马来西亚

帮助同学的大姐姐

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Tee
马来西亚的安全学校项目在学校举办研讨会和讲习班,17岁的达舍妮.胡萨玛普斯兰从中了解到欺侮的形式多种多样,嘲弄、起外号、恐吓和排斥都属于心理虐待的形式。

提.施奥.伊克报道  

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会汇编了一系列故事,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。

马来西亚吉隆坡,2009年10月26日 – 17岁的达舍妮.胡萨玛普斯兰(Dashenee Huthamaputhiran)是冼都教会女校的一名班长,她为人友善;对违反纪律的学生,达舍妮会提出劝告;对身处困境的同学,她伸出援手。

 点击此处观看视频

当达舍妮看到有同学嘲笑、骚扰或欺侮别人的时候,她会介入并帮助解决问题;或者将情况向老师报告。

合作项目

达舍妮的这些做法是在由联合国儿童基金会与马来西亚教育部及马来西亚精英大学合作组织的安全学校项目中学到的。

达舍妮说:“我在反欺侮项目中收获最大的一件事,就是了解到学生中的欺侮方式有很多种。比如,我以前从不知道给人起绰号也是一种欺侮形式。”

作为班长,达舍妮学以致用,她用从项目中学到的知识帮助其他同学。

“网络暴力”盛行

欺侮不仅包括身体虐待,也包括不同形式的心理虐待,如嘲弄、恐吓和排斥等。

今天,随着越来越多的年轻人通过移动电话和互联网进行交流和娱乐,高科技也为“网络暴力”提供了新的途径。

通过博客、聊天室、文件共享程序、社会化网站和手机短信等常用渠道,儿童和青少年有可能受到威胁、被排除在某些活动之外或对误导性信息及他们的照片被发布到网上而感到被侮辱。

据马来西亚媒体报道,“网络暴力”现象在这里的儿童和青少年中很普遍。 不过,由于认识到这个问题的严重性的人还很少,所以大部分的“网络暴力”案例可能还没有被曝光。

安全的学习环境

安全学校项目旨在防止学习环境中暴力和虐待事件、尤其是学生之间的欺侮行为的发生。通过参加学校举办的研讨会和讲习班,达舍妮和她的同学们现在有能力应对欺侮问题,并防止这一问题的恶化。

联合国儿童基金会驻马来西亚代表和驻文莱特别代表尤素弗.奥马尔(Youssouf Oomar)说:“享有一个安全的学习环境是每个儿童的权利。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Tee
随着越来越多的年轻人通过移动电话和互联网进行交流和娱乐,科技也为“网络暴力”提供了新的途径。马来西亚的安全学校项目旨在保护所有儿童免遭虐待的权利,并确保科技的安全使用。

接着,他说:“要建立一个安全的学习环境,解决欺侮问题是很重要的。联合国儿童基金会正与教育部和马来西亚精英大学密切合作,致力于解决这一问题。我们希望每位儿童和教师都能掌握适当的方法,预防和应对欺侮问题的发生。”

有能力帮助别人

随着对欺侮问题的深入了解,达舍妮已能够使用同伴对同伴的指导技巧,帮助同校的一名14岁女生。这名女生在流行的社交网站上受到“网络暴力”的伤害。达舍妮开导她并鼓励她向学校的辅导员寻求帮助。

达舍妮说:“我把学校里的每位同学都当作是自己的姐妹,我希望尽我所能帮助她们。”

在《儿童权利公约》的指导下,联合国儿童基金会与马来西亚及世界各地的合作伙伴共同努力,确保每个儿童——每位学生都可以生活在没有恐惧和暴力的环境之中。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年9月29日:由联合国儿童基金会与马来西亚教育部及马来西亚精英大学合作组织的安全学校项目,教孩子们如何应对遭受的欺侮。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Malaysia

A ‘big sister’ helps students cope with bullying in Malaysia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Tee
At seminars and workshops organized by her high school as part of the Safe Schools Programme in Malaysia, Dashenee Huthamaputhiran, 17, learned that bullying can take many forms, including psychological abuse such as teasing, name-calling, intimidation and exclusion.
By Tee Shiao Eek  

In the run-up to the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child – a landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about progress made and challenges that remain. Here is one of those stories.

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia, 26 October 2009 – As Head Prefect, Dashenee Huthamaputhiran, 17, is a friendly face around Convent Sentul High School, offering advice to students who break school rules or lending a helping hand to those in trouble.

VIDEO: Watch now

If she spots any students teasing, harassing or bullying each other, she steps in to help resolve the situation or bring the problem to the attention of her teachers.

Partnership programme
These are among the skills that Dashenee learned through the Safe Schools Programme, which is supported by UNICEF in partnership with Malaysia’s Ministry of Education and HELP University College.

“The most important thing that I learned from the bullying programme is the different ways some students used to bully other students. For example, I never knew that calling people names is a form of bullying,” Dashenee admitted.

As a prefect, Dashenee applied what she learned from the programme and used it to help her friends.

‘Cyber-bullying’ is prevalent
Bullying goes beyond physical abuse; it can also take the form of psychological abuse, including teasing, intimidation and exclusion.

Today, technology has created new opportunities for bullying, as more young people depend on mobile phones and the Internet for communication and entertainment.

Through commonly used channels such as blogs, chat rooms, file-sharing applications, social networking sites and mobile phone messages, children and young people can be threatened, excluded from activities or humiliated by having misleading messages or photos about them posted online.

Media reports in Malaysia suggest that such ‘cyber-bullying’ is prevalent among children and young people here. Still, much of it could be under-reported, as few people are aware that it is a serious problem.

A safe environment for students
The Safe Schools Programme aims to prevent the occurrence of violence and abuse – especially bullying among students – in the learning environment. Through seminars and workshops organized at their school, Dashenee and her schoolmates have been empowered to cope with bullying, and to prevent it from going too far.

“A safe learning place is every child’s right,” said UNICEF Representative in Malaysia and Special Representative to Brunei Youssouf Oomar.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Tee
Technology has provided new opportunities for ‘cyber-bullying’, as more young people depend on mobile phones and the Internet for communication and entertainment. The Safe Schools Programme in Malaysia aims to ensure every child’s right to be protected from abuse and to use technology safely.

“One of the ways to make the learning place safe is by addressing the issue of bullying,” he added. “UNICEF is committed to addressing this, working in close collaboration with the Ministry of Education and HELP University College, because we want to make sure that children and teachers are properly equipped to address and prevent bullying.”

The Safe Schools initiative also includes a teachers’ manual and training activities to equip teachers with intervention skills to manage bullying among students.

Empowered to help
With more knowledge about bullying, Dashenee has been able to help a 14-year-old girl at school who is a victim of cyber-bullying through a popular social networking site. Using her peer-to-peer coaching skills, she intervened and encouraged the girl to seek help from the school counsellor.

“I treat every student in this school as my sister, and I try to help them in any way I can,” said Dashenee.

Guided by the Convention on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF works with its partners in Malaysia and around the world to ensure that every child – and every student – can live free of fear and violence.


 

 

Video

29 September 2009: UNICEF’s Tee Shiao Eek reports on how Malaysian schoolchildren are learning to help their peers cope with bullying.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search