刚果民主共和国

面向刚果民主共和国内流离失所家庭的创新分发系统

盖伊.哈伯德报道

麦卡图营地,刚果民主共和国,2012年4月12日 —— 在刚果民主共和国东部的买卡图国内流离失所者营地(IDP),无情的骄阳炙烤着大地,人们耐心地等待自己的名字被喊到。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖伊.哈伯德为刚果民主共和国因冲突而流离失所的家庭提供物资的创新分配系统。  在Realplayer中播放

 

他们被一个接着一个地喊到一张桌子旁,等身份被确认之后,就能收到几页优惠券——这些优惠券可以帮助他们在这里安顿下来。

曼卡扎.考布瓦(Mankaza Kaubwa)正站在队伍中 —— 她是最近从南基武省(South Kivu)的动乱中逃来加丹加省(Katanga province)的7万人之一。

“卢旺达的士兵来到了我们的村庄,”她说,“他们绑起了男人,还对我棍棒相加。我们是在受不了,只好逃到这里。”

刚果(金)东部的暴力循环历来已久。过去整整15年中,武装部队在这里交战,民众不堪其扰,有的被抢劫,有的遭到强暴甚至杀戮,所有有机会逃跑的人都离开了这里。

但在麦卡图营地,考布瓦女士和其他来到这里的人可以开始新生活。为了帮助他们,联合国儿童基金会正在支持一个创新系统,以更好地分配生活必需品,并给予当地家庭和社区更多权益。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF VIDEO
曼卡扎.考布瓦正在向一个商贩支付优惠券。该优惠券是“IDP集市”向刚果民主共和国买卡图营地流离失所家庭分配物资的一种创新系统的一部分。

分发必需品

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴长期为流离失所的家庭提供基本的生活用品和个人卫生用品。然而,这些物资的收集、运输及发放过程一直以来是一项规模庞大的物流任务。为此,自2008年以来,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴开发了一种新的方法,更好地分发物资。

“这个系统的基本理念非常简单,”联合国儿童基金会紧急事件专家史蒂文.迈克尔(Steven Michel)说道,“以前我们发放的是标准救援包——里面有一些炊具、毯子、衣物等,而现在,各个家庭可以得到相同价值的优惠券,这些优惠券由不同数额的票面组成。然后,拿着这些优惠券的家庭就来到集市——和一般当地的市场一样。集市上有约50个商贩出售各种产品,比我们在标准救援包里提供的品种要多得多。他们也可以还价,挑选和购买他们需要的物品。”

考布瓦女士来到桌前,提交一份证明她住在这个营地的文件。因为不识字,所以她按了一个指印,然后就能领取优惠券了。

一旦来到市场,她将优惠券分成几份,准备开始购物。现在她迫切需要的是一张床垫。当她从家里逃到营地时,什么都没有带出来,所以只能一直睡在地上,把杂草当成垫子凑合着睡。在市场里,她边逛边寻找物美价廉的床垫。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF VIDEO
曼卡扎.考布瓦正在刚果民主共和国的买卡图营地“IDP”集市购买床垫。

造福所有人

这个被称作“IDP集市”的系统让所有人受惠。流离失所的家庭现在可以购买他们最急需的物品,还可以跟小贩讨价还价;同时,当地的商贩(当救援机构从海外购买大量非食品物资时,常常将本地商贩忽略)也能获得更多顾客,如果他们定价合理,还能促成生意;这些商贩可以将他们收入所得的优惠券兑换成现金。对联合国儿童基金会及合作伙伴而言,这样的集市往往是帮助最弱势群体更经济有效的方法。

“我们把这当做一个三赢的局面,” 迈克尔说道,“首先,流离失所的家庭可以选择他们需要的东西。他们在援助过程中作为主人翁,可以决定他们自己以及他们的家庭最需要什么。其次,我们通过邀请这些当地商贩来到集市,所花的钱都直接投入了当地经济。最后,这对人道主义机构来说,也是一种更加经济的援助方式。”

