儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

成员国签署国际议定书,共同努力保护儿童权利

《儿童权利公约》的任择议定书

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0154/Pirozzi
在约旦河西岸隔离墙附近的一座城镇里,联合国救济和工程处开办的Qabatya女子学校的一名学生在小组活动上画画。

妮娜.马尔蒂耐克报道

美国纽约,2010年9月29日–在第65届联合国大会的条约活动上,七个新的国家签署或批准了《儿童权利公约》的任择议定书,进一步在全球范围内巩固了儿童的权利。

这个年度性的条约活动为成员国提供了一个特殊的机会,从而恪守两份《儿童权利公约》的任择议定书:《关于儿童卷入武装冲突问题的任择议定书》(OPAC)和《关于买卖儿童、儿童卖淫和儿童色情制品问题的任择议定书》(OPSC)

两年实现普遍批准

四个新的成员国在活动上加入了《关于儿童卷入武装冲突问题的任择议定书》。加蓬共和国和马拉维共和国批准了任择议定书、伊朗伊斯兰共和国、埃塞俄比亚和中非共和国签署了议定书。尼日利亚和马耳他批准了《关于买卖儿童、儿童卖淫和儿童色情制品问题的任择议定书》,中非共和国签署了议定书。这使得遵守这份任择议定书的成员国总数上升到141个国家。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Weissleder
联合国秘书长负责暴力侵害儿童问题的特别代表玛尔塔.桑托斯.派斯(Marta Santos Pais)(右)与马耳他的副总理兼外交部长托尼奥-博格博士(H. E. Dr. Tonio– Borg),及马耳他常驻联合国代表兼大使萨维尔.F.博格(Saviour F. Borg)阁下(左)在一起。

参加活动的联合国秘书长负责暴力侵害儿童问题的特别代表玛尔塔.桑托斯.派斯(Marta Santos Pais)说:“这份条约的批准为儿童们带来了希望。它加强了对儿童受害者的保护,并巩固了国际合作,从而消除侵害儿童的罪行不受惩罚的现象。”

2010年5月25日是联合国采纳这两份任择协议书的两周年纪念,当时启动了一个实现全球普遍批准的宣传活动,联合国秘书长也参加了该活动。在负责暴力侵害儿童问题的特别代表、负责儿童与武装冲突问题的特别代表、儿童权利委员会以及联合国儿童基金会和联合国人权事务高级委员会的支持下,这项宣传活动旨在于2012年前促使全球普遍批准这份议定书。

基本权利

全球有数千名男孩和女孩在冲突中与武装组织有牵连。他们中的很多人还遭受到严重的和持续的暴力伤害–作为目击者、直接的受害者,以及被迫的参与者。

暴力对儿童身心的伤害破坏了最基本的人权。暴力的文化和恶性循环对持久的和平与可持续发展也构成了严重的威胁。在过去的15年中,解决这个问题的紧迫性越来越受到国际社会的关注。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-1460/Giacomo Pirozzi
图为菲律宾棉兰老岛一个流离失所难民营里一名儿童画的画。画里的一名拿着武器的士兵站在一个着火的房子里,住在房子里的一家人四处逃散。

《关于儿童卷入武装冲突问题的任择议定书》要求全世界保护儿童不被征召入伍并不受武装冲突的影响,并意识到加入武装部队的儿童被剥夺了他们最基本的权利。对招募儿童的行为进行法律制裁可以保障儿童受害者和儿童目击者的权利。

同样的,《关于买卖儿童、儿童卖淫和儿童色情制品问题的任择议定书》提倡保护儿童,尤其是最弱势的儿童,不受一切形式性剥削的侵害。它促进法制改革,从而给这些侵犯行为判罪并保障儿童受害者的权利。任择议定书还呼吁加强与儿童以及为儿童工作的专业人士的能力,从而预防并处理一切形式的性剥削。

需要政治意愿和社会支持

为了促使这两份任择议定书在2012年前获得全球普遍的批准,剩下的成员国签署、批准和加入议定书以及国际社会的持续支持是十分必要的。

签署和批准这两份任择议定书能够增强道德共识,使人们认识到所有的儿童生活在没有暴力和剥削的环境中是一项基本的人权。如果议定书获得了普遍的批准,将可以建立一个共同的规范性基础,从而指导各国携手同心地预防儿童保护系统中出现任何漏洞并在国内外清除有罪不罚的现象。

