保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

联合国呼吁消灭童婚,设立国际女童日

2012年10月11日将迎来首个“国际女童日”,今年的重点是关注童婚问题。童婚侵犯了基本人权,影响着女孩生活的方方面面。童婚剥夺了女童的童年、扰乱了她们的教育、限制了个人发展的机会、增加了遭受暴力和虐待的风险、也危害了她们的健康,因此阻碍了几乎所有千年发展目标的实现和健康社会的发展。

欲了解更多关于童婚的信息, 请点击这里。

普里扬卡.普鲁第(Priyanka Pruthi)报道

美国纽约,2012年10月11日 ——“使女童做回自己,不再成为别人的新娘。”联合国秘书长潘基文在庆祝设立国际女童日的“消灭童婚”高层研讨会上说。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员普里扬卡.普鲁第报道联合国呼吁消灭童婚,设立国际女童日。 在Realplayer中播放

潘基文先生说,对于女童而言,伴随童婚的暴力和虐待令人触目惊心。

“赋予女童人权是道义责任、基本正义和平等问题。惠及女童的投资是改变世界的催化剂......我们必须携手合作,实现所有女童获得尊严和尊重的目标 —— 这就是此次庆典的相关内容。”他说。

童婚习俗危害严重

据联合国人口基金会(UNFPA)称,每天有逾3.7万名未成年女童结婚。如果延续目前的趋势,近1.5亿名未成年女童将在未来十年内结婚。

要实现“千年发展目标”,消灭童婚是至关重要的,并且童婚在各个方面严重阻碍国家的经济发展。年轻的女孩早早结婚,会失去学习的机会,更有可能深陷贫困。未成年就结婚不仅限制了她们受教育的权利,而且还危及她们的健康:怀孕和分娩并发症是15至19岁女孩死亡的首要原因。

值此设立国际女童日之际,联合国儿童基金会驻巴基斯坦办事处的公共服务公告呼吁消灭童婚。 在Realplayer中播放

聚焦消除童婚习俗

旨在消除童婚习俗的国际性工作是(美国)全国广播公司新闻主播安.克莉(Ann Curry)主持的研讨会的核心内容。嘉宾演讲人大主教德斯蒙德.图图(Desmond Tutu)、联合国儿童基金会副执行主任吉塔.饶.古普塔(Geeta Rao Gupta)、联合国人口基金会执行主任巴巴通德.奥索蒂梅因(Babatunde Osotimehin)博士和联合国妇女署执行主任米歇尔.巴切莱特(Michelle Bachelet)是另一专题讨论小组成员。

谈及根深蒂固的将女性视为二等公民的传统思想,图图大主教说,他对童婚的愤怒与对种族隔离的愤怒是一样的。“发生了什么样的事情?我们怎么可以这样对待女性这另一半人群,我们怎么可以说她们比我们男性低等?这是很不合理的。当你鄙视某些人时,不管你喜欢还是不喜欢,他们也会鄙视你。”

巴切莱特女士谈到了性别不平等的恶性循环:“作为女孩和妇女,她们被视为社会的低等人群。同时,在许多种族中,女孩被婚姻约束。家庭与女孩早婚的可能性密切相关……因为在那种文化中,婚姻给予她们身份。性别不平等是童婚的根源,同时,童婚让性别不平等现象长久不衰。”

消灭童婚之路

古普塔女士认为,可以去除束缚最边缘化女孩的文化和传统枷锁,法律应发挥突出作用:“我们看到一直在发生改变。对于文化和传统的改变,需要到位的激励措施……需要共同努力、适当的触发因素……首先是要有到位的法律,规定最低结婚年龄为18岁。”

同时,探讨了消除童婚这种有害习俗的其他途径。古普塔女士说,即使经济措施本身不起作用,但是,实施经济措施仍是一种重要的手段。“我们正在实施的且在联合国儿童基金会已取得成效的干预措施之一是提供现金作为奖励,以帮助女童远离童婚。”她说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1277/Markisz
耆老会(Elders)主席大主教德斯蒙德.图图(右二)在纽约联合国总部“拒绝童婚”的高层研讨会上致辞。在讲台上,他身旁的是(从左到右)孟加拉国妇女儿童事务部长希林.沙尔敏.乔杜里、联合国秘书长潘基文和联合国妇女署执行主任米歇尔.巴切莱特。

奥索蒂梅因博士强调了教育的作用:“这是有关我们提升女童人生价值的问题 —— 这是一个全球性问题,在一些国家,这个问题可能会被掩盖。为向前发展,当务之急是要确保我们为青少年提供接受教育的机会。”

分享自己国家的经验时,专题讨论小组成员孟加拉国妇女儿童事务部长希林.沙尔敏.乔杜里(Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury)强调,必须有效地实施政策,实现明显转变。“出生登记和国家鉴定证书正帮助确定女孩年龄,这有助于降低童婚的发生率。同时,很多提升关注度的运动已经带来行为上的改变……通过宣传对妇女的负面影响……组建青少年俱乐部也有所帮助。”