考布瓦女士最终以合理的价格买到了一张床垫。她用优惠券付款,然后继续逛集市,准备购买一些做衣服的材料。其他顾客中,有购买行李箱的,有购买收音机的,也有寻找厨房用品的。

无论他们购买何种商品,集市为他们带来了一种独立感,在这样特殊的环境下为他们的日常生活带来选择的自由。


 

 

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Innovative delivery system improves the distribution of supplies to displaced families in DR Congo

By Guy Hubbard

MIKETO CAMP, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 12 April 2012 – The sun beats down mercilessly on the Miketo Internally Displaced Person (IDP) camp in the eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DR Congo), but the people still wait patiently for their names to be called.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on an innovative aid distribution system for families displaced by the conflict in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

One by one, they are called to a table where, after their identities are confirmed, they receive pages of coupons that will help them settle into life here.

Mankaza Kaubwa is standing in line. She is one of nearly 70,000 people who fled recent fighting in South Kivu to the camps of Katanga province.

“Soldiers from Rwanda came through our village,” she explains. “They tied up the men, and I was beaten with sticks. We couldn't resist them, so we fled.”

The cycle of violence in the Eastern DR Congo is nothing new. For around 15 years, armed groups have waged war here. Caught in the middle, civilians have been robbed, raped, mutilated and murdered. Those that can, flee.

But here, at Miketo, Ms. Kaubwa and others are starting over. And to help them, UNICEF is supporting an innovative system to distribute essential household supplies and, at the same time, empower families and local communities.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF VIDEO
Mankhaza Kaubwa presents a vendor with vouchers, part of the innovative 'IDP fair' system for distributing goods to displaced families in Miketo camp, Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Distributing essential supplies

UNICEF and partners have long provided displaced families with basic household, personal and hygiene items, critical to their daily activities. The sourcing, transporting and distribution of such items has always been a huge logistical undertaking, but in 2008 UNICEF and partners developed a market approach that has become the preferred means of distribution.

“The basic idea is pretty simple,” explained UNICEF Emergency Specialist Steven Michel. “Instead of getting the standard relief kit – a kit of standard items like cooking pots, blankets, clothing – the families receive the equivalent value in coupons that are denominated in different amounts of currency. And they come into the fair, and it’s just like a regular local market. There’s about 50 traders there; they’ve brought a vast array of items, much more than we could possibly provide in the standard kit, and then they’re allowed to haggle for prices, pick and choose what they want for their family.”

When Ms. Kaubwa reaches the table, she provides an identity document proving she lives in the camp. Then, because she can't read or write, she marks the receipt with a fingerprint and receives a sheet of coupons.

Once inside the market, she separates the coupons into different amounts and prepares to shop. The one thing she really needs is a mattress. She fled her home with nothing and, since coming to the camp, has been sleeping on the ground with just grass and a blanket to cushion her. She moves from stall to stall looking for the best buy.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF VIDEO
Mankhaza Kaubwa buys a mattress at the 'IDP fair' in Miketo camp, Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Benefitting everyone

The system, called an ‘IDP fair’, benefits everyone. Displaced families have the freedom to choose and bargain for what they feel they need the most. Meanwhile, local traders – who are usually overlooked when agencies purchase bulk non-food items from overseas suppliers – get customers, and, if their prices are right, sales. The traders can exchange the coupons they've earned for the cash equivalent at the end of each day. And for UNICEF and its partners, the fairs are often a cheaper, more efficient way of helping those most in need.

“We think of it as a win-win-win situation,” says Michel. “For one, the families choose themselves what they want… They're taking an active role in their own assistance, deciding what they want and what they need in their families. The second thing is that the money that is being spent is being spent directly in the local economy through inviting these local vendors to the fairs. The other thing is that it’s also cheaper per beneficiary for the humanitarian organizations.”

Ms. Kaubwa finds a mattress at the right price. She pays in coupons and then continues on, searching for material to make clothes. Others buy suitcases for their belongings; some indulge in the luxury of a radio, while others invest in kitchenware.

Whatever their choices, the fair brings a sense of independence, freedom and normality to a place where these critical qualities are in perpetually short supply.


 

 

New enhanced search