刚果民主共和国

联合国儿童基金会帮助刚果民主共和国的前儿童兵融入当地社区

纳迪亚哥.塞克报道

刚果民主共和国栋古,2011年2月11日- 今年为一个名为夏洛特(Charlotte)的女人的家庭带来了欢乐。她14岁的侄子罗尔(Raul)在经历了长期的痛苦考验后回到了家里。

视频:联合国儿童基金会的纳迪亚哥.塞克(Ndiaga Seck)就刚果民主共和国东部的当地社区帮助前儿童兵融入社会进行了报道。  在Realplayer中播放

 

2008年9月,劳尔被刚果民主共和国东方省的武装部队上帝抵抗军(LRA)劫持。夏洛特回忆说:“听说劳尔被劫持的那一天,我的心里充满了悲伤和恐惧。我哭了整整一夜。”

那时,劳尔还在上小学。今天,他已经快成年了。然而,这个男孩还是幸运的。2010年12月31日,当他到达栋古村的时候,他的家人张开双臂欢迎他回家。但情况并不总是如此,很多家庭因为羞耻或排斥而拒绝他们的孩子回家。

夏洛特知道,她的侄子已经变了。她说:“他一直很聪明,但现在他总是想过去的事情。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF DR Congo/2011/Seck
在刚果民主共和国东部,14岁的前儿童兵劳尔(化名)在被上帝抵抗军劫持后与他的姨妈夏洛特(Charlotte)团聚。

生活永远改变了

到了晚上,劳尔因为他所目睹的杀戮和他不得不实施的暴行而难以入睡。 劳尔说:“我不敢拒绝,因为我一个拒绝杀人的朋友被枪杀了。如果我睡觉前不祈祷,我就会梦见上帝抵抗军来杀我或者再次绑架我。”

许多儿童曾经目睹了武装冲突所造成的恐惧永远地改变了他们的生活,劳尔就是他们其中的一个。自从上帝抵抗军的袭击于2008年开始以来,栋古地区的人道主义和安全局势变得非常不稳定。

2008年至2010年,联合国儿童基金会及其非政府合作伙伴COOPI为1570名之前与武装力量或部队有瓜葛的儿童提供了援助,包括与上帝抵抗军有瓜葛的585名女孩和764名男孩。37名非刚果儿童被遣返回国,其中18名来自苏丹,12名来自中非共和国,3名来自乌干达。复员后,像劳尔这样的儿童们接受了医疗和社会心理服务,从而帮助他们应对创伤。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF DR Congo/2011/Seck
劳尔被刚果共和国东部奥兰泰尔省的武装叛乱组织“上帝抵抗军”劫持了一年多。

当地家庭收留儿童

为了在儿童回归正常生活的过程中保护他们,联合国儿童基金会援助的家庭收留了他们。

联合国儿童基金会驻栋古办事处主管安德烈.博雷利(Andrea Burelli)说:“我们让社区收留这些孩子。除了安全问题以外,如果从一开始就让他们住在当地家庭里,那么他们融入社会的过程将会容易很多。”

为了帮助复员的儿童开始新的生活,联合国儿童基金会还提供装有鞋、卫生用品和平民衣服的复员工具包。夏洛特笑着说:“我很感谢联合国儿童基金会对我侄子的照顾。我知道他很聪明,能有一个光明的未来。”至于劳尔,他想回学校,过正常人的生活。


 

 

搜索

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

UNICEF helps reintegrate former child soldiers into local communities in DR Congo

By Ndiaga Seck

DUNGU, Democratic Republic of the Congo, 11 February 2011 – This year has brought joy to the family of a woman named Charlotte here in eastern DR Congo. Raul, her 14-year old nephew, has returned home after a long ordeal.

VIDEO: UNICEF's Ndiaga Seck reports on local communities helping former child soldiers reintegrate into society in eastern DR Congo.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

In September 2008, Raul had been kidnapped by the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA), an armed group ravaging DR Congo’s Province Orientale. “The day I heard that Raul was kidnapped, I was filled with sadness and fear. I cried all night,” recalls Charlotte.

At that time, Raul was a student in primary school. Today he is nearly an adult. Still, the boy is lucky. When he arrived on 31 December 2010 in Dungu village, his family welcomed him back with open arms. This is not always the case; many families reject their returning children out of shame or repulsion.

Charlotte knows that her nephew has changed. “He has always been intelligent, but now he is thinking too much about the past,” she says.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF DR Congo/2011/Seck
Former child soldier Raul (not his real name), 14, is reunited with his Aunt Charlotte after being kidnapped by the Lord's Resistance Army eastern DR Congo.

Lives changed forever

At night, Raul finds it hard to sleep because of the killings he has seen and the atrocities he was obliged to commit. “I didn’t dare to refuse, because a friend of mine who refused to kill was shot himself,” says Raul. “If I don’t pray before going to bed, I dream of the LRA coming to kill me or to kidnap me again.”

Raul is one of many children who have seen the terror of armed conflict changing their lives forever. Since the LRA attacks started in 2008, the humanitarian and security situation in the Dungu Territory has become very volatile.

From 2008 to 2010, UNICEF and its non-governmental partner COOPI provided assistance to 1,570 children formerly associated with armed forces or groups, including 585 girls and 764 boys associated with the LRA. Thirty-three non-Congolese children were repatriated – including 18 from Sudan, 12 from the Central African Republic and 3 from Uganda. After their demobilization, children like Raul receive medical and psycho-social care to help them cope with trauma.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF DR Congo/2011/Seck
Raul stayed for more than a year with the Lord's Resistance Army, an armed rebel group in Province Orentale, eastern DR Congo.

Local families host children

To protect children during their return to a normal life, they are hosted in UNICEF-assisted families.

“We use the community to host these children. Apart from the security issue, their integration is easier when they are, from the beginning, accommodated in local families,” explains Andrea Burelli, UNICEF’s Head of Office in Dungu.

To help the demobilized children start a new life, UNICEF also provide demobilization kits with shoes, hygiene articles and civilian clothes. “I thank UNICEF for the care that my nephew received. I know that he is intelligent and can have a bright future,” Charlotte says with a smile. As for Raul, he would like to go back to school and live the normal life of a child.


 

 

New enhanced search