吉尔吉斯斯坦

冲突过后,家庭访问帮助确保吉尔吉斯斯坦家庭获得社会援助

罗布.麦克布赖德报道

吉尔吉斯斯坦奥什,2010年7月23日 - 从外面来看,柯兹巴娃家的复合墙看起来没有损坏,似乎她们家并不像邻居的房屋那样遭到了破坏,而是完好无损的。但是在大门的一边,曾经的家用车外壳已经被烧坏了,再往里看,曾经的家也都成了废墟。

视频:2010年7月2日 - 联合国儿童基金会记者罗布.麦克布莱德报道吉尔吉斯斯坦奥什通过家庭慰问的方式来了解受暴力冲突影响的儿童和家庭的需求。

 

现在整个大家族都挤在搭建在院子里的一张帐篷里,他们还在慢慢重建生活。

柯兹巴娃一家三代人----家中最年长的奶奶莎尔坎.柯兹巴娃已经83岁了,她的媳妇谷娜拉带着6个孩子一起站在院子里迎接吉尔吉斯斯坦政府社会保护官员和联合国儿童基金会的工作人员。家庭访问是为了更好地了解受暴力冲突影响的家庭状况,从而为他们提供更周到的社会援助。

一名工作人员坐在院子里的树荫下,掏出笔和纸,开始向家庭了解情况,并评估家庭的需要。

帮助受影响最大的家庭

自六月中旬的暴力事件发生以来,联合国儿童基金会及其当地的合作伙伴发现像柯兹巴娃这样的家庭不敢到政府部门登记来寻求援助。有些家庭的所有证件材料都在冲突中被烧毁或掠夺了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1352/Estey
吉尔吉斯斯坦南部奥什市福尔卡地区,11岁的特米尔别克和6岁的妹妹阿克布梅克站在家门外,他们家的房子在最近发生的暴力冲突中被烧毁。

无论哪种方式,家庭访问旨在帮助最需要帮助的家庭。

社会保障部门的一名工作人员萨谷伊.玛姆百托娃(Saguyn Mambyetova)说:“自冲突发生以来,就有越来越多的人来到社会保障部门,因此我们在寻求各种方法来让这些家庭能够更快的参与到社会援助项目中来。”

社会保障部部长布鲁尔.莎什诺娃(Burul Sharshenova)从首都比什凯克赶回支持当地工作人员的工作,她说:“我们已经开始重新考虑国家福利方面的立法,希望能够提高效率,更快更好地帮助困难家庭。”

奥什市的迫切需求

暴力冲突使数千家庭流离失所,生活和家园完全遭到破坏,因此吉尔吉斯斯坦奥什市及其相邻地区需要获得紧急援助。几乎没有家庭逃过这场浩劫。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1352/Estey
吉尔吉斯斯坦南部奥什市福尔卡地区,特米尔别克坐在家门外的帐篷里。现在,他的吉尔吉斯民族大家庭全都住在搭建在烧毁的房屋院子中的帐篷里。

萨伊巴就是典型的例子。作为奥什社会保障部的一名高级工作人员,她将根据家庭中孩子的数量以及收入来源和资产,来评估家庭的需要。但是她的家也倒在了一片废墟中。

从房子的大小和残存的家具和物品来看,萨伊巴的家应该很大也很舒适。花了一辈子而辛苦建造的家在一夜之间就化为废墟。她看到曾经的家已成了这般模样,不禁潸然泪下,她的同事在一旁安慰她。

联合国儿童基金会社会政策官员谷萨那.图鲁斯别科娃(Gulsana Turusbekova)说:“她也是受害者,她的家庭也应该接受评估,看是否能得到社会援助。”

令人担忧的教育问题

虽然联合国儿童基金会及其当地的合作伙伴努力帮助家庭重建,但是还有很多问题令人担忧。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1345/Estey
吉尔吉斯斯坦南部奥什市,一名政府社工萨伊巴在乌兹别克族飞地中家园的废墟旁哭泣。

例如,正如很多家庭不愿意向政府机构寻求援助一样,他们也可能不愿意让孩子上学。由于新学年将于9月1日开学,因此这将会是个大问题。

谷娜拉.柯兹巴娃回到院子里和孩子们待在一起,她说:“学校开学时,如果一切能恢复正常,我就让孩子们去上学。但是重建的道路很长,所以我很担心。”