奥索蒂梅因博士还强调各国政府需要把工作重点放在女童身上。“我们不能只做小范围内的工作,我们必须扩大工作范围。同时,我们需要各国政府承担相关责任。”他说。

惠及女童的投资匮乏,国际社会无法把妇女和女童置于发展的中心,我们仍然面临重大挑战。同时,还强调了必须开展工作的领域:让男性也参与进来;培养青少年的能力;将女童安全作为重中之重 —— 预防暴力侵害。

“你们每一个人都是强大的。”大主教图图在闭幕词中说,“让我们每个人都成为使徒,积极地参与进来。”


 

 

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

United Nations marks first International Day of the Girl Child with a call to end child marriage

The inaugural International Day of the Girl Child is 11 October 2012. For its first observance, this year’s Day focuses on child marriage, which is a fundamental human rights violation and has an impact on all aspects of a girl’s life. Child marriage denies a girl of her childhood, disrupts her education, limits her opportunities, increases her risk of violence and abuse, jeopardizes her health and therefore constitutes an obstacle to the achievement of nearly every Millennium Development Goal and the development of healthy communities.

For more information about child marriage, click here.

By Priyanka Pruthi

NEW YORK, United States of America, 11 OCTOBER 2012 - “Let girls be girls, not brides,” said United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon at a high-level discussion on ‘Ending Child Marriage’ in observance of the first International Day of the Girl Child.

UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi reports on the United Nations call to end child marriage on the first International Day of the Girl Child.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Mr. Ban said nothing illustrates the alarming level of violence and abuse faced by girls better than the issue of child marriage.

“Empowering girls is a moral imperative, matter of basic justice and equality. Investing in girls is a catalyst for changing the world...[W]e must work together for the day when every girl is treated with dignity and respect – that’s what this observance is about,” he said.

Child marriage a harmful practice

According to the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), more than 37,000 underage girls are married every day. If present trends continue, close to 150 million girls will be married by their eighteenth birthday within the next decade.

Ending child marriage is critical for achieving the Millennium Development Goals and inextricably linked to the economic growth of countries.  Girls married young are divorced from opportunities to study and are more likely to remain poor. Being married young not only curbs their right to education, but also endangers their health: complications from pregnancy and childbirth are the leading cause of death among girls aged 15 to 19.

On the occasion of the inaugural International Day of the Girl Child, a public service message from UNICEF Pakistan calls for an end to child marriage.

 

Ending the practice a focus

International efforts aimed at ending the practice were at the centre of discussions moderated by the (United States) National Broadcasting Company’s Ann Curry. Guest speaker Archbishop Desmond Tutu, UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Geeta Rao Gupta, UNFPA Executive Director Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin and UN Women Executive Director Michelle Bachelet were among the other panelists.

Speaking out against the entrenched mindsets that treat women as second class citizens, Archbishop Tutu said he is as outraged by child marriages as he was by apartheid. “What has happened to us? How can we dismiss the 50 percent of the human population and say they are less than us? It is quite unconscionable. When you dehumanize someone, whether you like it or not, it dehumanizes you as well.”

Ms. Bachelet spoke of the vicious circle of gender inequality: “In the case of girls and women, they are seen as less valuable inside a society. Also, in many societies, girls are defined by marriage. Families link the future of the girl to the possibility of her being married…because in that culture, that’s what gives them their identity. Gender inequality is in the roots of child marriage, but child marriage also perpetuates gender inequality.”

The road to ending child marriage

Ms. Gupta believes the grip of culture and tradition on the most marginalized girls can be loosened, and that law plays a prominent role: “We see change all the time. There are incentives that need to be in place for culture and tradition to change…It requires concerted efforts, the right triggers…A first step is to have laws in place that maintain a minimum age of marriage as being 18.”

Other means to ending the harmful practice of child marriage were explored. Ms. Gupta described how implementing economic measures, though not effective by itself, is an important instrument. “One of the interventions we are working on in UNICEF that has worked well is to provide cash as an incentive to help girls stay unmarried,” she said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1277/Markisz
(Second from right) Chair of The Elders Archbishop Desmond Tutu speaks at the high-level discussion ‘Ending Child Marriage’ at United Nations headquarters, New York. Beside him on the dais are (left to right) Bangladesh State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury; United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon; and UN Women Executive Director Michelle Bachelet.

Dr. Osotimehin placed emphasis on education: “This is about the value we place on girls – that’s a global issue which may be masked in some countries. What we have to do going forward is to ensure that we provide young people access to education.”

Sharing the experience of her own country, panelist State Minister for Women and Children Affairs of Bangladesh Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury stressed that policies must be implemented effectively for any visible change to take place. “Birth registration and national identification certificates are helping in determining the age of the girl; this has helped in bringing down the incidences of child marriage. A lot of awareness-raising campaigns have also brought about behavioural change…through publicity of negative consequences on women…[A]dministering adolescent clubs has also helped.”

Dr. Osotimehin also emphasized the need for national governments to focus on girls. “We can’t do boutique programmes; we have to take them to scale. We need national governments to take responsibility for this as well,” he said.

The lack of investment in girls and the international community’s inability to place women and girls at the centre of development remain major challenges. Also highlighted as areas in which work must be done were: engaging men; fostering the energy of youth; and prioritizing the safety of girls – preventing violence against them.

“You are powerful, every single one of you,” said Archbishop Tutu in his closing statement. “Let each one of us be an apostle, be engaged and active.”


 

 

New enhanced search