尼日尔

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴援助童工并打击尼日尔的人口贩卖活动

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
童工在街上卖苦力是在尼日尔首都尼亚美司空见惯的景象。

萨宾.德兰报道

为支持非洲联盟停止拐卖儿童的呼吁,联合国儿童基金会今年将6月16日定为非洲儿童日。 这里是西非国家尼日尔的情况。

尼日尔尼亚美2007年6月15日。在尼日尔尼亚美街头,每天都可以看到儿童卖苦力的景象。在这个世界上最贫穷的国家,三分之二14岁以下的儿童从事工作。

这些童工来自全国各地,有时也来自该地区的其它国家- 尤其是尼日利亚、贝宁、多哥和加纳。有些儿童是被拐卖来的,很多最后都流落到首都的中央汽车站。在那里,他们被雇做体力活,如洗盘子、卖东西和搬运物品等。

在非洲大陆各地,儿童被拐卖从事卖淫活动、被征入武装组织做童兵或仆役;他们提供廉价、甚至是无报酬的劳动,往往沦为家仆或乞丐。

这些孩子大多在7至14岁之间。大多数情况下,他们有家,但都是很贫穷的家庭。

UNICEF Photo
14岁的扎可卡.哈米都曾经在尼日尔尼亚美做女佣。

昔日童工的新技能

14岁的扎可卡.哈米都曾经是一名女佣,她的故事是尼日尔童工的典型案例。她说:“我姑姑来到我们在洛加附近的村子,把我带到尼亚美来工作。”

扎可卡最终设法离开了家仆工作, 目前在培训中心学习。该中心由联合国儿童基金会支持,并由一个名为“禁止使用童工行动(AFETEN)”的非政府组织运营。扎可卡与该中心其他的大约50名女孩一起,学习像画指甲花和播种之类的技能。

“禁止使用童工行动”培训中心的领导苏美拉.卡坦说:“我们安排符合当地实际的专业技术培训,尤其关注解决对女童的剥削问题。很多女孩离开她们的村庄,到城市从事对她们成长不利的女佣工作。”

贫穷是这个问题的根源:它助长了童工和人口拐卖活动。剥削使儿童失去受教育的机会,等他们恢复自由时,往往年龄已经太大,不能再回到学校上学了。

为这些青少年提供有用的技能,并使他们了解自己的权利,能够帮助他们改善生活水平和健康状况。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在非洲各地,儿童被贩去卖淫,被征入武装组织,被迫做廉价的或无报酬的仆役。

执行法律,维护权利

多数尼日尔的人口拐卖交易都发生该国北方的阿加德兹附近。 那里内部执法不严,被逮逋的人贩子一般只被监禁几周。因此,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴与该国政府合作,加强法律的执行力度,保护儿童免受拐卖、虐待和剥削的伤害。

联合国儿童基金会驻尼日尔儿童保护干事哈诗亚.伊萨说:“目前,联合国儿童基金会正在展开一个禁止人口拐卖的重大项目,特别是对妇女和儿童的拐卖。 同时,我们支持当地政府阐明法律,并在西非框架内签署双边以及多边协议。”

此外,联合国儿童基金会正与尼日尔人权协会合作,训练警察、边防哨兵和海关工作人员鉴定人口贩卖团伙、案件侦察及向受害者提供协助。

联合国儿童基金会还帮助儿童从街头走回家庭,为他们提供特别培训,使他们可以顺利地重新融入社区的生活。

童工和人口贩卖使儿童受到暴力及其它形式的虐待,剥夺了儿童的基本权利。 在非洲和世界各地,这种行为必须加以制止,挽回儿童的尊严,以促进他们的成长和发展。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年6月15日:
在非洲儿童日之际,联合国儿童基金会通讯员萨宾.德兰就尼日尔和西非的童工及人口贩卖问题报道。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

At a glance: Niger

UNICEF and partners aid child labourers and fight trafficking in Niger

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
The sight of children toiling, begging and selling their wares in the streets is part of the daily landscape in Niger’s capital, Niamey.

By Sabine Dolan

UNICEF this year marks the Day of the African Child, 16 June, by supporting the African Union's call to end child trafficking. Here is a look at the situation in the West African nation of Niger.

NIAMEY, Niger, 15 June 2007 – The sight of children toiling in the streets is part of the daily landscape here in Niger’s capital. In one of the poorest countries in the world, two-thirds of children under the age of 14 work.

They come from all over the country and sometimes from other countries in the region – especially Nigeria, Benin, Togo and Ghana. Some of these children are trafficked, and many end up in the capital’s central bus station. From there, they are hired out for menial tasks such as washing dishes and selling and transporting various wares.

Across the African continent, children are trafficked into prostitution and recruited into armed groups as child soldiers or porters; they provide cheap or even unpaid labour and often work as domestics or beggars.

These children typically are between 7 and 14 years of age. In most cases, they have families – but very poor families.

UNICEF Image
Zakika Hamidou, 14, used to work as a maid in Niamey, Niger; now she is learning new skills in a UNICEF-supported programme.

New skills for former child labourers

Zakika Hamidou, 14, used to work as a maid. Her story is typical of child labourers in Niger. “My aunt came to get me at our village near Loga and she took me away to work here in Niamey,” she explains.

Zakika managed to leave domestic work and is now attending a UNICEF-supported training centre operated by the non-governmental organization Action Against the Use of Child Workers (AFETEN). Along with about 50 other girls at the centre, Zakika learns skills such as henna painting and sowing.

“We organize professional training adapted to local realities to address the exploitation of young girls in particular,” says the head of the AFETEN training centre, Soumaila Katan. “There is a significant number of girls who leave their villages to their own detriment to work as maids in the city.”

Poverty is at the root of the problem: It fuels child labour and trafficking. The exploitation of children deprives them of their right to an education. Once rehabilitated, they are often too old to return to school.

Providing these youths with useful skills and making them aware of their rights helps them improve their lives and enhances their well-being.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Across Africa, children are trafficked into prostitution, recruited into armed groups, forced to provide cheap or even unpaid labour. Here, child labourers gather at Niamey’s bus station.

Enforcing laws, protecting rights

Much of Niger’s trafficking takes place in the north of the country, in the area around Agadez. Internal procedures for law enforcement are lax; traffickers who are caught typically spend just a few weeks in jail. So UNICEF and its partners have been working with the government to reinforce laws protecting children from trafficking, abuse and exploitation.

“Right now UNICEF has a big project against human trafficking, especially [trafficking of] women and children,” says UNICEF Niger Child Protection Officer Hassia Issa. “We are also supporting the government to elaborate laws and sign bilateral as well as multilateral agreements within the framework of West Africa.”

In addition, UNICEF has been working with the Niger Human Rights Association to train police, border guards and customs agents on identification of trafficking rings, case investigation and victim assistance.

UNICEF is also helping children get off the streets and return to their homes by providing them with special training to ease their reintegration into the community.

Child labour and trafficking expose children to violence and other forms of abuse and deprive them of their fundamental rights. In Africa and around the world, the practice must be stopped to restore children’s dignity and to foster their growth and development.


 

 

Video

15 June 2007:
For the Day of the African Child, UNICEF correspondent Sabine Dolan reports on child labour and trafficking in Niger and West Africa.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search