日本

儿童保护进展报告在东京发布 亲善大使陈美龄回忆儿童保护工作进展

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tokyo/2009/Akifoto
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼与日本亲善大使陈美龄在联合国儿童基金会驻东京的日本国家委员会共同发布了《儿童保护进展》报告。

日本东京,2009年10月6日 – 今天,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼在联合国儿童基金会日本亲善大使陈美龄的陪同下,在联合国儿童基金会日本国家委员会驻东京办事处举办的新闻发布会上发布了《儿童保护进展报告》。

这份报告指出,虽然在减少对儿童权利的侵害方面已经取得了一定的进展,但人们对于儿童所受虐待的程度仍然知之甚少,暴力和剥削仍是全球许多儿童生活中的残酷现实。

执行主任维尼曼女士强调说这份报告的发布正值《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之前的第六周。她说:“儿童持续遭受伤害和虐待的证据应激励全球做出更大努力来保障世界各地所有儿童的权利。”

儿童需要保护

陈女士回忆到自从她于1998年被指派为联合国儿童基金会亲善大使以来,她在实地探访的过程中曾遇到很多需要帮助的儿童。

例如,她回想起她曾经探访了三位来自泰国和缅甸的年幼的儿童性工作者。当她看到柬埔寨边界线上的大批人潮,听到儿童可以自由进出国界而不需要任何身份证明文件时,她明白了人贩子贩卖人口是何等的容易。

在菲律宾,陈女士探访了儿童性工作者和街头流浪儿。在肯尼亚,她见到了因与艾滋病相关的歧视而被村民们抛弃的孤儿。她说这些儿童通常别无选择,只好在城市里出卖自己的肉体。

有效的措施

陈女士还强调了性暴力受害者所遭受的耻辱,包括一些女孩的家人不愿意让她们谈论她们的悲惨遭遇,担心一旦真相大白,她们将永远无法嫁人。

陈女士说:“我们必须替这些不想谈论自己苦痛的儿童们说话,我们必须保护他们。当提到《儿童保护进展报告》报告时,她还补充说:“这份报告中的数据是一个重要的工具,它可以说服人们采取有效的措施确保儿童受保护的权利不被侵犯。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年10月5日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员艾米.贝内特报道《儿童保护进展报告》中的结论和采取行动的呼吁。
 视频  

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Japan

Ann M. Veneman and Agnes Chan launch ‘Progress for Children’ in Tokyo

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tokyo/2009/Akifoto
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman releases ‘Progress for Children’ report with Japan Goodwill Ambassador Agnes Chan at the Japan Committee for UNICEF in Tokyo.

TOKYO, Japan, 6 October 2009 – UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, accompanied by UNICEF Japan Goodwill Ambassador Agnes Chan, released ‘Progress for Children: A Report Card on Child Protection’ at a press conference held at the Tokyo office of the Japan Committee for UNICEF today.

While progress is being made in reducing some violations of children’s rights, the report finds that not enough is yet known about the extent of abuses against children. Violence and exploitation remain a harsh reality in the lives of many young people around the world.

Executive Director Veneman noted that the report was being released just six weeks before the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. “The evidence of continuing harm and abuse must inspire the world to greater effort to guarantee the rights of all children, everywhere,” she said.

Children in need of protection
For her part, Ms. Chan recalled meeting many children in need of protection during the field visits she has made since her appointment as a UNICEF Ambassador in 1998.

For example, she remembered a visit with three very young child sex workers from Thailand and Myanmar. When she saw a massive flow of people at the border crossing in Cambodia, and heard that children could come and go freely without proper identification papers, she understood how easy it was for traffickers to do business.

In the Philippines, Ms. Chan met child sex workers and street children. In Kenya, she met orphans who were abandoned by villagers due to the stigma associated with HIV. These children often had no other choice but to sell themselves in the cities, she said.

Effective measures
Ms. Chan noted, as well, the stigma attached to victims of sexual violence – including girls whose families were reluctant to let her speak with them, fearing that the girls would never be able to marry if the truth about their tragic experiences came out.

“We have to become the voice of such children who do not talk about their suffering, and we must protect them,” said Ms. Chan. Referring to ‘Progress for Children’, she added: “The data in this report is an important tool to convince people to take effective measures against the violation of children’s right for protection.”


 

 

Video

5 October 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the findings and the call to action in ‘Progress for Children: A Report Card on Child Protection’.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search