乍得

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴协助乍得儿童兵重新融入社会

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Sweeting
多瓦.萨姆纳曾是一名儿童兵,政府部门发现他的真实年龄后,将其从乍得国民军中遣散回家,现在他在恩贾梅纳的一间修车厂工作。

萨尔玛.佐勒菲卡尔报道

联合国儿童基金会和乍得政府将于6月7日至9日在乍得恩贾梅纳组织召开一个有关武装部队和组织招募及使用儿童兵的区域性会议,旨在为终止使用儿童兵的行为寻求国际承诺,以及为儿童兵重新融入社会提供必要的帮助。下面是一个相关的故事。

乍得恩贾梅纳,2010年5月28日 – 19岁的多瓦.萨姆纳现在在乍得首都恩贾梅纳德的一家修车厂工作,这里与他在军队时的生活完全不同。这位前儿童兵回忆说,军营的条件非常艰苦,“我们吃不了正经饭,而且所有东西都得共享。”

 点击此处查看视频

多瓦16岁时加入了乍得国民军,但在一年后,政府部门发现了他的真实年龄,将他遣送回家。多瓦的爸爸功纳.萨姆纳说:“多瓦能回家真是让我们松了一口气,我们真怕他再也回不来了。”

对《巴黎原则》的承诺

乍得国内数十年的冲突迫使许多像多瓦一样的儿童加入了武装部队和反政府组织。据估计,乍得总共有大约七千到一万名儿童兵。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Sweeting
苏莱曼.阿杜姆.扎克(最前)曾是一名童兵,七年来一直参与打击乍得东部反动组织的斗争,现在他在恩贾梅纳的一家宾馆工作,这样的生活对他来说是个重大改变。

不过,还有希望。为加快武装组织和部队的儿童兵遣散工作,并帮助儿童兵重返社会,联合国儿童基金会和乍得政府在2007年签定了协议,多瓦就是在该协议的帮助下得以顺利复员的。

这一协议完全符合乍得对《巴黎原则》所做的承诺,《巴黎原则》是一个为终止以战争和非战争目的招募儿童兵的国际协议。

重新融入社会的手段

根据《巴黎原则》,乍得反政府组织成员被抓获后,或者反政府组织同政府签订和平协议后,未成年的儿童兵将进入联合国儿童基金会资助的适应期康复训练项目。政府也要为每名被遣散的士兵补贴830美元。

复员的青少年被送往由非政府组织“国际关怀”(CARE International) 在恩贾梅纳运行的过渡期关怀中心。他们将在中心接受心理辅导,并学习帮助他们重新融入社会的生活技能。

自2007年,已有800多名儿童参与完成了这个适应期恢复项目。

“回归正常的生活”

另一名19岁的前儿童兵苏莱曼.阿杜姆.扎克七年来一直在乍得东部参与打击反政府组织的斗争。2007年,该反政府组织同政府签署了和平协议,苏莱曼终于得以放下武器并被送往恢复中心。现在他在恩贾梅纳的一家宾馆工作。

苏莱曼解释说:“因为年轻,又受过训练,再加上一直在同叛军作战,即使当了平民也总想着战斗,你总想同别人斗争。”

对于许多前儿童兵来说,如何适应没有枪的生活是一个巨大的挑战。

联合国儿童基金会驻乍得代表马尔齐奥.巴比勒博士(Marzio Babille)说:“这些儿童接受了过杀伤训练,因此很难克服这种心理障碍而回归到正常的生活。”

在联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴的帮助下,像多瓦和许多其他境遇相同的孩子一样,苏莱曼获得了新生。他现在不仅能和家人团聚,而且还憧憬着自己将有一个美好的未来。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者萨尔玛.佐勒菲卡尔就有关乍得儿童兵的恢复和重新融入社会等方面工作的报道。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Chad

UNICEF and partners support reintegration of child soldiers in Chad

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Sweeting
Former child soldier Dowa Samna now works in a garage in N'Djamena, after being demobilized from the Chadian National Army when the authorities discovered his true age.

By Salma Zulfiqar

A regional conference on the recruitment and use of children in armed forces and groups will take place 7-9 June in N’Djamena, Chad – organized by UNICEF and the Government of Chad to seek international commitments on ending the use of child soldiers and better providing for their re-integration and care. Here is a related story.

N’DJAMENA, Chad, 28 May 2010 – For Dowa Samna, 19, working at a garage in the Chadian capital, N’Djamena, is a far cry from his former life in the armed forces. The former child soldier recalls that conditions in the military were rough. “We did not eat regular meals,” he says, “and we had to share everything.”

VIDEO: Watch now

Dowa joined the Chadian National Army when he was 16 but was demobilized a year later when the authorities discovered his true age. “We were so relieved when Dowa came home. We were so afraid he would never come back,” says his father, Gong-na Samna.

Commitment to Paris Principles

Decades of conflict in Chad have left children like Dowa vulnerable to recruitment by armed forces and rebel groups. According to Chad's Ministry of Defense, 7 to 9 per cent of those released from rebel groups in 2009 were minors.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Sweeting
Souleymane Adoum Izak (foreground) now works at a hotel in N’Djamena, a major change from the seven years he spent as a child soldier fighting with a rebel group in eastern Chad.

But there is reason for hope. Dowa’s release from the army followed a 2007 agreement between UNICEF and the Government of Chad to intensify efforts aimed at getting children out of armed groups and forces and back into society.

This accord, in turn, followed Chad’s signed commitment to the Paris Principles, an international agreement to stop the recruitment of children in combatant and non-combatant roles.

Tools for reintegration

In accordance with the Paris Principles, under-age recruits enter a UNICEF-sponsored rehabilitation process when members of Chadian rebel groups are captured, or when the groups sign peace deals with the government. The authorities also pay about $830 to each rebel fighter who demobilizes.

Demobilized youths are brought to interim care centres in N’Djamena that are run by the non-governmental organization CARE International. At the centres, they receive psychological counselling and learn skills to help them reintegrate into society.

Since 2007 more than 800 children have gone through this UNICEF-supported process.

‘Back to a normal life’

Another former child soldier, Souleymane Adoum Izak, 19, spent seven years fighting with a rebel group in eastern Chad. In 2007, when the group negotiated a peace deal with the government, Souleymane laid down his arms and transferred to a rehabilitation centre. He now works at a hotel in N’Djamena.

“Because you are young and you are trained and you spend all your time with the rebels, you still want to fight all the time even though you are civilian. You feel the need to always fight with people,” Souleymane explains.

Getting used to life without a gun is a challenge for many former child soldiers.

“These children have actually been trained to kill,” says UNICEF Representative in Chad Dr. Marzio Babille. “It’s very difficult to overcome the psycho-social aspect of this trauma and get them back to a normal life.”

Like Dowa and many others in similar circumstances, Souleymane has a new lease of life due in large part to the work of UNICEF and its partners. He has not yet reunited with his family but says he now feels that he has a future.


 

 

Video

UNICEF's Salma Zulfiqar reports on the rehabilitation and reintegration of former child soldiers in Chad.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search