联合国儿童基金会深知学校教育在帮助儿童恢复方面发挥的重要作用,决心要为所有吉尔吉斯斯坦儿童在开学第一天回到校园创造条件。值得欣慰的是,社区提供的援助将努力惠及所有需要帮助的人,这将给家庭带来稳定感,从而使他们能够安心让孩子继续上学。   


 

 

搜索

Kyrgyzstan

In the wake of violence, home visits ensure social assistance for families in Kyrgyzstan

By Rob McBride

OSH, Kyrgyzstan, 23 July 2010 – From the outside, the walled compound of the Kozybaeva household looks relatively undamaged, raising hopes that unlike most of the neighbouring houses, this one might be intact. But just beyond the gate is the burnt-out shell of what used to be the family car. And beyond that are the ruins of what was once the family home.

VIDEO: 2 July 2010 - UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on home visits to assess the needs of children and families affected by recent violence in Osh, Kyrgyzstan.

 

A solitary tent in the courtyard is shared by the entire multi-generational family as they try to rebuild their lives.

Three generations of Kozybaevas – including Shaarkan Kozybaeva, 83, the matriarch of the household, and daughter-in-law Gulnara, accompanied by some of her six children – gathered at the compound recently to greet Kyrgyz Government Social Protection Officers and UNICEF staff. The home visit was part of an effort to better assess the status of families affected by the recent ethnic clashes here – and to give them greater access to social assistance.

Sitting down under the shade of a tree in the courtyard, a case worker took out a pen and notepad, and began asking questions to assess the family’s need for benefits.

Help for worst affected families

Since the terrible events that tore apart this community in the middle of June, UNICEF and its local partners have discovered that families such as the Kozybaevas are sometimes too afraid to venture out to government offices – as they might have done previously – to register for social assistance. And some families have lost all their paperwork in the fires and looting that destroyed so many homes.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1352/Estey
Temirbek, 11, and his sister Akbermek, 6, stand outside their burnt-out home in Furkat district, located in Osh city, southern Kyrgyzstan. The house was destroyed during the recent conflict.

Either way, home visits aim to help families who need help the most.

“Since the emergency started, more and more people are coming to the Social Protection Department,” said Saguyn Mambyetova, a case worker. “So we are looking at ways of speeding up the process of enrolling such families in the social assistance programme.”

Burul Sharshenova, who heads the State Department of Social Protection, has travelled from the capital, Bishkek, to support the work of local colleagues. “We have started to review current legislation for state benefits with a view to simplifying and accelerating the system to help affected families,” she said.

Pressing need throughout Osh

With thousands of families displaced by the violence, their livelihoods and homes destroyed, there is a pressing need for assistance throughout the city of Osh and in neighbouring communities in southern Kyrgyzstan. Very few families here completely escaped the turmoil.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1352/Estey
Temirbek sits in a tent outside his burnt-out home in Furkat district, Osh, Kyrgyzstan. His large, ethnic Kyrgyz family now shares the tent in the courtyard of their destroyed house.

Sahiba is evidence of that. As a senior case worker with the Social Protection Department in Osh, it will be her job to assess households’ needs, based on the number of children they have and their sources of income and assets. But her home, too, lies in ruins.

Judging by its size and the remnants of furniture and possessions left behind, Sahiba’s house was obviously large and comfortable. It was the kind of place that takes a lifetime of struggle to put together – but just one night to wreck. On a visit to see the remains, she was in tears within moments of entering and had to be consoled by her colleagues.

“Now she’s also victim,” said UNICEF Social Policy Officer Gulsana Turusbekova, “and her family should be assessed itself to see if she is now entitled.”

Concerns about education

As UNICEF and its local partners work at many levels to help families recover, other concerns are emerging, as well.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1345/Estey
Sahiba, a government social worker, cries in the ruins of her home in an ethnic Uzbek enclave in the southern Kyrgyz city of Osh.

For example, just as some people are afraid to leave home and approach government offices for assistance, they may also be reluctant to let their children attend school. With the new school year due to start on 1 September, this is a major issue.

“When school re-starts, if things are back to normal, then I’ll let them go,” said Gulnara Kozybaeva, back in the courtyard with her children. “But it’s a long way away, so obviously I’m concerned.”

Knowing the important role that regular schooling plays in helping children recover from emergencies, UNICEF is determined that conditions should allow for all children to attend the first day of classes in Kyrgyzstan. The hope is that the greater availability of social assistance in the community will contribute to a sense of stability and, in turn, allow families to keep their children in school.


 

 

New enhanced search