泰国

在泰国南部骚乱各省,和平之路从儿童开始

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
在泰国南部北大年府,小学生们下午上课前在学校的教室前祈祷。

奈特哈.吉纳潘报道

泰国宋卡府,2009年3月18日 - 一幅巨大、彩色的图画上,一名僧侣、一名阿訇以及佛教徒、穆斯林教徒手挽着手,他们置身的是一个清真寺与寺庙比肩而立、充满仁爱的社区。一旁,佛教徒和穆斯林教徒正在为饱受暴力蹂躏的泰国南部边界省份祈祷和平。

这幅由一群生活在南部骚乱地区的穆斯林儿童创作的绘画,表现了他们对结束陶公府、北大年府、也拉府、宋卡府暴力的期望。从2004年初开始,骚乱已经夺去了3千多人的生命。

这幅画是在去年年底联合国儿童基金会驻泰国办事处主办的四省儿童青年协商活动上创作的。为期3天的活动,聚集了53位穆斯林和佛教儿童,他们和听众分享了各自的希望和忧虑,这些听众包括来自南部腹地的当地治安部队、政府官员、学者和人权活动人士。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
在也拉府,孩子们在被纵火烧毁的学校的瓦砾上玩耍。由于动乱,陶公府、北大年府、也拉府、宋卡府的数百所学校遭受了严重的毁坏。

表达心声的机会

“我们缺少爱与和平,”一位来自北大年府的14岁的参与者说。“但是,无论情况多么糟糕,如果大家不分宗教、性别和年龄团结起来,我们能使和平回到我们的生活。”

活动期间,11岁到18岁年龄段的孩子们,还创作了反映他们每天现实生活的戏剧和音乐。当表演涉及家庭暴力、学校体罚、以及社区毒品等问题时,有些孩子就哭了起来。

“生活在边境省份的孩子们深受暴力的影响,”联合国儿童基金会驻泰国代表穂积智说。“但是,对于给他们带来的影响,以及怎样帮助他们处理这个问题,尚没有足够的重视。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
生活在泰国最南部的,穆斯林儿童的绘画作品表现了他们对和平的希望。

生活因暴力而改变

大多数孩子说,青年协商活动是他们第一次可以与家人和密友以外的其他人谈论骚乱。

“我觉得如释重负,” 北大年府14岁的女孩库玛丽亚.陶亚(Komareeyah Tohya)说,她的学校已被炸毁。“这与同家人交谈的释放是完全不同的,因为我怀揣这儿的人们能够帮助我们的希望。”

参加青年协商的孩子们说,他们的生活已经被暴力彻底地改变了。天黑以后,他们从不出门。他们不再和陌生人说话。由于在他们自己的社区里,人们之间越来越不信任,他们很少和朋友、邻居交往。

联合国儿童基金会驻泰国办事处支持的研究项目,在青年协商召开前几个星期发表了名为《担忧每一天:生活在泰国南部边境孩子的看法》的报告,指出由于日常的暴力威胁,住在南部边境的孩子们承受了巨大的压力和焦虑。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
在协商活动上,儿童们把他们的希望和恐惧都写在了纸上。

孩子是受害者和证人

2006-2007年泰国非政府组织“了解孩子”、“泰国穆斯林妇女的朋友” “陆莨团体”和“泰国年轻穆斯林协会”,对两千四百名受影响省份的穆斯林和佛教儿童进行了研究。该研究采用了各种研究方法,尤其专门为生活在南部腹地的儿童设计了收集反应的方法,它包括绘画、散文、视觉刺激、态度调查和网络采访等。

这项研究第一次给生活在受影响省份的孩子们直接表达感受的机会,他们表达了暴力及其对他们生活产生影响的感受。根据教育部提供的数字,2004年1月至2007年12月间,由于受影响省份的暴力事件,至少有30名在校学生被打死,92人受伤。除了他们自己是暴力事件的受害者外,孩子们还目睹了父母、亲戚、老师和社区成员被残杀,以及和士兵、叛乱分子之间的战斗,爆炸和学校被烧毁。

“接受研究的大多数孩子表示,他们生活中最大的危险是动乱,” 穂积智说。“他们的反应表明,由于持续不断的暴力,他们生活的几乎每个方面都存在危险,包括上学或出去玩。”

“没有人知道谁杀了他”