联合国儿童基金会儿童保护主任苏珊. 比塞尔(Susan Bissell)博士说:“我们支持这些向前迈出了一步的成员国,它们加强了我们的道德共识,也就是暴力侵害儿童的行为是无法被接受的。我们共同的目标是要确保世界任何一个地方都尊重男孩和女孩们享受童年的权利,在这个童年里他们可以不受干扰地学习知识,没有恐惧地尽情玩耍。”


 

 

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

Signing onto international protocols, Member States join fight to protect child rights

Optional Protocols to the Convention on the Rights of the Child

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0154/Pirozzi
A child draws as part of a group activity at the United Nations Relief and Works Agency School for Girls in Qabatya, a town near the separation wall in the West Bank.

By Nina Martinek

NEW YORK, USA, 29 September 2010 – Seven new countries signed or ratified the Optional Protocols to the Convention on the Rights of the Child during a treaty event at the 65th UN General Assembly, further strengthening the rights of children worldwide.

The annual treaty event represents a unique opportunity for Member States to adhere to the two Optional Protocols to the Convention on the Rights of the Child: the Optional Protocol on the Involvement of Children in Armed Conflict (OPAC) and the Optional Protocol on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography (OPSC).

Two years to universal ratification

Four new Member States joined the OPAC at the event, with the Gabonese Republic and the Republic of Malawi ratifying and the Islamic Republic of Iran, Ethiopia and the Central African Republic signing. The Republic of the Congo acceded to the Optional Protocol. Nigeria and Malta ratified the OPSC while the Central African Republic signed it, bringing the total number of Member States adhering to this Optional Protocol to 141.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Weissleder
Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General on Violence against Children Marta Santos Pais (right) with H. E. Dr. Tonio - Borg, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Malta, and H. E. Mr. Saviour F. Borg Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Malta to the United Nations (left).

“The ratification of this treaty is a message of hope for children,” said Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children Marta Santos Pais, who attended the event. “It strengthens the protection of child victims and consolidates international cooperation to fight impunity for crimes against children.”

On 25 May 2010, the 10th anniversary of the UN’s adoption of the two Optional Protocols, a two-year global campaign for universal ratification was launched with the participation of the UN Secretary-General. The campaign – which is supported by the Special Representative on Violence against Children, the Special Representative for Children and Armed Conflict, the Committee on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF and the UN Office of the High Commissioner on Human Rights – aims to achieve the universal ratification of the Protocols by 2012.

Fundamental rights

Thousands of girls and boys are associated with armed groups in conflicts around the world. Many are exposed to tremendous and sustained violence – as witnesses, as direct victims themselves and as forced participants.

The impact on children’s mental and physical well-being breaches the most fundamental human rights and represents a grave threat to durable peace and sustainable development, as cultures and cycles of violence are perpetuated. The urgency to address this issue has been increasingly recognized by the international community over the past fifteen years.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-1460/Giacomo Pirozzi
A child's drawing, made in a camp for people displaced by the conflict on Mindanao Island, Philippines, depicts an armed soldier in a burning home as a family runs away.

The OPAC, which demands the protection of children from recruitment and the impact of armed conflicts, recognizes that children associated with armed forces are being deprived of their basic rights. Active legal consequences for the recruitment of children are a way to safeguard the rights of child victims and witnesses.

Similarly, the OPSC promotes the protection of children, particularly the most vulnerable, from all forms of sexual exploitation. It promotes legal reform to criminalize these violations and to safeguard the rights of child victims, and calls on the strengthened capacity of professionals working with and for children to prevent and address all forms of sexual exploitation. 

Need for political will and social support

The signature, ratification or accession by the remaining Member States and continued international support is necessary to promote the universal ratification of these two Optional Protocols by 2012.

The signing and ratification of the two Optional Protocols strengthen the moral consensus that it is a basic human right for all children to live free from violence and exploitation. With universal ratification, there will be a shared normative foundation to guide concerted efforts, to prevent any loophole in child protection systems and to fight impunity within and across borders.

“We welcome the Member States that have stepped forward to strengthen a growing moral consensus that violence against children is not acceptable,” said UNICEF Chief Child Protection Dr. Susan Bissell. “Our collective goal is to make certain that the right of boys and girls to enjoy a childhood of learning without disruption and playing without fear is respected in every land.”


 

 

New enhanced search