埃及

为埃及街头被卷入暴力事件中的儿童提供社会心理支持

哈拉.阿布.卡特瓦报道

埃及开罗,2011年2月18日–联合国儿童基金会为埃及最近几周的起义活动中受暴力影响的儿童提供社会心理支持项目。

视频:联合国儿童基金会哈拉.阿布.卡特瓦报道因埃及近日起义活动遭到暴力影响的儿童们以及联合国儿童基金会与其埃及合作伙伴设立的社会心理支持项目帮助全国的儿童客服心理困扰。  在Realplayer中播放

 

始于1月25日的和平集体抗议结束后的几天内,由于示威者、警察和反示威者之间发生了冲突,示威活动因此演变成为暴力事件。据报道,反示威者中还包括受雇的打手。

此外,由于警察已从街头撤退并且数千名囚犯脱逃,抢劫事件频发,增加了各家各户的恐惧。结果,各年龄段的人们,包括儿童,走上街头形成公民团体以保护自己的社区,直到军队可以恢复安全与稳定。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0224/LeMoyne
在最近的示威活动中,一名儿童与成年人一起来到埃及开罗的塔利尔广场。

陷于冲突中

据卫生部和人权组织宣布的初步数字显示,各省份共有365人(据说其中包括13名儿童)在最近的事件中丧生,数千人受伤。

联合国儿童基金会驻埃及代表菲利普.杜阿梅尔(Philippe Duamelle)说:“所有报告的死亡和受伤人口,尤其是儿童,以及雇用儿童参加反示威活动和拘留儿童的报道,都应该接受彻底的调查。儿童的权利也应该得到全面的保护。”

他补充说:“儿童们需要帮助才能应对他们所目睹或经历的暴力局势和不安全感。”

帮助身处危险中的儿童

联合国儿童基金会及其国家合作伙伴执行的社会心理支持项目将帮助开罗和亚历山大身处危险中的儿童,以及全国的在校学生,克服他们的心理困扰。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Egypt/2011/Aql
一名儿童睡在开罗的塔利尔广场上,这个广场已成为埃及最近抗议的中心地点。

社会工作者和教师正在接受培训,以识别创伤及压力的迹象、提供心理支持,并将个别情况递交给专业服务机构处理。这种培训还将被通过视频会议的方式提供给全国的教师。心理学家将为受影响最严重地区的教师和社会工作者提供特殊的在职培训。

据爱资哈尔大学的心理学教授哈希姆.巴哈利(Hashem Bahary)博士称,多达30%的埃及儿童可能患有焦虑症、抑郁症和强迫症。

巴哈利博士说:“在这个社会心理项目中,我们正培训教师、心理学家和社会工作者积极地与儿童沟通。这种沟通是基于倾听和艺术创作,从而给儿童们一个准确表达自己的机会,这必然会减少他们的焦虑。”

街头的影响

受影响最严重的年轻人是在开罗和其他主要城市的街头生活和工作的数万名儿童。从流落街头的儿童的证词中可以知道他们遭受了严重暴力的伤害,还目睹了人们被杀和受重伤。

18岁的马哈(本报道中儿童的名字全部为化名)解释她16岁的朋友如何遭到了枪击:“我们当时在人群中。她背部中弹,所以我们带她去医院,然后留在那儿陪她,直到我们感觉她好些了。”
 
15岁的穆罕默德说他加入了抗议的人群。他回忆说:“有人向我投催泪弹,还发射橡皮子弹。我的手被一颗橡皮子弹击中。伤口很疼,我去医生那里把子弹取了出来。”

联合国儿童基金会的社会心理支持项目将帮助像马哈和穆罕默德这样的儿童克服这些经历所造成的影响,并帮助他们更加自信地面对未来。

*本文中出现的青少年均使用化名。


 

 

相关链接

在埃及,论坛强调人口贩卖问题

保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和虐待

搜索

Egypt

Psycho-social support for children caught in violence on Egypt's streets

By Hala Abu Khatwa

CAIRO, Egypt, 22 FEBRUARY 2011 – UNICEF has launched a psycho-social support programme for children who were affected by violence during the uprising in Egypt in recent weeks.

VIDEO: UNICEF's Hala Abu Khatwa reports on children who were affected by violence during the recent uprising in Egypt and the launch of a psycho-social programme by UNICEF and Egyptian partners to help children at risk nationwide to cope with their psychological distress.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Following days of peaceful mass protests that started on 25 January, demonstrations turned violent when clashes broke out among demonstrators, police forces and counter-demonstrators. The last group reportedly included hired thugs.

In addition, the withdrawal of the police from the streets and the escape of thousands of prisoners led to incidents of looting and increased fear among families. As a result, people of all ages, including children, went out on the streets and formed citizen groups to protect their neighbourhoods until the armed forces could restore security on Friday, 4 February.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0224/LeMoyne
An injured boy chanting during protests at Tahrir square.

Caught in the clashes

According to preliminary figures announced by the Ministry of Health and by human rights organizations, 365 people were killed during the events in different governorates, and thousands of people were injured.

“All reported deaths and injuries, particularly of children, as well as reports of children being paid to participate in counter-demonstrations, and of children being detained, should be thoroughly investigated, and children’s rights fully protected,” said UNICEF Representative in Egypt Philippe Duamelle.  

“Children need help to come to terms with the violence and feeling of insecurity they have seen or experienced,” he added.

Help for children at risk

The psycho-social programme that UNICEF and its national partners have put in place will help children at risk in Cairo and Alexandria, as well as schoolchildren nationwide, to overcome their psychological distress.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Egypt/2011/Aql
A child sleeps in Cairo's Tahrir Square, the epicentre of the recent protests in Egypt.

Social workers and teachers are being trained to identify signs of trauma and stress, provide psychological support and refer cases to specialized services when needed. The training will also be offered via video conferencing to reach teachers across the country.  Psychologists will provide special on-the-job coaching to teachers and social workers in the areas that were most affected.

According to Dr. Hashem Bahary, professor of psychology at Al-Azhar University, up to 30 per cent of Egyptian children may suffer from anxiety, depression and obsessive compulsion.

“In this psycho-social programme, we are preparing the teacher, the psychologist and the social worker to communicate actively with the children,” said Dr. Bahary. “This communication is based on listening and arts in order to give children a chance to express themselves accurately, and this of course will reduce their anxiety.”

Impact in the streets

The most seriously affected young people are the tens of thousands of children who live and work on the streets of Cairo and other major cities. Testimony from children living in the streets indicates that they were exposed to severe violence, witnessing people killed and badly injured. 

*Maha, 18, explains how her 16-year-old friend was shot: “We were in the middle of the crowd. She was shot in the back, so we took her to hospital and remained beside her ’til we felt she was getting better.”  

*Mohamed, 15, said he went to the protests to join the crowd.  “People were throwing tear [gas] bombs at us and firing rubber bullets,” he recalled. “I was hit by a rubber bullet in my hand.  It was painful and I went to the doctor to remove it.”  

The UNICEF psycho-social support programme will help children like Maha and Mohamed overcome the effects of these experiences and face the future with more confidence.

*Adolescents' names have been changed to protect their identities.


 

 

New enhanced search