儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

联合国儿童基金会执行主任呼吁做出新承诺制止招募儿童兵

十一个新国家许诺支持《巴黎承诺》

克里斯.奈尔斯报道

美国纽约,2010年9月28日 – 联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克呼吁各国政府做出新承诺结束在战争中使用儿童兵。

视频:2010年9月27日- 联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克(Anthony Lake)呼吁做出新承诺制止在战争中使用儿童。

在纽约联合国总部举办的一个由法国政府主持的高级别会议上,雷克先生说:“今天,我们在这里重申我们共同做出的承诺,从而保护儿童一项最基本的权利: 做一名儿童。”

十一个国家新签署了《巴黎承诺》,达成了一项旨在结束在战争中使用儿童兵的新的国际协议。全世界所有国家中的一多半现在已经致力于实现这个目标。

视频:2010年9月27日- 联合国儿童基金会受战争影响儿童的倡导者伊斯梅尔.比亚(Ishmael Beah) 讨论为有可能被招募到武装冲突中的儿童提供切实可行的方案是至关重要的。

进展与挑战

在这个高级别会议上,即《巴黎承诺》的第三次部长级后续会议,佛得角、加蓬、格鲁吉亚、冰岛、拉脱维亚、新西兰、沙特阿拉伯、塞尔维亚、韩国、多哥和乌拉圭签署了承诺,将支持国的数量从84个增加到了95个。

但是,强迫儿童卷入武装冲突的做法仍然普遍存在。世界上数百万名儿童正遭受着这种对他们权利的严重侵犯。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2036/Markisz
联合国儿童基金会受战争影响儿童的倡导者伊斯梅尔.比亚(Ishmael Beah)在关于《巴黎承诺》和《涉及武装部队和武装团体的儿童的巴黎原则》的小组讨论会上讲话。他身边是联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克。

在结束使用儿童兵方面已经取得了巨大的进展。然而,虽然联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴仅仅在过去的两年里就已经解救了约两万名儿童(包括约5000名女孩),儿童们对援救的需求仍然很大。

联合国负责儿童和武装冲突问题的特别代表拉迪卡.库马拉斯瓦米(Radhika Coomaraswamy)说武装冲突不断变化的性质越来越构成巨大的挑战。她说:“旷日持久的冲突、跨国绑架、从国内流离失所者和难民营中招兵,并在恐怖主义和反恐怖主义活动中使用儿童是一些新出现的趋势,需要加以解决。”

呼吁支持

联合国儿童基金会受战争影响儿童的倡导者伊斯梅尔.比亚(Ishmael Beah)说在冲突发生后尽早作出回应可以给儿童们提供一个不必参与战争的选择,尤其是因为很多儿童加入武装团体完全是由于经济上的困难。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2030/Markisz
(由左至右)法国人权大使弗朗索瓦.兹梅尔瑞(François Zimeray)和联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克参加了关于结束使用儿童兵的小组讨论。

他说:“在我逃离塞拉利昂的时候,如果我知道有个地方我可以去,而不用在战争中打仗,那么我可能就会去了那个地方。但是我的选择有限。我没有地方可去。”

国际劳工组织分支机构儿童国际计划主任康斯坦斯.托马斯(Constance Thomas)呼吁为从武装冲突中获救的儿童提供长久的、相关的工作机会。她说:“重新恢复经济地位一直以来都是一个重大的挑战。事实上,这是解救和重返社会工作中最薄弱的环节。”

雷克先生说尽早地、持续地、灵活地提供资金是确保通过行动实现《巴黎承诺》的唯一途径。他呼吁主动、慷慨的资助。

他说:“现在是时候完成这项工作了。即使是一小笔资金也能为这些儿童的生活带来巨大的改变,他们迫切地需要我们的帮助。”


 

 

视频

视频: 观看由联合国儿童基金会及巴黎原则指导委员会制作的招募、释放及拯救儿童兵的视频
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

UNICEF Executive Director calls for renewed commitment to end recruitment of child soldiers

Eleven new countries pledge support for 'Paris Commitments'

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 28 September 2010 – UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake has called for an extra commitment from all governments to end the use of children in war.

VIDEO: 27 September 2010 - UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake calls for renewed commitment to ending use of children in war.

 

“We are here today to reaffirm our collective commitment to protect the most fundamental right of a child: To be a child,” said Mr. Lake at a high level conference at United Nations Headquarters in New York, hosted by the French Government.

Eleven nations have newly endorsed the Paris Commitments, which form an international agreement to end the use of children in war. More than half of all nations have now committed themselves to this goal.

VIDEO: 27 September 2010 - UNICEF Advocate for Children Affected by War Ishmael Beah discusses why it's important to provide practical options for children at risk of being recruited into armed conflict.

 

Strides and challenges

At the high-level meeting, known as the third Ministerial follow-up Forum to the Paris Commitments, Cape Verde, Gabon, Georgia, Iceland, Latvia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, South Korea, Togo and Uruguay endorsed the Commitments, raising the number of supporting countries from 84 to 95.

But the practice of forcing children into armed conflict remains widespread. All over the world hundreds of thousands of children are suffering this gross violation of their rights.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2036/Markisz
UNICEF Advocate for Children Affected by War Ishmael Beah speaks at a panel discussion on the Paris Commitments and Paris Principles on Children Associated with Armed Forces or Armed Groups. Beside him is UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake.

Significant progress has been made in ending the use of children in war. But while UNICEF and its partners have released about 20,000 children from this fate in the past two years alone – including some 5,000 girls – the needs remain considerable.

United Nations Special Representative for Children and Armed Conflict Radhika Coomaraswamy said the changing nature of armed conflict is mounting considerable challenges. “Protracted conflicts, cross border abductions, recruitment from IDP and refugee camps and use of children in terrorism and counter terrorism activities are emerging trends that need to be addressed,” she said.

Call for support

UNICEF Advocate for Children Affected by War Ishmael Beah, responding early in a conflict would give children an alternative to going to war, especially as many join armed groups out of dire economic need.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2030/Markisz
(Left to right, foreground) Human Rights Ambassador of France François Zimeray and UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake participate in a panel discussion on ending the use of child soldiers.

“If I had known when I was running from the war in Sierra Leone that there was a place that I could go instead of going to fight in the war I probably would have gone there. But my chances were limited. I had nowhere to go,” he said.

Constance Thomas, Director of the International Programme on Child, a body of the International Labour Organization (ILO), made a plea for long-lasting and relevant job opportunities for children who have been released from armed conflict. “Economic reintegration has been, and remains, a major challenge,” she said. “Indeed it is one of the weakest components of release and reintegration.”

Mr. Lake said that early, sustainable, and flexible funding was the only way to ensure that the Paris Commitments are honoured by action. He asked for active and generous support.

“It’s time to finish the job,” he said. “Even a small investment can yield huge benefits in the lives of these children, and they desperately need our help.”


 

 

Video

VIDEO: Watch the advocacy video on child recruitment, release and reintegration developed by UNICEF and partners of the Paris Principles Steering Group.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search