保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

没有出生登记,儿童被置于社会之外

世界上将近半数的儿童没有进行出生登记,这直接导致他们被置于社会保护系统和政策制定之外。联合国儿童基金会支持所有儿童在出生后进行登记。

美国纽约,2013年2月123日 —— 儿童的出生登记是为他们建立正式身份、获得名字及国籍、保障其日后得到保护的第一步。然而,在世界各地,约有49%的5岁以下儿童并未进行出生登记。

联合国儿童基金会将数百万“隐形”儿童置于焦点,观看这个关于出生登记的视频——出生登记是得到保护、迈入社会的第一步。 在Realplayer中播放

登记至关重要

当一个人没有被正式承认其存在时,就不可能有出生证明、年龄证明、亲子关系证明、身份证及护照。

没有出生证明的儿童在法律面前不被承认其存在,处在被社会边缘化的弱势地位,甚至可能完全被忽视。他们更不容易获得医疗保健、教育、以及其他社会服务。

他们是最先被社会保障系统忽略的群体,他们的“隐性”存在使其更易在遭受歧视、忽略及虐待时无法得到应有的重视。没有出生证明记录他们的年龄,他们在遇到童工问题时、在司法系统中被当作成人对待时、被强制征兵时、遭遇童婚及人口贩卖时得不到任何保护。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-2489/Asselin
在科特迪瓦邦杜库,10岁的迪曼德(Diomande Noel Berole)在非洲发展银行的赞赞第二小学外举着他的出生证明。在世界各地,约有49%的5岁以下儿童没有进行出生登记。

出生证明能够帮助追踪无人照看、与家人失散的儿童,并促进安全迁移 —— 这是避免无国籍状态的重要组成部分,而无国籍状态本身就是保障公民权利的障碍。出生证明是一个国家民事登记的重要部分,为政府提供了关键的数据以精确地计划和监测该国的教育、健康、社会福利及经济政策。

总而言之,出生证明能够说明儿童属于一个家庭、一个社区、一个国家,并保障他们在成人后能够获得应有的社会及政治生活。

登记是一种权利

《儿童权利公约》第七条规定,每个儿童出生后应立即或尽快登记,并有自出生起获得姓名的权利。

这必须是一项免费的全民服务,哪怕注册时间较迟。

在工业化国家,几乎所有5岁以下儿童都在出生后进行了登记,但在发展中国家只有半数儿童得到登记。在2007年,撒哈拉以南及南亚地区约有三分之二的5岁以下儿童在出生后没有登记,这些地区中,有8个国家只对不到10%的儿童进行出生登记。形成对比的是,2000年至2008年的数据显示,在拉丁美洲,只有约11%的5岁以下儿童出生后没有登记。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/BANA2012-00802/Khan
2岁的托马(Toma Rani Chanra)和母亲在孟加拉的Jagannathpur Upazila地区等待完成出生登记。没有进行出生登记的儿童是最先被社会保障系统排斥在外的受害者。

在国家之间也存在巨大差异。城市中的儿童相较郊区儿童更易得到登记。全球约有三分之一生活在城市中的儿童没有在出生后进行登记。

来自最贫困家庭的儿童、少数族裔——包括土著儿童及难民等,更不容易被登记。

联合国儿童基金会支持出生登记

联合国儿童基金会和各国政府合作以增强其支持出生登记的能力,施行的项目包括人力资源能力建设、出生登记材料开发、政策及法律框架改革、以及发现其他协同服务领域,如健康和教育等。包括SMS短信技术在内的创新方法也在探索之中。

联合国儿童基金会也与各合作伙伴共同加强对出生登记的支持,尤其注重弱势的,及被排斥的群体。

联合国儿童基金会支持全面儿童保护系统中的出生登记,作为民事登记的组成部分。这种方法既承认了没有进行登记的儿童与其遭到剥削、虐待、贩卖及其他侵权行为的关系,也认可了出生登记数据在规划一个国家的经济及社会发展中的重要性。联合国儿童基金会的战略性举措能够帮助加强儿童保护系统、减少阻碍每一个儿童在出生时进行登记的障碍、帮助国家进行能力建设,确保每一个儿童得到登记。


 

 

聚焦:出生登记和学校

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

Without birth registration, children are shut out of society altogether

The births of almost half the world’s children are not registered, leaving them outside support and protection systems and uncounted in policy decisions. UNICEF supports the right of every child to be registered at birth, without discrimination.

