保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

在联合国纽约总部,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克及其他高层小组成员讨论出生登记的重要性

安雅.拜伦(Anja Baron)报道

美国纽约,2012年11月8日 —— 根据《儿童权利公约》第七条规定,每一名儿童都有权不受任何歧视,在出生时进行出生登记。

在联合国纽约总部,联合国儿童基金会报道有关出生登记重要性的讨论。 在Realplayer中播放

出生登记是儿童出生的政府官方记录,赋予每一名儿童基本的公民、政治、经济、社会和文化权利。然而,每年有数百万名儿童在出生时未能获得出生证明,即使并非不可能,这些儿童也往往难以获得基本的社会服务。

昨天,在联合国纽约总部举行了一个小组讨论会,以引起人们对出生登记重要性的关注。小组成员包括联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克、墨西哥常驻联合国代表路易斯.阿方索.德.阿尔瓦(Luis Alfonso de Alba)、土耳其常驻联合国副代表侯赛因.马夫托格鲁(Huseyin Muftuoglu)、联合国难民事务高级专员安东尼奥.古特雷斯(António Guterres)和肯尼亚计划首席代表塞缪尔.穆西约基(Samuel Musyoki)。

登记所有儿童

雷克先生在开幕词中强调了出生登记的重要性:“我们必须登记所有儿童,因为每一名儿童都有权被登记在案……如果不知道他们在哪里,不知道他们是谁,如果他们不在官方记录中,我们又怎么能帮助他们呢? 出生登记可以使这些信息一目了然。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克在小组讨论中发言。

正常出生登记的缺失限制了儿童获得正常医疗保健和基本社会福利的机会,如:住房和教育。

此外,正常登记的缺失使得保护儿童免受剥削、虐待以及 —— 时常出现的 —— 童婚侵害的工作几乎不可能完成。联合国儿童基金会战略行动的重点是增强儿童保护系统,以减少阻碍儿童出生之时进行出生登记的许多障碍。增强认识、能力建设以及法律和政策改革是关键。

穆西约基先生解释道:“没有出生证明,儿童便面临受虐待的风险……很容易将儿童装扮为成年人的样子,我们清楚地知道出生证明有助于保护儿童避免童婚、童工和过早参军入伍。”

在暴力冲突或难民危机情况下,出生证明是出生的关键依据,并且有助于追查无人照看及与家人失散的儿童的下落。在此类情况下,出生登记成为“护身符”。

据古特雷斯先生说,出生登记的缺失会给难民造成重重困难:“无法组织未进行出生登记的人员进行自愿遣返。没有出生登记,难民无法在收容国就地安置,无法获得全部公民权利……就预防难民身份问题及其解决方案而言,出生登记绝对是至关重要的。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国难民事务高级专员安东尼奥.古特雷斯在小组讨论中发言。

登记之路

烦琐的官僚程序给出生登记带来不必要的困难。将出生登记纳入整体医疗卫生系统可以帮助解决这个问题。

在冈比亚,联合国儿童基金会已与各医疗保健诊所合作,将出生登记纳入各项妇幼保健计划。在2000年至2006年间,该国的出生登记率增加了23%。

联合国儿童基金会也正与马拉维政府携手推出一项强制性出生登记计划 ,以保护儿童免受虐待,获得社会服务。出生登记被纳入各项产前检查和免疫计划。

在这个过程中,可利用的技术是一个重要的工具。在乌干达,手机短信技术已经用于为偏远地区的儿童及不在医院出生的新生儿进行出生登记。

在印度新德里,通过对该市的新生儿进行网络登记,已实现了普遍出生登记。

并且,联合国儿童基金会正在孟加拉、巴西、哥伦比亚、加纳、几内亚比绍和印度,推广全电脑化出生登记。

这些解决方案既简单,又具成本效益,被多个国家用于简化出生登记的流程。

但是,雷克先生认为,无论是否具有成本效益,各国都不应该忽视出生登记的重要性:“我们可能会说,代价太大,但是当我们重新考虑这些行动对财政的影响时,让我们也考虑一下不采取行动的代价。考虑一下需要依靠身强体壮、受过良好教育的人群才能建立一个更美好明天的社区将要付出的代价。考虑一下儿童因缺失一张出生证明而不能享受所有最基本权利、身份地位的代价。这些儿童已被边缘化太长时间。”


