尼泊尔

尼泊尔最后一批儿童兵退伍

UNICEF Photo
© AP photo/Amarasinghe
在退伍仪式上,一名前毛派叛军的儿童兵兴奋地从台上跳了下来。

萨拉.克劳和马蒂.罗根报道

尼泊尔罗尔帕,2010年2月17日 – 罗尔帕山区偏远并崎岖的背景很好地衬托了这个具有历史意义的一幕。1996年2月,就在这里,毛派反政府武装向尼泊尔王室和军队发射了第一枚炮弹。

 点击此处观看视频

现在,几乎整整14年过去了,最后一批曾经为毛派叛军效力的儿童兵将从这里受联合国监管的营地里复员。自从毛派和尼泊尔政府签署了一项和平协议后,这些前叛军士兵在过去的三年中一直驻扎在这片营地中。

年轻人的里程碑

2月8日, 237名前儿童战士和31名新兵按照传统习俗在额头上点上红点、脖子上带着金盏花花环,离开了军队,重新回归平民的生活。

UNICEF Photo
© AP photo/Amarasinghe
一名在尼泊尔罗尔帕刚刚退伍的前儿童兵在坐车离开军营前与一名身穿制服的士兵握手。

尼泊尔统一共产党(毛主义)主席普斯帕.卡马尔.达哈尔主持了复员仪式。这个仪式是在人民解放军的监督下,以及政要、其他尼泊尔官员和媒体的见证下举行的。

联合国儿童基金会驻尼泊尔代表吉莲. 麦尔索(Gillian Mellsop)也出席了仪式。

麦尔索女士说:“释放这些年轻人不仅对这个国家来说具有象征意义,而且对这些年轻的男女来说是个里程碑。他们在军事建筑物中成长,学习不到对成人来说至关重要的技能。

康复援助

复员过程始于今年的2月7日,共有约3000名前儿童兵在被联合国确认为未成年人后得以从毛派战斗部队中被释放。

确认儿童兵并取消他们服兵役资格的工作于2007年结束,但自那之后有关复员的谈判一直迟迟没有进展。这些儿童兵中有500人直到今天还未满18岁,而且大概有十二人在16岁以下。这些被取消服兵役资格的士兵中有三分之一是女童。

每个儿童兵在复员后可以领到1万尼泊尔卢比(相当于约140美元),以及从政府和联合国驻尼泊尔办事处那里获得的帮助,其中包括正规教育、职业培训、卫生职业教育,以及创办小企业的帮助。

巨大的挑战

不过,当这些儿童兵换下迷彩军装、穿上一身蓝色的衣服、登上巴士的时候,很多人看上去却很迷茫,因为他们担心自己的新生活和未来将要遭遇的一切。

麦尔索女士说:“我们现在需要做的就是尽快确保这些年轻人能充分从我们提供的援助中受益。这样,他们才能成功地重新融入社会并帮助重建久经冲突折磨的尼泊尔社会。这也是未来的一项巨大的挑战。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年2月8日, 尼泊尔237名前儿童战士和31名新兵按照传统习俗在额头上点上红点、脖子上带着金盏花花环,离开了军队,重新回归平民的生活。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Nepal

Last group of Maoist child soldiers discharged in Nepal

UNICEF Image
© AP photo/Amarasinghe
Child soldiers from the former Maoist rebel army in Nepal jump from the stage at a discharge ceremony at their camp in Rolpa, Nepal on 8 February. They were among 237 former child soldiers discharged that day.

Sarah Crowe and Marty Logan

ROLPA, Nepal, 17 February 2010 – The remote and rugged setting, high in the hills of Rolpa, was fitting for the historic scene. This mountain district was the place where Maoist rebels fired their first salvo against the Nepalese monarchy and army in February 1996.

VIDEO: Watch now

Now, almost exactly 14 years later, the last of the child soldiers who once formed part of the Maoist rebel force were set to be discharged from the UN-supervised cantonment here. The former rebel soldiers have been housed in the camp for the past three years, since a peace agreement was signed by the Maoists and the Government of Nepal.

A milestone for young people

On 8 February, with a blessing of red ‘tika’ on their foreheads and garlands of marigolds around their necks, the group of 237 former child combatants and 31 late recruits left the military behind and re-entered civilian life.

UNICEF Image
© AP photo/Amarasinghe
A former child soldier, newly discharged in Rolpa, Nepal, shakes hands with a uniformed soldier before boarding a bus to take him to a new civilian life in a nearby town.

The Chairman of the Unified Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist), Pushpa Kamal Dahal, presided at the discharge ceremony, which was held under the watchful eyes of the People's Liberation Army and witnessed by dignitaries, other Nepalese officials and the media.

UNICEF Representative in Nepal Gillian Mellsop was also on hand.

"The release of these young people is not only symbolic for the country but a milestone for these young men and women, who spent their formative years inside a military structure, losing out on critical skills vital for adulthood," said Ms. Mellsop.

Rehabilitation assistance

The discharge process started on 7 January of this year. In total, almost 3,000 former child soldiers have been discharged from the Maoist fighting forces after the United Nations verified that they were minors.

The process of identifying child soldiers and disqualifying them from military service ended in 2007, but negotiations for their release have dragged on since then. About 500 of them are still under 18 today, and about a dozen are under 16. About one-third of the disqualified soldiers are female.

Each of the young people receives 10,000 Nepalese Rupees (around $140) upon discharge, as well as rehabilitation assistance from the government and the United Nations in Nepal. This assistance includes formal schooling, vocational training, education as health workers, and help with setting up small businesses.

'The big challenge'

As they boarded buses after being discharged – dressed no longer in military camouflage but in blue overalls – many of the former child soldiers seemed confused and concerned about their new lives, and what lay ahead.

"What we all need to do now is act swiftly to ensure that these young people get the full benefits from the rehabilitation packages," said Ms. Mellsop, "so that they can reintegrate successfully and help build Nepali society fractured after this long conflict. That is the big challenge going forward."


 

 

Video

8 February 2010: UNICEF correspondent Val Wang reports on the last group of child soldiers released from the former Maoist rebel army in Nepal.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search