马拉维

联合国儿童基金会执行主任聚焦马拉维的社会现金转移方案

保护最弱势家庭

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malawi /2010/Chagara
联合国儿童基金会执行主任莱克与17岁的克莱门蒂娜.斯利亚柯及其11岁的弟弟弗兰克交谈,他们来自一个以儿童为户主的家庭,在马拉维这样的家庭可受益于社会现金转移方案。

维克多.奇尼亚马和维维安.肖报道

马拉维姆钦济,2010年10月28日- 联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克最近结束了对马拉维为期两天的访问,在那里他强调指出,一个帮助最贫穷家庭的最新方式 - 现金转移方案正在实施,在帮助增加就学率的同时,也可阻止世代贫穷的恶性循环。

通过这种社会保护方案,有不能工作的成年人的家庭,每月可领取津贴以满足基本生活需求。

雷克先生说道,他对在马拉维遇到的祖母和孤儿们自理生活的能力留下了深刻的印象,并强调了现金转移在他们日常生活中的重要性。

“这些祖母们不仅能为他们的孙辈们购买食物、衣服、肥皂和药品,也能让孩子们继续上学,”他在马拉维首都利隆圭举行的一次记者招待会上说道。“以这些方式,马拉维正努力帮助国家中最需要得到帮助的公民们,并通过这种途径,为全国人民建立一个更美好的未来。我们要巩固这一进展,我相信通过共同的努力,我们能做到。”

关怀最弱势群体

访问期间,雷克先生走访了68岁的卢西亚.潘亚尼,自其女儿于2008年去世后,卢西亚就一直带着三个小孙儿过日子。

潘亚尼女士每月可从社会现金转移方案中得到2,000马拉维克瓦查的月津贴(约13美元)。有了这笔钱,她可为她的孙儿们购买生活必需品。而且也能让孙儿们在小学读书。为了贴补收入,潘亚尼女士还在农场种植了1.5英亩的玉米地。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malawi /2010/Chagara
执行主任安东尼.莱克与68岁的寡妇卢西亚.潘亚尼交谈,她是马拉维姆钦济社会现金转移方案的受益者。

马拉维的贫困现象非常普遍。近四分之三的人口生活在每天1.25美元的国际贫困线以下。其中受影响最大的是儿童,包括大约110万名孤儿。这些儿童的大多数不是发育不良就是严重营养不良,这样,他们比其他儿童更不容易完成学业。此外,缺乏家庭照顾和支持的情况使他们更容易受到暴力、性虐待、强迫劳动和拐卖的伤害。

发展,而不是施舍

2006年马拉维的社会现金转移方案作为一个试点项目于姆钦济区开始,至今已扩展至其他六个地区。迄今为止,已扩展到28,000户家庭的106,000人口,其中包括68,000名儿童。

每笔资助金额取决于家庭的大小,而且对每一个上学的儿童还有额外的资助。领取资助的家庭属最贫穷的,而且家中没有能够工作的成员。通常,这些家庭的户主为老人、儿童或长期病患者或残疾人士。

“很显然,这不是施舍,而是发展,”雷克先生说道。“该方案的受益人是那些不能工作和赚钱的,因为他们要么年纪太大、太小或身患重病。”

实现发展目标

雷克先生还指出,尽管马拉维在减少五岁以下儿童死亡率方面有所进展,剩下最大的挑战是降低新生儿和产妇在可预防疾病方面的死亡。

“即使我们实现了降低三分之二五岁以下儿童的死亡,儿童仍然在死亡,”他说道。“每一个死亡的儿童的生命都是宝贵的。我们必须避免这些不必要的死亡。”

马拉维社会现金转移方案的主要捐助者包括全球基金(540万美元),联合国儿童基金会(800万美元),爱尔兰政府(85万欧元)和德国政府(已承诺了1,300万欧元的捐款)。


 

 

搜索

Malawi

UNICEF Executive Director spotlights Malawi's social cash-transfer programme

Protection for the most vulnerable households

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malawi /2010/Chagara
UNICEF Executive Director Lake talks to Clementina Siliyako, 17, and her brother Frank, 11, members of a child-headed household that is benefiting from the social cash-transfer programme in Malawi.

By Victor Chinyama and Vivian Siu

MCHINJI, Malawi, 28 October 2010 – UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake recently concluded a two-day visit to Malawi, where he highlighted a cash-transfer programme as an innovative way to help the poorest households – while simultaneously increasing school attendance – in order to end the cycle of poverty for future generations.

Through this social protection programme, families whose adult members cannot work receive a monthly stipend to take care of their basic needs.

Mr. Lake said he was impressed by the resilience of the Malawian grandmothers and orphans he met, and stressed the importance of cash transfers in their daily lives.

“These grandmothers are not only able to buy food, clothes, soap and medicine for their grandchildren, they are also able to keep them in school,” he said at a press conference in Malawi’s capital, Lilongwe. “In all these ways, Malawi is working to help her neediest citizens, and in doing so, helping to build a stronger future for all of her people. We need to build on this progress, and I am confident that working together, we will.”

Reaching the most vulnerable

During his visit, Mr. Lake visited Lucia Penyani, 68, who has been raising her three young grandchildren since the death of her daughter in 2008.

Ms. Penyani receives a monthly grant of 2,000 Malawi kwacha (about $13) from the social cash-transfer programme. With this money, she is able to buy basic necessities for her grandchildren. She has also been able to keep them in primary school. To supplement her income, Ms. Penyani grows maize on a 1.5-acre farm.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malawi /2010/Chagara
Executive Director Anthony Lake talks to Lucia Penyani, 68, a widow and beneficiary of the social cash-transfer scheme in Mchinji, Malawi.

Poverty is widespread in Malawi. Nearly three-quarters of its population lives below the international poverty line of $1.25 per day. Among the most affected are the children, including some 1.1 million orphans. Many of these children are either stunted or severely malnourished; as a result, they are less than other children likely to finish school. In addition, the absence of familial care and support makes them vulnerable to violence, sexual abuse, forced labour and trafficking.

Development, not charity

Malawi’s social cash-transfer programme began as a pilot project in Mchinji district in 2006 and has since been extended to six other districts. To date, it has reached 28,000 households comprising 106,000 individuals, including 68,000 children.

The amount of each grant depends on family size, and there is additional funding for every child who attends school. The recipient households are considered to be the poorest of the poor and do not have family members who are able to work. Typically, these families are headed by the elderly, children or the chronically ill or disabled.

“It is obvious that this is not charity, it is development,” said Mr. Lake. “The people who are benefiting from this are unable to work and make money because they are either too old, too young or too sick.”

Achieving development goals

Mr. Lake also noted that while Malawi has made progress in reducing mortality among children under the age of five, the biggest remaining challenge is to reduce newborn and maternal deaths from preventable disease.

“Even if we achieve the goal of reducing under-five deaths by two-thirds, children will still be dying,” he said. “Every child who dies is one child too many. We have to prevent these unnecessary deaths.”

Key donors to Malawi’s social cash-transfer programme include the Global Fund ($5.4 million), UNICEF ($8 million), the Irish Government (€850,000) and the German Government (which has pledged a contribution of €13 million).


 

 

New enhanced search