员工作,他在亚拉克的危险区布达村为妇女和儿童开设了一门“雷险教育”课。

“受到洪水影响的地区,过去两个月已有16例报告,”联合国儿童基金会儿童保护干事法尔曼.阿里说道。“包括妇女和儿童在内的七名受害者,由于受伤导致截肢。”

为了应对面临的危险,联合国儿童基金会及其非政府合作伙伴,可持续和平与发展组织,已将他们的雷险教育(MRE)方案扩大到受水灾影响的地区。

一种有效的应对措施

联合国儿童基金会是这一领域的全球领导者,在日本政府的资助下,过去两年内,发起了并一直领导着巴基斯坦西北部的一个雷险教育工作组,并制订出一项社区级的协调一致及有效的防雷应对措施。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
亚拉克的公立男校开设的一门“雷险教育”课,让儿童学习如何保护自己及其家人避免生活中的各种危险及弹药和地雷带来的危险。

基于同一方案,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴目前正在危险地区受洪水影响的人口中推动预防措施。该方案的一个重要组成部分,是选拔和培训志愿者,并为他们提供急救包,在发生爆炸的情况下可提供紧急医疗援助。

“如果我了解这些情况的话,这样的事就不会在家人身上发生”,塔雅布的父亲,阿斯拉姆先生说。为了确保他的村庄不再有人遭受类似自己家庭的不幸,阿斯拉姆先生在当地协助组织由一队社会动员者讲授的雷险教育学习班。

救助生命的志愿者

联合国儿童基金会还为其他与塔雅布类似的幸存者与相关服务供应商联系,使他们得到医务治疗和康复服务。与此同时,学校的课程也开始进行,帮助孩子们了解面对的危险状况。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
一枚杀伤人员地雷被洪水冲到亚拉克德拉伊斯梅尔汗地区的一片农田中的一堆灌木丛里。

这些干预措施已经显效,由于社区志愿者对未爆弹药的识别,并由当地炸弹处理小组立即拆除,伤亡人数开始减少。

“由于洪水造成了大片雷区,”处理炸弹小组成员,伊纳亚特.乌拉说道。“社区一级的雷险教育培训和认知非常重要,因为我们没有足够的财力和人力资源覆盖这些领域。由于社区成员的识别和及时报告,许多人的生命得到了救助。”


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

UNICEF responds to unexploded ordnance threat in aftermath of Pakistan flood crisis

Flash floods carry landmines from conflict zone

By Shandana Aurangzeb Durrani

KHYBER PAKHTUNKHWA, Pakistan, 9 November 2010 – Catastrophic flash floods have scarred the lives of Tayyab, 4, and his family in unimaginable ways. His father, Mohammad Aslam, is a small farmer in the remote village of Sadra Sharif, located in north-western Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi reports on the dangers posed by unexploded ordnance and landmines in north-west Pakistan.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

In early August, as floodwaters receded in the village, Mr. Aslam went to the fields to assess the damage to his crops. “I saw this thing stuck in the crops and I brought it home out of curiosity,” he remembers. “Not even for a moment did it cross my mind that I was bringing destruction to my family.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
Tayyab, 4, victim of an anti-personnel landmine, with his sister, Sadia and parents, Mohammad Aslam and Naseem Bibi, at their home in Sadra Sharif village, north-western Pakistan.

Mr. Aslam had mistakenly brought home an anti-personnel landmine. His son and daughter were badly wounded when the landmine exploded as they were playing with it. “I want to play, but it hurts,” says Tayyab, whose foot had to be amputated as a result of his injuries.

“He cries all the time. He has lost a lot of weight and has become aggressive,” says Tayyab’s mother, Naseem Bibi. “He is totally dependent and has to be carried everywhere.”

Lurking menace

The receding waters have unearthed a lurking menace of unexploded ordnance and landmines in Pakistan. The floods carried the explosives into Khyber Pakhtunkhwa from the mountains in neighbouring, conflict-stricken South Waziristan, one of the country’s Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
Shabana Bibi, a social mobilizer from the non-governmental Sustainable Peace and Development Organization, conducts a mine-risk education session with women and children in Budh village, a hazardous area of north-western Pakistan.

“Sixteen cases have been reported during the last two months in flood-affected areas,” says UNICEF Child Protection Officer Farman Ali. “Seven victims, including women and children, have been injured leading to amputation.”

In response to the danger, UNICEF and its non-governmental partner, the Sustainable Peace and Development Organization, have expanded their mine-risk education (MRE) programme to flood-affected areas. 

An effective response

With funding from the Government of Japan, UNICEF – a leader in this field globally – initiated and has been leading an MRE Working Group in north-western Pakistan to develop a concerted, effective landmine response at the community level for two years.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
Tayyab, 4, victim of an anti-personnel landmine, with his sister, Sadia and parents, Mohammad Aslam and Naseem Bibi, at their home in Sadra Sharif village, north-western Pakistan.

Building on the same programme, UNICEF and its partners are now promoting precautionary measures among the flood-affected population in hazardous areas. An important component of the programme is selection and training of volunteers, who also receive first-aid kits for the provision of immediate medical assistance in case of an explosion.

“If I had information and awareness, this would not have happened to my family”, says Mr. Aslam, Tayyab’s father. Because he wants to make sure that no one else in his village suffers the pain that his family has endured, Mr. Aslam now assists in organizing local MRE sessions taught by a team of social mobilizers.

Volunteers save lives

UNICEF is also linking survivors like Tayyab with appropriate service providers for medical treatment and rehabilitation. At the same time, school sessions are being conducted to help educate children about the dangers.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Shandana
An anti-personnel landmine carried by flood waters is lodged in a bush in an agricultural field in the north-western Pakistan district of Dera Ismail Khan.

The impact of these interventions has been felt already, with casualties averted due to community volunteers’ identification of unexploded ordnance, which local bomb disposal squads have defused immediately.

“Floodwaters have contaminated vast areas,” says Inayat Ulah, a bomb squad official. “MRE training and awareness at the community level is very important, as we do not have the financial and human resources to sweep these areas. Due to identification and timely reporting by community members, many lives have been saved.”


 

 

New enhanced search