马来西亚

帮助马来西亚种植园工人的子女获得接受良好教育的机会

史蒂夫.内特尔顿报道

马来西亚拉哈达图,2012年3月12日——在马来西亚婆罗洲的东部边缘,协成种植园大片油棕榈树的浓荫下,玛丽亚.拉斐尔(Maria Rafael)手持砍刀砍下枯树枝,同时监督其他几个外来女工的工作。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员史蒂夫.内特尔顿(Steve Nettleton)报道由联合国儿童基金会支持的、旨在帮助马来西亚种植园工人的子女获得接受良好教育机会的各项工作。

拉斐尔女士约30年前离开了家乡印尼来到马来西亚沙巴州的种植园,希望过上更好的生活。虽然工作一直很艰辛,但是,拉斐尔目前最大的担忧却是14岁女儿奥格斯蒂亚.费莉西蒂的未来。奥格斯蒂亚.费莉西蒂没有出生证明。没有出生证明,她就不能在普通的马来西亚学校上学。

“我们特别关注这件事,因为我们知道报名需要出示出生证明,”拉斐尔女士说,“这真的很让人着急。我们的钱不够多,无法回印尼。因此只能听天由命。”

生命奇迹真的出现了。她的女儿现在在一所特殊学校上学,该学校由种植园的经营者和婆罗洲儿童援助协会(Borneo Child Aid Society)共同支持,就建在种植园内。但是,其他很多人就没有这么幸运了。

没有教育就没有前途

许多孩子同奥格斯蒂亚.费丽丝蒂一样住在沙巴州的种植园内,这些孩子中的大部分很少或根本没有机会接受教育。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
在马来西亚拉哈达图托芒贡(Tomanggong),种植园工人的子女在协成种植园河园区(Hap Seng Plantation River Estates)的课堂上课。

他们因无法上学,只能在种植园帮他们的父母干活——实际上,他们已经构成了童工,甚至不能得到他们的父母曾接受过的基本教育。

婆罗洲儿童援助协会主任托本.威宁(Torben Venning)表示:“家长看着自己的子女长大,可孩子接受的教育甚至比自己在印尼接受过的还要少。对任何做父母的而言,看着自己的孩子接受的教育比他们自己仅有的几年还短——这将是一个悲剧。”

威宁先生的组织正与沙巴州的各种植园经营者合作,计划创建100所左右的学校,为约9000名儿童提供基础教育。除了马来西亚的学校课程以外,这些学校还开设印尼的课程,希望日后,学生可以在他们本国接受中学教育或高等教育。

联合国儿童基金会正在支持婆罗洲儿童援助协会的工作,并且与马来西亚的棕榈油可持续发展圆桌会议(RSPO)建立合作关系,从商业和人道主义的角度说服整个地区具有区域优势的其他企业效仿这些行动。

这项工作体现了联合国儿童基金会敦促各企业参与倡导以儿童为重点的企业社会责任(CSR)方法。联合国儿童基金会正在协助企业将儿童权利纳入到实践运营中,并在最近颁布了首部全面的关于企业如何尊重和维护儿童权利的指导原则,即《儿童权利和商业原则》。

基本人权

联合国儿童基金会驻马来西亚副代表维克多.卡鲁南(Victor Karunan)表示:“企业有必要知道,他们在为家庭提供就业机会的同时……也要对那些家庭和那些家庭的子女负责。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
在马来西亚拉哈达图托芒贡,14岁的奥格斯蒂亚.费莉西蒂 (Augustina Felicity) 在协成种植园河园区的课堂上。她的母亲是种植园的领班。

众多管理者逐渐产生了这样的信念,他们开始看到为其工人的子女提供教育所带来的益处。

“为孩子提供教育是非常重要的。这是一个基本人权,”托芒贡的协成种植园河园区总经理丹尼尔.罗(Daniel Lo)表示:“并且它也能稳定员工。我希望其他种植园企业效仿,为其工人的子女提供基础教育。”

