基础教育和性别平等

时事

 

全球领导呼吁紧急情况下的紧急教育行动

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0197/Pirozzi
孩子们在约旦拉姆萨(Ramtha)的拉姆萨设施里上美术课。叙利亚的2000多所学校已被摧毁,许多家庭被迫背井离乡。

派.詹姆斯(Pi James)报道

纽约,2012年9月25日 —— 昨日,在联合国儿童基金会纽约总部召开的为人道主义环境和受冲突影响的国家提供教育的高级别会议上,全球领导人要求采取紧急行动,为生活在饱经战乱、冲突和其他人道主义紧急情况的国家的儿童提供优质教育。

最近任命的联合国全球教育特使戈登.布朗(Gordon Brown)宣布会议开幕。“让冲突地区的孩子们首次步入校园,面临最大的挑战,但这也是最重要问题,最崇高的事业。”他说。

布朗先生回顾了最近访问南苏丹的经历:“我问他们最想给他们的孩子什么东西时,他们的答案不是庇护所,虽然这是他们所需要的,不是安全,虽然他们要求获得安全,也不是食物,虽然他们极想获得食物,而是让自己的孩子获得受教育的机会。”

我们没有权利忽视

卡塔尔千年发展目标教育倡导部门的谢赫.莫萨.宾特.纳赛尔(Sheikha Moza bint Nasser)殿下强调,虽然已经取得了一些进展,“教育仍在不断遭受攻击,被害教师、被破坏的学校、被掳去当儿童兵的学生数量仍在增加.…..我们没有权利忽视这一切。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF United States of America/2012/James
9月24日,为人道主义环境和受冲突影响的国家提供教育的高级别会议在联合国儿童基金会纽约总部召开,来自卡塔尔的谢赫.莫萨.宾特.纳赛尔殿下在会上发言。

谢赫.莫萨.宾特.纳赛尔殿下和联合国儿童基金会副执行主任吉塔.饶.古普塔谈到了叙利亚,据教育部的数据显示,那里有2000多所学校被毁,另有800所已成为流离失所家庭的庇护所,近90名教育工作者被杀害。

古普塔女士说:“教育不应该被打断……通过正式和选择性教育机会重建信心,才能保护儿童和青少年的安全,保护他们免受伤害,并为他们提供稳定的生活和对未来的希望。”

把教育放在第一位

全球教育伙伴关系主席卡罗尔.贝拉米(Carol Bellamy)强调紧急情况下的教育资金投入不足。在人道主义援助中,教育一般占不到2%。“我们需要的不是简单的对话,而是要确保资金到位,让儿童能够获得他们所需的服务。”她说。

“如果我们能够在这个问题上做出一些改变,那么我们将真正地改变世界。”布朗先生说。

来自各国政府、国际组织和民间社会的全球领导人支持采取行动的紧急呼吁,在紧急情况发生前,保护学校免受攻击,显著提高教育、规划和预算的人道主义援助,从而确保世界上最脆弱的儿童和青少年获得良好的教育。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2012/James
(从左至右)全球教育合作伙伴主席卡罗尔.贝拉米、联合国儿童基金会副执行主任吉塔.饶.古普塔、联合国全球教育特使戈登.布朗参加为人道主义环境和受冲突影响的国家提供教育的高级别会议。

与会的机构包括澳大利亚、科特迪瓦、丹麦、利比里亚、尼日尔、挪威、卡塔尔、卢旺达和英国政府,及喜剧救济基金会(Comic Relief)、教育国际组织(Education International)、全球教育合作伙伴(Global Partnership for Education)、紧急情况下跨机构教育网络(Interagency Network for Education in Emergencies)、皮尔逊国际(Pearson International)、国际计划(Plan International)、救助儿童会、联合国教育、科学及文化组织、联合国儿童基金会、联合国人道主义事务协调办公室和世界银行。

更多关于“号召行动”的详细信息,请访问: www.unicef.org/media/media_65935.html.