在过去五年里,各省有数百所学校受到严重毁坏,现在许多孩子在武装护卫下上下学。由于动乱,教育当局多次被迫关闭学校几天到几个月。

14岁的阿希拉.朵罗泰(Asela Dorotae)两年前在也拉府,目睹了她的父亲被反叛分子杀害。她是成千上万生活在偏远南部儿童中的一位,他们的生活深受暴力的影响。

“我们那时在回家的路上”,阿希拉回忆道。谈起父亲的死,她还是哭泣不止。“反叛分子要他停下摩托车。他们把他推倒在地上。然后,他们朝他开枪,用刀刺他。”

阿希拉在父亲的尸体旁边坐了3个小时,士兵才到现场。迄今为止,没有人知道谁杀了他,为什么杀他。

结束冲突的希望

父亲的去世使得阿希拉自愿参加了这项研究。她还加入了陆莨团体,并帮助非政府组织从其他村子征召儿童参与研究。

“我知道,我不是唯一遭受失去亲人痛苦的人,”阿希拉说。“起初我想报复,但后来我意识到,这永远不能结束这场暴力。和平必须从我们孩子开始,我想大人们要听听像我这样的孩子们的呼声。”

研究的正面效果是,没有一个孩子对其他宗教表示偏见或持负面看法,或把宗教当成是引起动乱的原因。此外,很少有孩子对士兵和警察表达负面看法。

呼吁建立“和平区”

泰国年轻穆斯林协会项目经理劳希迪.勒阿特立亚庞库(Rawsedee Leartariyapongkul)说,研究结果表明,在偏远南部地区的儿童中,和解的要求十分明显,这就迫切需要采取行动,以保持年轻人积极想法,防止暴力延续到下一代。

联合国儿童基金会呼吁设立无武器、无武装人员和各方宣传的“和平区”,以减少对儿童的暴力和压力。

“我认为这是可能的,”联合国儿童基金会驻泰国办事处儿童保护科科长阿曼达.比赛克斯(Amanda Bissex)说,在其他冲突地区已成功地建立了和平区。比赛克斯女士说,可以在南部省份的学校设立和平区,在那里,当地社区的人们对这个观点持真正开放的态度,且都接受这个观点。

“所以,如果社区发生暴力行为,孩子们知道有一个地方他们可以去,在那儿,他们可以很安全,在那儿,他们可以得到暂时的保护,”比赛克斯女士说。“这对于减轻孩子生命的压力是非常重要的。”


 

 

搜索

Thailand

The path to peace in Thailand’s restive southern provinces starts with children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
Primary school children pray in front of their classroom at a school in Thailand’s southern Pattani Province before beginning their afternoon classes.

By Nattha Keenapan

SONGKHLA, Thailand, 18 March 2009 – The large, colourful drawing shows a monk, an Imam and Buddhist and Muslim citizens holding hands in a loving community where a mosque and a temple stand side by side. Beside them are Buddhists and Muslims praying for peace in Thailand’s violence-ridden southern border provinces.

The drawing, created by a group of Muslim children living in the restive south, represents their hope for an end to the violence in Narathiwat, Pattani, Yala and Songkhla provinces, which has claimed the lives of more than 3,000 people since early 2004.

The drawing was made during a Youth Consultation organized by UNICEF Thailand late last year for children from the four provinces. The three-day consultation brought together 53 Muslim and Buddhist children to share their hopes and fears with an audience that included local security forces, government officials, academics and human rights activists from the deep south.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
Children play in the rubble of a school that was destroyed by arson in Yala. Hundreds of schools in Narathiwat, Pattani, Yala and Songkhla have been severely damaged or destroyed due to the unrest.

An opportunity to speak out

“We lack love and peace,” said a 14-year-old participant from Pattani, who helped create the drawing. “But no matter how bad the situation is, if everyone comes together regardless of religion, sex and age, we can bring peace back to our lives.”

During the consultation, the children – who ranged in age from 11 to 18 – also created plays and music that reflected the reality of their daily lives. Some of the children cried when the performances touched upon issues such as domestic violence, physical punishment in schools, and drugs in communities.

“Children living in these border provinces have been deeply affected by the violence,” said UNICEF Representative in Thailand Tomoo Hozumi. “But there has not been enough attention paid to the impact it is having on them or what can be done to help them deal with it.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
A drawing created by Muslim children living in southernmost Thailand represents their hope for peace.

