保加利亚

联合国儿童基金会副执行主任马丁.莫格万加访问保加利亚,强调失去父母照顾儿童的需求

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF 2012/Bulgaria
联合国儿童基金会副执行主任马丁.莫格万加和联合国儿童基金会驻保加利亚代表塔尼娅(Tanja Radocaj)访问保加利亚斯拉杜克科拉德奈茨(Sladuk Kladenetz)的一家专门服务于残疾儿童的机构。

杰克林.佐切瓦报道

保加利亚索菲亚,2012年5月8日——联合国儿童基金会副执行主任马丁.莫格万加(Martin Mogwanja)探访了保加利亚那些得到机构照顾和住宿照顾的儿童,详细了解了最弱势儿童的需要、提供适当照顾存在的困难以及为改善支持体制所做的努力。

机构照顾的替代选择

东欧和中亚地区的儿童机构照顾率在全世界是最高的,尤其是残疾儿童。

但机构环境不适宜儿童,缺乏帮助儿童正常成长所必需的个体关注。机构环境对婴幼儿健康的影响更为明显,因缺乏社会和智力启发,甚至造成某些功能丧失。而且,没有正确的照顾,这些儿童很容易被忽视或虐待。

联合国儿童基金会最近倡议的改革正在推广更加健康的儿童照顾方式,包括领养、监护和家庭式小群体环境。联合国儿童基金会还提倡增加面向贫困家庭的支援,以帮助这些家庭照顾残疾儿童,使儿童能够留在家里。

在访问旧扎戈拉(Stara Zagora)地区斯拉杜克科拉德奈茨村的一家儿童机构时,莫格万加先生会见了该机构的儿童和工作人员。此行由旧扎戈拉副市长伊万卡.索蒂洛娃(Ivanka Sotirova)和国家儿童保护局专家伊维罗.米拉诺夫(Ivaylo Milanov)陪同。

“尽管实际上这里的条件还不错,但缺乏情感投入。在这种机构,工作人员无法提供更多关怀。”莫格万加先生说道。“儿童应该与家庭一起生活。这些孩子应该被领养或以家庭式小群体方式抚养,并得到医疗服务。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF 2012/Bulgaria
联合国儿童基金会副执行主任马丁.莫格万加访问保加利亚旧扎戈拉的一个社区。

幸运的是,作为政府去机构化(deinstitutionalization)计划的一部分,该机构即将关闭。欧盟为这个计划提供部分资金。该机构中的常驻者将得到更加健康的替代照顾安排。

莫格万加先生还在地区领养中心会见了领养父母。该中心由撒玛利亚协会管理,联合国儿童基金会提供支持。中心能够向潜在领养父母提供信息、评估和培训,在匹配选择时提供协助,并为家庭提供安置后支持。父母们谈了照顾弱势儿童的困难和利益,还提到领养儿童相比机构照顾儿童所特有的心理和生理优势。

次日,莫格万加先生探访了10个残疾儿童小群体家庭中的一家。莫奇立诺(Mogilino)机构关闭后,通过一个联合国儿童基金会与政府合作的项目,于2010年在莫奇立诺村组建了这些家庭。

贫困社区

莫格万加先生还探访了旧扎戈拉市一家名为罗泽耐克(Lozenec)的罗马社区。他与居民和儿童交谈,还会见了“世界无疆界”基金会的代表。这家当地的非政府组织已经支持社区家庭八年有余。

在会见过程中,他们谈到儿童面临的主要问题,包括贫穷、歧视和缺乏基本服务。他们还谈到许多女孩和年轻妇女涉足卖淫和毒品交易,而旧扎戈拉则是青少年怀孕率最高的地区之一,有些怀孕的女孩只有12岁。

在索菲亚,莫格万加先生会见了劳动和社会政策部部长托蒂尤.米拉德诺夫(Totyu Mladenov),讨论了联合国儿童基金会在保加利亚的优先任务及政府对儿童权利的承诺。部长强调了劳动和社会保障部与联合国儿童基金会的伙伴关系,并说明该部门对儿童和妇女的生活状况所做的改善。