 

 

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

At United Nations Headquarters in New York, UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake and other high-level panelists discuss the importance of birth registration

By Anja Baron

NEW YORK, United States of America, 8 November 2012 – Every child has the right to be registered at birth without any discrimination, according to Article 7 of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

UNICEF reports on a discussion about the importance of birth registration, at United Nations Headquarters in New York.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Birth registration, which is the official recording of a child's birth by the government, provides each child with basic civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights. Yet every year, millions of children are born without receiving a birth certificate, often making it difficult, if not impossible, for them to gain access to basic social services. 

A panel discussion was held yesterday at United Nation's Headquarters in New York to bring attention to the importance of birth registration. Among the panelists were UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake, Permanent Representative of Mexico to the United Nations Luis Alfonso de Alba, Deputy Permanent Representative of Turkey to the United Nations Huseyin Muftuoglu, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees António Guterres and Country Director for Plan Kenya Samuel Musyoki.

Count every child

In his opening remarks, Mr. Lake emphasized the importance of birth registration: “We must count every child because every child counts…How can we help children if we don’t know where they are, if we don’t know who they are, if they are officially invisible? Birth registration helps make them visible.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake at the panel discussion.

The lack of proper birth registration limits access to proper health care and basic social benefits such as housing and education.

Additionally, lack of proper documentation makes the task of protecting children from exploitation, abuse and – all too often – early marriage almost impossible. UNICEF strategic actions focus on strengthening child protection systems to reduce many of the obstacles that prevent a child from being registered at birth. Raising awareness and capacity-building, as well as legal and policy reform, are key.

Mr. Musyoki explains: “Without a birth certificate, children are at risk of abuse..It is easy to pretend that they are adults, and we know clearly birth certificates help protect a child against early marriage, child labour and premature recruitment in the armed forces.”

In cases of conflict or refugee crises, birth certificates serve as crucial proof of birth and facilitate traceability of unaccompanied and separated children. In such casess birth registration becomes a ‘passport to protection.’   

According to Mr. Guterres, a lack of birth registration can present grave challenges for refugees: “It’s impossible to organize the voluntary repatriation of people that are not registered. It’s impossible to organize local integration in the country of asylum granting them the full rights of citizenship if they do not exist… Birth registration is absolutely crucial from the point of view of the prevention and the solution of the problems related to refugee status.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees António Guterres at the panel discussion.

The road to registration

Cumbersome bureaucratic procedures make birth registration unnecessarily difficult. Integrating birth registration into the overall health system can help solve this problem.

In the Gambia, UNICEF has worked with health clinics to integrate birth registration into maternal and child health programmes. Between 2000 and 2006, the country saw a 23 per cent increase in its birth registrations.

UNICEF is also working with the Government of Malawi to roll out a compulsory birth registration programme to protect children from abuses and to open access to social services. Birth registration is integrated into antenatal and immunization programmes.

Available technology is a major tool in the process. In Uganda, mobile SMS technology is already used to reach children in remote areas and newborns born outside hospitals.

In New Delhi, India, universal birth registration has been achieved by using online registration for the city’s newborns.

And in Bangladesh, Brazil, Colombia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau and India, UNICEF is promoting the full computerization of birth registration.

These solutions are being touted as simple and cost-effective ways for countries to simplify the process of registering births.

But, cost effective or not, Mr. Lake believes countries shouldn’t be deterred from placing importance on birth registration: “We may say, well, it costs too much, but when we reconsider the financial implications of these actions, let’s also consider the costs of inaction. The cost to the communities who are counting on strong, healthy and well-educated people to build a better tomorrow. The cost to children who are denied the most basic of all rights, an identity, for lack of a simple piece of paper. These children have lingered too long in the shadows.”


 

 

New enhanced search