格鲁吉亚

为流离失所儿童提供的安全避风港

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/Amurvelashvili
联合国儿童基金会和世界宣明会在格鲁吉亚南奥塞梯冲突地区的小镇沙卡谢梯建立了儿童友好家园,儿童们在那里学习。

帕梅拉.伦纳报道

格鲁吉亚帕梅拉伦纳,2009年3月30日 - 2008年8月爆发的冲突事件使数以万计的格鲁吉亚人暂时或永久地离开了家园。目前,据估计约3万人(其中大多数人来自阿布哈兹和南奥塞梯)仍然在国内流离失所。这些人口中大约有1.2万名儿童。

自冲突爆发以来的数个月中,联合国儿童基金会与世界宣明会、“每个儿童”组织及伊丽莎白.加斯特基金会合作,在该国建立了60个儿童友好家园。这些儿童友好家园分别位于第比利斯、哥里、达卡尔特里地区的村庄,为3岁至17岁的儿童及青少年服务。另外,幼儿园和小学里也有这样的儿童友好家园,为新建成的国内流离失所者安居点里的难民服务。

建立儿童友好家园的目的是为了在紧急情况出现后帮助学生重返学校,这样有利于减轻流离失所对儿童及社区造成的影响。

恢复正常生活

联合国儿童基金会驻格鲁吉亚代表凡巴尔.贝里斯(Giovanna Barberis)说:“冲突破坏了儿童的生活,我们担心冲突事件造成的短期和长期影响。这就是为什么确保儿童恢复正常的生活是如此重要。”

帮助儿童恢复正常生活的一个重要环节就是教育,因为它帮助维持常态、减少心理压力、满足受冲突影响人口的燃眉之需,并为在紧急冲突后搭建一个更好的社会做准备。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/Amurvelashvili
九岁的戈万莎在联合国儿童基金会在沙卡谢梯资助建立的儿童友好家园上课。在2008年的冲突中,她家的房子被榴弹击中了,而当时她就在家中。

联合国儿童基金会在小镇沙卡谢梯就建立了一个这样的儿童友好家园,并从当地社区聘用了教师,这些教师还接受了世界宣明会的培训。该中心提供娱乐空间、玩具、游戏和教育材料。

九岁的戈万莎(Gvantsa)是沙卡谢梯中心的一名学生。她非常感激能有这样一个舒适的学习和玩耍的场所。戈万莎和其他当地的儿童每天都一起来到该中心听故事、做运动、进行小组活动、结交朋友并参与艺术和文化活动。儿童们参与安排好的以及非正式的活动。另外,除了学习知识以外,他们还学习电脑技能和健康知识。

儿童们还获得心理咨询服务来帮助他们应对冲突及随后的流离失所造成的心理压力。

抚慰心灵创伤

流离失所的人们基本上没有钱购买玩具和书籍,因为父母们更关心重建房屋和农场。儿童友好家园让父母和家长放心从事每天的活动而不用担心孩子的安全和健康。

两个孩子的家长、儿童早期教育者格兰塔仕维力(Gelatashvili)说:“我们的孩子晚上总害怕,对他们来说这里就像一个康复中心。作为大人,我们也受到了影响。对我们来说,和孩子们在一起工作也是一种康复。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/Amurvelashvili
一名年幼的儿童享受在安全的环境中学习玩耍的愉悦。

自从儿童友好家园在这里开放,已经过去3个月了。家园的环境是经过仔细设计的,目的是为了让儿童们自己添加颜色和活力,使这个中心成为儿童们自己的家园。地板上铺上了小块儿的地毯和靠垫,使儿童们有一个可以随时坐下休息的舒适的场所。在天气冷的那几个月中,该中心有暖气供应,还提供书籍、娃娃屋、轨道小火车玩具,乃至室内篮球框和泡沫球。

儿童友好家园温暖和友好的环境专门是为了帮助儿童抚平由冲突造成的心灵创伤。

10岁的哈蒂亚(Khatia)说:“每天晚上我都不想离开教室回家。”


 

 

搜索

Georgia

A safe haven for displaced children in Georgia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/Amurvelashvili
Children learn in the child-friendly space set up by UNICEF and World Vision in Sakasheti, a village near the conflict area of South Ossetia, Georgia.

By Pamela Renner

SAKASHETI, Georgia, 30 March 2009—Tens of thousands of Georgians suffered temporary or permanent displacement as a result of the August 2008 conflict. Currently, estimates suggest that some 30,000 people – the majority originating from Abkhazia and South Ossetia – remain internally displaced. And approximately 12,000 of these displaced persons are children.

In the months since the conflict, UNICEF, in partnership with World Vision, Every Child and the Elisabeth Gast Foundation, has established 60 child-friendly centres in the country. The centres serve young people, ages 3 to 17, and are located in Tbilisi, Gori, the villages of the Shida Kartli region, and in the kindergartens and primary schools serving the newly constructed Internally Displaced Person (IDP) settlements.

Child-friendly centres are designed to get students back into school after an emergency, which helps to mitigate the impact of displacement on the children and their communities.

Restoring normalcy

“The conflict has shattered the lives of children and we are concerned about both the short and long term impacts,” said UNICEF Representative in Georgia Giovanna Barberis. “This is why it is essential to ensure resumption of normal childhood activities.”

Education is a key factor in restoring normalcy to children, because it establishes routine, decreases psychosocial stress, addresses the immediate needs of those affected by crisis and prepares for a better post-emergency society.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/Amurvelashvili
Gvantsa, 9, attends a class in the UNICEF-supported child-friendly space in Sakasheti. She was at home when her house was hit by shrapnel during the 2008 conflict.

One such child-friendly centre was established by UNICEF in the village of Sakasheti, and staffed with teachers – trained by World Vision – from the local community. The centre includes recreational space, toys, games and educational materials.

Gvantsa, 9, a student at the Sakasheti centre, is grateful to have a comfortable place to learn and play. Gvantsa and the other local children gather daily at the centre to hear stories, play sports, enjoy team work and socializing, and engage in arts and cultural activities. The children participate in both structured and informal activities, and, in addition to academics, learn computer skills and health education.

The children also receive counselling to address any psychosocial stresses they have suffered due to the conflict and their resulting displacement.

Healing psychological wounds

For the displaced, money for toys and books is scarce, as parents are more preoccupied with rebuilding their homes and farms. The child-friendly centres allow parents and caregivers to attend to their daily activities without having to worry about their children’s safety and well-being.

“Our children have fears at night; it’s a rehabilitation for them to be here,” says early-childhood educator Gelatashvili, the parent of two young children in the group. “As adults, we were also affected. For us it’s also a rehabilitation to work with children.”

 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2009/Amurvelashvili
A young child enjoys the opportunity to play and learn in safety.

It’s been three months since the centre opened here. Carefully planned, the centre’s neutral environment is intended to be a space that the children can fill with colour and motion, and make their own. Small carpets and pillows line the floors, providing comfortable places to sit during story time. And, in cold months, the centre is well-heated, and stocked with books, dolls houses, train sets, and even an indoor basketball hoop complete with a foam ball. 

The warm and friendly environments of the child-friendly centres have been purposefully designed to help heal the psychological wounds suffered by the children as a result of the conflict.

Says Khatia, 10, “At the end of the day, I don’t want to leave my classroom and go home.”


 

 

New enhanced search