保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

针对儿童权利任择议定书的普遍认可指日可待

颁布保护儿童免受性侵害和武装冲突相关法律措施的主题论坛

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2011/Caldeira
联合国儿童基金会执行副主任希尔德.F.约翰逊(左起);暴力侵害儿童问题的特别代表玛尔塔.桑托.派斯;斯洛文尼亚大使萨加.斯特哥里斯;儿童和暴力冲突特别代表拉迪卡.库马拉斯瓦米和人权问题助理秘书长艾帆.斯摩洛维克正在主持任择议定书论坛。

艾米莉.米涵报道

美国纽约,2011年5月18日 — 在两项《儿童权利公约》任择议定书得到普遍批准的首个周年纪念日中,支持者在本周初举行了有关 2012 年颁布保护儿童免受暴力和剥削相关立法的论坛。

该论坛由斯洛文尼亚政府、联合国儿童基金会和联合国合作伙伴承办。国会议员、民间团体和该活动的其他参会者讨论了批准活动的目标,即鼓励所有联合国成员国都成为2000年签署的任择议定书的缔约国。

该议定书禁止贩卖儿童;对所有形式的性剥削予以定罪,包括卖淫和色情活动;禁止通过武力和组织招募和使用儿童。

自去年发起该活动以来,每个任择协议书都经历了 15 次新的批准和多个正式承诺。四分之三的成员国已批准了全部议定书。

制止虐待和剥削

在论坛期间,芬兰、毛里求斯和巴基斯坦三国承诺批准关于贩卖儿童、儿童卖淫和儿童色情活动的任择议定书。其后不久,巴基斯坦还承诺批准关于儿童卷入武装冲突问题的任择议定书。

联合国儿童基金会副执行主任希尔德.F.约翰逊指出,尽管取得了一些进展,但我们仍然任重道远。她说,只有通过全面有效地实施议定书的条款,情况才能真正有所改观。

“在新的国际网络和法律机制协助减少性剥削和虐待儿童的同时,每年仍有几百万名儿童被引诱和强制贩卖,从事儿童危情活动、沦为雏妓和童工。”约翰逊女士说。

负责暴力侵害儿童问题的秘书长特别代表玛尔塔.桑托.派斯说:“剥削会给儿童打上永久的烙印,这些理应到保护的儿童却面临着定罪的危险。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2011/Caldeira
CBS 新闻通讯员帕梅拉.佛克(中)与菲律宾大使尼伯瑞.卡巴克图兰;意大利一等参赞卢卡.泽利儿丽和救助儿童会联合国代表格若儿.波格德一起主持有关实施择定议定书的分组讨论。

意大利常驻联合国代表团的一等参赞卢卡.泽利儿丽详述了意大利 – 已于 2002 年批准议定书 – 设立了监察虐待儿童和儿童色情活动全国观察站。意大利政府还号召地方政府和民间团体加入到打击儿童性虐待的行列中来。“但是,数据收集和分析工作却充满着挑战。”泽利儿丽先生说。

武装冲突中的儿童

同时,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正致力于解救从 2008 年到 2010 年卷入武装冲突的约 2 万名儿童。这些受到冲突影响的儿童已从帮助他们重新步入社会的计划中受益。但受影响的儿童人数仍是个未知数,这也是《儿童权利公约关于儿童卷入武装冲突问题》任择议定书关注的问题。

数月以来,儿童权利委员会 – 负责监督任择议定书的实施 – 已发现在军事法庭非法处决儿童、起诉儿童以及将儿童用作军事间谍和军事盾牌的情况。“这些行为都是对武装冲突议定书的违背。”出席这次论坛的人权问题助理秘书长艾帆.斯摩洛维克说。

“所有国家,无论大小、和平与否以及是否具有常备军,必须支持该计划以达成儿童远离战场的道德共识。”负责儿童和暴力冲突问题的秘书长特别代表拉迪卡.库马拉斯瓦米补充说。

采取措施

斯摩洛维克先生的结论是“这些议定书要以措施为导向,强制相关国家定期报告实施议定书所采取的措施。”

迄今为止,儿童权利委员会已收到了超过80 份儿童卷入武装冲突问题的任择议定书的相关报告,以及70份贩卖儿童、儿童卖淫和儿童色情活动的任译议定书相关报告。

在此次批准活动中,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴已准备就绪,来帮助那些在实施议定书过程中遇到困难的国家。约翰逊女士问:“无论过程如何艰难和付出多大的代价,这又怎么比得上儿童的生命、自由以及不受虐待和剥削的权利呢?”