本次会议由挪威国际发展部长海基.侯马思(Heikki Holmås)主持,在联合国秘书长的“教育第一”计划的支持下召开,将于9月26日星期三在联合国大会的副会期间举行。

欲了解关于联合国秘书长“教育第一”计划的详细信息,请访问 www.globaleducationfirst.org.


 

 

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Global leaders demand urgent action for education in emergencies

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0197/Pirozzi
Children draw in an art class in Ramtha Facility, Ramtha, Jordan. More than 2,000 schools have been destroyed in the Syrian Arab Republic as families have been forced to flee the fighting.

By Pi James

NEW YORK, 25 September 2012 - At a high-level meeting at UNICEF’s New York headquarters yesterday on delivering education in humanitarian environments and conflict-affected states, global leaders demanded urgent action to deliver quality education for children who live in countries scarred by war, conflict and other humanitarian emergencies.

Recently appointed United Nations Special Envoy for Global Education Gordon Brown opened the meeting. “There is no greater challenge, there’s no bigger issue and there’s no more noble cause than getting children in conflict areas into school for the first time,” he said.

Mr. Brown recalled a recent visit to South Sudan: “When I talked to [families] about what they wanted most for their children, it was not shelter, although they needed it; not security, although they required it; not food, although they desperately wanted it; it was education for their children.”

We do not have the right to ignore it

Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser of Qatar, Millennium Development Goals Advocate for Education, stressed that, although some progress has been made, “Attacks on education, killings of teachers, destruction of schools or drafting of students as child soldiers are on the increase…We do not have the right to ignore it.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF United States of America/2012/James
Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser of Qatar addresses the high-level meeting on delivering education in humanitarian environments and conflict-affected states at UNICEF House, New York, on 24 September.

Both Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser and UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Geeta Rao Gupta spoke of the Syrian Arab Republic, where, according to the Ministry of Education, more than 2,000 schools have been damaged, another 800 are sheltering displaced families and almost 90 education staff have been killed.

Ms. Gupta said, “Education should not be interrupted…Building resilience through formal and alternative education opportunities is necessary to keep children and youth safe, protect them from harm and provide them with stability and hope for the future.”

Putting education first

Chair of the Global Partnership for Education Carol Bellamy highlighted the underfinancing of education in emergencies; education generally accounts for less than 2 per cent of humanitarian aid.  “More than simply dialogue, we need to ensure there’s funding available so children get the services that they need,” she said.

“If we can make an impact on this, then we will be genuinely changing the world,” said Mr. Brown.

Global leaders from governments, international organizations and civil society endorsed an urgent Call to Action to ensure the world’s most vulnerable children and youth receive a good quality education by protecting schools from attacks, significantly increasing humanitarian aid for education and planning and budgeting for emergencies before they occur.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2012/James
(Left to right) Chair of the Global Partnership for Education Carol Bellamy, UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Geeta Rao Gupta and United Nations Special Envoy for Global Education Gordon Brown at the high-level meeting on delivering education in humanitarian environments and conflict-affected states.

The full list of participating organizations includes the governments of Australia, Côte d’Ivoire, Denmark, Liberia, Niger, Norway, Qatar, Rwanda and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, as well as Comic Relief, Education International, the Global Campaign for Education, the Global Partnership for Education, the Interagency Network for Education in Emergencies, Pearson International, Plan International, Save the Children, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, UNICEF, the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs and the World Bank.

The full Call to Action is available at:  www.unicef.org/media/media_65935.html.

The event, chaired by Norwegian Minister for International Development Heikki Holmås, was convened in support of the United Nations Secretary-General’s Education First initiative, which will be launched at the margins of the United Nations General Assembly on Wednesday 26 September. 

To learn more about the United Nations Secretary-General’s Education First initiative, visit www.globaleducationfirst.org.


 

 

New enhanced search