Lives changed by violence

Most of the children said the Youth Consultation was their first opportunity to speak out about the unrest to someone other than a member of their family or close friends.

“I feel relieved,” said Komareeyah Tohya, 14, a girl from Pattani whose school has been bombed. “It is different than the kind of relief I get from talking to my family, because I have the hope that people here will be able to help us.”

The children taking part in the Youth Consultation said their lives have been radically changed by the violence. They never go outside after dark. They no longer speak to strangers. They mingle less with their friends and neighbors due to growing mistrust among people in their communities. 

According to a UNICEF Thailand-supported study – ‘Everyday Fears: Children’s perception of living in the southern border of Thailand’  – which was launched a couple of weeks before the Youth Consultation, children living in the southern border provinces suffer from stress and anxiety due to the daily threat of violence.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Kanoknan
Children place messages of their hopes and fears on a board at a Youth Consultation organized by UNICEF in Hat Yai, Thailand.

Children as victims and witnesses

Conducted in 2006-07 by the Thai non-governmental organizations Knowing Children, Friends of Thai Muslim Women, the Luk Riang Group and the Young Muslim Association of Thailand, the study involved some 2,400 Muslim and Buddhist children in the affected provinces. It used a variety of research methods especially designed to gather responses from children living in the deep south – including drawing, essays, visual stimulus, attitude surveys and network interviews.

The study was the first to give children living in the affected provinces the opportunity to directly express their perceptions of the violence and the impact it is having on their lives.
According to the Ministry of Education, at least 30 school students were killed and 92 injured due to violence in the affected provinces between January 2004 and December 2007. In addition to being victims of the violence themselves, children have also borne witness to the brutal slaying of parents, other relatives, teachers and community members – and to fighting between soldiers and insurgents, bombings and the burning of their schools.

“Most children in the study said the greatest danger in their lives is the unrest,” Hozumi said. “Their responses indicate that almost every aspect of their lives carries risk because of the continuing violence, including attending school or going out to play.”

‘No one knows who killed him’

Hundreds of schools in the provinces have been severely damaged or destroyed over the past five years, and many children now travel to and from school, and attend school, under armed guard. Due to the unrest, education authorities have been forced to repeatedly close schools for periods ranging from days to months.

Asela Dorotae, 14, who witnessed the slaying of her father by insurgents two years ago in Yala, is among the tens of thousands of children living in the far south whose lives have been deeply affected by violence.

“We were on our way home,” recalled Asela, who still cries when she talks about his death. “The insurgents asked him to stop the motorcycle. They pushed him to the ground. Then they shot him and then stabbed him.”

Asela sat beside the body of her father for three hours before soldiers arrived at the scene. To date, no one knows who killed him or why.

Hopes of an end to conflict

Her father’s death led Asela to volunteer to participate in the study. She also joined the Luk Rieng Group and helped the NGO enlist children from other villages to participate in the study.

“I learned that I am not the only one who suffers from loss,” Asela said. “At first I wanted revenge, but then I realized that it would never bring an end to the violence. Peace has to start with us, the children, and I want adults to listen to children like me.”

Among the positive findings in the study was that none of the children expressed a biased or negative view of other religions or referred to religion as being a cause of the unrest. In addition, few children expressed negative opinions of soldiers and police.

A call for ‘zones of peace’

Rawsedee Leartariyapongkul, Project Manager of the Young Muslim Association of Thailand, said the study’s findings suggest that reconciliatory bonds clearly exist among children in the far south, and that actions are urgently needed to maintain positive thinking among young people and to prevent the violence from becoming inter-generational.

UNICEF is calling for establishment of ‘zones of peace’ – areas free of weapons, armed personnel and propaganda from all parties – in order to reduce violence and the stress it places on children.

“I believe this can happen,” said UNICEF Thailand Chief of Child Protection Amanda Bissex UNICEF Thailand, who noted that zones of peace have been successfully established in other conflict areas. Ms. Bissex said zones of peace could be set up at schools in the southern provinces where people in local communities are truly open and committed to the idea.

“So if there is violence in the community, children know that there is a place where they can go, where they will be safe and protected for the time that they are there,” Ms. Bissex added. “This is very important for reducing stress in a child’s life.”

 


 

 

New enhanced search