摩洛哥

在摩洛哥支持母亲,防止遗弃儿童

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Morocco/2010
被遗弃的儿童睡在摩洛哥一所孤儿院里,该国每年有数千名儿童被遗弃。

安妮丝.马力报道

摩洛哥马拉喀什,2010年8月4日-23岁的卡利玛(更名后)正处于意外怀孕的煎熬之中,孩子的父亲离开了她,一个人孤立无援。为了向家人隐瞒,她离开了位于马拉喀什的家。由于传统上对婚前孕的排斥观点以及惧怕遭到家人反对,她还不敢对自己的父亲说,只悄悄告诉了母亲。

卡利玛说:“我希望其他的女孩不要有像我一样的遭遇,也不要因此而面对艰辛的一生。”

在当地合作伙伴摩洛哥保护儿童联盟(LMPE)的支持下,联合国儿童基金会致力于帮助防止意外怀孕和为单身母亲提供援助的工作。但是问题似乎比专家预计的更加普遍。

排斥与绝望

据联合国儿童基金会和摩洛哥保护儿童联盟最近的一项研究(由公主殿下拉莉亚.阿米娜主持)表明,2008年约有6480名摩洛哥婴儿被遗弃,这约占当年婴儿出生总人数的1%到2%。单身母亲经常遭受家庭和社会的排斥,由于缺乏情感和经济支持,很多母亲都作出了一些不得已的选择,例如遗弃他们的孩子。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Morocco/2010
一名摩洛哥弃婴被抱在手中。

联合国儿童基金会驻摩洛哥代表阿洛伊斯.卡穆拉基耶(Aloys Kamuragiye)说:“这种现象主要存在于农村地区。”他还指出有些声称帮助母亲为遗弃儿童找收养家庭或机构的人实际上并不可信:“很多儿童都是被非正规中介机构而遗弃。”

作为这项研究的结果,联合国儿童基金会和摩洛哥保护儿童联盟组建了工作小组来应对这一问题。来自联合国儿童基金会瑞典国家委员会的小组和一位捐助商访问了马拉喀什,这位捐助商曾先后为“防止遗弃儿童”的新项目捐赠了10万美元。该项目旨在为单身母亲和容易受意外怀孕影响的女孩提供社会心里支持和咨询服务。马拉喀什的摩洛哥保护儿童联盟办事处内已经建立了一个专用中心,并已开始提供这些服务。

目前在增强父母责任感工作方面已经取得了进展,该项目的一名社会工作人员舍穆斯.艾多哈说:“最近一名曾不太情愿的父亲说,如果DNA测试证明他是孩子的父亲,他就愿意领回孩子。”

感化家庭

“防止遗弃儿童项目”的另一项工作是唤起民众意识和感化家庭与社区,让家庭了解他们的责任是为女儿和亲戚创造保护性和支持性的环境,以避免排斥现象和遗弃儿童行为。

该项目还在学校等女孩聚集的地方开展活动,希望提高人们对于意外怀孕的后果和遗弃儿童行为的意识。

卡利玛最近参与了这项新的活动。她说:“单身母亲面临着非常困难的境况,在没怀孕前,我对未来有很美好的憧憬,但现在都一去不复返了。我不想其他女孩有和我一样的遭遇。”

卡利玛的一个朋友今年19岁,也是一名单身母亲,她说:“我的家庭和我自己都对我现在的情况负有责任。我的父母从不关心我的学习,不在乎我有什么问题,也不注意我行为上的任何变化。”

她还说:“家长必须清楚,他们有责任保护自己的孩子。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Morocco

Supporting mothers to prevent child abandonment in Morocco

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Morocco/2010
Abandoned children sleep in a Moroccan orphanage. Thousands of children in the country are abandoned every year.

By Aniss Maghri

MARRAKESH, Morocco, 4 August 2010 – Karima (not her real name), 23, is struggling with the consequences of an unwanted pregnancy alone. The baby’s father left her, and to hide her situation she left her parents’ house in the Marrakesh countryside. Due to traditional views on pregnancy outside of marriage and fears of the repercussions, she has not told her father, only her mother.

“I don’t want other girls to be trapped like me and be faced by the hardship of a life like mine,” said Karima.

With the help of the Moroccan League for Child Protection (LMPE), a local partner, UNICEF is working to help prevent unwanted pregnancies and support single mothers. But the problem may be more widespread than experts once believed.

Ostracism and desperation

According to a recent study conducted by UNICEF and LMPE, which was chaired by Her Highness, Princess Lalla Amina, some 6,480 Moroccan babies were abandoned at birth in 2008 – representing between 1 and 2 per cent of all births in the country. Single mothers are often ostracized by their families and society, and the lack of emotional and financial support has led many to take desperate measures, including abandoning their children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Morocco/2010
An abandoned baby is held in Morocco.

“The phenomenon is mainly observed in the urban areas,” said UNICEF Representative in Morocco Aloys Kamuragiye. “A large number of abandonments are operated by informal intermediaries,” he added, referring to people who assist mothers in finding homes or institutions for abandoned babies.

As a consequence of the study, UNICEF and LMPE have established a task force to tackle this issue. A group from the Swedish Committee for UNICEF visited Marrakesh, along with a donor who subsequently contributed $100,000 to support a new project on preventing abandonment of children. The project aims at providing psycho-social support and counselling services to single mothers and girls at risk of unwanted pregnancies. A dedicated centre, established within the LMPE office in Marrakesh, is currently offering these services.

Progress has been made, as well, towards encouraging paternal responsibility. “Recently, a reluctant father confirmed that he would recognize the baby if the DNA test proved that the child belongs to him,” said Shems Eddoha, a social worker with the project.

Sensitizing families

A second component of the abandonment prevention project involves raising awareness and sensitizing families and communities. Families are made aware of their responsibility to ensure a protective and supportive environment for their daughters in order to avoid ostracism and child abandonment.

The campaign also targets high schools and various other places where girls meet, seeking to raise awareness of the consequences of unwanted pregnancies and of abandoning a child.

Karima has participated in the new campaign. “Single mothers are dealing with a very difficult situation,” she said. “I used to have dreams before my pregnancy. Now they have gone. I do not want other young girls to be in the same situation.”

Karima’s friend, who is 19 years old, is another single mother. “Both my family and I are responsible for my situation,” she said. “My parents never looked after me during my studies, were never interested in finding out my problems, never noticed changes in my behavior.

“Families must know,” she added. “They must be held responsible for protecting their children.”


 

 

New enhanced search