“我们的使命是关注最弱势儿童。在这部分世界里,弱势儿童往往是丧失父母照顾的儿童、残疾儿童和贫穷家庭的儿童。”莫格万加先生说:“我很高兴地了解到,保加利亚在通过改革体制来保护儿童并满足儿童权利方面,取得了很大进步。”


 

 

搜索

Bulgaria

UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Martin Mogwanja visits Bulgaria, highlighting the needs of children without parental care

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF 2012/Bulgaria
UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Martin Mogwanja and Tanja Radocaj, UNICEF Representative in Bulgaria, visit an institution for children with disabilities in Sladuk Kladenetz, Bulgaria.

By Jacklin Tzocheva

SOFIA, Bulgaria, 8 May 2012 – UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Martin Mogwanja visited children in institutional and residential care in Bulgaria, learning more about the needs of the most vulnerable children, challenges to providing them with suitable care, and efforts to improve the systems that support them.

Alternatives to institutional care

In Eastern Europe and Central Asia, children – particularly those with disabilities – are institutionalized at the highest rates in the world.

But institutions are poor environments for children, lacking the personal attention required to help them develop properly. Institutions are particularly damaging to the health of infants and young children, who may even develop disabilities due to lack of social and intellectual stimulation. And without proper care, these children are vulnerable to neglect and abuse.

Recent reforms, encouraged by UNICEF, are promoting healthier alternatives for these children, including foster care, guardianship arrangements and small group homes with family-like environments. UNICEF also advocates for increased support for families living in poverty or struggling to care for disabled children, which would allow children to remain at home.

During his visit, Mr. Mogwanja met with children and staff members at an institution for children with disabilities in Sladuk Kladenetz, a village in Stara Zagora Region. With him were Ivanka Sotirova, Deputy Mayor of Stara Zagora City, and Ivaylo Milanov, an expert with the State Agency for Child Protection.

“Despite the fact the conditions were not so bad, there was a lack of emotional engagement, and the staff cannot do much more than what they do in this type of institution," Mr. Mogwanja said. “Children should live with a family or, in that situation, be placed in foster care or raised in small family-type homes, where they will have access to medical services.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF 2012/Bulgaria
UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Martin Mogwanja visits a community in Stara Zagora, Bulgaria.

Fortunately, the institution is scheduled to be closed as part of a government deinstitutionalization programme, funded in part by the European Union. The institution’s residents will be placed in healthier alternative care arrangements.

Mr. Mogwanja also met with foster parents at the Regional Foster Care Centre, which is managed by the Samaritans Association and supported by UNICEF. The Centre provides information, assessment and training to potential foster parents. It also assists the matching process and supports families post-placement. The parents spoke about the challenges and rewards of caring for vulnerable children. They also spoke of the mental and physical benefits foster children experience compared to institutionalized children.

The following day, Mr. Mogwanja visited one of 10 small group homes for children with disabilities. The homes were built in Mogilino Village in 2010 through a joint UNICEF–government partnership, following the closure of the Mogilino institution.

Impoverished communities

Mr. Moganja also visited a Roma community known as ‘Lozenec’ in Stara Zagora City. He spoke with residents and children, and also met representatives from the ‘World Without Borders’ Foundation, a local NGO that has supported families in the neighborhood for more than eight years.

During the meeting, they spoke of major concerns facing children, including poverty, discrimination and lack of access to basic services. They also said that many girls and young women are involved in prostitution and trafficking and that Stara Zagora is among the regions with the highest rates of teenage pregnancy, with some pregnant girls as young as 12.

In Sophia, Mr. Mogwanja met Minister of Labour and Social Policy Totyu Mladenov to discuss UNICEF’s priorities in Bulgaria and the government’s commitment to child rights. The Minister highlighted the partnership between the Ministry and UNICEF, noting the difference it has made in the lives of children and women.

“Our mission is to focus on the most vulnerable and disadvantaged children, and in this part of the world those are often children deprived of parental care, children with disabilities and children from very poor families,” Mr. Mogwanja said. “I was happy to learn that Bulgaria is making big steps towards improving systems to protect children and fulfilling their rights.”


 

 

New enhanced search