被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

耶路撒冷旧城的光辉难掩贫困儿童的愁云

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0300/Pirozzi
在被占领的巴勒斯坦领土约旦河西岸地区,东耶路撒冷的穆斯林居住区人口稠密。穆萨和他9岁的儿子穆罕默德坐在他们只有一个房间的公寓里。

凯瑟琳.怀布尔报道

被占领的巴勒斯坦领土东耶路撒冷,2012年6月18日——游览高墙环绕的耶路撒冷旧城时,游客往往被它迷宫一般的狭窄石巷及幽深隐秘的石阶所吸引,却很少有人留意到,在这个标志性圣地的背后,有成千上万的儿童生活在赤贫中。

穆萨(Moussa)与他的妻子及四个孩子住在一间黑暗的圆顶屋内,中间放置的一个衣柜将房间分隔为两个开间,拥挤不堪。他们与住在其他房间的亲戚们共用厨房和浴室。

“我出生在旧城并引以为荣。但如果我付得起房租,我宁愿明天就搬到城外去住。”穆萨说。我们见到了他的大多数家人,他们均持有相同观点,只是因为这里房租低,才决定留下来。

穆萨是家里唯一的经济支柱,每月挣4300谢克尔(约合1100美元),勉强收支相抵。他十几岁的时候辍学、吸毒。现在,他希望自己的孩子不要重蹈他的覆辙。“我希望他们有一个快乐的童年,但旧城不适合儿童成长。”他说,“这里没有可供玩耍的安全场所,学校人满为患,毒品交易随处可见。”

穆萨9岁的儿子穆罕默德(Mohammed)向我们展示他晚上睡觉的沙发。他要和兄弟姐妹挤在一起睡。“我的梦想是拥有自己的卧室和空间。”他说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0301/Pirozzi
在被占领的巴勒斯坦领土约旦河西岸地区,东耶路撒冷的穆斯林居住区人口稠密。女孩子们在阿博纳-艾尔-库兹中心进行拍球训练。

旧城的光辉难掩贫困

耶路撒冷旧城分为四个区。这个家庭生活在人口最稠密的穆斯林居住区。逾两万巴勒斯坦人生活在该区拥有数百年历史的石砌建筑内,拥挤不堪。

几个街区之外,米娅萨(Miassar)和她的三个孩子同样渴望拥有自己的私人空间。她们居住的房间只有一个窗户,面对着一堵墙,非常潮湿。不大的厨房和浴室则要与邻居共用。自从米娅萨的丈夫吸毒成瘾、不再工作以后,全家人就生活在极度贫困之中。

“我依靠亲戚们的帮助来养育子女。”她说,“好几次,我的丈夫许诺要戒毒并找一份工作,但每次都重染恶习。”

米娅萨一边说,一边用吸入器帮她9岁的儿子穆罕默德缓解哮喘症状。房间阴暗潮湿,不通风,使得病情恶化。同时,她12岁的女儿卢亚恩(Lujayn)需要温习功课。“为了熟记课本里的内容,我要在房间里大声朗读,但这会妨碍我的兄弟们休息,令爸爸很生气。”卢亚恩轻声说道。

青少年友好中心

在旧城纷乱的石砌建筑中,很难找到不受外界干扰的开阔场所,供青少年释放他们的青春活力。在这个近乎与世隔绝的世界里,阿博纳-艾尔-库兹(Abna-Al-Quds)中心是青少年唯一的寄托。该中心是旧城中由联合国儿童基金会支持的两个青少年友好中心之一,依靠欧洲委员会提供的资助运营。

前往阿博纳-艾尔-库兹中心的巷道如同迷宫一般,人们会惊奇地发现这里是沿旧城墙展开的一片开阔地。进入该中心就仿佛到达了儿童的梦幻世界:孩子们四处奔跑,在草坪上踢足球、玩篮球、打乒乓球,不时发出咯咯的笑声。青少年友好中心还针对健康的生活方式选择及预防吸毒提供建议。

“当看到我的孩子们四处奔跑,我感到了生活的希望。”穆萨说,“这才是城墙内应有的正常生活。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

Child poverty amid Jerusalem's Old City splendor

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0300/Pirozzi
Moussa and his 9-year-old son Mohammed sit in their one-room apartment in the densely populated Muslim Quarter in East Jerusalem, in the West Bank, Occupied Palestinian Territory.

By Catherine Weibel

EAST JERUSALEM, Occupied Palestinian Territory, 18 June 2012 – Few of the tourists who visit Jerusalem’s walled Old City know that meters from its iconic holy places, past a maze of narrow stone alleys and hidden stairways, thousands of children live in deep poverty.

Moussa, his wife and their four children live crowded in a dark, domed room that they have divided in two with a wardrobe. They share the kitchen and the bathroom with relatives living in separate rooms.

“I was born in the Old City and I am proud of it, but I would move out of the Walls tomorrow if I could afford to,” Moussa said, reflecting an opinion shared by most of the families we met, who said they stayed because of low-rent housing.

The sole breadwinner of the family, Moussa earns 4,300 shekels a month (about US$1,100), which barely makes ends meet. During his teenage years, he dropped out of school and took drugs, and hopes his children will not do the same. “I want them to live their childhood, but the Old City is not a friendly place for children,” he said. “They have no safe place to play, the schools are overcrowded and drugs are sold at every corner.”

Moussa’s 9-year-old son Mohammed shows the sofa he sleeps on at night, among his brothers and sisters. “My dream is to have my own bedroom and some space,” he said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0301/Pirozzi
Girls dripple basketballs at Abna-Al-Quds, in the densely populated Muslim Quarter of East Jerusalem, in the West Bank, Occupied Palestinian Territory.

Poverty amid Old City splendor

The family lives in the Muslim Quarter, the most populated of all four quarters in Jerusalem’s Old City. More than 20,000 Palestinians live crowded in the Quarter’s centuries-old stone buildings.

A few blocks away, Miassar and her three children also yearn for privacy. The damp room they live in has only one window facing a wall, and their small kitchen and bathroom are shared with the neighbours. They have lived in deep poverty since Miassar’s husband became addicted to drugs and stopped working.

“I rely on relatives to help me feed my children,” she said. “Several times, my husband promised to stop taking drugs and find a job, but each time he relapsed.”

As she spoke, Miassar helped her 9-year-old son Mohammed use an inhaler to relieve his asthma, which was aggravated by the unventilated, damp room. Meanwhile, her 12-year-old daughter Lujayn tried to study. “To memorize, I read my lessons aloud in the room, but it disturbs my brothers and it makes my father angry,” Lujayn said softly.

Adolescent-friendly spaces

In the Old City’s jumble of stone, there are few open spaces where these children can find some measure of privacy, and release their youthful energy. The only escape from their cloistered life is Abna-Al-Quds, one of two UNICEF-supported adolescent-friendly spaces in the Old City, operated with funding from the European Commission.

Reached after walking through labyrinthine alleys, Abna-Al-Quds offers a surprisingly broad open space stretched along the Old City Wall. Entering the space is like arriving in a child’s dream: In every corner, boys and girls run around, giggling as they play football, basketball or ping-pong on the lawn. The adolescent-friendly space also provides advice about healthy lifestyle choices and drug prevention.

“When I see my children running around, it gives me hope,” said Moussa. “It’s a taste of normal life within the Walls.”


 

 

New enhanced search