对拉斐尔女士而言,种植园内的学校为她女儿提供了一个重要的机会。

“我的愿望就是女儿可以继续学业。只要我能工作,能供她上学,我会竭尽全力。”拉斐尔表示,“我们希望继续在这里工作,并希望公司为孩子们提供求知的场所。请帮助我们实现这些愿望,让孩子们在学习领域充分发挥潜力。”

 


 

 

搜索

Malaysia

Helping children of Malaysia’s plantation workers get a quality education

By Steve Nettleton

LAHAD DATU, Malaysia, 12 March 2012 – Under the vast oil palm canopy of the Hap Seng plantation, on the eastern edge of Malaysian Borneo, Maria Rafael hacks away dead branches with her machete while supervising the progress of several other female migrant workers.

UNICEF correspondent Steve Nettleton reports on UNICEF-supported efforts to ensure that the children of Malaysian plantation workers get a quality education. Photo © UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram

 

Ms. Rafael left her hometown in Indonesia nearly 30 years ago to seek a better living on the plantations in Malaysia’s Sabah state. While the work has been tough, Rafael says her biggest concern today is the future of her 14-year-old daughter, Augustina Felicity, who has no birth certificate. Without documentation, her daughter is not eligible to attend regular Malaysian schools.

“We were very concerned about this because we knew that to enroll in school you needed a birth registration,” said Ms. Rafael. “We were very worried. We could not go back to Indonesia because we did not have enough money. We were resigned and left it to fate.”

Fate has given her a chance. Her daughter now attends a special school built on the plantation with the support of the plantation’s management and the Borneo Child Aid Society. But many others are not so fortunate.

Futureless without education

There are many children like Augustina Felicity, living on the plantations in Sabah, most with little or no access to education.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
Children of plantation workers attend class at the Hap Seng Plantation River Estates in Tomanggong, Lahad Datu, Malaysia.

With no classes to attend, many of these children start helping their parents on the plantation – in effect becoming child labourers without even the rudimentary educations their parents had.

“They see their children growing up with possibly even less education than they came with from Indonesia, and that would be a tragic thing for any parent to see – their children growing up without even the few years of schooling that they have had themselves,” said Borneo Child Aid Society Director Torben Venning.

Mr. Venning’s organization is working with plantation owners across Sabah to set up some 100 schools, providing a basic education to about 9,000 children. In addition to the Malaysian school curriculum, the schools also teach the Indonesian syllabus so that students can later enroll in secondary or higher education in their home country.

UNICEF is supporting the Borneo Child Aid Society and is establishing a collaboration with the Roundtable for Sustainable Palm Oil in Malaysia to convince other enterprises across the region of the advantages – both from a business and humanitarian perspective – of doing the same.

This work reflects UNICEF’s approach to engaging businesses in the promotion of child-focused corporate social responsibility (CSR). UNICEF is helping businesses integrate child-rights perspectives into their practices, and has just released ‘Children’s Rights and Business Principles’, the first comprehensive set of principles to guide companies on how to respect and support children’s rights.

A basic human right

“It’s very important for businesses to understand while they are providing employment to the families… that they also have a responsibility to the families and the children who are born of those parents,” said UNICEF Deputy Representative in Malaysia Victor Karunan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
Augustina Felicity,14, attends class at the Hap Seng Plantation River Estates in Tomanggong, Lahad Datu, Malaysia. Her mother is a foreman at the plantation.

That message is gaining ground among a number of managers who are starting to see the benefits of offering schooling to their workers’ children.

“To provide education to the children is very important. This is a basic human right,” said Daniel Lo, the general manager of the Hap Seng Plantation River Estates in Tomanggong. “And it’s also to stabilize the work force. I hope that other plantation companies will follow the same, to provide a basic education to their children.”

For Ms. Rafael, the plantation’s school has given her daughter a critical opportunity.

“My hope is for my daughter to continue her schooling. As long as I can work and afford it, I will do what I can to realize this,” Rafael said. “We want to continue working here and hope the company will help provide schools for our children. Please help us with this and help our children study to the best of their ability.”


 

 

Global Initiative on Out-of-School Children

New enhanced search