NEW YORK, United States of America, 12 February 2013 – Registering a child’s birth is a critical first step towards safeguarding her or his lifelong protection by establishing an official identity, a recognized name and a nationality.
Yet, around the world, 49 per cent of children under the age of 5 are not registered.

UNICEF brings the plight of millions of 'invisible' children into focus. Watch this report on birth registration - passport to protection, and to society.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Registration is important

When a person does not have an officially established existence, there can be no birth certificate, no proof of age, no proof of biological parentage, no identification and no passport.

Children with no birth certificate don’t exist before the law, and are in danger of remaining on the margins of society, or being shut out altogether. They are more likely to face major challenges in accessing healthcare, education and social assistance.

They are the first to fall through the cracks in protection systems; their ‘invisibility’ makes it more likely that discrimination, neglect and abuse they might experience will be unnoticed, and unchallenged. Without an age established by birth certificate, there is no protection against child labour, against being treated as an adult in the justice system, against forcible conscription in armed forces, against child marriage and trafficking.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-2489/Asselin
Diomande Noel Berole, 10, holds his birth certificate, outside African Development Bank Zanzan II Primary School, in Bondoukou, Côte d’Ivoire. Around the world, 49 per cent of children under the age of 5 are not registered.

Having a birth certificate supports the traceability of unaccompanied and separated children and promotes safe migration – and can be a vital factor in preventing statelessness, itself an obstacle to claiming rights as a citizen. Birth registration is also an essential part of a country’s civil registry, providing governments with vital statistics to support accurate planning and monitoring of a country’s education, health, social welfare and economic policies.

Ultimately, birth registration shows that children belong to a family, a community and a nation, and guarantees their right to assume their place in the social and political life of the country, as adults.

Registration is a right

Article 7 of the Convention on the Rights of the Child specifies that every child has the right to be registered at birth without any discrimination. Birth registration should be carried out immediately after birth, or as soon as possible thereafter.

It should be free and accessible to all, even if children are registered late.

Registration of children under 5 is almost universal in industrialized countries, but only half of children under 5 have their births registered in the developing world. Nearly two out of three children under 5 in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia were not registered in 2007, with eight countries in these regions registering fewer than 10 per cent of their children. In comparison, in Latin America, 11 per cent of children under 5 were not registered, according to 2000–2008 data.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/BANA2012-00802/Khan
Toma Rani Chanra, 2, waits with her mother to complete her birth registration in Jagannathpur Upazila, Bangladesh. Children whose births are not registered are the first to fall through the cracks in protection systems.

There are also disparities within countries. Children in urban areas are more likely to be registered than those in rural areas. Globally, however, one third of children living in urban areas have not been registered at birth.

A child from the poorest 20 per cent of households is less likely to be registered, as are children belonging to minorities, including indigenous children, and refugees. 

Registration is supported by UNICEF

UNICEF works with governments to strengthen their ability to support birth registration. Programmes include human capacity development, development of birth registration materials, reform of policy and legal frameworks and identifying synergies with other service areas, such as health and education. Innovative approaches, including the use of SMS technology, are also being explored.

UNICEF also works with partners to strengthen support for birth registration, placing special emphasis on vulnerable and excluded groups.

UNICEF supports universal birth registration within the context of an overall child protection system, and as part of civil registration. Such an approach recognizes both the link between non-registration and the vulnerability of unregistered children to sexual exploitation, abuse, trafficking and other violations, and the importance of birth registration data in the planning of a country’s economic and social development. UNICEF’s strategic actions are geared towards strengthening child protection systems in order to reduce obstacles to the registration of every child at birth and to build capacity in countries to ensure that all children are registered.


 

 

In Focus: Birth registration & school

New enhanced search