儿童营养问题

美国有线电视新闻网(CNN)及联合国儿童基金会共同关注儿童发育迟缓问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/MLIA2012-00029/Dicko
在马里杰内,12个月大的科纳特(Konate)患有发育迟缓和严重营养不良。发育迟缓会对身体造成无法挽回的伤害。

美国纽约,2012年10月16日 —— CNN已与联合国儿童基金会合作,呼吁国际社会共同关注全球性的发育迟缓问题(儿童身材矮小问题)。世界各地约有1.65亿五岁以下儿童患有发育迟缓,其中逾90%的儿童生活在非洲和亚洲。

发育迟缓是一个没有受到足够关注的悲剧 —— 这是儿童出生后,最初一千天里因慢性营养不良而导致的后果。它对儿童发展所造成的伤害是无法挽回的。发肓迟缓的儿童不可能像发肓良好的儿童一样学习和工作。

应对营养不良问题

可导致发育迟缓的营养不良是可以避免的,预防营养不良也是符合成本效益的。一流的儿童发展专家们已经将为幼儿提供微量营养素列为最具成本效益的方式,以促进全球福利。

向世界最贫困社区出生后一千天内的幼儿提干预救生包是一项全球性工作,联合国儿童基金会是这项工作的其中一个领导者。这些干预措施包括:推广母乳喂养和正确的婴幼儿喂养方法;补充和强化微量营养素;治疗严重急性营养不良;及社会对营养计划的支持。

如果获得足够的营养,获得推荐的正确喂养、护理和健康服务,生长在健康的环境中,全世界的儿童在其身高潜力方面具有相同的能力。通过提高人们对这一问题的认识,CNN正在帮助实现这一目标。

CNN和联合国儿童基金会携手提高公众意识

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0051/Turnley
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使大卫.贝克汉姆抱着出生两天的玛丽亚图(Mariatsu)。在塞拉利昂的漫格里尔(Mangorea)镇,他同社区卫生工作者一起走访当地家庭。通过应对营养不良问题可以帮助解决可能造成的发育迟缓。

CNN已与联合国儿童基金会合作,在CNN.com上开始讲述发育迟缓的故事。世界级足球运动员、联合国儿童基金会亲善大使 大卫.贝克汉姆 和国际知名女演员、联合国儿童基金会亲善大使 米亚.法罗 的文章一直倍受关注。CNN的玛丽卡.卡普尔(Mallika Kapur)已经报道了印度国家与幼儿发肓迟缓的斗争。

CNN也已经访问了三个存在儿童发育迟缓问题的国家,正在CNN国际台(CNN International)播放相关内容,通过电视向公众展现患有营养迟缓的母亲和儿童的状况。

在阿富汗报道的故事 是在多年来饱受战争创伤的国家背景下展开的。

在肯尼亚,营养迟缓已经对儿童的发展造成深远的负面影响。格莱美奖得主、联合国儿童基金会亲善大使安琪莉可.基德尤(Angelique Kidjo)参观了肯尼亚北部桑布鲁(Samburu),并表达了她对此问题的担忧。

CNN也已经访问印度,报道了该国的发育迟缓危机。

克里斯蒂安.阿曼普尔(Christiane Amanpour)在其CNN节目中访问基德尤女士和联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克,以引起人们对这一问题的关注。

同时,CNN已经在其网站上贴出其他相关故事的链接,涉及萨赫勒地区、毛里塔尼亚和也门。

关于联合国儿童基金会在发育迟缓领域所做工作的更多信息:

雷克先生谈论你从未听说过的全球危机:发育迟缓(时代周刊)

雷克先生和坦桑尼亚总统贾卡亚.基奎特(Jakaya Kikwete)谈论改善儿童饮食可以如何帮助儿童发肓良好(英国广播公司) 

雷克先生:在营养安全方面的投资是可持续发展的关键

全球会议讨论发育迟缓造成的长远负面影响


 

 

搜索

Nutrition

CNN and UNICEF raise awareness of the silent emergency of child stunting

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/MLIA2012-00029/Dicko
Konate, 12 months old, in Djenne, Mali, suffers from stunted growth and severe malnutrition. Damage from stunting is irreversible.

New York, United States of America, 16 October 2012 – CNN has partnered with UNICEF to put the international spotlight on the global crisis of stunting, or low height for age in children. About 165 million children under the age of 5 suffer from stunting, with more than 90 per cent of them living in Africa and Asia. 

Stunting is a hidden tragedy – the outcome of chronic nutritional deficiency during the first 1,000 days of a child’s life. The damage it causes to a child’s development is irreversible. That child will never learn, nor earn, as much as she or he could have, if properly nourished in early life.

Tackling undernutrition

Tackling the problem of undernutrition, which leads to stunting, is achievable and cost effective. Leading development experts have ranked providing young children with micronutrients as the most cost-effective way to advance global welfare.

UNICEF is a leader in a global effort to deliver a life-saving package of interventions to the world’s poorest communities during the critical 1,000-day period. These interventions include: promoting breastfeeding and good infant and child feeding practices; micronutrient supplementation and fortification; treatment of severe acute malnutrition; and community support for nutrition programming.

Children worldwide have the same capacity to reach their height potential, if they receive adequate nutrition, their caregivers follow recommended feeding, care and health practices and they grow up in healthy environments. By raising awareness of this problem, CNN is helping to make this happen.

CNN and UNICEF, partners in awareness-raising

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0051/Turnley
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador David Beckham holds two-day-old Mariatsu. He is accompanying community health workers on a home visit, in the town of Mangorea in Sierra Leone.Tackling the undernutrition that leads to stunting is achievable.

CNN has worked with UNICEF to tell the story of stunting, starting with CNN.com, where essays by world-class footballer and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador David Beckham and internationally acclaimed actress and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow have been highlighted. CNN’s Mallika Kapur has reported on an Indian state’s battle to build up its babies.

CNN has also visited three countries in which stunting is a problem and is airing the pieces on CNN International, bringing the problem to life by showing mothers and children who are suffering from undernutrition.

In Afghanistan, the story is told in the context of a country ravaged by many years of war.

In Kenya, undernutrition has had profound effects on child development. Grammy Award winner and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Angelique Kidjo has visited Samburu, in northern Kenya, and expressed her concerns about the problem.

CNN has also traveled to India to report on the stunting epidemic in that country.

Christiane Amanpour is drawing attention to the issue on her CNN show by interviewing Ms. Kidjo and UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake.

CNN has also posted links to other relevant stories on their website, from the Sahel, Mauritania and Yemen.

More about UNICEF’s work in the area of stunting:

Mr. Lake on The global crisis you’ve never heard of: stunting (Time magazine)

Mr. Lake and President of the United Republic of Tanzania Jakaya Kikwete on How improving children's diets can aid development (BBC) 

Mr. Lake, Investing in nutrition security is key to sustainable development

Global Meeting on Long-term Consequences of Stunting


 

 

New enhanced search