尼日尔

尼日尔前切割女性生殖器的操刀者反对女性生殖器割礼

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2008/Onimus-Pfortner
海萨发誓要在她居住的村庄结束女性生殖器切割的习俗,她自己是女性生殖器切割的操刀者。

舟莱.奥尼缪斯-福特讷和盖勒.宝森报道

尼日尔尼亚美,2008年5月28日。海萨的生活已经永远的改变了。她的村庄已公开要求结束切割女性生殖器的习俗,要求操刀者“把刀放下”,废除这种习俗。

45岁的海萨,7岁的时候接受了女性生殖器的切割手术,10岁的时候开始继承家族的生意,自己实施手术。她估计,她给大约400个女孩实施了女性生殖器的切割,其中一些人已死于并发症。

据联合国儿童基金会的统计,在中东和非洲约有7千万名15-27岁的妇女和女孩成为女性生殖器切割的受害者。许多女孩因这一经历受到了创伤,默默地忍受着痛苦,大部分人害怕被他们的社区排斥。

地理和种族差异

女性生殖器切割的不良后果包括生殖健康的恶化和给受害人造成的心理负担。这一习俗增加了产妇和婴儿死亡率,增加了弱势的女童和妇女感染艾滋病毒/艾滋病的几率。

根据联合国儿童基金会驻尼日尔办事处的统计,15至49岁的接受女性生殖器切割的人数的比例减少了一半以上,从1998年的5 %降至2006年的2.2 %。然而,这些统计掩盖了地理和种族的巨大差异:65.9 %的古尔曼策人妇女、12.4 %的富尔贝人妇女和3.4 % 阿拉伯妇女成为女性生殖器切割的受害者,而在蒂拉贝里、迪法和尼亚美地区实施这种手术的比率最高。

女性生殖器切割的比率降低的部分原因是在社区和国家的层面通过了新的立法和多项政策的组合。

积极的社会变革

自1992年以来,联合国儿童基金会一直同非政府组织尼日利亚传统习俗委员会(CONIPRAT)协力,解决尼日尔女性生殖器切割的问题。

2007年尼日利亚传统习俗委员会提出了一项旨在改变社会陈规的,积极的社会变革政策,既通过非正规教育为社区成员提供新知识和新技能。该政策还致力于促进妇女和男子之间,跨代间的对话。这些活动被证明对加强人权是非常有效的。

社会变革计划的目的是鼓励社区提出问题,并对关注的各种问题确定解决方案。为了激发变革的持久性,诸如女性生殖器切割这样的敏感问题必须在社区内加以解决。

‘开始新的生活’

在联合国儿童基金会和尼日利亚传统习俗委员会的共同努力下,海萨了解了女性生殖器切割的不良后果,确信这个习俗同她的伊斯兰教信仰无关。她还了解到,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,2003年尼日尔通过了一项法律,惩罚进行女性生殖器切割。

最重要的是,联合国儿童基金会和尼日利亚传统习俗委员会的计划,使海萨和其他从事女性生殖器切割手术的妇女学到了一门新生意。她们接受了园艺培训,每人得到了一块土地,以贴补他们的家庭需要。

“我确信放弃女性生殖器切割的做法,”海萨说,“是了解了女性生殖器官切割和妇女健康之间的关系。开始一个新的生活,我现在感到很自豪。”


 

 

相关链接

搜索

At a glance: Niger

Turning former practitioners against female genital mutilation in Niger

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2008/Onimus-Pfortner
Haissa, who has vowed to end female genital mutilation/cutting in her village, is herself a former practitioner of FGM/C.

By Joelle Onimus-Pfortner & Gaelle Bausson

NIAMEY, Niger, 28 May 2008 – Haissa’s life has forever changed. Her village has publicly vowed to end female genital mutilation/cutting (FGM/C), asking practitioners to “put down the knife” and put an end to the practice. 

Haissa, 45, who underwent cutting at the age of 7, began performing the procedure herself at the age of 10, inheriting the family trade. She estimates that she performed FGM/C on approximately 400 girls, several of whom died from complications.

According to UNICEF, some 70 million women and girls aged 15-27 in the Middle East and Africa have been victims of FGM/C. Many girls are traumatized by the experience and suffer in silence, most out of fear of being ostracized by their communities.

Geographic and ethnic disparities

The harmful consequences of FGM/C may include both deterioration in reproductive health and the psychological toll on the victim. The practice increases maternal and child mortality rates and increases the vulnerability of girls and women to HIV/AIDS.

According to UNICEF Niger, the rate of FGM/C among women aged 15 to 49 has decreased by more than half, from 5 per cent in 1998 to 2.2 per cent in 2006. These statistics, however, conceal great geographic and ethnic disparities: 65.9 per cent of Gourmantche women, 12.4 per cent of Peul women and 3.4 per cent of Arab women having been victims of FGM/C, while the regions of Tillabery, Diffa and Niamey carry the highest procedural rates.

The decrease in FGM/C is in part due to the passing of new legislation and the combination of several strategies at the community and national levels.

Positive social change

Since 1992, UNICEF has been working with the Nigerian Committee on Traditional Practices (CONIPRAT), a non-governmental organization, to tackle the problem of FGM/C in Niger.

A positive social change strategy, put in place in 2007 by CONIPRAT, aims to change social conventions through non-formal education providing community members with new knowledge and skills. The strategy also works to promote dialogues between women and men, and across generations. These activities have proven effective when used to enhance human rights.

The social change programme encourages communities to raise problems and define solutions on a variety of concerns. In order to stimulate lasting change, sensitive issues such as FGM/C must be addressed within the community.

‘Starting a new life’

As a result of these efforts by UNICEF and CONIPRAT, Haissa became aware of the harmful consequences of FGM/C and was convinced that the procedure had nothing to do with practicing her Islamic faith. She also learned that in 2003, a law was passed in Niger, with UNICEF’s support, to penalize the practice of FGM/C. 

Most important, the UNICEF and CONIPRAT programme gave Haissa and other women practicing FGM/C the means to learn a new trade. They were offered training in gardening and each got a plot of land to subsidize their family’s needs.

“What convinced me to abandon the practice of FGM/C,” said Haissa, “is understanding the link between FGM and women’s health. I am now proud of starting a new life.”


 

 

New enhanced search