 

 

儿童权利公约

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

Universal ratification of Optional Protocols on child rights within reach

Forum on enacting measures to protect children from sexual exploitation and armed conflict

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2011/Caldeira
Hosting Optional Protocols forum are (from left) UNICEF Deputy Director Hilde F. Johnson, Special Representative on Violence against Children Marta Santos Pais, Ambassador Sanja Štiglic of Slovenia, Special Representative for Children and Armed Conflict Radhika Coomaraswamy and Assistant Secretary-General for Human Rights Ivan Šimonovic.

By Emily Meehan

NEW YORK, USA, 18 May 2011 – On the first anniversary of a campaign for universal ratification of the two Optional Protocols to the Convention of the Rights of the Child, advocates held a forum in New York earlier this week on enacting legislation to protect all children from violence and exploitation by 2012.

The forum was organized by the Government of Slovenia, UNICEF and UN partners. Parliamentarians, representatives of civil society and other participants in the event discussed the objective of the ratification campaign: to encourage all UN Member States to become party to the Optional Protocols, which were adopted in 2000.

The protocols prohibit the sale of children; criminalize all forms of sexual exploitation, including prostitution and pornography; and ban the recruitment and use of children by armed forces and groups.

Since its launch last year, the campaign has seen 15 new ratifications of the Optional Protocols and multiple formal commitments to the treaties. Three quarters of all Member States have now ratified both protocols.

Curbing abuse and exploitation

During the forum, three countries – Finland, Mauritius and Pakistan – committed to ratify the Optional Protocol on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography. Pakistan committed to ratify the Optional Protocol on the Involvement of Children in Armed Conflict shortly thereafter.

UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson noted that despite such progress, there is a long way to go. Real change will come with more widespread and effective implementation of provisions laid out in the protocols, she suggested.

“While new international networks and legal mechanisms are helping to reduce the sexual exploitation and abuse of children, millions of children continue to be lured, forced and sold into child prostitution, child pornography and child labour every year,” said Ms. Johnson.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2011/Caldeira
CBS News correspondent Pamela Falk (centre) moderates a panel on implementation of the Optional Protocols with Philippines Ambassador Libran Cabactulan, Italian First Counsellor Luca Zelioli and Save the Children UN Representative Görel Bogärde.

The Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children, Marta Santos Pais, said these children may be stigmatized as a result of being exploited, and they face the risk of being criminalized when they deserve protection.

Luca Zelioli, First Counsellor at the Permanent Mission of Italy to the United Nations, explained how his country – which ratified the protocols in 2002 – has established a National Observatory against child abuse and child pornography. The government has also involved local authorities and civil society in combating the sexual abuse of children. But data collection and analysis have remained a challenge, said Mr. Zelioli.

Children in armed conflict

Meanwhile, UNICEF and partners contributed to the release of approximately 20,000 young people caught in armed conflict from 2008 to early 2010. The affected children have since benefited from programmes to reintegrate them into society. But an unknown number are still affected, a problem addressed by the Optional Protocol on the Involvement of Children in Armed Conflict.

In recent months, the Committee on the Rights of the Child – which monitors implementation of the Optional Protocols – has found cases of extrajudicial killings of children, prosecution of children before military courts and use of children as spies and military shields. These are all violations of the protocol on armed conflict, said Ivan Šimonović, Assistant Secretary-General for Human Rights, who attended the forum.

“All countries, no matter how small or large, peaceful and with no standing army, must support this initiative to establish a moral consensus that war is no place for girls and boys,” added Radhika Coomaraswamy, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict.

Taking action

“These protocols are action-oriented,” concluded Mr. Šimonović. “They oblige states to report regularly on actions taken to implement the protocols.”

The Committee on the Rights of the Child has so far received more than 80 such reports on the Optional Protocol on the Involvement of Children in Armed Conflict and 70 reports on the Optional Protocol on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography, he reported.

UNICEF and its partners in the ratification campaign are ready to assist countries facing challenges to implementation of the protocols. “Whatever the process or the price,” asked Ms. Johnson, “how can it compare to the cost of a child’s life, or his liberty, or her right to be free from abuse and exploitation?”


 

 

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search